Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,300 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Dodge Dakota electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Dodge Dakota:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Dodge Dakota Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Jun 032006

Dakota 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles


The lights on my 2002 Dodge Dakota started flashing and a few days later my lights, dash lights and power door locks stopped working. I have had 3 different auto mechanics look at it and no one can figure out what the problem is. My truck has 40,900 miles on it and no wrecks of any kind. My truck is an automatic.

- Taberg, NY, USA

problem #12

Jan 092006

Dakota 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
2002 Dodge Dakota quad cab 4X4 - headlamps and console lights flicker on and off. This causes other vehicles to think you are flashing your lights at them and also you end up driving in complete darkness when this happens.

- Omro, WI, USA

problem #11

Nov 262004

Dakota 8-cyl

  • miles
2002 Dodge Dakota experiencing problems with the headlights, interior lights, windshield wipers, and the key fod access. The ti module has been replaced three times in the last five months.

- Seattle , WA, USA

problem #10

Nov 252004

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,422 miles


Headlights not functioning. All interior lights not functioning, the wipers worked intermittently. The high, low selection for wipers does work. Keyless entry does not work. Contact has taken the vehicle to courtesy tire twice, then to bbc Dodge three times for all of these problems. This started around 11/26/04. Was told they thought it was a loose ground wire, second time they thought it was timer module part no#ti-8035033 and this module was replaced three times, probably four times as consumer is taking care again tomorrow. When the module is first put in everything works well for awhile or until it rains. Consumer states he notices that after it rains everything listed above stops working again. Consumer has contacted his attorney general to report this situation. The transmission made a harsh sound when it was placed into gear.

- Seatle, WA, USA

problem #9

Feb 142005

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,800 miles
My 2002 Dodge Dakota SXT club cab has been in for service on 2/14/05, 2/23/05, 3/12/05, 3/26/05 and 4/9/05 for misfiring. It has had 3 fuel injectors 2, 3, and 4 replaced because they were leaking, and all the spark plugs replaced every time it has gone into service. To date, 4/18/05, the vehicle was still misfiring. On each occasion, the engine light came on, and each time, the dealership stated it was the same problem. I have had the dealership at my expense to flush the fuel injector system, and have had service automatic transmission. I have also had the dealership, under warranty, to replace a failing master cylinder on 1/26/05. I anticipate I will be back at the dealership sometime this weekend, as I am sure the engine light will come on again.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #8

Oct 242002

Dakota 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,467 miles
During heavy rain the air bag light would illuminate on the dashboard. A day or so after the rain had passed the light would go off. The consumer is concerned that the air bag may not protect him during an accident. The consumer stated each time he took the vehicle to the dealership, they found a loose connection with the seat belt system under the passenger seat. The adjustments would last anywhere from 90 days to a year. The last time the consumer took the vehicle in to the dealership, they found an open circuit within the passenger side seat belt. Updated consumer is still having an issue the air bag. Updated 9/22/08 updated 09/23/08.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #7

Aug 272004

Dakota 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles


Consumer was concerned that the vehicle started up, and the headlights came on by themselves while parked in the garage, which was attached to the house. Dealer was not notified.

- Saint Marys, OH, USA

problem #6

Jan 112003

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91 miles
There are so many problems that it is hard to really point one out that I am most concerned with. First of all it started with the transmission problem. Then it lead into what the manufacturer says is an electrical problem. Then the replacement of the entire fuel delivery system. Now we are at a standstill since they say that it is working as designed. They also say that it is expected to see the erratic behavior from the motor. I am confused since they say that the computer adjusts and then it won't allow the car to run at optimal effectiveness. Does this mean that it is designed to run at less than optimal effectiveness? I have had a smell come out of the air as though the vehicle was completely flooded. The front suspension makes threatening sounds and the back wobbles like a serpent. The brakes jitter and I have had to pay for rentals at times when the manufacturer approved the reimbursement. The statement for denial of reimbursement was "the after market alarm caused it". they were the sponsors and initiators of this company since I bought it at the dealership included in my price.

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #5

Jun 032004


  • miles
While driving, the vehicle would stalled. The driver tried to restart, but was unable to start. The driver noticed on more than one occasion while turning on the lights. The interior, and exterior lights would come on and off on its own. The driver had the vehicle towed to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic informed the driver that the problem could not be determine. Please fill in additional information.

- Bellerose, NY, USA

problem #4

Jan 032003


  • miles
Noisy and unpredictable sound coming from suspension. Warning light remains on. Stalls and surges unpreditabley. Reduced gas mileage. Eratic electronic behavior, stops and restarts. Even has eratic alarm responses.

- Castle Rock, CO, USA

problem #3

Feb 012002

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles


In Oct.2002 my truck shut off while driving down the road. In the past the truck had shut off in reverse or when I was at a dead stop and then press the gas, but this time I had to drive with my foot on the gas and the brake at the same time and then put it in neutral at a stop to keep the gas going. I had also had a problem with my blinkers. You turn the left one on and occasionally the right one will blink to-like "hazard lights". my dash board would also light up while driving or even when I come to a stop at a light. I put it off until the driving down the road. The dealership said it was a computer problem and the truck had been doing it since day 1, they couldn't find the problem to the blinkers. Also the A/C condesation line had a crack in it and was leaking into my passenger side floor-that was a second trip. Now my truck is haveing the same shut-off problem starting just like it did last time-so now I am looking into the "lemon law", it seems to apply so far.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #2

Jul 292002


  • miles
Consumer states vehicle special ordered with power windows and locks stalled out 3 times. Dealer replaced blown ignition fuse, replaced fuse that shorten relating to the installation of the power windows and locks and replaced a mis-routed wiring in the ignition switch. In addition, the electric locks do not work, and the light switch must be jiggled in order to turn the lights off. Consumer is requesting replacement of another Dakota (slt) model.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #1

Mar 042002


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
ABS light came on while driving, shortly after the brake light came on as well. Vehicle taken to dealer, ABS light keeps coming on intermittantly. Dealer determined there was an electrical short and repaired this. At this time the ABS light has come on again. Nlm

- Sturtevant, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?