Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

9.4

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,377 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Caliber engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Caliber:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Caliber Owner Comments

problem #13

Oct 012011

Caliber 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Caliber. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to dealer where a diagnostic was performed but no failure was determined in the vehicle. The dealer updated the computer software but to no avail. The failure recurred sporadically and randomly. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The current mileage was 3,400. The failure mileage was not available.. updated 07/27/12 the consumer stated Chrysler inspected the vehicle and found no failures. That same day the consumer picked up the vehicle the transmission slipped into first gear. This caused the following to have to swerve around the consumer. Milton Dodge stated the situation is out of their hands. Updated 08/20/2012.

- Milton , FL, USA

problem #12

Sep 222011

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 6,394 miles
First incident occurred in the morning, vehicle stalled and restarted on it's own going around a curve. Later that day in the afternoon, vehicle stalled going around yet another curve this time not restarting. After being towed to a dealership, the PCM was flashed and I was told all would be well. Stalls on off ramp of interstate 30 miles later going 55 mph. Towed again, tipm module was replaced. Vehicle stalls again and restarts on interstate five days later going 75 mpg, dealership claims no problem this time, no codes and cannot duplicate issue after a 148 mile test drive. Stalled again a month later going down a hill at 15 mph, PCM flashed as no error codes were stored for repair at 9,931 miles. 12/08/11 vehicle stalls again going 70 mph on interstate on a bridge over a river with heavy traffic at 10,542 miles. No accident, car will not start for owner with two attempts, turns over once and stalls for two driver on his three attempts. Car started once towed to dealership. Dealership states started for them to pull into garage was just notified Chrysler engineers believe the problem this time is a win module. Car has stalled whilst moving now 5 times and has been disabled over 30 days total.

- Falling Waters, WV, USA

problem #11

Sep 072011

Caliber

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Caliber. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall at any time. Also, the rear brakes would exhibit an abnormal winding noise. The dealer was unable to detect the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was unavailable and the current mileage was 1,000.

- Carrollton, GA, USA

problem #10

Jul 252011

Caliber

  • 24 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Caliber. The contact was driving 45 mph when the power of steering seized and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure and decided to perform a software update as a temporary fix. The remedy failed to repair the problem. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem who did not offer any assistance and filed a report. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 24 and the current mileage was 700.

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #9

Aug 262011

Caliber

  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Caliber. The contact stated that she attempted to accelerate from a stop but the vehicle stalled. The vehicle operated as normal upon restart. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the vehicle was recalibrated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 500 and the current mileage was 724.

- Marshall, TX, USA

problem #8

Aug 102011

Caliber

  • 1,129 miles
Engine will stall while turning at low speeds, will also stall with A/C on while sitting. Has done so 5 times

- St. Augustine, FL, USA

problem #7

Aug 042011

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 4,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car has stalled roughly 7-9 times. Several times it has stalled while completely stopped behind another vehicle or at a red light and 2 times has stalled while making a left hand turn and I almost got nailed by on-coming traffic. The ignition is sticking when starting and the car is hesitating like crazy. I notice the car hesistates a lot and some time that day my car will stall. The air-conditioner is usually on when the vehicle stalls. I've had it back into the shop 2xthis week today will be my 3rd within a 10day time period. They can not find anything wrong and I'm terrified to keep my 2 yr old in this vehicle!

- Zephyrhills, FL, USA

problem #6

Jul 312011

Caliber

  • 900 miles
Was driving car, took a left hand turn and car died in middle of intersection, had enough momentum to carry car through intersection so there was no accident. The car stared right back up seemed fine. The A/C was on but that should not have an effect on it. The car did the same thing 3 days before this and I was not turning, I was stopping behind a car that was turning. Each time this has happened the A/C was on and it was within 5 miles of first starting the car. I did notice the RPM drop and then it seemed like to catch itself and rev back up. Seems like it is related to the torque converter in the transmission or with the programming of the ECU. Bringing it to dealer first thing in am.

- Kernersville, NC, USA

problem #5

Jun 012011

Caliber

  • 3,200 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Caliber. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. No repairs were performed. The failure mileage was 3,200 and the current mileage was unknown.

- Spotsville, KY, USA

problem #4

Apr 282011

Caliber

  • 402 miles
I bought this car on 4/11/2011, and this car shut off while driving the first time at 402 miles, it has happened another four times. The car dies like the key was shut off no warning of any kind. I took it to the dealer 06/22/2011 and as usual they could find no problem with it. I do know that Dodge had this problem with the 2010 Caravan, (falty win module) so I would think that someone would be able to figure out that this is the same problem. This situation must be taken care of before someone get's killed because their car died while in traffic

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #3

Apr 282011

Caliber

  • 402 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this car on 4/11/2011, and this car shut off while driving the first time at 402 miles, it has happened another four times. The car dies like the key was shut off no warning of any kind. I took it to the dealer 06/22/2011 and as usual they could find no problem with it. I do know that Dodge had this problem with the 2010 Caravan, (falty win module) so I would think that someone would be able to figure out that this is the same problem. This situation must be taken care of before someone get's killed because their car died while in traffic

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #2

Apr 282011

Caliber

  • 402 miles
I bought this car on 4/11/2011, and this car shut off while driving the first time at 402 miles, it has happened another four times. The car dies like the key was shut off no warning of any kind. I took it to the dealer 06/22/2011 and as usual they could find no problem with it. I do know that Dodge had this problem with the 2010 Caravan, (falty win module) so I would think that someone would be able to figure out that this is the same problem. This situation must be taken care of before someone get's killed because their car died while in traffic

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #1

May 252011

Caliber

  • 45 miles
The 2011 Dodge Caliber I purchased had seven (7) miles on it when I test drove it. The vehicle has stalled without warning at the stop light and while in motion. Most of the stalls were experienced after making a turn. It has stalled five times. I have not reached thirty days of ownership. The ignition switch has stuck while attempting to start the vehicle at least eight times. The vehicle has been in for service twice. The dealerships stated they are unable to duplicate the stall or the ignition sticking on the first service visit. On the second service visit, they again reported they were unable to duplicate the stall, but did acknowledge the ignition sticking and reportedly replaced the ignition. The ignition stuck when I started the vehicle to leave the dealership and stalled two days later. I have experienced nearly being struck by approaching traffic as I made a legal left turn and barely cleared the intersection.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?