If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Dodge Caliber has all kinds of suspension problems at relatively low mileage: typically 40-50,000 miles.

The most commonly reported problems are with ball joints & control arms going bad. Tie rods & leaking struts are also reported failing in the same mileage range.

Unfortunately all the suspension problems means some owners only find out after they notice their tires are ruined.

We've given the 2007 Caliber our worst rating because these problems happen at such low mileage, & it involves a wide range of apparently defective parts. With most other cars, major suspension work is pretty rare under 50,000 miles.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,441 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Caliber suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Caliber:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Caliber Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #43

Aug 292011

Caliber

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both outer tire rods failed at 46,000 miles, car sounded like to front end was going to fall off. Replaced and took for alignment. Repair clinic could not do alignment because both lower control arm assemblies with ball joint were unrepairable.factory defect, joints sealed so unable to lubricate, forces owner to replace at $800 for both or possibly lose control and have a fatal accident.

- Allen Park, MI, USA

problem #42

Aug 232010

Caliber

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds over a road bump, the vehicle would exhibit a loud grinding noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised him that the front lower control arm needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000.

- Jenette, PA, USA

problem #41

Jul 192011

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 26,800 miles
I had an oil change done on my 2007 Dodge Caliber today. The safety inspection sheet said the tie rod is "loose" on both sides, and the left ball joint is "loose". I know if either of these breaks while I'm driving down the road it would cause a very serious accident. There are less than 27,000 miles on this car, and I found that many others have had this same problem with their Calibers. I am strapped for cash, but will have to get it repaired asap, as I don't feel safe driving it like this, especially when my four year old granddaughter is with me. I think a recall is in order.

- Boscobel, WI, USA

problem #40

May 082011

Caliber

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. The contact was driving 30 mph when the vehicle began to abnormally veer to the left. The contact proceeded to apply the brakes and was barely able to maneuver the vehicle to avoid a crash. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer who diagnosed the failure as the control arm assembly, bushing and rods needing replacement. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 70,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Sullivan , LA, USA

problem #39

May 102011

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. While driving at approximately 30 mph, the contact noticed a squeaking noise coming from the front end of the vehicle. Also, when the vehicle would go over a road bump, the steering wheel would feel loose and jerk whenever making a turn. The vehicle was taken to both an independent mechanic and the dealer for diagnostics where the technicians all diagnosed the failure as the driver and passenger side lower control arms and ball joints. The vehicle was repaired by the independent mechanic. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and a report was filed. The approximate failure mileage was 47,000. Updated 07/28/11 updated 07/28/11

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #38

Jun 152010

Caliber

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. The contact stated that she heard a banging noise when she drove over a bump in the road or when making a turn. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who replaced the front left control arm, front left strut, and both sway bars. The failure recurred and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer who replaced the front right lower control arm bushing as it was hitting the frame. The contact called the manufacturer who paid for a portion of the repairs. The contact began hearing another noise and planned to take the vehicle back to the dealer. The current mileage was 63,432. The failure mileage was approximately 45,000.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #37

May 182011

Caliber

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In August 2009 with only about 48,000 miles on the car, I had to replace driverside front lower control arm as a bushing that kept falling out. Not covered by warranty nor any recalls. Noticed the part was redesigned so Chrysler was aware of a problem. Now, the passenger side appears to be having the same problem and a mechanic stated the passenger side ball joint is bad with only 77,000 miles on it and the ball joint on the newer control arm is also starting to show wear. I found a significant number of similar complaints of with a simple internet search. The ball joint cannot be serviced or replaced without replacing the whole control arm at a cost of about $250 just for the part. All other cars I have owned had ball joints last well over 150,000 miles.

- Hollis Center, ME, USA

problem #36

Mar 062011

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Front suspension. Car is very noisy over the slightest bumps. Jumps at times when hitting bigger bumps. Had alignment done less than a month ago and is already back out of alignment again. Car has only 35000 miles on it.

- Tonto Basin, AZ, USA

problem #35

May 112011

Caliber

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. The contact stated that vehicle was taken for state inspection when she was informed that the driver side lower ball joint was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The dealer also stated that the passenger side lower ball joint was likely to fail as well, at some point. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that there were no related recalls to the failure and the manufacturer took a complaint but provided no additional assistance. The current and failure mileage was approximately 21,000.

- Mckees Rocks, PA, USA

problem #34

May 112011

Caliber

  • 51,424 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. The contact took the vehicle to a tire shop to have new tires installed when she was informed that the alignment could not be performed because the front lower ball joint was defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who took a complaint but provided no further assistance. The current and failure mileage was 51,424.

- North Lawrence, OH, USA

problem #33

Dec 312010

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Dodge Caliber which I purchased new in Feb 2006. It barely has 47,000 miles on it and yet had to have both front ball bearings and tie rods replaced. Internet sites and NHTSA list volumes of complaints with vehicles with low mileage and the tie rods and ball bearing failures. Does someone have to be killed before the company is forced to take corrective actions? this is not an inexpensive fix and is a disaster waiting to happen!!!

- Brunswick, OH, USA

problem #32

Apr 112011

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Suspension - ball joints had to be completely replaced. 2007 with 50,000 miles would not pass inspection.

- Hornell, NY, USA

problem #31

Feb 222011

Caliber 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. While driving approximately 5 mph, the contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed. The contact exited the vehicle and noticed the front driver side wheel was detached from the vehicle. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the contact was told the ball joint detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired. The contact also stated the same ball joint was replaced two months prior to the incident by the authorized dealer. The failure and current mileages were 43,000. Updated 6/8/11 the consumer stated two months later, the tie rods had to be replaced. Updated 06/23/11

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #30

Mar 142011

Caliber

  • 88,000 miles
I have had on going steering vibration issues with my Caliber since 15K miles and many times it has been determined that nothing is wrong and the vibration was a normal characteristic of the vehicle. Most recently the tires began excessively wearing on the front (2 replacement sets in 6 months). Extensive diagnostic found that the front lower ball joints were failing. It was determined that the ball joints had been quietly failing for about 30K-40K miles. My vehicle currently has 88K miles on it and the ball joints are being replaced. Dealership admits that 1,200 replacement ball joints have been sold by Dodge in the last week and the part number has changed 5 times since 2007. I feel that a manufacturer defect lead to this issued and I am one of the lucky ones that find this "quiet" failure before it leads to an accident. Had it not been for the tires wearing I would have never know it as they did not become noisy like most ball joints. It should be noted that no signs of abuse or damage was found to the ball joints and the rubber boot was completely intact with no signs of leakage. Further, the ball joints on this model are not serviceable and are self lubricated. The life expectancy for ball joints are at least 100,000 mile. Chrysler customer service deemed this normal wear and tear but this is a serious issue that should be address before this 5-star rated vehicle seriously injures someone. This is not an issue with the servicing dealership, this is a Chrysler issue that should be promptly addressed and corrected.

- Wartburg, TN, USA

problem #29

Jan 212011

Caliber

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. While driving approximately 30 mph, the contact heard a knocking noise coming from the front suspension. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that the control arm, outer tie rod ends and ball joints would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Richmond, IN, USA

problem #28

May 162010

Caliber

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. The contact stated that the vehicle would exhibit an abnormal banging when driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to a repair facility where the contact was informed that the driver side ball joint was defective and would at some point, fail. The ball joint was replaced. The contact stated that the passenger side ball joint then failed January 11, 2011. The contact was able to secure an appointment to have the passenger side ball joint repaired. The manufacturer was contacted but no assistance was offered. The current mileage was 70,000 and the failure mileage was 50,000.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #27

Feb 222011

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 51,236 miles
I started to notice a noise coming from the back end of the car. We took the car to chrsyler/Dodge dealer & was told that we have to replace the following:rear hubs, the right & left lower control arms & replace the tires. We had just brought new tires in November 2010 for the winter & now they have to be replace again.Chrysler is putting my life, my husband & mother's life line on the line. Why is it that when they had the May 2007 recall, this problem was not included and why are they getting away with murder by putting our lives in jeopardy. I thought I purchased a car that would kept me safe. The estimated cost they quoted us $1800. Chrysler/Dodge should be ashame of themselves. Is profit more important to them than our lives. The car is worthless & can't afford to trade it in either.

- Garfield Hts, OH, USA

problem #26

Feb 142009

Caliber

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber SXT (na). The contact stated that after having routine service done, the dealer noticed that the tires were worn and the front outer tie rods needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Now 20,000 miles later after having the tires replaced again, the dealer noticed the front inner tie rods and ball joints needed to be replaced again, which were causing the tires to wear faster. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 23,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Ankeny, IA, USA

problem #25

Jan 152011

Caliber

  • 48,000 miles
I am very sad to report that my 2007 Dodge Caliber that I have had no trouble with ever, with 48,000 miles on it, the left lower ball joint is so bad that it needs to be fixed immediately. I didn't believe the dealer, so I brought it somewhere else. Still going to cost $500 to fix one stupid little part that looks like a manufacture defect.

- Eau Claire, WI, USA

problem #24

Dec 132010

Caliber

  • 65,000 miles
My 2007 Dodge Caliber SXT having ball joint/tie rod/control arm failure at 64,000 miles. Replacement of all parts would be $1000. Vehicle is only 3 yrs old and have read numerous upon numerous complaints about this as a safety issue.

- Coon Rapids , MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?