Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,924 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Charger engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 1 of 14)

problem #279

Oct 032016

Charger

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2006 Dodge Charger rt stalls intermittently while I'm turning a corner on a city street or stopped at a red light. When it stalls, I do not have power steering. This is extremely dangerous because I could get hit. Sometimes it stalls more often after I fill up with gas. I do not overfill. I have been filing my gas tank the same way for 10 years and until October of 2016 it has never been a problem.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #278

Nov 022016

Charger

  • 40,000 miles
Charger is stalling frequently. After filling up with gas. Stalled and went into some safe mode where it wouldn't go into second gear. Stalled on the highway, side roads and while making a turn. While making the turn it stalled in the middle of the intersection while a truck was coming at us. I had my son in the car and we were stranded in the road. We could have been killed!! I have read up on this and it seams to be a faulty sensor at the gas tank fill up. Why has this not been addressed? sounds like you are waiting for someone to get killed before doing anything. Great company!!!

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #277

Nov 152016

Charger

  • 70,805 miles
After filling up gas tank, vehicle will rapidly lose rpms and stall when stopped at lights or stop signs. I then put the vehicle in park and am able to restart it, but it will stall again while moving right after. This causes a loss of power steering which has almost caused me to crash multiple times. I only bought the car 12 days ago and it has done this multiple times. I have read the multiple other complaints, and have tried to fix the problem by replacing the PCM, but that did not work. Others have suggested replacing the gas tank because the stall could be caused by the vapor recovery system failing following refueling. I believe this issue is related to NHTSA action PE13016. The vehicle in its current condition is unsafe to drive as it will stall while moving and lose power steering. The problem first occurred on 11/7/16, and occurred again on 11/15/16, both times after I refueled. It will not occur if the gas is below 3/4 full. I replaced the PCM on 11/10/16, but that did not fix the problem.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #276

Aug 012016

Charger

  • 102,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2006 Charger will stall and or jolt violently as soon as I leave the gas station, and it is only when I fill up my tank. After restarting the vehicle twice and driving a short while I do not have any problems, it only happens when I fill up my gas tank. I know that newer vehicle fuel tanks are designed not to be force filled due to the special evap system. I only fill the tank till the station pump nozzle clicks off, which is what I was told how to fill these newer vehicles. This problem has been going on for over several months, though I have not had any traffic accidents, I fear that this is an accident waiting to happen.

- Smiths Creek, MI, USA

problem #275

Oct 302016

Charger

  • 135,000 miles
The car stalled while I was driving at about 50-55 mph. Everything went out. Eventually the car started. Now, when I stop at a stop light or stop sign it stalls out. I have not received a warning light and I have had the vehicle checked with a computer. There are no lights on the dash indicating there is a problem.

- Chesterfield Twp., MI, USA

problem #274

Oct 162016

Charger

  • miles
Engine knocks, won"T exceed 55 mph. Seems like a common problem that has yet to be addressed. To make matters worse the transmission is german and will cost $800 for the part alone, thanks Dodge.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #273

Oct 132016

Charger

  • 67,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car engine shuts down at highway speeds momentarily and back on a couple of times engine shut completely off had to pull over to the side of the road engine restarts no fault lights come on after searching the internet I find that this problem has been around for a while very dangerous if Dodge has addressed this problem I find no recalls it should be taken care of as soon as possible this has been going on for quite a while on my vehicle today being the latest episodes Thursday, October 13, 2016

- Thomaston, CT, USA

problem #272

Sep 262016

Charger

  • miles
The dodger Charger rt has been the worse vehicle I have ever paid for. My Charger is only at 80,000 miles and the Charger has been maintained properly. The transmission has issues with going over 50 mph and the engine now knocks. I am just siting here trying to figure out how a vehicle at 80,000 have this many issues.

- Unkown, NC, USA

problem #271

Sep 202013

Charger

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. While driving 60 mph and attempting to increase speed, the accelerator pedal failed to respond when depressed. The vehicle began to decrease in speed and the check engine indicator illuminated. The failure recurred randomly. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the failure could not be determined. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000.

- Montgomery, IL, USA

problem #270

Jul 022016

Charger

  • 130,000 miles
While pulling out from a stop light my engine began to miss and run bad.I pulled over and shut it off.after letting it sit for a few minutes I tried again, it wouldn't turn over so I had it towed to a shop, they tore it apart and informed me I had dropped the valve seat in cylinder 4, it destroyed the intake valve, mds solenoid and scratched the cylinder wall

- Mertztown, PA, USA

problem #269

Jul 302016

Charger

  • 97,284 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2006 Dodge Charger that shuts off while driving. Vehicle has 97284 miles. I currently have the vehicle in for repair at phillips Chrysler Dodge Jeep in ocala fl. The PCM has been replaced but this issue still continues. Vehicle shuts off with out warning while driving.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #268

Jul 292016

Charger

  • 90,000 miles
My 2006 Dodge Charger daytona 5.7L engine had a problem with a valve seal/lifter / solenoid in 2015, which was repaired by the dealer in December. Now, 7 months later, it has lost a piston in the engine, and needs a new engine. When the lifter problem occurred, the car was being driven, and started to misfire. When the piston went (the dealer says that is what it is), the engine was being started. When starting the vehicle, it misfired, and started clanking. And then died.

- Brooklyn Park, MN, USA

problem #267

Jul 202016

Charger

  • 105,000 miles
I drove my vehicle to the store and everything was fine. I came out an hour later and attempted to start the car but it wouldn't start. I attempted to start it again and it started but the engine sounded horrible so I turned it off immediately. I had it towed to my mechanic who said there was no compression on cylinder #3 and the valve was unseated causing damage to the cylinder. I take meticulous care of my vehicle and this type of engine failure should have never happened with only 105K miles on it. Upon reading several thousand reviews on this 5.7L hemi engine, this appears to be a major problem and has been identified as a manufacturer defect. The below is the diagnosis for this early engine failure: "faulty valve seats according to the engine company, the original Chrysler design presses the valve seats into the cylinder heads. The problem results when the powdered metal the valve seats are made of expands, causing it to drop into contact with the valve and pistons, which leads to catastrophic failure. In this process the seat breaks into many pieces causing deterioration of the piston, cylinder wall, valve and cylinder head. This metal can even get into the intake manifold if not cleaned properly, it can lead to a failure in replacement engines. Piston ring landings again according to pp, a flaw in the engineering of the piston ring landings results in the engines running much hotter than they should. Coupled with what they call overly small drain holes in the heads and block, this overheating breaks down new oil, leaving sludge in the engine, ultimately blocking it. Consequent oil-starvation can lead to engine block seizure."

- Trinity, FL, USA

problem #266

Jul 172016

Charger

  • 115,000 miles
During travel from ft. Belvoir, va to fayetteville, nc the car began sputtering and acting like it was out of fuel. It had 3/4 of a tank. Made it to the next exit where the car stopped running. Able to give it throttle and get it started you can hear rattling in the top end of the motor. Had it towed to crown Dodge in fayetteville, nc where the diagnosis was a broken valve seat which fell inside the cylinder scarring the cylinder walls. The warranty company would not cover the repair costs on the car. This vehicle is maintained by a mechanic with over 20 years of experience with regular oil changes and preventative maintenance. It is a design flaw where the powdered metal valve seats expand at a different rate than the aluminum head leading to severe engine damage. Dodge knows of this problem and fixed their design in the 2010-up models, however has failed the public in compensating those that have had engine failure in 2006-2009 models.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #265

Jul 132015

Charger

  • 168,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. While driving on the freeway at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled and the check engine warning indicator illuminated. In addition, the contact stated that the failure occurred every time the vehicle was refueled. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the throttle body and the power control module failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 168,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #264

Jun 232016

Charger

  • 68,000 miles
Valve guide failure in 2005 and 2006 Dodge magnums and Dodge Chargers.this is an well keep epidemic that Dodge has not addressed.there are many hundreds of failures between 60,000 miles and 100,000 miles

- Union, NJ, USA

problem #263

Jun 022016

Charger

  • 88,000 miles
I drove my Charger out to lunch, was running impeccable, after having my meal, we got back in the car, tried starting it, it sounded like a hard, difficult start and once it ignited the cylinders, the engine started making horrible banging noises, and killed itself. There was no warning, no overheating, my car has 88,000 miles on it. I've always taken extremely good care of it, as I should know how to being a mechanic. I pulled the motor out of the car, and opened it up to find a destroyed combustion chamber, and a destroyed piston. There are much more unreliable cars out there that can make it past 88,000 miles without severe engine damage. So does that make Dodge the most unreliable manufacturer? if Dodge does not assist in fixing the problem (a partial refund to help cover the massive cost) I will never be buying another Dodge. Uploaded is a picture looking down the intake port of the drivers side 6th cylinder. The other picture is of the piston damage. This is an rt car with 5.7 hemi.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #262

Feb 122014

Charger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. While attempting to accelerate, the vehicle failed to move, an abnormal sound emitted from the engine, and the rpms revved without warning. The contact also mentioned that a burning odor emitted into the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage and VIN were unknown.

- Inglewood, CA, USA

problem #261

Dec 012015

Charger

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact found a recall related to the fuel tank. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and the fuel tank was replaced; however, the vehicle began to slow down to approximately 35 mph when reaching high speeds. Additionally, the rpms would continue to increase without the acceleration matching the RPM increase. The contact informed the manufacturer who opened a case on the contact's behalf and informed the contact that there was no recall relating to the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 86,000.

- Stonybrook, NY, USA

problem #260

May 062016

Charger

  • 126,000 miles
Filled tank up with gas day before this happened. Driving down road at 25 mph the car stalled. It would restart and stall again.

- Blytheville, AR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?