Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,563 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Caliber suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Caliber:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Caliber Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Oct 262015


  • 72,000 miles


Front sub frame (crossbar) has rusted and cracked making this vehicle unsafe to drive. Upon driving home the car started vibrating and making loud clunking noise. It was very hard to keep control of the steering

- Dearborn Hgts, MI, USA

problem #37

Oct 162015


  • 130,000 miles
I took my car in for its yearly inspection. I was notified that the front crossmember was rotted away/rusted and need replaced at an estimated cost of $800. I was told that this was an common problem for my car in the years 2007 & 2008 as well as the Jeep compass, and it shouldn't happen on a car with my year/mileage. After doing some research, I found that Dodge has issued an extended warranty for the 2007 Calibers and is paying for their repairs, but will not offer any compensation/warranty to the owners of the 2008 models. The car is dangerous to drive at this point.

- Portage, PA, USA

problem #36

Sep 102015


  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Caliber. The contact stated that while reversing out the driveway at approximately 15 mph, the front driver side tire detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the under carriage was fractured due to rust. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000. Updated 11/19/15

- Harrison, MI, USA

problem #35

May 052014


  • 88,400 miles


I own a 2008 Dodge Caliber that is built on the same chassis that the 2007 Dodge Caliber was built on and as a result of rust and corrosion the front suspension cross member failed and Dodge/Chrysler issued a technical safety bulletin to the owners of the 2007 vehicles to bring the vehicles to a Dodge/Chrysler repair facility to have the cross member replace at no charge. I have contacted Dodge/Chrysler three times including pictures of my rusted and corroded cross member and they have refused to do anything about it. I work at a vocational training school where they teach automotive repairing as class, and I offered to Dodge/Chrysler that I would absorb the labor cost if they would send me the cross member at no cost and the refused to do that also. I am very disappointed with their decision as I am concerned what will happen if the vehicle is in motion at the time the cross member fails. I would be happy to include the photos here but there is no way to attach them.

- Tauton, MA, USA

problem #34

Aug 202015


  • 145,000 miles
Owned the car for almost 4 years. Tie rods have been replaced 3 times. Recently had to replace, struts, ball joints, brakes on the front for the 5th time, back breaks are out and rotors as well had them replaced less than a year ago. Manifold had to be replaced. Barrings on the front and one on the right back. Went through a set a tires in less than 6 months. Has been to Dodge and other mechanics problems still persist.

- Greeley, CO, USA

problem #33

May 012015


  • 133,833 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Caliber. The contact stated that the vehicle swerved and made a clicking sound while driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the front ball joint and the lower control arm failed. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where an alignment was performed but failed to correct the failure. The contact also stated that the brake system failed. The brake emitted a metal grinding noise when the brake pedal was engaged. The dealer inspected the brake system and found corrosion on the brake lines the corrosion was removed from the brake lines however, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 133,833. MA 10/15/2015

- Harrisonburg , VA, USA

problem #32

Aug 222015


  • 133,807 miles


While performing an oil change and brake inspection, I saw the rear section of the front suspension cross member has rust through in several locations. The vehicle is not safe to drive in this condition.

- Ortonville, MI, USA

problem #31

Mar 022015


  • miles
The car was making a rattling noise. Took it to the shop the entire bottom was rusted and needed to be replaced. Cost $1500. Had to have the front suspension replaced three years prior.

- Sparta, NJ, USA

problem #30

Jul 012015


  • 60,000 miles
Left front wheel (left tie rod assembly?) broke and wheel/tire was detached from vehicle while it was being driven, causing the car to "collide" with the ground (geico definition - policy 4324 0054 06, claim 048 555 271010 1019; adjuster charles fincher) ) and losing control before skidding to a stop. Damage included wheel well, hood, driver's side door, breaking system, and wheel connection hardware. Receipt is in the mail from the repair shop (North canton collision in canton oh) so we don't have exact damage specifics yet.

- Valencia, CA, USA

problem #29

Jul 202015


  • 110,000 miles
I bought my 2008 Dodge Caliber in July 2010. It had 27,000 miles on it. It was a campaign car. It has always had a problem with pickup. Acceleration is not great, but we noticed on a July 4 trip, that the car was not only making the "normal" steering/suspension noise, but it was also making a whirring noise that my husband feared was the transmission slipping. I made an appointment at the dealership where I bought the vehicle and found out that the whirring noise was not the transmission, but the alternator is bad. $550. The ball joints and the tie rod ends are bad and need to be replaced, $1040. The struts also need to be replaced as well as the front brakes. $800. Yes, my car has 110,000 miles on it, but the trade in value is only about $3500 anyway. Its luckily been paid off for many years. The ball joint/tie rod issue is very worrysome, though. It is dangerous.

- Paris, IL, USA

problem #28

Jun 092015


  • 155,000 miles


I have a 2008 Dodge Caliber we bought it in April 2013 and about every 5-6 months we have to replace struts, ball joints, etc. Plus have the sway bar worked on that often as well..... Dodge needs to recall all these cars with this defect and we have problems with alignments... these cars are very high maintenance because they are so defected and no one can afford to replace all this and keep their cars in shops every 5-6 months... please Dodge do something about all of this...

- Opelika, AL, USA

problem #27

Jun 302015


  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Caliber. While driving at approximately 50 mph, the vehicle inadvertently turned the steering wheel to the left and right. The contact also stated that the failure occurred while braking. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic stated that the case frame of the engine and the control arm needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Rome, NY, USA

problem #26

Mar 022015


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Caliber. While driving at an unknown speed, the front end of the vehicle became unstable. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who indicated that the front struts needed to be replaced and that they were prematurely worn. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #25

Jun 082015


  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Caliber. While inspecting the vehicle during routine maintenance, it was discovered that there was extensive rust and corrosion causing holes on the framing of the vehicle. In addition, the sub frame, the front suspension cross member and the entire underbody framing deteriorated prematurely and might fracture. The vehicle was taken to a dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 108,000. Updated 09/14/15

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #24

May 042015


  • 108,000 miles
My sons car, sub frame rusted inconsistent with all of other components. Making unusual noises, deemed unsafe to operate.

- Newburyport, MA, USA

problem #23

Apr 202015


  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Caliber. While driving 45 mph, the cross member caused the front driver side wheel to turn inward. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the cross member needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 104,000.

- Saline, MI, USA

problem #22

Feb 032015

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 59,365 miles
A technician stated front cradle (connects steering, suspension, etc parts) is rotted & requires replacement. Called Chrysler (800-247-9763) and inquired about Chrysler action # 23-012-14, they stated they extend warranty for repairs on 2007's but would not cover my 2008 Dodge caliper. This issue is a serious safety concern. The car is in good shape & I feel this is defective product and should be covered by Chrysler/Dodge. I need assistance in having this very expensive repair covered in full.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #21

Apr 252015

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
I have a 2008 Dodge Caliber. I wash and maintain it on a regular basis. This car has a terrible suspension since it was new, I have had to replace both front control arms because of the rear bushings and loose ball joints, one at 32,000 miles. Both rear upper control arms and rear links. It is an alignment nightmare. I took it to the local garage for an alignment after I changed some parts this morning and the back of the subframe is rotted out. The car isn't 6 years old and the body still looks great. I called Dodge and they said they have never heard of this problem and wouldn't commit to a bulletin #23-012-14, that covered 2007.

- Wickliffe, OH, USA

problem #20

Apr 032015

Caliber 4-cyl

  • miles
Front crossmember frame rusted through. Car is not safe and cannot be driven. Car belongs to our daughter who is a single mother and was just paid off. She cannot afford this repair. After finding many complaints on the internet, we called Chrysler and only some of these Calibers qualified for repair (free). Not sure why our car is not included. This is also a problem on the Jeep compass. It would seem that a frame would last longer than 6-7 years.

- Baldwinsville, NY, USA

problem #19

Aug 252014

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 26,700 miles
When I got an oil change, the mechanic did an inspection and said the ball joints and tie rods should be replaced as they were showing wear and play. When he let the car down and saw the mileage was 26,700 he said that the parts should not have gone bad unless I was off roading the car. The car is driven 4 miles round trip on paved maintained roads daily at 30 mph. And on occasionally at expressway speeds of 55mph. I took it to the Dodge dealer who said there is no recall or known complaints on this vehicle. I bought the car new in 2007 when they came out.

- Darien, IL, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?