Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,789 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Dodge Challenger seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Dodge Challenger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Dodge Challenger Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Nov 102016

Challenger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Challenger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bonita Springs, FL, USA

problem #27

Oct 262016

Challenger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Challenger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Big Spring, TX, USA

problem #26

Oct 202016

Challenger

  • miles
Takata recall. Remedy not yet available. Needs to be remedied immediately.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #25

Aug 032016

Challenger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Challenger. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags) was received in July. After contacting the dealer and manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #24

Jul 012016

Challenger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Challenger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Quincey, FL, USA

problem #23

Jul 262016

Challenger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Challenger. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the parts needed were not available. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the recall repairs. The dealer and manufacturer were made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #22

Jul 222016

Challenger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car has a recall but the dealership says there is no fix at the moment. The airbag light is on and they have only offered to turn off the light. I can't park the car as I have to drive it to work.

- Scurry, TX, USA

problem #21

Dec 162013

Challenger 8-cyl

  • miles
2012 Dodge Challenger. Consumer writes in regards to seat wiring harness connectors recall notice repair issues. The vehicle was inspected on May 31, 2013 and it was determined no repair was required. December 16, 2016 the air bag light illuminated and the vehicle was taken to the dealer. The consumer returned to the dealer on April 16, 2014 for the same air bag light issue. On June 24, 2016 the dealer found fault code B1C2D. They spliced the wires under the right front passenger seat and removed the yellow four-way seat wiring harness connector. The dealer charged him a $100 under his protection plan. The consumer repeatedly stated it was an air bag recall issue and he shouldn't have been charged. The consumer referenced recall # 13V118000.

- Kapolei, HI, USA

problem #20

May 232016

Challenger

  • miles
2012 Dodge Challenger. The air bag warning light stays on constantly. I took my car to the local dealer in Liberty tx, where they told me that there were no recalls. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in a recall. If I want the issue fixed dealer says it will cost $250 and up. This has been a ongoing problem for over a year now.

- Dayton, TX, USA

problem #19

Mar 302016

Challenger

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Challenger. While driving at approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. In addition, the air bag warning light illuminated continuously. The vehicle was not able to restart. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine timing needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V118000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 104,000.

- Lathonia, GA, USA

problem #18

Dec 242015

Challenger

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Challenger. The contact stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where the contact was informed that there were no recalls. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in a recall. The failure was not remedied. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #17

Oct 102015

Challenger

  • 60,000 miles
Involved in a head on collision, the others drive was on our side of the road and hit us head on, the air bags didn't deploy and sent me into the dash board along with the driver, I sustained severe whiplash and so did the driver we were transported to the hospital by ambulance and I am now J sergio G physical therapy due to the airbags not deploying, the car was involve in another accident weeks later where the car was hit twice intentionally and the air bags didn't deploy then either.

- Alviso, CA, USA

problem #16

Aug 312015

Challenger

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Challenger. While driving at 40 mph, the passenger side air bag warning light remained illuminated and the vehicle made an abnormal noise. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #15

Jun 132015

Challenger

  • 44,420 miles
I own a 2012 Dodge Challenger. I am the original owner. About 8 months after purchase my passenger side airbag light started turning on intermittently. Usually stopping for long periods of time. Eventually the frequency increased, until the light remained on permanently. I took my vehicle to the local Dodge dealership to address a different recall and have the airbags inspected. I ended up paying $220 for repairs to the passenger side airbag wiring. Not long after repairs the problem started again. It has now increased in frequency and stays on majority of the time. I was told by the technician who performed the repairs that this could prevent the airbag from deploying in an accident. I have found where this issued has been addressed and has a recall campaign number of N07. However, my VIN does not authorize these recall repairs. I would just like to has this repair made and not continue to be charged for repairs on faulty equipment.

- Evans, GA, USA

problem #14

Sep 152014

Challenger

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Challenger. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the head lights cut off without any warnings. The contact stated that when the vehicle came to a complete stop, the head lights turned back on. The contact stated that while at a completed stop, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle experienced unexpected acceleration speeding up to 120 mph. The contact stated that in order to stop, the brake pedal was depressed with extreme pressure, causing the rear passenger side tire to blow out. The contact believed that the vehicle was being hacked. In addition, the contact stated that the air bag and traction control warning indicators were illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Benton, TN, USA

problem #13

May 272015

Challenger

  • 34,000 miles
Air bag light gradually came on and off. Currently, the light stays consistently on. Began when I was driving at low speeds. The air bag light came on and off along with a peep (sound made when seat belt is not being used). As time passed, the air bag light didn't turn off and remains consistently on. Dealer said that my car does not apply for the recall made on April 2013 for this same problem on this same model. Apparently there is a cut off on vehicles and mine didn't make the list, however it demonstrates same exact problem for which the recall was made.

- South Gate, CA, USA

problem #12

Feb 072015

Challenger

  • 26,000 miles
Recall N07: I took my vehicle to springfield Chrysler auto mart when the recall was first issued, I bought this car with the airbag light on the dealership (not the one listed above) sold it to me like that. The dealership replacing the wires (dealership above) cut and spliced into the old wires instead of replacing them. They had plugs on them and he cut them right off and wired the airbags up. It is a major safety hazard for these wires to not be cut that's why they have plugs on them. Im still having issues with this vehicle regarding this recall and the dealership can't seem to get it straight service advisor ([xxx]) advised me not to bring my car back because it's got several issues. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Meldrim, GA, USA

problem #11

Jan 012013

Challenger

  • miles
My air bag warning light repeatedly stays on after multiple trips to the dealership to have it fixed. It's stays on constantly. Everytime I go have it serviced at the dealership, the light will stay off for a couple of weeks and then turn on again. It never gets resolved and I worry that my air bags will not deploy in an accident.

- Lubbocm, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 252014

Challenger 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,900 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Challenger. The contact stated that the air bag sensor flashed and remained illuminated. The dealer stated that there was an internal failure with the passenger side air bag seat sensor. The dealer replaced the core and air bag and cleared the failure code. During the second repair, the dealer replaced a loose wire and the connector assembly; however, the failure recurred. The contact noticed a flashing warning sensor indicating that the air bag was deactivated. The dealer repaired the vehicle again. The contact was later notified of NHTSA campaign number: 13V118000 (air bags), but the dealer did not inspect or diagnose the vehicle to determine if the recall repair was required after the two previous repairs were performed. There was no indication if the dealer would replace the driver and passenger seat air bag wiring harnesses. While driving approximately 10 mph, another vehicle crashed into the front end and passenger side of the contact's vehicle. The driver sustained bruises to the left shoulder and pelvic pains that required medical attention. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was waiting for further inspection from the insurance company and the manufacturer to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 8,900. Updated 10/8/14 updated 5/13/2015

- Shallotte, NC, USA

problem #9

Jan 122014

Challenger 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Challenger. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the air bag wiring harness needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V118000 (air bag). The approximate failure mileage was 41,000. Dr updated 8/14/14 updated 08/26/2014

- Copley, OH, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?