Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,924 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Charger engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 14 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Jul 042009

Charger 8-cyl

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On July 4th 2009, after refueling my 2006 Dodge Charger R/T (5.7L hemi with approximately 38,000 miles), it stalled while driving at approximately 45mph. It ran/idled rough when restarted. Since the first incident, it repeats the stalling issue randomly after refueling and has continued until current day (5/14/2013). It has stalled several times in the middle of intersections, causing dangerous situations that put my life, as well as other drivers in danger, but usually stalls when stopping at stop/yield signs. After refueling, it is unsafe for me to try and merge onto the freeway unless I circle town on low speed city roads until the car stalls or I feel it will not be an issue at the time - this is a gross waste of fuel that should not be necessary but under current circumstances, it is. Through my own investigation thru on-line sources and members within my local car club, I have found the issue to likely be a faulty roll-over valve within the fuel tank, which is non-serviceable and requires replacing the entire fuel tank (about $750~900 for parts and 3~6 hours of labor).

- Belle Plaine, MN, USA

problem #18

Mar 012013

Charger

  • 120,000 miles
My Dodge Charger will shut off intermittently. I've spent money going to mechanics and the dealership and no one knows whets causing it. The dealership made me sound as if I was lieing or crazy. It wasn't until my boss told me today he saw it on the news today (I've been complaining about it for months now) I decided to file a complaint to let you know it is happening to my car.

- San Jose , CA, USA

problem #17

Jan 102011

Charger

  • 94,000 miles
I just read an article on yahoo stating an investigation in the 2006 Dodge Charger engine stalling. For 2 years I had this problem and it was inadvertent but dangerous, especially when driving interstate speeds. The engine would stall out, almost like you turned the key off and then back on. It almost cost me a wreck on the interstate. It would also do it at idle speeds but at that RPM it would kill the engine. I took it to the dealership on numerous occasions and because the problem was intermittent they were unable to diagnose it. When it finally got worse, I was told it needed new plugs. I changed them and it didn't fix the problem. Then they changed all 8 coils and it didn't fix the problem. Finally as a last resort they replaced the computer and it fixed the problem. This whole process cost me about $4,000. A month and a half later the transmission started dragging and not shifting properly, so instead of going through the same process again I decided to get rid of the car.

- Waterville, KS, USA

problem #16

Oct 272012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Dodge Charger rt (5.7 hemi) stalls suddenly when driving on highway. I placed car quickly in neutral and tried restarting twice before car started again. It is very scary now to drive on the highway. This issue continues to happen frequently. I noticed that it usually happens especially after filling up gas.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #15

Aug 012012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The car will stall within a minute or so of filling up the gas tank. This has happened about 95% of the time I filled up the tank. If I feel the stall coming on I can throw it in neutral and rev the engine for about 10 seconds and it won't stall anymore. I first began to notice it at least 8 months ago. I stopped filling the tank all the way just to avoid this because it caused me to stall while going thru an intersection and backing up traffic. I was told I needed to buy a new gas tank to rectify this issue.

- Independence, MO, USA

problem #14

May 152012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 54,810 miles
I was driving the car at 60mph on the expressway when the engine quit with no warning causing the car to lose all power in heavy traffic. My car was nearly hit several times by other cars as I tried to change lanes in order to reach the emergency lane on the right side of the expressway. I restarted the car with no problems. The car engine has quit for no reason several other times with no warning in the last year while driving at different speeds. The manufacturer needs issue a recall, or be liable for any lawsuits resulting from accidents caused by defective fuel systems in these vehicles.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #13

Mar 132013

Charger

  • 78,467 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took car to the dealership for tune-up;and transmission service on march13, 2013; on April 17, 2013 the car totally shutdown as I turned into the gas station. I got it started, it jerked as if it was choking, I managed to get to the dealership and it shut down again, just before I made it up to the service lane at the dealership. I was told that the rear axle seals were leaking, which I had repaired, also that an updated memory chip should have been installed in March, so that was done. Pickup my car on April 18, 2013 and while sitting in traffic, the car was shaking and felt as though it was about to cutoff. I put in park while at the traffic light and pressed on the gas to raise the engine;as I turned into my driveway, it stalled again. I took it back to the dealership, they initially said there was a coil that was misfiring but the diagnostic machine could not detect it. I picked my car up on April 25, 2013 only to have something electrically draining my battery down to 4 or 5 volts every other day. Took it back to the dealership, technician said their diagnostic machine couldn't find any problems with the battery, alternator nor any of electrical parts. I had no problems with my car prior to having the above services done. After speaking with a mechanic, I was told that I am not the only person having these type of problems, especially after a new software chip has been installed. Perhaps this and other issues need to really be addressed with Chrysler.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #12

Apr 222013

Charger

  • 97,530 miles
The car has been operating just fine. On the date of incident, I pulled into a gas station to refuel, shut the car off, filled the car approx. To 3/4 tank. I started the car, it ran rough then died. I could not start it again. I towed it to a mechanic friend and he looked at it. After much investigation he found that the spark plugs in cyl. 6 had been hit by the piston and bent the spark plug electrodes closed. He regapped them, re-installed them, started the engine, same result. This is the 5.7L hemi V8.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #11

Apr 022013

Charger

  • 83,475 miles
Shortly after filling the vehicle with fuel one day, it began to stall out when stopped. While traveling at highway speeds it seems to momentarily lose electrical and mechanical power, then a warning sound will chime and everything returns to normal... temporarily. However, while on a road trip and traveling at speeds over 70mph with cruise control on, we didn't experience any of these symptoms until we had to reduce our speed when approaching towns. Also, the cruise control will shut off if it is being used when "power surge" happens and has to be manually reset.

- Floral City , FL, USA

problem #10

Dec 202012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
When traveling at hwy. Speed the car loses power and shuts off and back on by itself. If im stopped at a red light and it does it I have to put it in park and crank it back up but then it takes a 10-15 seconds before it will go into gear. The problem use to happen once or twice in a day and then it may be 2 weeks before it would happen again. Now the car is not drivable as it does this constant. I got a new front control module and drove it about 20 miles and it started again.

- Opelika, AL, USA

problem #9

Mar 212013

Charger 6-cyl

  • 146 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 03/21/2013, at approximately 1830 hours my car would not start for no apparent reason. I had to get my vehicle towed to my house where a mechanic examined the vehicle and observed water leaking into the engine. He stated the car was overheating when the gauge never documented such a thing. He also stated that there is a damaged head gasket and may have additional damage due to the fact that the vehicle is making a "weird" noise and the only way to diagnose any further problems is through taking the engine apart. I don't know how this could happen to a 2006 vehicle. Never purchasing another Dodge ever again. This vehicle never gave me any problems and now all this mechanical stuff happened out of the blue. All the fluids and everything has been up to date and no there is no warranty on the vehicle.

- Riverdale, CA, USA

problem #8

Oct 192012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
This problem is related to the purge solenoid. The evaporative emissions system stores fuel vapors from the tank and then burns them in the engine, to keep the vapors from going into the atmosphere. When you fill the tank with fuel the air and vapor that the fuel displaces has to go into the evap system. There is a valve on top of the tank that allows the vapor out, but is supposed to shut off when liquid fuel hits it as the tank fills. What happens is this valve fails and it allows you to push liquid fuel into the evap system when you push too much fuel into the tank. This liquid fuel goes into the vapor canister and lines. When you start the engine a couple minutes later the purge solenoid will come on to do it's job and burn these vapors, but with this failed valve it sucks up liquid fuel instead, so the engine runs rough and can die at idle. The vehicle stalls for the next 5 miles or so whenever you take your foot off the gas, I.e. taking a turn or sitting at a traffic light. The vehicle bucks violently as well. When the engine stalls it cuts all power to the vehicle causing you to lose power steering and the ABS. Because the vehicle is vapor locked it will not restart immediately. My fear is that I am going to pull into traffic and be involved in an accident when my vehicle stalls and will not restart or I'll be injured when it happens taking a curve or turn. Chrysler customer service center says they have no service bulletins on this issue and no one else has complained about. A quick internet search (Dodge Charger stall after filling with gas) shows it is a wide spread issue not only with the Charger but the magnum and Chrysler 300 as well. Only way to fix issue is to replace the entire gas tank which is a $900 part with 2-3 hours labor.

- East Hampton, CT, USA

problem #7

Aug 172012

Charger 8-cyl

  • miles
I was driving my vehicle and it started smoking I pulled over. Called mechanic had it towed to the shop where he later told me the motor was blown. Second incident there's a beeping sound and all my gauges keeping going crazy on me.third incident that pink piece inside the gear shift actual was stuck and came lose so it was removed and the car is able to be put into gear.

- Brooklyn , NY, USA

problem #6

Nov 082012

Charger

  • 85,000 miles
Driving down the street and the car stalled and then died. Has done it numerous times some at freeway speeds. Today the car stalled just sitting in the driveway.

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #5

Dec 142012

Charger

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while attempting to start the vehicle, a loud clicking noise could be heard as the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic where it was found that the engine failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 88,000.

- Okeechobee, FL, USA

problem #4

Feb 012012

Charger

  • 100,000 miles
After fueling my 2006 Dodge Charger R/T, the car will begin to sputter and completely shut-off. This results in the loss of power steering and having to put the car into park in order to restart. It will occur multiple times, sometimes while idling, before it will begin to act normally.it has been happening for several months. At first, it was sporadic but now it is everytime I fill up the gas tank. It can be very dangerous as it can happen anytime and without warning.

- Chino, CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 282012

Charger

  • 63,693 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. While driving approximately 50 mph, the contact noticed a loud clicking noise as the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact was able to restart the engine and noticed that the check engine warning light was illuminated. The warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 63,693.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #2

Jul 182012

Charger

  • 91,000 miles
I got off work started car put on seat belt. Put foot on brake and tried to move gear shift it wouldnt move out of park. There are so many complaints of this issue.

- Princess Anne , MD, USA

problem #1

May 142012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
I was traveling along the interstate and noticed a hesitation in my automobile due to a seized up engine. Just before it seized up I heard a knocking sound coming from the engine. The car would not start. The car was towed to a garage. The service person did an investigation an informed me that the engine was damaged and would need a complete overhaul or replacement. I was told by the machanic that the engine in the vehicle is notorious for failure due to a malfuctioning oil pump or defective connecting rod bearing. I did some research an found that there is a recall associated with a failed connecting rod bearing. One of my co-workers experienced the same thing with his automobile which is a Chrysler/Dodge product. This engine is a safety hazard in that by seizing up while in motion it could cause the driver to loose control of the vehicle resulting in serious injury or death.

- Richmond, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?