Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,780 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Charger fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 5 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #108

Oct 112014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 96,641 miles


Vehicle jerks while driving as if something is starting to die or go out, then starts running again. Only appears to happen after filling the fuel tank to completely full. Vehicle will stall out within several feet after fueling up, then restart and you're good to go. You drive maybe an eighth of a mile and as you slow to a stop, the car will stall out and die again. Usually fine for the rest of the evening. Vehicle eventually shuts off when I come to a near stop or am stopped. Oil lamp light turns on when the car dies. Tried restarting twice, but was unsuccessful. Took the key out of the ignition, then waited a few minutes. Tried to start the engine again and was successful. It seems extremely unsafe to drive like this, but it seems I have to drive long enough to burn off some gas to keep the gas tank under full at all times to avoid this problem.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #107

Sep 202014


  • 54,000 miles
After fueling my 2006 Dodge Charger on the above stated date the car stalled after exiting the gas station. I restarted the car and proceeded through an intersection where it hesitated and stalled again. After restarting the second time there were no more issues with the car stalling that day. A day later there was an issue with being able to stop the car upon pressing on the brakes and coming to an intersection. Luckily the car was able to be clear the intersection and an accident was avoided at that time. A couple days later there was an issue with the car not being able to stop as needed again at an intersection. During the times where the car is unable to stop it seems as if the car decreases in acceleration and is uncontrollable at that time, after taking it to a local Dodge dealership I was informed that the fuel tank needs to be replaced, which is covered under Dodge extended warranty but it is unknown as to when the two needed parts would be in because the dealerships are on restriction with ordering the needed parts (2 parts are needed, one part can be order 1 every 7 days and the other 1 can be order 1 every 14 days). The only advice that I am being given is not to fill the gas tank all the way up, but these issues have occurred without the tank being completely full. I was given an estimated time frame of 4 to 6 months before the parts are available, which is totally unacceptable because I have to work daily.Dodge seems unwilling to accommodate consumers while this issue in being addressed, which is bad business. This is a huge safety issue and I do not feel safe driving my kids in a car that stalls at any given time.

- Zion , IL, USA

problem #106

Apr 072014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 76,316 miles
Since 4-7-14 thru 7-16-14 the dealership has replaced two fuel tanks ( according to extended lifetime coverage letter dated May 8,2014), O2 sensor, transmission module, spark plugs, ignition coils and disconnected the remote starter. The car continues to stall and shutoff.

- Medford, NY, USA

problem #105

Sep 192014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 110,000 miles


Filled vehicle with 10% ethanol 87 octane gasoline at self-service station on September 19, 2014. Drove away and vehicle stalled at first intersection. I put the vehicle in neutral and started it with no further problems until I filled tank again after about 250 miles. (I was driving a 1500 mile trip from one state to another.) every time I refilled the tank, the vehicle would stall within a few hundred feet of filling station. This stalling has continued through yesterday, September 29, 2014, and I am concerned it will happen again when I refill the tank. If the vehicle stalls at the wrong time, someone could be seriously hurt or killed.

- Weslaco, TX, USA

problem #104

Sep 252014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 77,785 miles
I have owned the car for only a week. It's a beautiful car with a 5.7 hemi. The first time I fueled the vehicle it stalled as I re entered traffic without warning. It stalled several times within a 4 block area but would restart each time. With a 16 year old son now driving I am concerned that he might not be able to react approximately. I'm going to call the dealership.

- Niles, MI, USA

problem #103

Apr 082010

Charger 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The vehicle stalls after filling up the fuel tank, this has happened several times leaving me stranded in traffic until I could get the car to start again. It is especially vulnerable O stalling when making a left turn or coming to an abrupt stop. I have been at the mercy of other vehicles seeing my predicament and stopping to avoid running into me. I called the dealer and they said I have to bring my car in to get it tested and if the problem is verified I can get on a waiting list of over 50 people. They are currently getting replacement parts to correct the defect at the rate of one every 3 weeks. Doing the math, they expect me to put myself at risk for another 3 years before correcting the problem, or take the loss and replace the vehicle.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #102

Mar 012014


  • 107,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that Chrysler's extended warranty was received for NHTSA action number: PE13016 (fuel system, gasoline ) and stated that the part was not available. The contact stated that he experienced the failure on multiple occasions. The dealer was uncertain of when the part was to become available and was unable to repair the vehicle under the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the issue and stated that the part would not be available for approximately another 5-6 months. The approximate failure mileage was 107,000.

- Cedar Park, TX, USA

problem #101

Sep 272013

Charger 8-cyl

  • miles
Car died in intersection. Happened twice. It stalls, chokes and dies then has problems restarting takes about 3-4 tries then restarts. Very dangerous and accident causing.

- Mountlake Terrace, WA, USA

problem #100

Oct 012013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Car stalls out after filling up the tank. It also is dying and cranking back up at 40 mph and a couple of times on the freeway doing 80 mph. Also just sitting at a red light with a half of tank of gas and car just dies. Have to put it in park to restart it.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #99

Aug 172014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 110,635 miles
I learned about the fuel tank warranty and will be getting that repaired, but my issue is at 75 to 100% throttle my car will stall out. But my car starts back up on its own like nothing ever happened. When it stalls it throws you forward like the car is braking and then when it fires back up you can hit the throttle and it will go as normal.

- Hagerstown, MD, USA

problem #98

May 302014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 60,500 miles


I have a 2006 Dodge Charger. It stalled 3 times on me, twice on the road and once in the drive way. I called Dodge and they said it should run if the gas tank is no full. I told them it was on 3/4 tank. I set up an appointment for July 7, 2014 and my husband went in. They ordered the part, it's called the fuel tank multifunction control valve. One week later Dodge of elk grove called and they were cancelling everyone's appointment's. I been without a car sense May 30, 2014. I've been contacting Dodge of elk grove and have been told that they can not get the part. I contacted Chrysler customer assistance center and was told that the dealers are getting 1 part every 14 days. I am afraid to drive the car because it might cause an accident that I don't want to be in control of or a part of.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #97

Apr 092014


  • 135,000 miles
It is hard starting and will stall anywhere between 0 to 45 mph. When it starts rough it will not go forward or reverse without stalling. It seems to be worse after filling the gas tank. When the car stalls it does so with no warning and can leave you with no power steering or brakes. It did it off and on at first but now does almost every time I run it. I took it to a Dodge dealer and gave him a copy of the lifetime warranty gas tank problem and told him of the symptoms of the car. He ignored me and did 4 flashes on the car plus $110 of "cleanup" work on the car and told me it was fixed. On the way home it stalled in the middle of the highway while my wife was driving and she had no steering. The dealer paperwork said they pulled up 4 codes on the car's computer, which I got none of when I ran my code reader on it before taking it to them. One of the reported codes does not even show on the chart and another one was a "C" code for a chasse problem. Upon getting the car home, after stalling several times on the way home, I called the bank and stopped the payment for the work they say they did. I have another appointment with the dealer I bought the car from (farther away) but how do I get them to do the repair I want, not what they feel like doing? thanks.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #96

Aug 082014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 105,500 miles
After refueling vehicle, the engine would stall each time the vehicle came to a stop. This happened for several miles. After several miles of continuous driving, the problem stopped. I've read this is due to a evap problem with my year and make of car.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #95

Jul 202012


  • 93,000 miles
I have 2006 Dodge Charger with a faulty gas tank. It has been investigated and established by Chrysler that this is accurate. Unfortunately the refueling of the vehicle is not the only problem. Here is additional information. While accelerating into traffic the vehicle also shuts off. I have experience this in the past for the last three years with failed repairs. This is dangerous and happens after half throttle or better. This is apparently do to the sensor or float in the gas tank malfunctioning. According to my research on the Dodge forums, Chrysler was initially in denial and now is very slow to correct the issue. I am presently waiting for parts. The dealership informed me, they get a fuel tank in every 15 days or so for repairs involving this issue. The owners are not aware of the danger this can cause while merging into traffic. The vehicle's power and fuel just shuts off with no warning to other drivers. This resulted in a vehicle swaying around me into traffic avoiding a rear collision; because of course I had no brake lights that illuminated.

- Thorndale, PA, USA

problem #94

Jul 032014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
I have experienced a number of incidents where the vehicle while moving at a slow speed (typically in city traffic) the vehicle will jerk forward and the engine light will ding. Sometimes the car will push through and keep moving other times it will stall completely and need to be restarted. This has been incredibly dangerous as it has happened getting on highways from on ramps. Once I restart the car all seems to be fine but its completely unpredictable and very dangerous!

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #93

Jul 222014


  • 90,000 miles
After every fill up my 2006 Dodge Charger will die. It will stall. It will stop running. This will, and has happened while idling at intersections, during U-turns, left turns, right turns, at 25 mph, at freeway speeds up to 65 mph, and, or every speed in between. It occurs up to and until the engine burns off sufficient fuel so as not to effect whatever system is being effected/failing. This is potentially fatal (one example could be while making a legal left hand turn in front of on coming traffic fully expecting the car to continue running, and then immediately losing engine power, power brakes, and power steering which are all supplied only while the engine is running. This should be recalled immediately as I have read hundreds of complaints for identical issues.

- Placentia, CA, USA

problem #92

Jun 112014


  • 113,000 miles
I was driving out of the gas station and the car started to stall do to a problem with the gas tank. The car would shake forward and back very hard then the engine would race almost to redline then the car would stall. It did this three times but on the third time I heard what sounded like medal hitting medal. The third time I tried to start the car and heard this loud ticking sound. I cut the car off and back on and the sound was still there. I had the car towed to the dealership and they took apart my engine to find out what the issue was. I was told that I had a rod bearing issue and my engine needed to be replaced. This is going to cost me $6300. I don't believe this is fair due to the repeated engine stalling and jumping is what caused my issue in the first place. The dealership originally told me that the stalling and jumping is the cause of my issue and because there is a warranty on the gas tank they would replace any damage that it caused. After requesting the funds from Chrysler Corp. The dealership stated my issue could not be caused by the jumping and stalling. I question their honesty. I called Dodge and was told that they refuse to cover any damage to my vehicle due to the mileage and it cannot be proven what caused my issue even though they told me that the repeated jumping and stalling could cause this to happen.

- Prince George , VA, USA

problem #91

Jun 132014

Charger 8-cyl

  • miles
After fuel refill, motor will stall and die multiple times for up to the next mile of driving at any speed. This is dangerous. After online investigation I found this is a serious problem with many cars of this type. It is also, in my eyes, an extremely expensive repair as it will cost me nearly 1/4 of the price I paid for the car. Chrysler should stand behind there product, repair and replace the faulty tanks in all affected vehicles, not just the first unlucky few, who reported it first.

- Fuquay-Varina, NC, USA

problem #90

May 242014


  • 138,000 miles
I filled up with gas, pulled out of the gas station onto the expressway on ramp and the engine died. I rolled to the shoulder and after about 10 minutes it would finally start. It stalled a few more times then finally it would run long enough to get me home.

- Loveland, OH, USA

problem #89

May 082014


  • 75,373 miles
My car stalls out and turns off at a light or driving after filling the fuel tank.

- Miami, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?