Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,904 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Caliber transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Caliber:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Caliber Owner Comments

problem #9

Nov 272011

Caliber 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Caliber. The contact was driving 75 mph when the transmission warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced a valve that was outside of the transmission. This failure recurred on many occasions. The manufacturer was notified who offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 70,000. The consumer stated she has encountered numerous transmissions problems with the vehicle failing to accelerate. The transmission would slip and cause the vehicle to decelerate. At times, it was difficult to reach a safe speed when merging onto the highway. The deceleration has now started at a much lower speed. When it occurred, the transmission light illuminated. The consumer stated each time she experienced a failure, she would have to pull over, turn the vehicle off and sit for 15-45 minutes to wait for the transmission to cool off. The transmission valve was replaced, but the problem continued. Updated 08/08/12 the consumer stated there was a noise coming from the front of the engine. The dealer found the alternator bearings were causing the noise. They replaced the alternator. Updated 08/09/12

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #8

May 062012

Caliber 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Caliber. While driving approximately 50 mph, the transmission warning light illuminated on the instrument panel and the vehicle became hesitant to acceleration attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics where the technician replaced the transmission fluid and filter. The failure continued after the repair. The contact added transmission fluid to the vehicle but the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the technician advised that the transmission would have to be replaced because the incorrect transmission fluid was used by the contact. The contact stated there was no warning label on the vehicle stating which type or brand of transmission fluid had to be used in the vehicle, nor was there a dip stick to check the fluid. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 52,000. Updated 08/14/12 the consumer stated a code for the transmission, which read P0218 meant the transmission overheated. Updated 08/16/15

- Galloway, NJ, USA

problem #7

Aug 042011


  • 35,799 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Caliber. The contact stated that while driving 75 mph, the vehicle decelerated. The transmission warning light illuminated and a humming noise also emitted from the engine prior to the failure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for a diagnostic test, where the contact was informed that the computer that operated the transmission needed to be replaced. The failure occurred on two previous occasions. The vehicle was not repaired.the failure mileage was 35,799 and the current mileage 38,000.

- Riverdale, GA, USA

problem #6

May 192010

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 43,000 miles


At 43,000 my 2009 Dodge Caliber's cvt transmission needed to be replaced. Dealer won't fix it, called Chrysler in may, 2010, was told that they won't fix it. Was told that the bearings are bad. Not fixable, only replaceable. Cost $4,200. There is a 2009 Dodge Caliber recall regarding a power train module, called Chrysler, they told me that it didn't exist. I printed out the recall from the NHTSA website, they still told me that they did not know anything about it. They would not fix it. After repeatedly sending emails and calling Chrysler, they finally came to the dealer a year later, drove my car and said, yes, transmission needs to be replaced, but they won't fix it, it is over the 3 yr 36,000, "it is not worth putting the money into it?, like what????? they won't fix it. I am a single mom with two kids, 20yr Chrysler customer and this is how I am treated. On 8/19/2011, transmission died. It is now at a transmission shop, transmission on the ground, can't be fixed, only replaced: Cost $4,000. I do not have that kind of money, I either pay for my house or my car, can't do both, and my children can't live in the car, so I decided to make house payments. I will contact the Michigan state attorney general's office, I would like to file a class action law suit regarding this cvt transmission that is not repairable, only replaceable at a cost of $4,000. I do not have a car to drive, do not have $4,000. How can they put a major - expensive part into a car, when this part is not fixable, only replaceable" please advise.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #5

Oct 192010


  • 51,900 miles
Transmission noise loud and slipping I have another 09 Dodge Caliber making the same noise and very slow to make it up to speed from a stop.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #4

Sep 152009

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 1,700 miles
09/2009 vehicle died while driving in middle of traffic towed to dealer, suggested car had an electrical problem and fixed. 08/16/2010 vehicle check engine light came on and vehicle was jerking before it died while driving in traffic, towed to dealer suggested transmission was bad and fixed. 09/14/2010 vehicle engine would not turn over to start, when started drove 5 miles and stalled in the middle of traffic, towed back to dealer suggested coolant was leaking on the radiator and battery was bad and fixed. 09/20/2010 engine, throttle and engine temp light on vehicle died while driving in traffic, towed back to dealer suggesting head gaskets failed and fixed. 10/21/2010 engine temp runs hot, overheats, makes tugging sounds and jerks while driving, drove back to dealer suggesting thermostats not opening fully replaced and states the car was sold with a bad engine. 11/04/2010 car returned to dealer due to jerking, engine light on, making tugging sounds as you accelerate, winding down sounds when you break and overheating.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #3

Jul 072010


  • 43,225 miles


I was driving on an interstate highway (at high speed) when it became necessary for me to punch the gas pedal in order to make a lane change. When I did this, the accelerator pedal broke off just below the spring-action pivot point and the accelerator became useless because the spring (which is wired to the engine's accelerator and receives acceleration input from the pedal to which it is attached) was no longer (obviously) attached to the pedal. I was thankfully able to coast to the side of the highway and out of traffic despite having no ability to accelerate at that point.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #2

Mar 232010


  • 25,882 miles
Bought vehicle end of February 2009. Did not hear any transmission noise until sometime in May 2009. Transmission noise was getting worse and took vehicle back to dealer to have transmission noise checked out. The dealer's diagnosis was that transmission is making noise when taking off and stopping. The transmission was replaced @ mileage 7371. During month of February 2010 transmission started making same noise again. Took vehicle to dealer to have transmission noise checked out again @ mileage 25882. The dealer's diagnosis was that transmission is noisy and slips intermitantly after I took technicain for a drive and showed the problem. Dealer stated that technical service bulletins could not be found for this problem and that Chrysler was called and other dealers have called about the same problem. Dealer stated that Chrysler stated the I should/could drive car for now.

- Gaylord, MI, USA

problem #1

Dec 262009

Caliber 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,627 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Caliber. On December 26, 2009 while taken packages out the vehicle the gear shift failed and the vehicle reversed on its own. She was struck by the driver's side door. The contact received injuries to the right side of the body. The vehicle stopped when it collided into a snow embankment. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer replaced the vehicle shifter assembly. The vehicle was traded. The failure and the current mileage was 1,627. Updated 05/04/10. The consumer stated when she put the gear in park, she discovered the vehicle would go in reverse by itself. The dealer replaced the shifter assembly. Updated 06/30/10.

- Turnersville, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?