Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Dodge Caliber has all kinds of suspension problems at relatively low mileage: typically 40-50,000 miles.

The most commonly reported problems are with ball joints & control arms going bad. Tie rods & leaking struts are also reported failing in the same mileage range.

Unfortunately all the suspension problems means some owners only find out after they notice their tires are ruined.

We've given the 2007 Caliber our worst rating because these problems happen at such low mileage, & it involves a wide range of apparently defective parts. With most other cars, major suspension work is pretty rare under 50,000 miles.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,441 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Caliber suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Caliber:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Caliber Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Nov 042010

Caliber

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had my car in with another complaint, the tire pressure gauge was leaking. While they had it on the hoist, they told me the tires were wearing unevenly due to damage to the tie rods. I only have 36,000. Miles on my car and it is a little over three years old. I am trying to get with their paying for at least part of the $700. Repair and cost of new tires.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #22

Jun 152007

Caliber

  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. While driving approximately 35 mph, both front axles failed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and repaired under warranty. The contact also experienced problems with the radio and the problem was repaired by the dealer. The contact was driving 25 mph when the vehicle suddenly downshifted. The contact believed the failure within recall 10V234000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal) was the cause of the problem. The vehicle had not been repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 27,000 and the current mileage was 36,400.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #21

Oct 202010

Caliber

  • miles
The 2007 Dodge Caliber SXT is extremely hard on its suspension and steering components. I was told it is normal for the ball joints and tie rods to almost fall off after 50K miles. The warranty I purchased will not cover the cost of repairs because in their opinion it is normal wear and tear on the vehicle. I believe it is not normal for this problem to occur. Looking at similar complaints online I think Dodge should consider this a safety recall.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #20

Oct 112010

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 55,445 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3 year old 2007 Dodge Caliber. Flat tire on highway, when new tires were purchased following morning tire tech. Showed me why my tire had a huge hole worn on the side. Right and left lower control arms so badly damaged they suggested I did not drive the vehicle until it was fixed. Until flat tire not one issue with car. No vibration, pulling or anything to lead me to believe there was a major issue with my suspension. What a huge safety concern. Dealer estimate repairs at over $1032 mostly highway miles driven, what a shame this has not been recalled. Research online lead me to find 15 other similar complaints with same Dodge vehicle.

- Washington, PA, USA

problem #19

Oct 042010

Caliber

  • 65,000 miles
Had tie rod ends replaced by the dealer 4 months ago. Now, 4 months later, the dealer is telling me that I need to have the steering gear, and lower control arms on both sides replaced. The car only has 65,000 miles. There should be no reason for the lower control arms or steering gear to be replaced at such low mileage. Dealer said the car is unsafe to drive. Same thing they said 4 months ago when the tie rods were replaced. Why wasn't the control arm issue noticed when I had the tie rods replaced" I have seen numerous complaints that have to deal with the lower control arms. This is not some freak accident. It is an ongoing problem with no help from Dodge/Chrysler. If there are so many complaints, why is this issue not being looked into a little more carefully" if they want to stay in business much longer they should be dealing with this issue promptly.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #18

Sep 202010

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Ball joint failure at 50,000 miles. Wore out tires. Replaced ball joints and tires.

- White Lake , MI, USA

problem #17

May 102010

Caliber

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was involved in a pd crash when a piece of tire tread appeared in my lane and I struck it causing my engine to have complete failure. When the car was at the dealership being repaired, shop personnel advised me that my front suspension (control arms, etc.) needed replacement. I had in may, 2010 (mileage approximately 87,000) noticed a looseness to the front end of the vehicle. When I go over rr tracks it sounds almost like a clunking or grinding in the front end. I know it's not my brakes as I have had them looked at. What is the problem with Dodge? I have read numerous complaints on this website in regards to the suspension problem that I am also having.

- Morocco, IN, USA

problem #16

Sep 242010

Caliber

  • 53,000 miles
2007 Dodge Caliber SXT having ball joint/tie rod/control arm failure at 53,000 miles. Replacement of all parts at $1000 expensive. Vehicle is only 3 yrs old and have read numerous complaints about this as a safety issue.

- Dartmouth, MA, USA

problem #15

Sep 222008

Caliber

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. While driving approximately 30 mph she applied pressure to the brake pedal and heard a squeaking noise. The failure recurred intermittently so the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the tie rod was replaced. Approximately 6 months later the failure began to recur and the vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop where the brakes were repaired. The failure continued to recur. Approximately 1 year later the vehicle was taken back to an independent repair shop where the brakes, tires, tie rod and ball joints were repaired. The failure continues. The failure mileage was 25,000 and the current mileage was 58,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Lincoln Park, MI, USA

problem #14

Sep 012010

Caliber

  • 45,000 miles
I own a 2007 Dodge Caliber SXT. In early 2009 I was told by my dealership that the right lower balljoint needed to be replaced and that it was very dangerous to drive my vehicle. My car only had 45,000 miles on it. I took it elsewhere to be replaced. As of September 2010, the dealership advised me that the left lower balljoint now needed to be replaced as well as the front fea that contains the recently replaced rt ball joint. My car only has 77,000 miles on it. I took it to another mechanic which advised me that ball joints should not have to be replaced this early on. I then did research and found others with the same issue. There are no recalls and I think this is a defect that lies within Dodge. They are putting people's safety at risk!

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #13

Jun 012010

Caliber

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a 2007 Dodge Caliber in April 08, it had 12,00 miles on it. It now has 70,000 miles. It is making a loud clicking noise in the front end. I can feel it in the steering wheel and on the floor board whenever I make a turn or go over a bump. I do not have a warranty, and the dealer wants $75 just to look at the car. Also, while driving with my small child, my turn signals, high beam headlights, and wipers just stopped working. I have looked at hundreds of other complaints about these same issues, but I do not know of any recalls for these same issues. This is an extreme safety issue while driving. I am not sure how I will be able to pay for these problems with the car. Wondering how Dodge can get away with these same issues happening with thousands of Calibers and them not be held liable to fix it at their cost? will never buy a Dodge again! thank you, and I hope to see recalls very soon for these issues!

- Brooksville, KY, USA

problem #12

Jun 132010

Caliber

  • 45,000 miles
Noticed rattling in front end when going over bumps. Problem diagnosed during an oil change by a national company. The estimate included right control arm and ball joint. Took car to local mechanic who I have dealt with for over 20 years. He stated the right ball joint needed replacing but control arms were fine. Had right ball joint replaced.

- Brooklyn, OH, USA

problem #11

Aug 102010

Caliber

  • 59,100 miles
Had to replace struts at 46,000 miles, then at 59,000 had to replace lower ball joint with control arms, was told no to drive car until it was fixed because it was very dangerous, the vehicle is a 2007 Dodge Caliber. Also know of 3 others in small community that have same problem, with same car. Also courtesy Dodge in altoona pa, knows of problem with the Calibers and are doing nothing about it.

- Blandburg, PA, USA

problem #10

Jul 132010

Caliber

  • 38,000 miles
2007 Dodge Caliber purchased used a year ago. Vehicle now has 38,000 miles and needs both right and left lower control arms. Also have many brake problems with my 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan (13,500 mi.) I try to support american companies but shame on me..never a Dodge again!

- Evergreen Park, IL, USA

problem #9

Jul 092010

Caliber

  • 48,600 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. While having the vehicle serviced by an independent mechanic for unrelated issues the contact was informed that the front passenger side strut was destroyed and both front lower ball joints have excessive play. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 48,600.

- Emmaus, PA, USA

problem #8

Jun 152010

Caliber

  • 85,000 miles
I was leaving work and driving home on the highway when I started hearing a strange noise then began smelling burning rubber. I pulled off the highway and heard something fall from my car I got out and seen that my coil spring had broke and began digging into my tire. I mainly do highway driving so I don't hit to many bumps. I own a 2007 Dodge Caliber SXT which I purchased from a used car dealership in Feb 2010 and the spring broke around June 15 2010. No one carries the parts besides the dealership and they told me that they are on back order for 2 weeks so I take it that this happens alot.

- French Lake, 00, USA

problem #7

Apr 272010

Caliber

  • 23,612 miles
I have a 2007 Dodge Caliber SXT that I have owned for just over 3 years. It has 38,000 km/23,612 miles on it. I took it in to the Dodge dealership today to swap out my winter tires for my summer tires. When I picked it up, I was told by the mechanic that the lower ball joints on the front need to be replaced because they are worn. In fact, he told me that this is a very serious safety issue and I should get these replaced immediately. He then told me that the warranty had just expired and that the cost to replace these would be approximately $1000. He said that the clunking noise in the front end indicates that this is true. I do not hear any clunking noise and my vehicle runs and drives very smoothly. I have not pursued this matter with Dodge yet as at the moment I am in shock. This vehicle is a highway driven vehicle and used very seldom in the city. The roads that I drive are paved and very well maintained. I drive the speed limit and in no way, shape, or form, abuse this vehicle. The vehicle is practically new given the very low mileage. I just wanted to document this problem in case there are other Caliber owners out there who run into this problem. Not only do I not have $1000 to replace the ball joints, I now have the stress of knowing that my vehicle is dangerously unsafe to drive.

- Burnaby, British Columbia, Can, 00, USA

problem #6

Mar 112010

Caliber

  • 70,000 miles
I own a 2007 Dodge Caliber SXT. Recently took it in to be repaired because car was pulling severely to one side while driving and making bad grinding sounds. Mechanic discovered the inner and outer tie rods and also the ball joints on both sides in the front of the vehicle were so deteriorated that he deemed the vehicle undriveable until repairs were made. In his official opinion they were the worst he had ever seen that did not result in the tires falling off. After doing research on the Dodge Caliber models I have seen that this is a common problem with that make and model of vehicle. What happens when your tires fall off at 65 mph on a highway" I do not want to be driving when that happens. No this problem has not led to a death yet, but do we really need to wait until it does before Chrysler is forced to upgrade the parts on their vehicles" $1000 worth of parts and service on a 4 year old car is ridiculous and to know that because they chose to use low quality parts that could have resulted to my tires falling off at 65 mph is unsettling.

- Saukville, WI, USA

problem #5

Oct 182009

Caliber

  • 41,500 miles
I have a 2007 Dodge Caliber SXT that I have owned for almost 2 years. I was told by a mechanic today that the ball joints on the front need to be replaced because they are dangerously defective and if they break while I am driving, they could cause a fatal accident. I was also told that ball joints should not be worn out on a car that is 2 years old and one with 41,000 miles on the odometer. He said that the ball joints were likely defective at the time of manufacture. The front tires can be freely moved and jiggled when the car is parked in the driveway with little effort. I have gotten no help from my local Dodge dealer in replacing the defective ball joints and am forced to risk my life every time I drive the car until I can afford the repair which will cost between $500 and $1,200. Because the parts were likely defective at the time of manufacture, I suspect that all other Dodge Calibers manufactured at the same time with the same parts have the same problem and the owners are simply unaware that their vehicles are dangerous to drive.

- Emporia, KS, USA

problem #4

Jul 052007

Caliber

  • 12 miles
I bought a 2007 Dodge Caliber new. I started having front end "vibrations" almost immediately (when I drove out of the dealership after delivery) mainly from 60-70mph. Took it back to the dealer and was told there was nothing wrong. Took it back numerous times and was told once the tires were bad; I replaced them at my expense. Same problem. Took it back again and was told one of the rims was bent; I bought new rims (almost $1,000). Took it back again and was told the rims were bad again. Had the rims checked and they are perfectly round. Bought another set of tires (same as factory); same problem. I have 69,000 miles on my car and it still does the same thing. I guess I have to live with it since "it's my imagination."

- Rye, TX, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?