Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,824 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Dodge Dakota engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Dodge Dakota:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Dodge Dakota Owner Comments

problem #17

Oct 012010

Dakota

  • 236,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 2001 Dodge Dakota quad cab brand new and until this date, I have only had one issue. The power window motor quit and was replaced in 2008. On October 1st, 2010, my cruise control went out. Thinking it was wear and tear, I was not in a rush to fix it. Then the horn quit working. When the air bag light started flashing when I turned the steering wheel, I took it in to be serviced. My concern is that I have the same issues as a previous recall, but my VIN # is not included in that period. My mechanic says it is the clockspring assembly that needs to be replaced and the part is expensive. Looking online, it appears Dodge is not making good. My VIN # matches the other complaints. After contacting Dodge (11/10/10), I was offered a 50% refund on repair work. This says to me that they acknowledge there is something wrong with other models/year. This is unacceptable no matter how old the vehicle is. It is a safety issue with Dodge.

- Paisley, FL, USA

problem #16

Jun 112007

Dakota

  • 98,000 miles
The horn quit the cruise controls quit working. The air bag light are on air bags are dead the clock spring is bad in all the 2000 2001 Dodge Dakota 's all have the same problem. Dealer said sounds like you got a problem. This is a safety problem.

- Kirkland, WA, USA

problem #15

Mar 122009

Dakota

  • miles
Acceleration would occur when in park position. It would also occur at traffic lights, without pressing the gas. This lead to the Cadillac converter to malfunction and fail, next the water pump went out, the O2 sensor, and various belts. My truck is a 2001 Dodge Dakota with only 78,000 miles, the repairs will reach $2000 I have had the vehicle looked at and was told that a vehicle with these low miles should not occur. The Cadillac converter is a ca emissions one, which is expensive. This should had never happened, my truck is driven 10 miles a day.

- King George, VA, USA

problem #14

Aug 052008

Dakota

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My husband was driving his 2001 Dodge Dakota home at night, on a country road, around August 5, 2008 and the headlights flickered on and off. When he got home, the windshield wipers went haywire, the horn continued to honk, the door locks began locking and unlocking, and the air bag light came on. We found out the central timer module (cmt) and clock spring had failed and was told the truck was unsafe to drive. We had both repaired for $530. I was told that recalls existed on several Dodge vehicles but not one of them specified our truck. I contacted Dodge and they just said it was not my truck so I was out of luck. I then did some research on this on-line and found several forums with this same problem on this year of truck, plus several others, and they could not find any help from Dodge either. This is a really serious malfunction and could of cause a very bad accident. I just need Dodge to own up to the problem and reimburse us for the repairs we had. Also admit there is a problem on all Dodge vehicles, before someone get seriously injured or killed.

- Susanville, CA, USA

problem #13

Aug 172007

Dakota 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
I have a 2001 Dodge Dakota 4.7L quadcab and my horn, cruise and airbag all stopped working at the same time. I have seen a recall for this matter on 2000 vehicles, but not 2001. I am now operating without an airbag. Updated 02-01-08 updated 02/01/08 the consumer stated he is also without a horn and has not replaced it due to cost. Updated 02/01/08

- La Fayette, IL, USA

problem #12

Mar 102004

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
When the cruise control is being used, my 2001 Dakota qc will surge. The tachometer will jump a little and the vehicle will jerk slightly. The pickup has been in the shop for 6 weeks with no answers!

- Scobey, MT, USA

problem #11

Sep 222003

(reported on)

Dakota

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Consumer called complaining about engine problems. Also stated that every time it overextends 4 rpms will not switch gears, transmission failed, and vehicle vibrated and died. Manufacturer was contacted, and stated that they would not do any thing because there was no recall on this vehicle.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #10

Jul 252003

(reported on)

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The throttle sensor failed to return to normal when it was released.

- Pilot Grove, MO, USA

problem #9

Jun 162003

Dakota

  • miles
Front axle on 2001 Dodge Dakota unexpectedly broke. The vehicle was in motion when the incident occurred. The dealer stated it was a manufacturer's problem. The consumer experienced several serious problems within one year with sudden acceleration on up to 80 mph.

- Mineola, NY, USA

problem #8

Jun 162003

Dakota 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was driving to work and my front axle broke. I also had two previous problems with the truck were it would accelerate on it's own to 80 miles a hour and the only way to stop was to shift into neutral, emergency brake and press on the brakes and pray. I was out of a car over thirty days between the two times trying to repair the acceleration.

- Mineola, NY, USA

problem #7

Aug 152002

Dakota

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When cruise control in activated vehicle will continue to accelerate.

- Lawrence, IL, USA

problem #6

Jul 172002

Dakota 4WD

  • miles
When slowed to near stop as when parking, vehicle suddenly accelerates as if accelerator has been heavily depressed -- foot is on brake, not on accelerator.. does not occur every stop. No warning when vehicle suddenly accelerates. Last time this happened, vehicle accelerated when being parked, and almost ran through business store front. Operator tried putting two feet on brake = no results...operator barely able to throw into nuetral to stop vehicle. Massive damage to frame of truck. Fortunately, no persons injured or real property damaged. Concern is for future driving when vehicle is repaired. This seems very dangerous.

- Wimberley, TX, USA

problem #5

Nov 172001

Dakota Diesel

  • miles
I was in Iowa buying cattle, pulling 24ft trailor on interstate hwy in process of passing 18 wheeler when engine quit. The truck was taken to a Dodge dealership in Iowa Nov. 17, 2001. The name of dealership, harlan auto plex. Shop foreman suggested wiring harness replacement. Regional service manager in Kansas insisted the problem was defective throttle position sensor. 17 days later and 3 different throttle position sensors plus other parts tried the reginal manager allowed the dealership to replace wiring harness. Dodge sent to them the wrong wiring harness and truck motor had to be torn down again to install correct wiring harness. The truck has been in Iowa in shopt 19 days and I live in tx. On 12-3 I was notified the truck was fixed as Dodge told the dealership to get the truck out of their shop. I drove over 1,000 miles again to pick the truck up to find it torn down again. They have now notified me the truck is fixed, but there is no way to know if it is reeally fixed and won't know until back on the interstate. This could be very dangerous. Dodge will not pay for any of these travel expenses incurred nor help in anyway getting the truck back to Texas.

- O'donnell, TX, USA

problem #4

Nov 172001

Dakota Diesel

  • miles
I was in Iowa buying cattle, pulling 24ft trailor on interstate hwy in process of passing 18 wheeler when engine quit. The truck was taken to a Dodge dealership in Iowa Nov. 17, 2001. The name of dealership, harlan auto plex. Shop foreman suggested wiring harness replacement. Regional service manager in Kansas insisted the problem was defective throttle position sensor. 17 days later and 3 different throttle position sensors plus other parts tried the reginal manager allowed the dealership to replace wiring harness. Dodge sent to them the wrong wiring harness and truck motor had to be torn down again to install correct wiring harness. The truck has been in Iowa in shopt 19 days and I live in tx. On 12-3 I was notified the truck was fixed as Dodge told the dealership to get the truck out of their shop. I drove over 1,000 miles again to pick the truck up to find it torn down again. They have now notified me the truck is fixed, but there is no way to know if it is reeally fixed and won't know until back on the interstate. This could be very dangerous. Dodge will not pay for any of these travel expenses incurred nor help in anyway getting the truck back to Texas.

- O'donnell, TX, USA

problem #3

Oct 012001

Dakota

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle suddenly accelerates when it is in idle. Dealer has been contacted. Ak vehicle has been at dealer sevearl times, however the problem has not been corrected.

- Pleaston, CA, USA

problem #2

Jul 092001

Dakota

  • miles
Cruise control failed to de-activate when brake was applied. Brake was stepped and released 3 times, cruise control still failed to de-activate. Was able to finally get cruise control to deactivate after pushing in both clutch and brake at same time. Cruise takes 3-5 seconds to deactivate when just clutch is pushed in. Truck was taken to dealer twice for this problem, they couldn't find anything wrong. Onboard computer not showing any problems. I have had cruise control in other cars, this is not the way it it supposed to work.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #1

Jun 262001

Dakota

  • miles
Intermittently vehicle will accelerate suddenly and unexpectedly without warning. Dealer has inspected vehicle on several occasions. However, problem could not be duplicated or corrected. Please provide additional information.

- Danville, WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?