Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,328 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Charger fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 4 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #145

Mar 312014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 60,400 miles


Vehicle is stalling after filling up with gas. Occurs when idling (such as at a stoplight) or when decelerating at which it also loses the power steering. Highly concerned this will occur in the middle of a busy intersection. Can restart the car usually after two attempts. May go to the next light/stop and same incident will repeat itself. After driving the car for a few miles... (presumably as the fuel level goes down)... car behaves as normal - without issue. Symptoms are very much like a bad tank of gas. Took car to the dealer and they were unable to diagnose the problem. Dealer ran diagnostic checks and no issues are reported. Dodge refuses to do anything until dealer can diagnose the problem. Yet, there is the exact same type of investigation that has already occurred (PE13016) - where Chrysler acknowledges the problem with my 5.7L engine. Is frustrating as can take the car to the dealership shortly after the problem (when it is occurring) and they inspect to find everything appears to be in find working order. Yet, I certainly know the problem exists. :-(

- Lewis Center, OH, USA

problem #144

Jan 272014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
On the last 2 occasions of filling our vehicle with gas the car will purge and stall, loosing all power. I happens for a couple days and then goes away. We took it to the dealer and they cannot find any codes, they also told us do not fill the tank. I do not understand this and I do not feel safe in this vehicle anymore. I have not been filling the tank and so far so good but not the answer. Its very scary to just stall after filling your car with gas and there is nothing you can do. I need help..

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #143

Apr 012013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Vehicle stalls out and engine stops running after filling with gas. Reported problem to Dodge after several instances, once going 50 mph when car completely died while in traffic just missing getting rearended. Dodge states there is a fuel tank problem and a replacement is needed at a cost of $1500 this problem needs to be addressed, as there are numerous incidents listed on the internet. I have to fill my car to only the 3/4 full mark to keep it running without incident.

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #142

Aug 142013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 84,000 miles


I was leaving the gas station after I filled up the car with gasoline and the engine stalled. I placed the transmission in park and turned on the car in the middle of traffic, drove to the stop light and the car stalled again. The car kept stalling every time I would stop for the next three miles. The car ran fine until I topped off the fuel tank and then the car began stalling again. The car stalls at every stop for the next two to three miles every time that I top off the fuel tank. I cannot and have not topped off the fuel since then for fear that the car will stall and cause an accident.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #141

Dec 182013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 77,512 miles
Refilled with fuel and as I was pulling out on to the street the car stalled. I restarted and began to drive. It stalled a 2nd time. After I got it started again it seemed ok. Every since then, every time I fill up it stalls out. I have to sit in the gas station lot and let it run until it stalls out. I afraid to drive on the street as I might get into an accident. After it stalls out a couple of time in the gas station lot, it doesn't do it again until I fill up again.

- Zeeland, MI, USA

problem #140

Mar 242014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 51,004 miles
After filling up vehicle with gas car would quit running as I entered highway. Car shut off sitting at several traffic light. While attempting to get up to speed car was stalling. After about 30 miles of driving when gas ran out of tank car was fine. Refueled yesterday and same problem issue is defective gas tank and with numerous complaints Chrysler has not done a recall to fix vehicles.

- Hiram, GA, USA

problem #139

Mar 022014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 79,000 miles


Like a number of others in the database we had just filled the gas tank and driven a few miles. After stopping for a traffic light we attempted to accelerate through the intersection after the light turned green. We just cleared the intersection when the car bucked several times and the engine died. We pulled off to the side of the road and attempted to start the car. After several tries the car started up, idled ok, and we proceeded on. The next time we filled up the car the same thing happened. After doing some research on the internet we found the description of the problem as liquid gas getting into the fuel vent line when the gas tank was filled. We subsequently got gas twice without totally filling the tank and had no problems. The internet site we found indicated that the problem could be either the purge solenoid valve or a valve integral to the gas tank. Since the purge solenoid valve was the cheaper fix we tried that first. That fix was not successful as the car stalled after being filled up. We replaced the gas tank yesterday, filled the gas tank, and had no stalling or hesitation. So, it appears that the problem is fixed. However, I could envision a number of situations where one could be in a life-threatening situation if the car died in the middle of an intersection or in heavy traffic on the interstate. Since this appears to be a well-known problem I don't understand why there has not been a recall.

- Toano, VA, USA

problem #138

Mar 202013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 190,000 miles
Engine dies when at an idle and low speeds. Cranks right back but will die at low mph. Almost always dies at red lights and stop signs. Also dies when about to make turns at low mph. Dealership has no idea what is wrong. Has been doing this for almost a year.

- Foxworth, MS, USA

problem #137

Feb 032014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger rt. The contact stated that on multiple occasions, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted after several attempts. Additionally, gasoline would sporadically spill from the fuel tank. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the check valve was causing an overflow condition. The vehicle was later taken to an authorized dealer, who diagnosed that the check valve, evaporation canister and the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90000...updated 05-09-14....updated 05/15/14 the consumer stated the vehicle stalled at a highway speed, and another instance of fuel spilling from the tank during fill-up resulting in a spill at the gas pump/ the consumer stated he was forced to stop re-fueling at about 15-18 gallons to avoid the situation. Updated 05/15/14

- Pleasant Hill, MO, USA

problem #136

Jan 062014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 87,563 miles
After re-fueling, my 2006 Dodge Charger will stall until the car has been driven 20-30 miles. The stall will occur at any speed and will stop after some fuel has been used. I am concerned because this stall has occurred at busy intersections and heavy traffic. I consider this a serious safety issue.

- Groves, TX, USA

problem #135

Apr 102013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 80,222 miles


Engine stalls and dies after filling up car. Usually dies 4 times than no more problems until I fill the car up again. I have worked with my mechanic for almost 1 year trying to find the problem. The solutions so far is to not fill the tank up all the way. Car show that NHTSA is investigating these complaints. Says that you have closed the investigation and found the problem to be the fuel shut-off float in the multifunction control value stiicks. I call Chrysler assistance about the warranty on the fuel tank being extended to life time to cover this problem but they said they did not know anything about it. Lady said she had receive 3 calls about the problem in the last week. But just told me to contact NHTSA.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #134

Jan 152014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
My car stalls after refueling the tank. It does it at stops and slowing speeds. It has happened in the middle of turns etc. I T has almost caused me to crash. I went to my mechanic who in turn said I needed an entire fuel tank $1700. While debating on the having it fixed of course checking my finances. I went on line and seen numerous articles about this issue. In the articles you guys are mentioned for having done a federal probe into the situation and Chrysler extending a warranty on the problem to life time. Well then I went to the dealer and brought it to their attention and nobody knew anything about it. They charged me $65 to diagnose the car and proceeded to give me an estimate of $1900. They then gave me the number to Chrysler who in turn knew nothing of the problem and sent me on my way saying there is not a problem and no warranty. I need to know if in fact this is a legitimate claim by the NHTSA in the articles out there. Some of these articles are as recent as of February 2014. I have almost had two accidents from this issue. It has taken numerous scenarios to trouble shoot this and when reading the articles brought everything to light. Please help. The articles mention 2006 Chrysler 300, Dodge Charger, & Dodge magnum with V8 5.7 & 6.1liter engines. This is what I have.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #133

Dec 182013


  • 29,000 miles
When temps. Were cold less than 25 degress the accelerator would would stick at 4,000 RPM. I could put my foot under the gas pedal and lift it up to a normal idle. The throttle is electronically controlled. Here in Michigan with more than 90" of snow this season an accident was waiting to happen, very unsafe. I told the dealer what was wrong and I expected a repair $495 parts and labor. I called Chrysler customer service 4 days of conversation got me nowhere. I paid a $99.50 for diagnoses and took it elsewhere. The gas pedal assembly was replaced. Apon a under hood inspection the connector that plugged in the front of the air itake was removed, throttle plate actuator. When I drove it in I could accelerate, my 6 mile ride home had a top speed of 20 mph and 2 dash lites were on. I went to kevin [service write up] and he just blamed it on the gas pedal assembly...wrong. The gas pedal assembly has no sign of damage, rust or anything to cause this problem.

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #132

Oct 212013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
After filling my tank I drove away from the station and my car shut off while driving down the road. It took a few attempts before my vehicle actually started again. I drove down the road towards my house and it stalled on me again. This time I was a little faster to turn on the vehicle but it stuttered all the way home. This happens every time I fill my tank. To be sure of the issue I ran my gas tank to half tank and refilled it. The same stalling outcome was present. I recently took my car in for repair of this issue but after the repair it continued with the stalling. After this happened to me on Monday March 18, 2014 while my children were in the vehicle I decided to go back and get it looked at again by the dealer. My car is currently (March 19, 2014) at the dealer for the second time to try and get this issue fixed. I see on your website that NHTSA action number : PE13016 has been filed for this identical issue that I am having. I called Chrysler to see if they would give me the letter to owner for extended warranty on the gas tank and I was told that I could not get it because my car does not have this issue, yet my car is at the dealer right now getting this same issue fixed. As usual I feel that Chrysler is trying to ignore the issue and not give support to those who have purchased their product. My dealer has been helpful but they said they could not cover me under this extended warranty unless it appeared with my VIN # in the Chrysler system. This issue is very dangerous especially if you are fueling up near a highway and then getting onto the highway. While Chrysler claims that this is low risk to motor vehicle safety it is high risk to human safety. We can replace cars, we can not replace people. All I ask for is reimbursement for a manufacture defect or an extended warranty.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #131

Mar 292013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 119,118 miles
Each time after filing the gas tank the car stalls and engine dies before able to make a left or right turn or taking off from stop light. It does this repeatedly until driven a few miles. Stalls at the most critical time when merging into traffic. Getting to the point now that this vehicle will be junked before I get killed or someone else. Chrysler does not honor their extended tank warranty under the agreement as per the NHTSA agreement on Feb.14,2014. Therefore as a taxpayer that paid for their bailout, next time let them fail. No more Chrysler products for my family and friends ever.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #130

Feb 142014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
Multiple times in the last month when I have refueled, the vehicle is difficult to start and then runs extremely rough and usually dies on the road once or twice. The engine seems to rumble and shakes the vehicle and then after a short period of driving it seems to go away. The engine light blinks on and off while this situation is happening. My mechanic has looked the problem over twice and cannot seem to determine what needs to be done to correct the problem. He has been in contact with Dodge/Chrysler and they indicate no other reported problems. The mechanic is still checking but seems to remember changing a fuel tank on a Charger in the past that was having an engine problem and it corrected the problem. He is rechecking his files to find that repair job. Last night my vehicle died twice in my driveway (with less than half a tank of gas) and I consider it unsafe to drive at this point. Anyone want to buy a used 2006 Charger (hemi)"?" it will be sitting in my driveway. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Coal City, IL, USA

problem #129

Nov 162013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
11/16/13 I had just filled up my gas tank on I95 at ladysmith, va and was coming down the ramp northbound when the engine sputtered and stalled just as I merged onto the highway. I pulled over after getting blasted by truckers horns for making them slam on brakes. After a couple attempts it restarted and I took off again, only to have it stall again. It did this three more times before it finally started and did not stall. Since it didn't happen again, I figured I just got some bad gas. Then it happened the next time I filled up. And the next. And the next. I checked on-line and found several others who had experienced this and they said it was the gas being filled to the brim that caused it. I tried filling up less than a full tank and this did seem to work. Only problem is I now want to sell or trade in the car and I don't feel right passing this problem along to someone else. I saw the article about NHTSA forcing Chrysler to extend the warranty on 2006 hemi Chargers and took it to the dealer only to be told they know nothing about this and would fix the problem for $1100. Why hasn't Chrysler set up a program for these replacements" is there a list of the vehicles that are covered by the new extended warranty? can I please see if my car is on it and if not why not"

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #128

Mar 032014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 86,845 miles
Vehicle stalls out intermittently after refueling. This happens when vehicle is stopped or slowing for a stop. Had vehicle examined and no trouble codes are in the computer.

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #127

Jan 012014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 90,400 miles
Immediately after fueling vehicle to regular capacity and automatic shutoff - no "topping off". left the filling station and the car stalled several times, each time in a precarious position such as decelerating to make a turn or coming to a stop at a light. Car dies losing power steering and breaks. Thought this might be bad gas but it has since repeated every time the car is refueled. This is becoming a serious safely concern as the condition is common during the first 50 or so miles of driving after a fill up. Upon speaking with the dealer they blamed the issue on the end user overfilling the tank. As the only user of the vehicle it is never overfilled nor "topped off".

- O Fallon, MO, USA

problem #126

Feb 222014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 66,200 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while driving 2 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the dual fuel tank assembly was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 66,200 and the current mileage was 66,258.

- Compton, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?