Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,152 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Charger transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #48

May 012012

Charger 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Dodge Charger. Consumer states locked transmission the consumer stated her daughter's vehicle would not come out of park. The consumer discovered Chrysler had recalled approximately 21,000 vehicles of the 2007 model year that had transmission problems. However, when her daughter took the vehicle to the dealer for repair, she was informed the vehicle identification number was not included in the recall.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #47

Jul 272010

Charger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,052 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to shift out of the park position. The contact stated an independent mechanic removed the linkage from the gear and the vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer confirmed the shifter spring needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 48,052 and the current mileage was 80,000. Updated 09/26/12

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #46

Sep 012011

Charger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,001 miles
Inability to move the gear shift lever out of the "park" position issue in my vehicle. This issue was a customer satisfaction notification K 39 by Chrysler, but when I sent my vehicle to dealer lenders mclark at Dodge in huntsville, Alabama - and the service manager (bj) told me the VIN number is not covered and the same happened with Chrysler group recall assistance center ( nichol). My car has the same problem as describe in this notification letter K39 but Chrysler did not have a good problem solving analysis or traceable that was not include my VIN number. Updated 09/27/11 updated 12/12/11

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #45

Aug 302011

Charger

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the gear would not release from park. The dealer made the contact aware of NHTSA campaign id number: 08V583000 (power train:automatic transmission:lever and linkage:column shift) but advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall campaign. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 70,000.

- Oakhills, CA, USA

problem #44

Aug 302011

Charger

  • 46,700 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger rt. The contact stated that the shifter was locked in park and would not move. The dealer and manufacturer denied any assistance with repairs to the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 46,700.

- Mcminnville, TN, USA

problem #43

Aug 302011

Charger

  • 93,809 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle would not shift out of park. The dealer denied any assistance with repairs to the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 93,809.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #42

Aug 292011

Charger

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle was stuck in the park position. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance and referred the contact to NHTSA. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 72,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #41

Aug 292011

Charger

  • 65,000 miles
8/29/11 - 2007 Dodge Charger R/T - car would not shift out of park - car taken to local dealership, shifter assy broken, needs to be replaced, $450.

- Sc, SC, USA

problem #40

Aug 272011

Charger 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
We own a 2007 Dodge Charger. Car worked great until I tried to leave out of my garage. I turned on the car and the gear shift would not move out of park. Contacted the dealership and was advised that we would need to have it towed in. We have the extended 72 month, 75,0000 mile warranty and the mileage at the time was 45,000. After having our car towed, the Dodge technician explained that this part is not covered under our warranty and would cost $323 with parts & labor. One person even acknowledged that this is a common problem. So I've researched this defect and have seen numerous complaints online....and I am surprised there has not been a recall. We own 2 Dodge vehicles and were considering getting a durango, but if this problem isn't resolved or at least covered by our warranty, we will consider buying another make of car.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #39

Aug 252011

Charger

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle would not shift out of park. The dealer and manufacturer made the contact aware of the NHTSA campaign id number: 08V583000 (power train:automatic transmission:lever and linkage:column shift) recall, but the contacts VIN was not associated with the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 100,000.

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #38

Aug 262011

Charger 6-cyl

  • 40,001 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Own a 2007 Dodge Charger with 40,000 exactly. Drove car all day parked it. That following night..the following day, started car and I was unable to take car out of park.I have to get towed to dealership.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #37

Aug 172011

Charger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while starting the ignition, the shifter would not shift from park. The contact called a tow truck and the driver was able to get the shifter to move out of park. The contact then took the vehicle to the dealer where the vehicle was diagnosed and the dealer advised that the shifter assembly would need to be replaced. The dealer replaced the shifter assembly. The failure mileage was 97,000. Updated 10/03/11.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #36

Aug 232011

Charger

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle would not shift from park. An authorized dealer was notified and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V583000 (power train:automatic transmission:lever and linkage:column shift). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and filed a complaint. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Riverside , CA, USA

problem #35

Aug 012011

Charger

  • 50,160 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that he was unable to shift from out of park. The dealer advised that the contact would need to replace the shift assembly and the vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure however, did not offer any assistance. The current and failure mileages were 50,160. The VIN was unavailable.

- Pieora, AZ, USA

problem #34

Aug 202011

Charger

  • 89,940 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated the gear shift failed to move out of the park position. The vehicle was towed as a result of the failure but was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number:08V583000 (power train:automatic transmission:lever and linkage:column shift). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 89,940. Updated 09/28/11 updated 2/23/12

- Rex, GA, USA

problem #33

Aug 162011

Charger

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that her gear shaft was jammed in the park position and was unable to move. The vehicle was able to be driven after maneuvering the gear shift for a while. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who advised her that the retainer clip needed to be replaced. The vehicle was temporarily repaired. The manufacturer was notified and advised her that she was not included in recall NHTSA campaign id number 08V583000 (power train:automatic transmission:lever and linkage:column shift). The failure mileage was approximately 106,000.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #32

Aug 132011

Charger

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated while attempting to drive she was unable to shift out of the park position which prevented her from driving the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 44,000.

- Gloucester City, NJ, USA

problem #31

Aug 012011

Charger 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I put my car in park for the night. I got up the next morning for work but I could not get the car to move out of park. It was completely fine the day before. I looked online and this issue happens to alot of people. My girlfriend has a chrylser that did the exact same thing and had a recal sent out. When I called about my Dodge the VIN doesnt fit into the date range for the vehicles built that were recalled. This is insane...same yr, make, model, problem....but not included in the recall.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #30

Aug 042011

Charger

  • 66,250 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the gear shift knob fractured and the vehicle became stuck in park. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact of the cost for repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 66,250.

- Sunflower, MS, USA

problem #29

Jul 212007

Charger 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
2007 Dodge Charger. Stuck in park. Seems to be a common problem.

- Valmeyer, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?