Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
100,495 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Charger miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Charger Owner Comments

problem #19

Sep 202016

Charger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Key switch

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #18

Oct 132016

Charger

  • 67,800 miles
Car engine shuts down at highway speeds momentarily and back on a couple of times engine shut completely off had to pull over to the side of the road engine restarts no fault lights come on after searching the internet I find that this problem has been around for a while very dangerous if Dodge has addressed this problem I find no recalls it should be taken care of as soon as possible this has been going on for quite a while on my vehicle today being the latest episodes Thursday, October 13, 2016

- Thomaston, CT, USA

problem #17

Mar 202016

Charger

  • miles
After filling the gas tank up car stalls within minutes on busy hiway interstate and it fluids out where you are stuck in traffic ive had plenty of mechanics to look at the far and they cant detect the problem I need some assistance with this issue are I'm gonna end up causing a bad wreck with the issue of my car please contact me 2516441589

- Theodore, AL, USA

problem #16

Jul 022016

Charger

  • 123,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car will stall when stopped or coming to a stop. Starts right back up. This is a concern for safety for myself and other vehicles on the road. I have seen so many other complaints about this on the internet, I don't understand why it has not been recalled and taken care of.

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #15

Mar 262016

Charger

  • miles
My vehicle has a problem with the MINIcatalytic converter. There is recalls for other VIN # but my VIN # is not part of the recall since my vehicle was build after March 2006. Even though its the same vehicle problem the recall doesn't cover my vehicle. I will like an investigation regarding this matter.

- Lemon Grove, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 302015

Charger

  • miles
Gear shifter is stuck on park won't let me shift to another gear been parked all night woke up this morning togo to work only to experience this terrible surprise.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 132015

Charger

  • 139,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was leaving a store and started my car. Everything seemed normal, but the car would not shift out of park. I had to leave the car and came home and found a multitude of information on this problem with this particular model car. I also found out how to take the console apart to get in and shift the car without the shifting lever, so I was able to get it home and drive it to the dealership. The dealership told me that this VIN is not included in the recall for this exact problem for "certain 2005-2007 Dodge Chargers, magnums, and 300S." I had them repair it for $155. The dealership shared with me that they service 4-5 vehicles a week with this identical problem that were not included in the recall for this problem. That is in greensboro nc, which is not a super-large market but is not a tiny market either. I would like for someone to explain to me in detail why my specific car was not included in the recall.

- Ridgeway, VA, USA

problem #12

Sep 012015

Charger

  • 880,000 miles
I bridget wilson was driving 37 mph I come to stop light light turns green before I could put foot on gas car shut off this the 3rd time 2 months prior I was make a right turn car just shut off that the 2nd time 3rd time I drove to mall and to bakery dropped off my friend on my way home at light in traffic car just stopped. My whole dash board lights up all the little gage' the little points they go back and forth on everything the light flash on everything on the dash sometimes it will keep going sometimes it will just stop its really scary.even more scary with my 4year old daughter.I have been lucky so far with no spending cars or trucks behind me and when there is I change lanes so if my car stop's again I don't want me or daughter or husband to get hurt or even worst.please help

- Glen Carbon, IL, USA

problem #11

Aug 132015

Charger

  • 110,000 miles
My car was stuck in park.upon reviewing my problems online I realized there is a known recall for this make/model of my car :customer satisfaction notification K39transmission shifter interlock lever. I called the dealership to have the repair and was told my vehicle was not included. Advised to call Chrysler and was told the same thing. My car was repaired by the dealership at my expense for the exact recall work. This is unacceptable. Chrysler need to expand the recall to included all Dodge Chargers from 2005-2007 not "some" models.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #10

Mar 032014

Charger

  • 120,000 miles
My vehicle began shutting off while idle about about a year ago. It started back up immediately and I was able to continue driving. Initially there were no check engine lights that came up. It soon happened again and this time the check engine light came on. I took it to Firestone and they pulled some codes that they said the dealer had to repair. By the time I got to the dealer the lights went off and I shared the other diagnostic with them but they were unable to determine what was really wrong. It started happening again months later and I took it to yet another mechanic. This mechanic 'reset the computer" and made the check engine lights turn off. It stopped for a time but the problem came back. This time (140,000 miles) the engine shut off on the highway! I was slightly tapped on the rear by the driver behind me. Another time a semi truck was behind me and I stalled. Luckily we were in slow moving traffic. Again at high speeds the engine would turn back on but this is very dangerous. I am afraid to drive my baby in this vehicle. There are a ton of similar complaints on Dodge forums with these vehicles. Dodge needs to fix this before someone gets hurt or dies!!!

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #9

Nov 272014

Charger

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Luckily the freeway was empty, but from 70mph I went to about 20 mph I had to call a tow truck took it in and couldnt find anything wrong with it. It did it again last month on a country rd, I've been lucky that I haven't been in an accident! it also turns off at stops but will restart immediately. No engine light is on I've paid for 3 diagnostic checks and nothing.

- Salida, CA, USA

problem #8

Sep 192014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Filled vehicle with 10% ethanol 87 octane gasoline at self-service station on September 19, 2014. Drove away and vehicle stalled at first intersection. I put the vehicle in neutral and started it with no further problems until I filled tank again after about 250 miles. (I was driving a 1500 mile trip from one state to another.) every time I refilled the tank, the vehicle would stall within a few hundred feet of filling station. This stalling has continued through yesterday, September 29, 2014, and I am concerned it will happen again when I refill the tank. If the vehicle stalls at the wrong time, someone could be seriously hurt or killed.

- Weslaco, TX, USA

problem #7

Oct 012013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Car stalls out after filling up the tank. It also is dying and cranking back up at 40 mph and a couple of times on the freeway doing 80 mph. Also just sitting at a red light with a half of tank of gas and car just dies. Have to put it in park to restart it.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #6

May 082014

Charger

  • miles
2 months ago I was leaving work and got in my car to go home. My car would not shift out of park. I had it towed to a dealer and was charged 1500 to repair!! after learning of all the go recalls, I've come across many people who have experienced the same problem. I also understand that some cars were recalled and some not, for the exact same issue! how is that even possible" I am requesting this issue be investigated and go to be held accountable! some are being told it wasn't recalled due to not being a safety issue??? how is it not a safety issue if you can't move your car? I could have been anywhere in an emergency situation where I had to leave. Furthermore, even if it's not considered a safety issue, how is the consumer to be held liable for an obvious manufacturer defect?" please investigate this matter.

- Hercules, CA, USA

problem #5

Oct 262011

Charger

  • miles
My car was recalled for the cooling fans letting my car overheat. The dealer replaces the fans and the asks if I want him to fix my overheating issue. I thought that was why my cooling fans were the issue. It stopped overheating for a month maybe at most the I had to have a new radiator, T-stat, and water pump. Within a couple weeks on my way to my doctor the temperature gauge dropped to 140 and died. I started it up and it has a quick knocking noise that seem to tick too quickly to be a rod plus the car doesn't die. I turned it off after hearing the knocking and had it towed home. Now my brother is letting me drive his car and mine is a yard ornament.

- Waynesboro, TN, USA

problem #4

Aug 052011

Charger

  • 51,300 miles
The shifter stuck in park and we had to take the car to the dealership where the shifter assembly had to be replaced. Upon are arrival the technician stated that there were 3 other Dodge auto's were there for the same reason. Our neighbor has a Chrysler sebring which had to have the same repair just last year. As the Chrysler had a recall on it and we feel that the Dodge should also have a recall. Our car is not 5 years old and according to the dealership should not have had this type of repair at this time.

- Euless, TX, USA

problem #3

Jul 022011

Charger

  • 143,000 miles
Gear shift stuck in "park". there was a recall for some Chargers for this problem but not mine. Obviously, the same part is defective on mine as the part in the vehicles involved in the recall.

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #2

Sep 302005

Charger

  • miles
I have taken my car to the dealership 5 times to have issues fixed. Each time I got the car back, it was worse. I had 13 issues originally with the car. I ended up suing, and got a very small settlement- Dodge refused to cooperate. I still have each and every problem, and do not know what else to do. My car dies while in reverse, the brakes malfunction constantly, the window panel remains broken due to their inept work, the radio cuts off, the dash lights die @ night, etc. I would truly appreciate it if someone could actually help me. I do not know what else to do. I love my car dearly, but something needs to be done. The date I put as date of incident is when this all started.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #1

May 102006

Charger

  • 500 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Charger and noticed on the recall stats I get sent on the E-mail that several others have had trouble with their Chargers hesitating or stalling on take off. I have had the hesitation every since I bought the car in March of 2006. I had it into the shop once in midland, Texas where I bought the car right after I bought it and they told me that it was how that particular car did and it was nothing to worry about. Seems like it may be a problem after all. I have right at 30,000 miles on the car now. It has continued to happen almost every time I accelerate. Sometimes it is worse than others.

- Big Spring, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?