Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.4

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,333 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Dodge Caravan steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Dodge Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Dodge Caravan Owner Comments

problem #6

Nov 062007

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had 2 recalls taken care of however the steering in my 2002 Caravan still continues to lock up when making turns. This has caused me to almost have more than one collision because this can happen when pulling out in traffic and turning. I am a busy mother with four children who depend on me for their safety. Today my son who is in college borrowed my van to go to school and almost had an accident. This is why I am doing research on this problem. If you force the steering it will finally break away and continue to steer however you do not know when to expect it to be defective. I thought when I took care of the recalls that this would fix the problem however, we still have to battle with this problem on a regular basis. Most of the time it happens when the weather turns colder. I have not been informed of any new recalls on my vehicle. We keep a regular check on the fluids so I know this is not the problem. I would appreciate something being resolved before one of my children or myself end up deceased.

- Winnsboro, TX, USA

problem #5

Feb 072005

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While vehicle was parked driver noticed a liquid leaking from underneath the vehicle. Driver was unable to turn the steering wheel. A loud clanking noise was coming from the front. Driver took vehicle to the dealer for inspection, and mechanic determined that the steering hoses and transmission shaft needed to be replaced. Then, driver informed the mechanic that the problems still occurred, and had not been resolved.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #4

Dec 032004

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
We have had the power steering pump changed four times. On 7/22/03, we brought the van into westway Dodge, because we had a loud noise when turning. They conducted technical service bulletin 19-006-02 and installed a longer power steering hose. On 7/31/2003, we again brought it in to westway, because the power steering pump was making a moaning sound. They diagnosed it as low pressure output and replaced the power steering pump. On Sept. 15, 2003 we brought it in for the power steering coolant line recall. After that time, the dealer advised us that it was still making noise but it would go away after the lines got broke in. We have experienced continued noise and the steering wheel, at times, is difficult to turn. November 26, 2004, we took our van in for the upper power steering pump recall. We brought it to mack massey Dodge at 950 crockett, el paso, tx 79922. Our service representative was ralph garcia (telephone 915-231-4193). He arranged to have the recall done. I also asked him to investigate a loud noise when the steering wheel was turned. On or about November 27, 2004, the upper power steering pump was changed. They also replaced the pump and test drove the vehicle. I was told by Mr. Garcia, that the pump leaked and ¬completely fell apart¬?. Mr. Garcia stated they would change the pump again, check it for leaks. We picked up the vehicle on November 29, 2004. On December 3, 2004, while driving to phoenix, I experienced a check engine light & warning tone. I drove the vehicle to las cruces, nm and took it to the sandoval Dodge service center, which was closer to me at the time. Mr. Rudy sandoval ( phone: 800-499-1403) had the vehicle checked. I spoke with Mr. Sandoval today, (12/6/2004) and he stated their repair department had done the upper power steering hose recall and also found the power steering pump to be leaking and it would need to be replaced. It is still being repaired as of 12/7/2004.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #3

Oct 152004

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Consumer received recall 04V386000 concerning power steering fluid leakage: Took vehicle to the dealer on three separate occasions, and consumer continued to smell some type of fluid burning, and steering wheel felt loose while driving. Consumer was not able to provide the dealer information at this time.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #2

Nov 042004

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
Brought my 2002 Dodge Caravan in for a recall replacement on the upper power steering cooler hose, I left the dealership thinking my van was okay boy was I wrong the next day my van started pouring powersteering coolant on the ground and it made a horrible whirling sound, I contacted dealership an was told to bring in and I did but when I got at the dealership they acted like I never called and said they would not look at my vehichle, well I demanded a look before I left and was told there are no problems and if there were they would not cover them due to there stupidness that they dont have time and if problem still persists to bring back in a couple of days, keep in mind my power steering fluid is leaking horribly everywhere and that is what I was there to fix in the beginning because it would catch fire, so I took to another dealership and they told me that my rack N pinnion power steering was burnt up due to faulty installers of the hose. I am going to a different dealership to get the problem fixed correctly and for free. Daimer Chrysler has been notified of the discrepancy and told me to take to another Dodge dealership. So dont deal with elder randall autoplex in marshall, tx.. they do not give U information on the repair being done and U have to complain to get it, supposedly they are mailing it to me - who knows. I will not buy another Dodge ever again they are unreliable and dishonest people.

- Marshall, TX, USA

problem #1

Sep 032003

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
While driving power steering hose failed without warning. While driving at 25-30 mph vehicle's steering wheel started to lock up. The rack and pinion system was replaced to remedy the problem.

- Massena, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?