Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,016 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Challenger seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Challenger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Challenger Owner Comments

problem #20

Jul 292016

Challenger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Challenger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V3520000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Dublin, CA, USA

problem #19

Jul 012016

Challenger

  • miles
Takata recall. I received a letter about this recall months ago. It said they dont have the parts to repair this issue yet. I checked online today and it still says there is no resolution. This seems like a serious issue. I could die if my airbag deploys! I don't feel they are handling this fast enough. The recall date is July 1, 2016! what's the hold up"?" people's lives are at stake here!

- Rosenberg, TX, USA

problem #18

Sep 202016

Challenger

  • miles
I was notified of the recall by mail. I called northwest Dodge in may to schedule an appointment. They verified they had the part, put I needed to wait 10 days to schedule. Brought car in and after 40 minutes was told part was not available. It is almost October and not further notification and as of last week, part still not available.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #17

Jun 152016

Challenger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Challenger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V252000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #16

Jun 272016

Challenger

  • 44,000 miles
The wires/connector for the front passenger side airbag sensor are located under the front passenger side seat. However, the wires and connection fitting easily become either disconnected or fouled with grime (as reported by the dealer) so as to cause the system to take the passenger side airbag offline. When this happens and a person is sitting in the seat, it flashes the warning light on the dash that the airbag is not operable. This has happened and been repaired at least twice before if not three times, and the airbag warning light came on yet gain this morning. I have had repairs on this same system alone twice since November 2015, and here we have yet a third failure of the exact same system, exact same part, exact some coupler, within 6 or 7 months. I asked last time they fixed it that they use a heat gun and shrink wrap on the fitting to prevent this happening again and apparently they did not. Of course, Dodge should not have designed a critical safety component in a way that allows simple dust or grime to get into it and foul the system, rendering an airbag inoperable. Oh and I have less than 45,000 miles on this vehicle.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #15

Mar 152016

Challenger

  • miles
From the time I start up my vehicle, until the time I turn the vehicle off, the airbag light keeps chiming and turns on and off and doesn't stop. The vehicle was at the dealership when this happened but the Dodge service tech was unable to scan the vehicle with his diagnostic tool due to the light not staying on. I noticed a recall for certain 2011-2012 Dodge Challengers built between April 11, 2011 through December 14, 2011 regarding the "seat wiring harness connectors" (recall #N07/ NHTSA 13V-118). I contacted the fca recall center for Chrysler/ Dodge and they informed me that my vehicle doesn't qualify for the recall because my Challenger was built on March 23, 2011. My Challenger was built two weeks before the "affected" build dates and have the same exact connectors specified in the recall notice. Why wouldn't my vehicle's seat wiring harness connectors be considered defective?? I work as a federal law enforcement officer and am currently driving to and from work to defend the United States of America from any and all threats but if I got into an accident, I'm not safe in my own vehicle, which was manufactured in the usa.

- Rio Rico, AZ, USA

problem #14

Jan 272016

Challenger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After purchasing the 2011 Dodge Challenger in December 2015 the car seat belt senor has been repaired; now in January 2016 the airbag light indicator stays on after being in motion for 15 minutes. Has both the recalls been properly repaired?

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #13

Apr 172013

Challenger

  • 39,000 miles
NHTSA recall number 13V-118, recall date 4/17/2013, manufacturer recall number N07. The front seat airbag wiring electrical connectors may have an intermittent electrical connection. If an intermittent electrical connection exists during a side impact the front seat airbag located at the outboard side of seatback may not deploy as intended. This could cause additional injury to front seat occupants during a side impact collision. The front seat airbag wire harness for both front seats must be inspected and replaced if necessary. Recall status: Recall incomplete

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #12

Jan 052015

Challenger 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Air bag light continues to come on and off, signaling my air bags are not working when the light is on. I found online that Chrysler recalled 2011-2013 Dodge Challengers in 2013 for this exact issue, however when I brought my car to a Dodge dealer, they say my VIN is not in the system for a recall. Because it's not in the system as a recall, I am to pay out of pocket? this is a serious safety issue that could cause a fatality if I am in a wreck while the light is on. Chrysler should honor their consumers' safety and handle this before something happens. I found on forums that many Challenger owners have had the same experience. See link below to recall info. www.lemonauto.com/complaints/daimler_chrysler/dodge_challenger.htm.

- Jacksonville , FL, USA

problem #11

Apr 142015

Challenger 6-cyl

  • miles
I have 2 recalls pending on my Dodge Challenger, one for front airbags failing and one for the alternator diodes possibly causing fire. Dodge wants to take my car for 2 days but I have no other vehicle. I asked how was I supposed to get home, they said a bus or taxi. I am not taking a taxi an hour ride to get home, then to and from work because they want to recall my car, so I asked for a loaner and was told no. I keep calling their recall assistance center, and they tell me that their system is down and to call back at another time. How is their system always down" why do I have to spend money out of pocket on a temporary vehicle so they can fix their own recall" I can't afford to rent a car or use a taxi (busses don't run through my area). So I take off of work and possibly get fired, or continue to drive a defective vehicle and possibly die?

- Duryea, PA, USA

problem #10

Mar 242015

Challenger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Challenger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V118000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Elpaso, TX, USA

problem #9

Dec 052011

Challenger

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Challenger. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, all of the warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the air bags were replaced however, the failure recurred multiple times. The contact received NHTSA campaign number:14V634000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 3,000.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #8

Nov 012014

Challenger 8-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
The air bag light on my 2011 Challenger keeps coming on for no reason. I found on line that they were being recalled for faulty wiring connecters on the passenger and driver side seat air bags. I contacted the dealer and they told me I had to wait for a recall notice and I have not gotten one. I contacted Chrysler and they tell me to get it fix and pay for it my self because the recall is VIN specific. If they no there is a problem with faulty parts, I think they should have to take care of it no charge.

- Carpentersville, IL, USA

problem #7

Jul 272014

Challenger 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I was traveling in the center lane of the hwy, going approx 60 mph when the car in the left lane a red Chevy Impala sideswiped a SUV behind me, at that time the red Chevy lost control of his car and hit me in the drivers side rear quarter panel, that spun my car, I then hit the guard rail went back across 3 lanes of traffic hit the car that hit me and stopped near the shoulder of the hwy.no airbags deployed, my wife's head smacked the passenger window and ended up with a major concussion, and other injuries.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #6

May 232014

Challenger

  • 24,344 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Challenger. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the front passenger side seatbelt pretensioner circuit was faulty causing the passenger side air bag to become defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number 13V118000 (airbags). The failure mileage was 24,344.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #5

Apr 142014

Challenger 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
I was returning to work from lunch and I was driving South in the company parking lot going no faster than 5-10 mph. I started to make a right turn into a parking space so that I could back into the parking space directly behind it. As I started to make the turn I took my foot off the gas and placed it on the brake so I could come to a complete stop before I backed up into the space behind me. As I had my foot on the brake the car accelerated on its own and because I had no time to react the car plowed through a tree, some heavy vegetation and down an embankment. There was significant damage to the front of the car, as a result of the impact with the tree, which caused the entire bumper to fall off and destroyed. Yet, the airbags, which were recalled and already "serviced" once before, never deployed.

- Paramount, CA, USA

problem #4

May 102013

Challenger 6-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
I received a notice from Chrysler on 5/10/2013 stating "the front seat airbag wiring electrical connectors on your vehicle may have an intermittent electrical connection. If an intermittent electrical connection exists during side impact, the front seat airbag located at the outboard side of the seatback may not deploy as intended. This could cause additional injury to front seat occupants during a side impact collision." I've spoken to the dealership twice and they keep telling me the part needed to correct this is on backorder. If I were to get in an accident and the front passenger gets injured because of this problem not being corrected could I sue Chrysler for a gazillion dollars? I will never buy another product from them. This is beyond ludicrous to wait this long. I could have built this electrical connector 100 times in the past 2 months!

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #3

Apr 032011

Challenger 8-cyl

  • 16,400 miles
Bought car used. After 3 days of having it the air bag light came on, and will not go out. Took car to dealer they say it is in the harness under the passenger seat. They are trying to get the correct harness so far 2 where shipped to them and they were the wrong one. They really don;T have a answer. According to dealer alot of Challengers are having this problem. There should be a recall from what I have found out on the internet. This is a big problem for Dodge.

- Manistee, MI, USA

problem #2

Mar 222012

Challenger

  • 18,000 miles
My 2011 Dodge Challenger was in a head on accident. The impact push the motor under the dash, cracked the transmission, crumbled the front of the car almost to the windshield. The Challenger has an air bag on the seat, well that air bag; nor the air bag on the windshield pillar or the steering wheel or passenger air bag deploy. Not only did the air bags fail, but the seat belt did not lock to restrain a person from avoiding injury. This is my second Challenger, my first Challenger had a bad paint job and this one could of cost me my life. I have the vehicle, awaiting for Dodge to inspection the defects. It has been 5 days and I have yet to hear from Dodge nor are my calls being returned.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #1

Feb 162012

Challenger 6-cyl

  • 6,581 miles
The airbag light comes on and the airbag will not deploy were an accident to happen. It is the driver side front deploy airbag. This can be turned off by wiggling a wire and connector under the rear of the driver's seat. The light and disabling of the airbag happen at random times and any time you increase speed quickly (ie. Freeway on ramps). This is again remedied by a giggling the wires and connector behind and under the driver. I can disable the airbag anytime by wiggling the wire under the seat, if driving prior to the indicator coming on. I will take the vehicle to the dealership although several other owners have been unsuccessful in their many attempts. The problem is also being reported on line by owners of new 2012 models.

- Seaside, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?