Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
91,166 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Charger lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Charger Owner Comments

problem #6

Mar 212016


  • 158,093 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact noticed smoke coming from the driver side headlamp. The contact opened the headlamp and noticed flames. The contact extinguished the fire. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the front bumper, bumper cover, support bracket, passenger side headlamp assembly, upper tie bar, panel, and wiring harness needed to be replaced. In addition, the front driver side area by the headlamp needed to be painted. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 158,093.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #5

Oct 012013


  • 116,000 miles
Breaking of wires upon the opening and closing of the trunk that causes the trunk release (in-cabin), third brake light, and trunk release (key fob) to stop working.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #4

Oct 182010

Charger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated the steering wheel was difficult to turn and made an abnormal noise when the vehicle was driven in cold weather conditions. The contact also stated that while driving at approximately 25 mph, the radio lights and all of the interior lights failed. The vehicle was restarted and resumed to normal. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 4/27/15..updated 05/11/15. The consumer also received recall # 15V313000. However, the parts were not available. Updated 08/19/15.....updated 09/17/15 updated 09/21/15....updated 10/05/15. The consumer experienced a resistance in steering while turning left or right for the past 18 months. There was a smell of wires burning inside the vehicle, due to the left signal light wiring had burned out, the right front window was difficult to roll up, the blinkers stopped working, and the trunk would not open. Updated 10/19/15.....updated 11/10/15. Updated 11/30/15. The consumer also stated the vehicle would not start. The battery and ignition switch were replaced. The vehicle had a coolant leak. The gasket and thermostat were replaced. Updated 12/22/15......updated 12/24/15....updated 02/18/16. Updated 03/17/16..........updated 04/01/16 updated 04/12/16. Updated 04/14/16. Updated 06/02/16. Updated 06/09/16. Updated 06/16/16. Updated 06/29/16.8jb

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #3

Mar 022014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles


Multi function switch, control module

- Colo Spgs, CO, USA

problem #2

Mar 012013


  • 128,000 miles
After returning from the grocery store, the trunk release from the key, nor the inside dash release would open the trunk. We have been using the mechanical key. Driving home one night, I noticed the third brake light wasn't working. After testing all the fuses, and researching online, I discovered the problem was the wiring harness that feeds the break light and had broken. Where the wire feeds from under the back window deck into a rubber boot, then in to the trunk lid. Three of 6 wires are broken in half at the same location. This is all over forums online that this is a known issue and that the opening and closing of the trunk causes these wires to break since the radius is very tight when closing the trunk lid.

- Monticello, IL, USA

problem #1

Jul 242012

Charger 6-cyl

  • 44,900 miles
I driving and merged onto route 3 going South; I turned my right blinker on since the ramp was on the right, it shut off when I got on the expressway. Automatically the left blinker came on, even though I did not turn it on. While driving on the expressway going 60mph with three kids in the car I had to try to turn off the blinker, which would not turn off. It was a scary situation since there was a lot of traffic; so I was trying to watch the traffic (which may think I was merging left) and fix the issue at the same time. Repeatedly the right blinker came on, then the left again. There was a loud clicking noise when I tried to fix it, after several tries the blinker shut off. I got off the expressway and every turn I made the same thing happened. I call and emailed Chrysler Dodge. I was told a supervisor would return my call within 24 hours. They did not. I repeatedly emailed and called. In the interim I brought my car to the dealership and I researched the problem online and by speaking to mechanics and service people at Dodge dealerships. According to all of these sources this is a common problem with Dodge Chargers. Today, July 26th, I finally talked to a supervisor after calling Dodge another two times. He ([xxx]) said that there is no recall on the part (which I found out was a clock spring failure) and that they would do nothing to help. I asked if he would allow me to talk to his superior and he said he didn't have one. He then said he did but they would tell me the same thing. I asked if they were going to at least warn other owners of this issue and he said no, that the case was closed. I told him about the information I had gained by talking to mechanics, service people (including the one who fixed my car) and online research. I told him I would fax it to him. Even with all of this information he told me that they would not do anything about this issue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Plymouth, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?