Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 32
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,815 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Charger electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 11 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #96

Jul 272014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles


While at a stop light my car began to smoke from the right side of the hood, my air condition, radio and windows stop working and my battery light came on and then a message came on saying battery saver mode. It is so unfair to consumers that buy these cars, trusting that we have not bought a lemon. In my opinion anything that Dodge sells is a lemon even it is bought new. And I think it is outrageous that and alternator is 500 dollars, for what to put another piece of junk in the car. My car is only 2 1/2 years old and it is obsurd to have to replace an alternator this soon. The whole car needs to be recalled!!!!! Dodge can not even give me a car!!!! you can believe though just as soon as I get it running I am turning it in to whomever wants it!!!!! and whomever controls the car makers should not allow Dodge to make even a bicycle!!!!!!

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #95

Jul 262014


  • 48,965 miles
My family had finished a 1 hour long drive on a very hot day (100 deg). We stopped at one place and were leaving. We were driving out of the parking lot approx. 20 mph when the car started making a noise. ABS light came on, battery light came on, and car went into battery saving mode. My kids and I smelled an electrical and smoke smell. We stopped car immediately and opened hood. Smoke was pouring out of the alternator. I turned the car off and it continued to smoke for a few minutes. If the car was left running im sure it would have caught on fire completely. Car left my family and I not very happy with Dodge. Car only has 48000 miles. Dodge does not want to cover cost and im finding out their have been many complaints for this same problem. It is a dangerous and obviously a common problem that should be recalled.

- Salem, MO, USA

problem #94

Jul 282014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 120 miles
Alternator is bad burnt out my battery. Car will not start even after several jump starts. Bad alternator car only has approx 120,000 miles.

- Atlanta , GA, USA

problem #93

Jul 212014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 28,920 miles


While driving to work on 7/21/14 at approximately 6:50 am cst, I observed a message on my car's display that stated" battery saver mode". I drove the car directly to the Dodge/Chrysler dealer service department since I had recently experienced a dead battery within the past 60 days and had the battery replaced at autozone with a new battery. I informed the dealer of the message, and the dealer performed a battery & alternator check. I was informed that the battery and alternator were ok. The service advisor stated the battery was "charged" as a courtesy. On 7/24/2014 I again received the "battery saver mode" message. No other electrical issues were observed on this date. On 7/27/2014 I attempted to start my car after filling with gasoline. It initially did not start, but started once I shutoff all electrical accessories, such as radio and parking lights. The message "battery saver mode" was observed once the car was in motion.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #92

Mar 092013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 34,596 miles
3/9/13 - vehicle in for oil change. Battery saver mode message displayed on dash 2 miles down the road. Pulled over to check owner's manual which states immediate vehicle service required. To airpark Dodge dealership approx 7 miles down the road and power steering failure and then engine stalls while making left turn through intersection. Had both my children ages 2 and 5 in the vehicle at the time and thankfully no on coming traffic during the turn. 3/12/13 - alternator and battery replaced at airpark Dodge. 4/23/13 (35,690 miles) - vehicle back to airpark Dodge for another battery saver mode message. Source could not be found, no repairs made. 7/25/14 (47,900 miles) - battery saver mode message, no dash lights, no A/C, no power steering, no headlights while doing 30 mph. Vehicle to airpark Dodge again on 7/29/14.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #91

Jul 252014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 72,345 miles
I have a 2011 Dodge Charger V6 SE. Well the first thing that happened was that the car went dead on my wife and 2 small children. I took it to a dealership as requested by Dodge representative. They told me I had a bad alternator however I could not pay for the alternator so I requested to just pick up my vehicle. Before leaving I got the mechanic to test my battery. Turns out I had a bad battery. Problem solved but he still told me I had a bad alternator.. this was 5 months ago. Well about a month ago my tire pressure sensor light came on, then my ABS and traction control lights came on and I cannot use cruise control. Was told I was eligible for a recall but I would have to pay for diagnosis and possibly repair if the problem was deemed not under recall. I am currently unemployed and cannot afford for the dealership to give me the run around again. Well yesterday my wife was driving our 2 small children around and everything started cutting off while she was going down the road. She pulled off the highway thankfully just as the car cut off. I jumped the car off and used a voltmeter to check the battery as the car was running. The battery voltage was steadily declining as the car ran indicating the alternator has gone bad. After talking to Dodge representative again they said I may be eligible for a reduced bill from the dealership but I would have to take it to them for them to diagnose. This car has been nothing but trouble since I got it and it has left me and my family stranded numerous times. Very unhappy with Dodge and the dealership. I see where you are investigating the alternator failures and I would really appreciate any help you can incur.

- Sumrall, MS, USA

problem #90

Jul 172014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles


I was driving and noticed the radio shut off and dash lights were coming on, including battery saver mode. I pulled into a parking lot and stopped the car. When I tried to restart the car, it would not restart.

- Broadway, NC, USA

problem #89

Jul 242014


  • 56,200 miles
Sometimes when I'm driving the volume on the radio jumps up higher causing a distraction. Its been going on for two years.

- Tucker, GA, USA

problem #88

Jul 152014


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the air conditioner failed and the windows and doors would not open. In addition, the speedometer malfunctioned and all of the warning lights illuminated. The failure occurred two occasions. The second time the failure occurred the vehicle would not restart. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing and the mechanic stated that the alternator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. The VIN was not available.

- Hopewell, VA, USA

problem #87

Jul 152014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
On 95 South in middle of right hand lane auto just dies - first radio - then hot air blows and then completely shuts down leaving me no hazard lights - highway busy - called 911 and fhp after 45 minutes road Ranger came out - because vehicle had locked itself down unable to get it into neutral so fhp had to drag the car into apex so that a flatbed truck could be brought in. I was on the side of the highway - car was completely dark - time was midnight so cars were speeding by. I am being told alternator and battery and tire rod damage. Also because road Ranger had to move my car off highway for safety of all - there was damage to tire rod and Dodge should pay for this as it is a system situation when alternator goes system shuts down. The situation was 10 times more serious due to the complete shutdown in the middle of the most dangerous and busiest highways in South Florida. There was absolutely no time to pull over or get off the road.

- Aventura, FL, USA

problem #86

Aug 222012

Charger 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles


Car went into battery saver mode, radio shut off, tried to make it home had to pull over and have towed, alternator was out. We just had to put another alternator on in may of year 2014, same thing, radio out, made it to auto repair shop, the part was on back order because there is such a high demand, we were told this is a common problem in this car.

- Irmo, SC, USA

problem #85

Mar 032014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 51,500 miles
I was driving approx. 35 mph to grocery store and a 'battery saver mode' message came on. I made it to the store and when I came back out, car started fine. Within 1 minute the same message appeared, then the radio shut itself off, then the air went out. I started to look for a place to pull over and then I started to smell a burning smell. While trying to get out of the roadway, the car slowed down and I barely made it out of traffic. I turned the engine off, sat for about 10 minutes and tried to start it again --nothing. Had to get dealer to come tow it. When I made it to dealership they told me it was probably the alternator as that's a common problem with the Chargers. I asked how many have they replaced and they said lots and lots. I was without my car for 2 days to get it repaired. This cost me not only hundreds of dollars to have it repaired, but also car rental for the 2 days. I bought this car brand new, only 18 miles on it and in 2 years I'm having this large of a repair" since then I've read several complaints of the same thing happening to others, on various websites. How many more have to be replaced before a recall is issued??"

- Lumberton, TX, USA

problem #84

May 092014

Charger 6-cyl

  • miles
I was sent a safety recall notice in May 2014. I called the gurnee Dodge dealer I may to schedule the appointment and make sure they had the parts. First they told me that my car didn't need to be repaired. Then they said they would call me when the parts came in. I have been calling and they have been blowing me off. My car still has not been repaired. There is a defect with the headlight wiring.

- North Chicago, IL, USA

problem #83

Jun 272014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 58,500 miles
First, the passenger side headlight wiring melts. I take my vehicle to the dealership only to find out their is recall on the headlights and it going to take 14 weeks for me to get my vehicle repaired. Second, the battery saver mode message appears. I take it to the shop and they check the battery and it was dead, so I bought a new battery only to have my vehicle to stop on me again. This time I'm told it's the alternator but none are in stock anywhere! I also find out this is an issue with many 2011 Dodge Chargers. What does Chrysler do about it - nothing, sad.

- Greenville, MS, USA

problem #82

Jun 242014


  • 15,500 miles
If don't enter information how will you contact me to help? my radio went out first I didn't think nothing of it, but when I got closer to home my car started making weird noises and then my ABS light came on my stability light came on as well the ac went off and came on started blowing hot burning air, lucky I made it close to the dealership cause the car completely died on me I couldn't steer it. I had no power to turn, I'm happy I didn't get hurt or have my kids in the car at the time.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #81

Jun 212014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I was driving home at hwy speed (70mph) when all of a sudden my ac start blowing hot then the ABS light came on then the antislide light came on. I slowed down to sixty then my speeddometer started jumping from 0 to 80 then it stopped working totally. As I tried to get in the slow lane, smoke started coming out of somewhere. By this time the engine was making a loud noise an all my electrical items were blank. The car was pretty much costing at this point. I called a two Dodge dealerships as I waited on a tow an they immdiately said it was the alternator an the issue is common with the 2011 Dodge Chargers.. my issue is, since the dealership knows this an they are constantly repairing the alternator, then why havent Dodge recalled the part..I know the dealershop has to order the parts through them (Dodge).if I wasnt able to coast to the right before my steering colum lock, things would have been bad. I am a single mom who now has to pay 500 plus for the part on top of labor.. plus being without transportation for almost a week due to a bad alternator on a 2 1/2 year old car.

- Desoto, TX, USA

problem #80

Jun 132014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 98,765 miles
This is the second alternator in two years both burned up. Charger 2011 model sucks big time. So many problems with this car. Chrysler should recall the alternator. I know others are having the same problem...updated 07/23/14 the consumer stated the day the alternator burned up, the vehicle was loosing power while driving. There was a burning smell. The radio and dashboard grew dim and then went blank. The rear tire had to be replaced every 2-3 months. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where they agreed something was wrong, for the tires to be wearing prematurely. She was told, it was the tow-bar, and the repair cost was $640. However, the dealer paid half of the repair. After the repair, the rear tires still needed to be replaced, every 2-3 months. The cruise control worked for about two months. The driver side head lights burned out every two weeks. Updated 1/14/2015

- Donaldsonville, LA, USA

problem #79

Dec 012012

Charger 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Dodge Charger. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle electrical issues and consumer states unsatisfactory customer service at dealership. The consumer stated 10 hours after picking the vehicle up from the dealer, he noticed the same headlight was out. The consumer stated he experienced a problem, with the headlight before. The headlight issue, was a recalled component.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #78

Nov 192012


  • 43,000 miles
I bought my 2011 Charger in July 2012 with 32000miles on it. Four months after buying my Charger I had to replace both back tires. The tires were so worn out the wire was showing. Bought 2 new tires, by January 2013. These were used tires. In May 2012, I bought 4 new tires and had an alignment done. August 2013 the back tires had wire showing again. Dealer said it was the tow bar.I bought it in for repairs $350. I am currently buying back tires every 3-4 months. Recall comes out about ABS light and electrical system which can affect ESC functions. I was thinking "ok well maybe I driving so much I'm wearing down my tires" because between oil changes I had a 10,000 mile jump. Couldn't figure how I did 10,000 miles in 3 months. Now after careful study I found out ESC function affects how the speedometer reads, tire travel, and mileage reading. This car has been trouble since I bought it. In 2 years it says I've traveled 70,000 miles. What a rip off! the back end of the car just wobbles freely. Junk car.

- Donaldsonville, LA, USA

problem #77

May 022014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 73,195 miles
I recently had to replace the alternator on my 2011 Dodge Charger at a total personal cost of more than $800. Considering that most people these days don't have this type of money just sitting around, it was a very troubling situation. As I was driving down the street I noticed that my vehicle began slowing down without me breaking and the dashboard displays started flickering. Battery save mode was displayed and the car starting making a loud whining sound. That was immediately followed by the smell of something burning and smoke coming from the hood and through the front vents. Of course I was extremely alarmed and at the same time other vehicles were honking at me because my car was going so slow and I was in everyone's way. The burning smell and smoke were so bad that I just knew something had to be on fire. I stopped my vehicle in the street and signaled for drivers to go around me. I called a towing company to have the car taken to the shop since I obviously would not be continuing my commute home. The shop informed my that my alternator was bad and needed to be replaced. That was news that no car owner wants to hear. The cost to me would be over $800 because an aftermarket alternator did not exist for this make and model. This entire matter has had me scared at the time of the incident and pissed at the time of the bill. I have seen tons and tons of complaints on both this website and online in general regarding the bad alternators on the 2011 Dodge Chargers. It's ridiculous that Dodge/Chrysler has not issued a recall for alternators that were installed on these models so that consumers can either avoid this situation or be compensated for the crazy amount of money that we have had to pay to have this problem fixed. I am hoping that everyone who encounters this problem will put in enough complaints to make Dodge/Chrysler take action....updated 07/15/14

- Durham, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?