Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,853 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Caliber seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Caliber:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Caliber Owner Comments

problem #16

Sep 142016

Caliber

  • 104,113 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tamara recall air bag light is on all the time, park front of the house and drive I check underneath the car the plug and harness is fine.....

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #15

Apr 282014

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 106,689 miles
For three sudden engine failures: 1) approximately April 16, 2014 noticed some of the dashboard warning lights blinked a little. Stopped at a traffic light it turned green stepped on the gas, the car jumped and stalled in traffic. Was able to restart the car and go about a 100 yards into a side street. Was met by local police. Got tow truck and had it towed to the local Chrysler dealer. After the car was repaired drove out of the dealer but noticed that a dashboard warning light was on. 2) approximately May 2, 2014 the dashboard warning lights blinked again but the car kept running. Drove to my destination. When I returned to my car, turned on the ignition key it would not start again not even to crank the motor. Got tow truck and towed it back to the Chrysler dealer. After the car was repaired, the warning lights were double checked, then drove out of the dealer. 3) approximately May 20, 2014 was going down hill hit a small bump causing dashboard warning lights to go on the car stalled, rolled the rest of the way down hill and pushed it into my driveway. I tried myself to fix it. Pulled off the main fuze cover and pulled out some fuzes this brought back some power to restart the car. The fuzes were apparently to the air bags but gave enough power to make the engine run. Made an appointment with an electrical repair specialist. Drove it to there lot. Was asked detailed questions on how I got there. The car was repaired but with problems, the electrical system is not protected in the front of the car and was advised to get a splash guard. But went to the Chrysler dealer parts department. Found that it wouldn't do much good and none exist to completely protect it. The car runs fine now but hazardous. I believe I shouldn't be paying repair bills for this fault.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #14

May 122014

Caliber

  • 39,000 miles
It w approximately 9:20 am on May 12, 2014 when I was returning home from my sons home in rochester, NY to livonia, mi. I was driving on the freeway and all of a sudden my left drivers side back wheel it the gravel in the far left lane nearest to the guard rail. I turned my wheel and when I did the car started to spin hit the guard rail head on and spun again and I went head on into a ditch and totaled my whole front end and my injuries were devastating. My entire air bag system did not implode. My family in NY took all pictures from where the car was towed. Not one thing was broken in my interior none of the airbags went off and even the state police and witnesses and ems stated to my family they didn't know how I didn't go through the windshield by the grace of god. I fractured my back and have lost L2 & L3 in my spine with a lumber Fusion from L5 to L12. The spinal surgeon who says I wouldn't have had this severe of a back injury and head injury, oh yes my head injury. I hit my head so severe I was in the pysch ward for 4 days before they could do my back surgery.my time in buffalo was so awful. I didn't know anyone I thought I was kidnapped by [xxx] and the siberan liberation army and I was being held captive. I was given a ct scan and one month ago as my memory and speech has began to get worse along with my permanent walking and defective spine. I am encouraged by my spine doctor and medical doctor to seek advice on this problem of the air bags not imploding. They all from buffalo to here in mi have said the air bags were the reason I have these injuries. I am alive today by the grace of god and my seat belt! please for the other people who have this small vehicle check out the air bags and let us know what is the reason they didn't implode. I have pictures of the entire vehicle inside and out and would be greatly appreciative of your help. God bless. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #13

Dec 132013

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 68,436 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was going home one evening when I swerved to miss a deer and I went off a little ditch and hit a tree. None of my air bags deployed. I was flown to the hospital. I had shattered my shoulder, broke my hip, ankle, and 7 of my ribs. I was bed bound and wheel chair bound for 3 months and could not walk at all. It was very devastating. I was in very good health but not now. I did have to learn to walk again but I did it. I do have to live with some limitations now. Very disappointed that none of my air bags deployed.

- Lawrenceburg, TN, USA

problem #12

Apr 102013

Caliber

  • miles
On 4/10/2013, I was broadsided by a pick-up truck at 18th & pike streets. The glass exploded, my car then went into a backward spin. I spun about three times and then coming out of the spin crashed head on into a large SUV that was doubled parked. My car bounced off the SUV, the engine then shut down and my car continued to roll backwards. I was finally able to step on the brake and stop the car from rolling. One most important issue was that not one of my airbags deployed. My car came equipped with side airbags, passenger and a driver airbag. I purchased my car brand new and I was really happy about having this safety feature but highly disappointed when they did not work. I was also informed that nothing could be done about it because I was not paraplegic, paralyzed or dead! I found this to be a problem because other Dodge owners are driving around and may have the same problem I did. I would hope nobody has to die, become paraplegic or paralyzed for something to be done about faulty airbags. My car was totaled. I have pictures if you would like to see them

- Philaelphia, PA, USA

problem #11

Apr 102013

Caliber

  • miles
On 4/10/2013, I was broadsided by a pick-up truck at 18th & pike streets. The glass exploded, my car then went into a backward spin. I spun about three times and then coming out of the spin crashed head on into a large SUV that was doubled parked. My car bounced off the SUV, the engine then shut down and my car continued to roll backwards. I was finally able to step on the brake and stop the car from rolling. One most important issue was that not one of my airbags deployed. My car came equipped with side airbags, passenger and a driver airbag. I purchased my car brand new and I was really happy about having this safety feature but highly disappointed when they did not work. I was also informed that nothing could be done about it because I was not paraplegic, paralyzed or dead! I found this to be a problem because other Dodge owners are driving around and may have the same problem I did. I would hope nobody has to die, become paraplegic or paralyzed for something to be done about faulty airbags. My car was totaled. I have pictures if you would like to see them

- Philaelphia, PA, USA

problem #10

Apr 102013

Caliber

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 4/10/2013, I was broadsided by a pick-up truck at 18th & pike streets. The glass exploded, my car then went into a backward spin. I spun about three times and then coming out of the spin crashed head on into a large SUV that was doubled parked. My car bounced off the SUV, the engine then shut down and my car continued to roll backwards. I was finally able to step on the brake and stop the car from rolling. One most important issue was that not one of my airbags deployed. My car came equipped with side airbags, passenger and a driver airbag. I purchased my car brand new and I was really happy about having this safety feature but highly disappointed when they did not work. I was also informed that nothing could be done about it because I was not paraplegic, paralyzed or dead! I found this to be a problem because other Dodge owners are driving around and may have the same problem I did. I would hope nobody has to die, become paraplegic or paralyzed for something to be done about faulty airbags. My car was totaled. I have pictures if you would like to see them

- Philaelphia, PA, USA

problem #9

Jun 222014

Caliber

  • 44,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Caliber. The contact stated that the horn malfunctioned. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the air bag was defective causing the horn to malfunction. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 44,500.

- East St Louis, IL, USA

problem #8

May 212014

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 152,000 miles
My daughter was involved in a front to rear collision where she rear ended a stationary vehicle square on at 40mph. None of her airbags in any part of the car deployed at 40mph. Complete failure of the system. Car was never tampered with, nor had it ever had a deployment or accident prior to this. The consumer stated his daughter received deep tissue trauma in her chest from the seat belt. The vehicle was totaled. The manufacturer was not contacted. Updated 06/06/2014

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #7

Jan 282014

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Traveling on highway in winter road conditions. Driver lost control on black ice. Hit highway guardrail head on, then on the pax front side, then on driver front side. Major damage to front costing approx $6000 in damage. Air bag did not deploy even thought lights on dash were activated as deployed. With seat belt on passenger was thrown forward hitting steering wheel and knees to lower dashboard. Sever concussion as result, bruising and soreness. Vehicle was purchased in 2011 from enterprise/national car rental with 31K miles on it.

- Midway, UT, USA

problem #6

Jan 012013

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car will be at a stop, then when you try and accelerate it won't go and tries pulling forward and kind of jerks. Also the airbag light will go on for a minute then turn off then come back on a minute later over and over the whole time while driving. This car has never been in an accident.

- Pocatello, ID, USA

problem #5

Feb 262013

Caliber

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Caliber. The contact stated that the driver's side frontal air bag failed to deploy when the driver crashed into a tree. The driver suffered injuries to the knee and arms. The vehicle was towed to the dealer but was not inspected for the air bag failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 63,000.

- Macungie, PA, USA

problem #4

May 292012

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 86,500 miles
Sitting on I-10 stopped when a tractor trailer rear ended me. His speed was 40 miles per and no airbags deployed. The front air bags should have helped me from getting my face cut and prevented my injury. I wish the bags would have worked. We just had the car checked out at the Dodge dealer a few months prior. The driver front bag burning me would have been better then the blunt force to my face.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #3

Jun 082009

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 23,011 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Caliber SXT. While driving 60 mph, the contact crashed into the side of another vehicle. Her vehicle rolled over and traveled down an embankment. The frontal and side air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injures to her legs, neck, and intestines. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was notified and responded in writing that the air bags functioned properly. The manufacturer stated that she would receive a call back. The insurance company stated that the vehicle was destroyed. The current and failure mileages were 23,011. Updated 10/27/09. Updated 10/29/09.

- Lakeside, CA, USA

problem #2

Nov 032008

Caliber

  • 6,400 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Caliber. While driving approximately 35 mph in rainy weather conditions and at night, the contact's vehicle was cut off the road by another vehicle. Suddenly, the vehicle hydroplaned when the brake pedal was depressed. The contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into the cement barrier. The air bags failed to deploy and the three air bag sensors were destroyed. The contact was severely injured. The police and ambulance were called to the scene and a police report was filed. The vehicle was completely destroyed and towed to the collision center. The VIN was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 6,400.

- Canby, OR, USA

problem #1

Oct 192008

Caliber

  • 10,000 miles
I was traveling to a T intersection; I was the one who was required to make the left or right hand turn. My brakes stopped working and I went from ~55mph to 45mph over the course of a football field or so. I should have been able to stop completely but that wasn't the case. It was the 2008 Caliber srt4. The srt4 has a massive brake kit from the charger and magnum on it which should have made it stop relatively quickly. I mashed my vehicle into another vehicle at the intersection and my airbags did not deploy. I believe there is something wrong with the brakes and airbags on the 2008 Caliber srt4.

- Raeford, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?