10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,136 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Charger engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 8 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #146

Feb 082014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 102,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling up with fuel, car died at a stop light. Restarted with no issue, but then stalled again in the intersection. While in the second stall, almost rear-ended by another driver. Car started again with no issue. Third stall at another stop light and then restarted and drove fine until the next fuel fill up.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #145

Mar 202014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 75,570 miles
Engine stalled after startup or @ low speed several times, some times after fuel topoff and engine light /electronic throttle control light came on.

- Medford, NY, USA

problem #144

Aug 142013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
I was leaving the gas station after I filled up the car with gasoline and the engine stalled. I placed the transmission in park and turned on the car in the middle of traffic, drove to the stop light and the car stalled again. The car kept stalling every time I would stop for the next three miles. The car ran fine until I topped off the fuel tank and then the car began stalling again. The car stalls at every stop for the next two to three miles every time that I top off the fuel tank. I cannot and have not topped off the fuel since then for fear that the car will stall and cause an accident.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #143

Mar 202013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 190,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine dies when at an idle and low speeds. Cranks right back but will die at low mph. Almost always dies at red lights and stop signs. Also dies when about to make turns at low mph. Dealership has no idea what is wrong. Has been doing this for almost a year.

- Foxworth, MS, USA

problem #142

Feb 032014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger rt. The contact stated that on multiple occasions, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted after several attempts. Additionally, gasoline would sporadically spill from the fuel tank. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the check valve was causing an overflow condition. The vehicle was later taken to an authorized dealer, who diagnosed that the check valve, evaporation canister and the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90000...updated 05-09-14....updated 05/15/14 the consumer stated the vehicle stalled at a highway speed, and another instance of fuel spilling from the tank during fill-up resulting in a spill at the gas pump/ the consumer stated he was forced to stop re-fueling at about 15-18 gallons to avoid the situation. Updated 05/15/14

- Pleasant Hill, MO, USA

problem #141

Feb 142014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
Multiple times in the last month when I have refueled, the vehicle is difficult to start and then runs extremely rough and usually dies on the road once or twice. The engine seems to rumble and shakes the vehicle and then after a short period of driving it seems to go away. The engine light blinks on and off while this situation is happening. My mechanic has looked the problem over twice and cannot seem to determine what needs to be done to correct the problem. He has been in contact with Dodge/Chrysler and they indicate no other reported problems. The mechanic is still checking but seems to remember changing a fuel tank on a Charger in the past that was having an engine problem and it corrected the problem. He is rechecking his files to find that repair job. Last night my vehicle died twice in my driveway (with less than half a tank of gas) and I consider it unsafe to drive at this point. Anyone want to buy a used 2006 Charger (hemi)"?" it will be sitting in my driveway. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Coal City, IL, USA

problem #140

Jan 062014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

System failure when vehicle is at stand still or low speed. The vehicle will completely shut off. The vehicle immediately starts up again. Have had a authorized dealership diagnose the problem with no diagnostic.

- Panorama City , CA, USA

problem #139

Mar 102014

Charger

  • 140,000 miles
My 2006 Dodge Charger was purchased used in Dec 2013. Since then it has occasionally lost power when driving.. but after a few seconds restored to normal operating conditions. Monday 3/10/14, while driving 55 mph on highway 251 in rockford it began loosing power and stalled completely.. I barely had time to get to the right hand lane curb. It was a busy traffic situation, and I had stalled just before construction zone where traffic was merging to one lane. As I sat against the curb a car was forced over striking my mirror off my car... it could have been much worse. Not an exaggeration, I felt my life was greatly jeopardized. The car would not restart and needed towed away. The situation was only safe by a police car polling up behind me until the tow truck came. So far the car service has not found a cause. Updated 03/14/14

- Loves Park, IL, USA

problem #138

Jan 012014

Charger

  • 90,964 miles
Immediately after fueling vehicle to regular capacity and automatic shutoff - no "topping off". left the filling station and the car stalled several times, each time in a precarious position such as decelerating to make a turn or coming to a stop at a light. Car dies losing power steering and breaks. Thought this might be bad gas but it has since repeated every time the car is refueled. This is becoming a serious safely concern as the condition is common during the first 50 or so miles of driving after a fill up. Upon speaking with the dealer they blamed the issue on the end user overfilling the tank. As the only user of the vehicle it is never overfilled nor "topped off".

- O Fallon, MO, USA

problem #137

Dec 182013

Charger

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger xt. The contact stated that the engine would stall sporadically after the vehicle was refueled. The contact inquired about a technical service bulletin (tsb) under NHTSA action number: PE13016 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the extended warranty only covered the vehicle for up to 100,000 miles and the contact had exceeded the mileage. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 108,000.

- Christiana, PA, USA

problem #136

May 072013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While waiting at stop lights, car idles fine. The moment the light turns green and I release the brake to step on the gas pedal the car stalls. This has happened up to 4 times in one day. Happened only once today 3/6/2014.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #135

Aug 012013

Charger

  • 40,000 miles
So my car began to stall after filling it up with gas. Most of the time it stalled while stopped. A few times while in motion. Since the car dies I have lost power steering.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #134

Jan 032014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Was pulling out of a store onto major road car just died like no fuel or spark has happened multiple times now once with my grandson in car put in neutral and restarted ok for day or so then does it again it really seems to be safety issue is there a recall on this issue I really like the car but safety first also im original owner car still stock.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #133

Jan 232014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
Engine stalls after filing up with gas. It happens at low RPM typically when approaching a traffic light or stop. Once driving for a while it stops happening. Most times it will restart right away. On one occurrence I was stuck on a very busy road with truck traffic and it would not start for a few minutes. This happened once to me in the past but now it's happening after every fill up.

- Commack, NY, USA

problem #132

Feb 012014

Charger

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle, which was taken to an independent mechanic. The mechanic replaced the spark plugs, cleaned the throttle body, replaced the plugs for the power control module, and changed the fuel pump relay. The failure recurred after the repairs were performed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 97,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #131

May 102012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I own a 2006 Dodge Charger R/T with the 5.7 liter hemi engine. I purchased it new in June of 2006 with 5 miles on the odometer. After 6 years of filling up my car by letting the gas pump stop automatically with no issues; the car began to stall right after filling-up when topping off the tank, starting around may of 2012. I called autonation Dodge in roseville, California and the service technician was familiar with my issue. He asked if I had filled up the tank by topping it off. I told him, affirmative. He advised me to not top off the tank at all during fill-ups or to buy a new fuel tank at the cost of $2000-3000 with installation. For the past couple of years, I've been lucky to not top off the fuel tank, but it has occurred at least 4 times when I made the mistake of topping off the gas. The last time this occurred was yesterday. After buying gas and having the pump stop automatically, I drove into a major intersection and stopped at the red light. The car turned off, and it took about 3 tries of re-starting the ignition in park before the car luckily powered on again. When my light turned green, the car would jump and lose power while shifting into second and third gears. I was very fortunate to not have any cars behind me, because this issue of the car stalling could cause an accident. This stalling hazard happened again yesterday on my way home and also this morning. I feel Chrysler/Fiat should replace all effected 2006 Dodge Charger R/ts with this issue by replacing the tank or whatever repair it would take to fix this safety hazard. I feel that most owners of this vehicle won't be aware of this issue until it happens to them personally. It should be mandatory for Chrysler/Fiat to issue a recall with all expenses covered by the manufacturer.

- Antelope, CA, USA

problem #130

Jul 282013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
After filling gas tank, engine hesitates and/or stalls. I only fill up until the fuel pump automatically shuts off, I do not add any more fuel than that. This has happened almost every time I have filled up with fuel. Most of the stalling/hesitation occurs when coasting or decelerating (coming to a stop). This has created multiple very dangerous situations due to the engine not running and I have a loss of the power assist to the steering. Occasionally the engine has a difficult time restarting after the engine stalls. This will occur approximately 4-8 times after a fill-up of fuel.

- Carpentersville, IL, USA

problem #129

Apr 022012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Charger rt 5.7L with about 100K miles on it. For the past year or so my vehicle will act as if it is cutting off and then will start back up immediately. My dash lights flash and I hear a chime each time this happens. On other occasions, my vehicle will cut off completely while idling at a stoplight, intersection, stop sign, etc. My vehicle will also cut off and right back on when I try to accelerate and other times it will cut off completely. This is really scary when it cuts off as I try to turn as a vehicle is coming, hoping the vehicle sees me and doesn't T-bone me in the middle of he street as I try to get the car running again. I really hope Dodge finds out what is causing this and at least inform their customers how to fix it or better yet, issue a recall and fix a problem that they know exists.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #128

Jan 262013

Charger

  • 19,031 miles
This isn't the 1st time that the engine has stalled after filling the fuel tank. Most recent episode happened as I was preparing to enter the gas stations drive-thru car wash...I had my foot on the brake to enter the code for the wash and just as I started to move forward the engine stalled. Happened a couple of months ago on the public right of way, I was stopped at a red light (just after a fuel up and just before I was about to enter the freeway). Another time I was in motion and it stalled in the middle of a busy intersection. The stalling affects the transmission. The engine is warm when this occurs. It takes about 3 attempts to successfully restart.

- Indio, CA, USA

problem #127

Jun 222006

Charger 8-cyl

  • 250 miles
After filling car with gas the engine stalls multiple times for the first few miles.this has happened to me a few hundred times over the years, I have almost been T boned and rear ended multiple times due to this defect. I try not to fill the tank but it happens even if gas is close to the fill mark.

- Union, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?