Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,604 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Charger engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #26

Nov 142012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that after fueling the fuel tank more than half full, the vehicle stalled. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis but no cause for the failure was found. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 70,000. Updated 6/4/13

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #25

Oct 192011


  • 73,000 miles
I bought my 2006 Dodge Charger R/T brand new in June of 2006. I always filled the tank with gas until the pump automatically shutoff. I never topped off with gas or continued filling the tank once the pump would automatically stop. This was never a problem for 5 years. Last year in October of 2011 at around 73,000 miles the car would stall and turn off the engine occasionally right after filling up in live traffic usually at a stop light or parking lot driveway. I would have to put the transmission shifter from drive to park since the vehicle shut off and restart the car with no problem. Today at 75,600 miles on March 27, 2012; I filled up as usual and the car engine turned off in traffic on 3 different occasions. I read on Chrysler owners' forums online this is a common problem with plenty of Chrysler vehicles and Chrysler is aware of it. The fix is a whole new fuel tank with a better fuel vapor valve and the cost would run $1300-$2000 for various car, van, and truck owners. The only other method I was advised by a Dodge service advisor was not to fill the car up all the way, perhaps to 3/4 of a tank full. This is dangerous for any driver when a car engine stops, steering locks, and there is traffic behind you. Some drivers will not know how to react in this situation. Chrysler should offer a recall to fix this problem with the gas tank instead of charging the owner.

- Antelope, CA, USA

problem #24

Feb 052012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 78,900 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Charger rt 5.7L hemi. I just recently purchased this car. At times when I am accelerating quickly or press wide open throttle the vehicle shuts off for a second and then cuts right back on. The check engine light comes on as well as the lightning bolt icon flashes and I also hear a chime as well. The rpms drop all the way to zero as if it is stalling and losing all power but immediately cuts right back on. Through research I have noticed this is an on-going problem with a lot of Charger owners and a recall should have been issued by Dodge by now before someone loses their life. Tsb# 1803105 NHTSA# 10016027

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #23

Nov 222011


  • 57,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and took the vehicle to a local mechanic for inspection. The mechanic noticed engine sludge and advised that the build up of sludge caused the vehicle to stall. In addition, the engine needed to be replaced. The mechanic advised that anti-freeze mixed with the oil and caused the sludge build-up. The failure mileage was 57,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #22

Oct 272011

Charger 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
Recently I started having an issue with my Charger. Upon entering a high way and attempting to merge with traffic during morning rush hour, my car lost all power upon acceleration. The engine did not stall but the tachometer dropped to near zero, the engine light and power light flashed briefly and then returned to normal. I attempted to accelerate again and same thing happened. Fortunately I was able to avoid a pretty significant accident with the cars behind me and the ones I was merging on to the highway with. The symptoms disappeared for a few weeks and then started again and progressively became worse. I brought the car to the dealer that investigated and found it to be the power control module which turned out to be quite expensive. I did some research on a forum that I belong to and found many instances of this. Contacted Chrysler and simply put they did not seem to care. There are many defects on this year of Charger and not one of them has ever been covered, at least the ones that I have. I consider this latest incident to be serious safety problem and hope that it gets investigated. As for another Chrysler product, never again in my lifetime. I rely on my vehicle for work and this is by far the worst that I have ever owned. Please look into this before someone has to start checking off accident and death when submitting a form.

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #21

Oct 262011


  • miles
My car was recalled for the cooling fans letting my car overheat. The dealer replaces the fans and the asks if I want him to fix my overheating issue. I thought that was why my cooling fans were the issue. It stopped overheating for a month maybe at most the I had to have a new radiator, T-stat, and water pump. Within a couple weeks on my way to my doctor the temperature gauge dropped to 140 and died. I started it up and it has a quick knocking noise that seem to tick too quickly to be a rod plus the car doesn't die. I turned it off after hearing the knocking and had it towed home. Now my brother is letting me drive his car and mine is a yard ornament.

- Waynesboro, TN, USA

problem #20

Aug 202011

Charger 8-cyl

  • 91,100 miles


Driving to the beach, suddenly all warning lights on dashboard came on, then engine shut off, loss of power, then thick white smoke coming from hood, then flames underneath the car, then within a minute the car was completely engulfed, destroying the engine compartment, and front seat, dashboard & windshield blew out... scariest thing ever.! I nearly escaped in time, lucky to have not been burned, lucky I got out alive... there should be a recall Dodge Charger R/T hemi, 2006 (5.7 liter)

- Yardley, PA, USA

problem #19

Oct 262011

Charger 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
On several different days and times, the 2006 Dodge Charger cuts off in the middle of driving, when car comes to a halt/stop at a red light or stop sign and the engine cuts completely off yet the radio and lights still work. Just today, travelling within 7-8 miles from my work to home the car cut off 6 times and I am scared to death that this car will cause an accident. It sputters then shuts off but when U press teh gas it accelerates and continues forward. Or it'll cut off completely, in which I have to turn the key all the way off and sit for a few minutes before cranking back up. At that time it stalls to crank up before turning over completely. It can't be the starter or alternator because I can hear it turning over.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #18

Aug 242011

Charger 8-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
While driving my 2006 Dodge Charger, it died as I was turning. The steering wheel locked on me completely. I took it in to our local Dodge service center and they said they could not find anything wrong with it. A month and a half later the same problem happens, this time while stopped at a red light on our local highway. We have taken it back to the same Dodge service center and they still cannot find anything wrong with it. I have been researching on line and this is a common problem with Dodge vehicles. If they do not fix this and this causes an accident which injures one of my family members I will be suing Dodge! this will turn into a class action lawsuit.

- Brawley, CA, USA

problem #17

Sep 072011

Charger 8-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
Coming to a stop at traffic red light, engine died. Put trans in neutral, restarted vehicle. Drove about 2 miles, stopped at red light, engine died. Repeated start procedure as above. Drove about 1/2 mile stopped at red light, on green made left turn across intersection. Halfway across intersection engine stopped. Gas tank 1/2 full. Took vehicle to dealer who informed me they had never heard of this problem. Yet many complaints on internet forums re this issue. Also many reports of engine stall in NHTSA website. Dealer advised me they could not see any computer trouble codes and couldn't help. Never had any stalling issues until dealer serviced car several weeks before with new spark plugs, recalled cooling fan replace. Per factory recall. This car is no longer safe to drive! filed complaint with Dodge by phone, rep said they have never heard of this engine stall before!!!!

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 072011

Charger 8-cyl

  • 66,100 miles


Slowed to stop for red light. Engine died. Put trans in neutral and restarted vehicle 2nd occurrence same day, made left turn at traffic light, partway though intersection engine stopped. 3rd occurrence same day, came to stop at red light, engine died. Was able to restart car. This is a new occurrence as never had this issue before. However engine cooling fans were replaced under recall from Dodge about 1 week ago. Car was fine before this though. Have appt with dealer this Friday. Notice Charger forums full of same complaint as mine. Seems Dodge not responsive to this issue based on forum posts.

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 102011

Charger 8-cyl

  • 16,600 miles
Engine stalls intermittently driving down the road and at stoplights.

- Mount Airy, MD, USA

problem #14

Apr 032011


  • 83,000 miles
Rocker arm ticking in engine to soon for that kind of mechanical problem to happen. When I went to the dealer 5 other people were their with the same problem. I also looked online hundreds of others have same problem.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #13

Mar 202011

Charger 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Rocker arm clicking in engine to soon for that kind of mechanical problem to happen.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #12

Oct 102010


  • 28,070 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. While driving approximately 40 mph, the contact heard a loud popping noise. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the engine lifters needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The vehicle was taken to two local repair shops where she was informed that the engine lifters needed to be replaced. The contact called the manufacturer who took a complaint. The manufacturer stated that the dealer had put the wrong type of oil which caused the problem. The failure mileage was 28,070 and the current mileage was 28,320.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #11

Jan 012006


  • 1,200 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. While stopped with his foot on the brake pedal, the contact heard a loud whining noise. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer but the dealer stated that the vehicle was performing as it should. The failure continued intermittently when the vehicle was operated for 20 minutes or more. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the contact was informed that a new motor was needed. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 1,200 and the current mileage was approximately 43,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #10

Jul 042009


  • miles
I purchased my 06 Dodge Charger R/T 5.7L on 12/24/07. I am the 2nd owner. I was told that the 1st owner traded because he needed a minivan. I have learned since purchasing the vehicle that was probably not the case. Approximately 3 months after I purchased the vehicle, I was traveling at 35 mph when the engine began to sputter and the car began to shake violently. It acted as if it was running out of gas (it had 1/8 tank). I filled up and the problem quit. Later that day I was on the way home from the beach traveling at 75 mph on the interstate when the same problem occurred again. I had to quickly pull over in heavy traffic. I called a tow truck and had to wait almost an hour with it 105 degrees outside! after it was towed home, it cranked fine. I took it to the dealer who said that they could find nothing wrong; I must have purchased bad gas. It happened again about a month later. I managed to drive it home when it finally completely stalled. Upon cranking, it would shake violently, red line, back fire, then shut off. I took it to the dealer again. It did not throw any codes. They inspected my vehicle and drove it around town and could never duplicate the problem. It has since happened on at least 3 separate occasions and the cause still remains a mystery to me, the Dodge dealership, and 2 private mechanics. I am thankful that my 5 year old son has not been with me any of the times that this car has left me stranded! it's an accident waiting to happen!

- Atkinson, NC, USA

problem #9

Feb 212008

Charger 8-cyl

  • 23,723 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. While driving approximately 35 mph on normal road conditions, the contact depressed the accelerator pedal. She immediately heard a beeping noise followed by excessive hesitation. In addition, there was an extremely low power response during acceleration. The failures occurred without warning. The vehicle resumed normal operation and was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on five separate occasions for identical failures, but there were no resolutions. The failure mileage was 23,723 and current mileage was 39,000. Updated 06/09/09. The consumer stated while driving, the vehicle would shut off for no apparent reason. All of the gauges on the dashboard would just drop. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer on several occassions, but to no avail. No error codes displayed on the computer. There was no check engine light. Updated 06/11/09.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #8

Sep 042008


  • 55,000 miles
Car purchased April 06 defective motor replaced within 6 months, car has been running hot, taken to dealership, Jan. 07 and was told as long as the dial returned back to cool vehicle ok, took back to dealer again at 34,000 miles before warranty expired could not find anything wrong, after warranty expired dealer replaced thermostat July 07, drove 3 weeks after repair made, car had 55,490 miles, car still running hot, per dealer need radiator, had radiator replaced within 3 weeks of thermostat replacement, picked up car and drove down road when car ran hot again, hot water ran inside vehicle on driver, now took back to dealership advised need heating coil, called Chrysler said dealer was misdiagnosing, dealer said car is faulty, car had been cutting off on hwy. Also. Have print out of numerous time vehicle has been to the service dept. Since purchase.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #7

Aug 032008

Charger 6-cyl

  • 31,876 miles
06 Dodge Charger with 33,000 miles. Car has began to violently shake and engine light will begin blinking while almost stopped at a stop light or fully stopped. I have to shut the car off stopped at an intersection for a short time and then restart to get out of the intersection. I do not see how this can possible be safe for my passengers(3 & 7 yr old), myself or other cars. This has occurred 4 times since May 2008. The dealership has replaced oxygen sensor, flashed the powertrain control module (saying lost communication with steering control module), and on July 29th replaced the powertrain control module. Had car back a few days and backed out of a parking space, put car in drive and pushing the accelerator did nothing. After a few seconds the accelerator worked & I moved about 10 feet. The car started shaking violently/engine light began blinking and I had to shut the car off. Fortunately, no one was around me this time. When I restarted the car, the engine light stayed on constant(not blinking), which I have been told over & over by the dealership is safe to drive. I was able to drive the 2 miles home. Took car into dealership again on Aug 4, 2008. Was told this time that there is a tsb & they have to order parts. But to pick it up until the parts come in that it is safe to drive. The consumer was told the vehicle had an evaporation leak. There were times when the vehicle would not accelerate, the engine light and esp/bas light illuminated. The dealer then stated the cause of the problem was a multi-cylinder misfire at cylinders 2-4. updated 10/09/08.

- Belair, MD, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?