Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,353 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Dodge Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Dodge Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Dodge Caravan Owner Comments

problem #18

Jun 052014


  • 170,000 miles


On 6/5/14 while driving down the hwy at 65mph a deer had bolted out in front of my 02 Caravan. I had reaction time with hitting my brakes until my brake light illuminated & my van continues sliding on dry pavement, I attempted hitting my horn but noticed the section of the steering wheel that the horn iss located was rock hard & could not be pushed in even the slightest. I ended up hitting the deer dead center of the front of my van, crumpled my hood, cracking my radiator, headlight assemlies, grill & cooling fans. My airbags never deployed. Since this incident my brake light illuminated just about every time I press on the brakes & come to a rest lasting 30 second or longer & will go off moments after releasing the pedal. Approx mileage 165, 000 road conditions were dry, daylight & 100% visibility.

- Eveleth, MN, USA

problem #17

Feb 012013


  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Dodge Caravan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle began to surge in a jerking motion. The speedometer reading also fluctuated. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #16

Oct 132011


  • 173,000 miles
The dash went out. No hazards, no blinkers and no gauges.

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #15

May 052011

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,086 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Dodge Caravan. The contact stated that while traveling she noticed that the speedodometer suddenly became inoperable. She was unable to determine how many miles were actually on the vehicle. The speedometer remained the same. The contact did not inform the dealer or manufacturer of the failure since she was unable to locate them. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who stated that the register was working; however, the visual indicator on the instrument panel was inoperable. No repairs were performed. The current and failure mileage was 77,086. Updated 6/8/11 updated 06/16/11. Updated 06/21/11

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #14

Feb 022008


  • miles
2002 Dodge Caravan headlight electrical issue. My headlights do not turn on when I turn the switch. Sometimes they come on quickly sometimes they take more than 30 minutes. For them to turn off I have the same problem. Also my windshield wipers don't work. They turn on the same way the headlights do. If it begins to rain while I am driving I have to pull over. This is a serious safety issue.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #13

Dec 142008


  • 94,000 miles
I have a 2002 Dodge Caravan. The failure began with the lights flashing (lt/rt like a police cruiser or alarm system) in daytime running light mode. Once the headlight lights were turned on the rt worked but the lt low beam did not. Select high beam; the lt headlight worked the right did not. I've read on the internet several complaints about this headlight system completely failing during hours of darkness at the most inappropriate times (I.e. traveling on highway @ high speeds). Currently, the problem is being worked and parts have been swapped and the problem still exists.

- Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA

problem #12

May 012008

Caravan 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles


2002 Dodge Caravan. Total electrical failure, overcharge of system. Vehicle shutdown while in transit. All bulbs, fuses and electrical devices out. Will not start and dealer baffled as to how it occurred.

- Belford, NJ, USA

problem #11

Oct 072006


  • miles
The headlights in my 2002 Dodge Caravan have been flickering on and off, creating a highly dangerous situation when I can not see where I am going and other cars cannot see me. A quick check online showed that several other 2002 Dodge Caravan owners have experienced the same problem. I have not had car serviced yet.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #10

Jan 022004


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Headlights/ interior dash board lighting flickering. During the day time hours the dash board lights seem to surge. The power for the 12 volt outlets in the car when braking take off times. In the evening hours the headlights will flicker on and off without cause during normal driving times. The flickering will not be stopped by turning off the headlight control switch and sometimes the switch will not operate the headlights at all. I have not gotten any answers from the dealership and have decided to wait and see if you come up with a solution to the problem. Thank you for reading this submission.

- Mapleville, RI, USA

problem #9

Sep 302004

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,465 miles
The consumer stated that battery acid had leaked onto the wiring harness, causing electrical failure. The dealer confirmed this problem. The manufacturer offered to pay for half of the repairs. The contact had not taken the vehicle to the dealer for repairs yet. (11/21/05) the driver's side window intermittently failed to go up and was reported numerous times to the dealer, but they were unable to duplicate the problem. The reverse light had become intermittent while the vehicle was in motion. Also the fan, windows and the radio failed to operate when the A/C or defrost was turned on. This all linked to the battery dripping acid onto the wiring harness. Also, the rear driver side tire had a slow leak. The vehicle had been repaired on 10/21/05

- Holland, MA, USA

problem #8

Jan 152002

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles


2002 Dodge Caravan. The headlights on my 2002 Dodge Caravan flashed off and on intermittently driving at night.. had this problem since purchasing the vehicle. Had not had any accidents. There has not been any property damage nor police report was taken. The vehicle has the original headlights. Updated 11/16/2005.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #7

Apr 302005

Caravan 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,300 miles
The consumer received a recall notice about moisture from air conditioner that may enter into radio and cause a short circuit or possible radio/left speaker fire. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who fixed the vent but not the radio.

- Yonkers , NY, USA

problem #6

Sep 092004


  • miles
'recall campaign' issued for 2002 Dodge Caravan radio vent slots (code D48). Caravan caught on fire. The consumer's purchased another vehicle from the dealer since they refused to accept responsibility for the fire. After the vehicle caught on fire the consumer received a recall notice. The notice was on all 2002 Caravan for a potential defect which could result in a fire. The consumer would like to be reimbursed for the cost of having to get another vehicle.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #5

Jul 202004

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
The van has an ongoing electrical failure which results in the headlights, dashboard lights, and other components malfunctioning. They either don't function at all or don't function properly. The dealer/mechanic replaced the PCM in attempt to correct the failure. It didn't work. There is a current investigation on this issue, PE05004.....replaced power steering reservoir and hose. Could not duplicate a fuel gauge problem.

- Saint Augustine, FL, USA

problem #4

Mar 312004

(reported on)


  • miles
After parking the vehicle in the driveway for one hour consumer noticed flames coming from around the running board.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #3

Nov 192003

(reported on)


  • 16,000 miles
Electrical system malfunctioned, causing right turn signal to come on when the left signal is engaged and visa versa/fuel gauge to read the incorrect fuel level, and windshield wiper switch not to respond to the correct speed.

- Hagerstown, MD, USA

problem #2

Nov 272002

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,499 miles
On November 27, 2002 I purchased a used Dodge Caravan 2002 that would not stay on and it has been in and out of service since then. Today Jan 19,2003 it is in service since last Monday and I have not received a phone call or anything of the sort. This van has had this problem since the beginning and noone will help me. It has turned off three times and I went to speak to my sales rep tom zulli who did not help then I spoke to mike in service and he does not help and rob upson the general manager who was very nasty because I asked him for a replacement van or a refund. The name of the dealership is neil Dodge at 1788 route 112, medford NY 11763. I feel as if if I do not have any rights I have reported them to better business bureau and Consumer Affairs, daimler Chrysler noone is helping me. I gave a 10,000 deposit and I have driven my van a total of one week and I am going on my second payment but I do not have my van. This last time I picked it up after it being in service for 3 three weeks the very next day it would not turn on. When I called neil Dodge it took them 3 days to pick it up and when they did, I had to call more than 5 times that day. They have had the van over a week and still not one call. They have given me a rental in the meantime and according to rob upson they do not have to. It was done as a favor. The catch to this rental is that I have to pay $13 a day for insurance since 12/28/02. I still have the rental because my van is still in repairs and noone knows what is wrong with the van. When I purchased the van Mr. Tom zulli told me the prior owner of this van returned it because he could no longer afford to pay it. When I called daimler Chrysler they informed me it was a rental, of course they gave me a paper saying so, which I signed not knowing but they gave more than 10 forms to sign how was I supposed to know that I was being tricked. Please help me as I am feeling very helpless and as if I do not have any rights at all.

- Medford, NY, USA

problem #1

Sep 182002


  • 30,000 miles
Consumer states that while driving at 20 mph and no warning the rear inside (driver side rear speaker) of the vehicle caught on fire and the consumer was force to pull over. The vehicle was totaled. SC.

- Pembrook Pine, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?