Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,409 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Dodge Dakota suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Dodge Dakota:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Dodge Dakota Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #54

Jun 302008

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Dakota. While accelerating from a stop light, the front passenger side upper ball joint failed. The front tire became disconnected and detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop and the cause of the failure was confirmed. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 04V596000 (suspension:front:control arm:upper ball joint). The current and failure mileages were 104,000. Updated 09/10/08 updated 09/15/08

- West Deptford, NJ, USA

problem #53

Aug 262004

Dakota 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have a 2003 Dodge Dakota sport quad cab 4 wheel drive vehicle. I've had an embarrassing squeak in my steering and front end for 4 years. After listening to it for a while after purchasing, I took it to trail Dodge on 08/26/04 and complained. The service note said "customer states there is a loud squeaking noise from right side suspension area while driving. Inspected and road tested and could not duplicate customer's concerns, no noises heard at this time (wet out) did inspect front end all is tight." It took it in to fury motors, South St. Paul, mn, at about 36,000 miles and the same. They could not find it at that time. Noise persisted, till it's now embarrassing to drive the vehicle all together. Today, May 12, 2008, I brought it back to fury motors, because of the sound, that has progressively gotten worse (now 50,000 miles), and they tell me I need both upper and both lower ball joints, to the tune of $1500!!!! then I get on line and find out there has been a recall (NHTSA action #EA03023). I called fury motors to let them know and they state my VIN number is not included in the recall. It has been the same sound that was progressively getting worse and worse, and now I find out it could have been disastrous and I'm not covered"?" please help!

- St. Paul Park, MN, USA

problem #52

Mar 072008

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Dakota quad cab. The contact stated that there is excessive wear on the ball joints. The dealer stated that his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 04V596000 (suspension:front:control arm:upper ball joint). The current and failure mileages were 71,000. Updated 03-25-08 updated 03/25/08

- Cambridge, WI, USA

problem #51

Jun 162007

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,198 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Dakota 4X2. The contact stated that the upper ball joints were corroded. The failure was noticed while driving 45 mph. A mechanic repaired the vehicle. The contact believes that the failure is a safety hazard. The current and failure mileages were 23,198.

- Suffield, CT, USA

problem #50

Jan 182007

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 68,800 miles
I have upper ball joints going out on my 2003 Dodge Dakota..and the Dodge dealer in fargo nd says my VIN number is not recalled. But on your site there is a recall for them" I want clarification, of why mine has not not recalled too" please contact me through my internet addresses. Thank you.

- Fargo, ND, USA

problem #49

Mar 042007

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
To whom it may concern, I own a 2003 Dodge Dakota quad cab slt. And I have run into a lot of problems with this truck that people I know say they had very similar problems with the same make of vehicle. To start with my truck only has about 62,184 miles on it, for a 2003 model truck, that is considered low mileage. The problems I have run into is as follows: Both front wheel hub bearing sets have prematurely failed, in particular, the right front hub tried to lock up on me and almost caused me to loose control of the truck, I have since replaced that hub but still need to replace the left front before it locks up:second is that the steering and suspension system has no provisions for preventative maintenance, I.e. no grease zircs for the ball joints, tie rods, upper and lower control arm bushings, wheel bearings, etc...causing rapid wear and failure:third big issue, I have already replaced all four brake rotors due to warpage. The brake calipers were built with some type of composite plastic pistons that distort due to excessive heat build up in the brakes. Which in turn causes uneven pad contact, that then causes excessive heat, accelerated pad wear, brake fade, rotor warpage, and an awful "squeal" when the brakes are applied. I have noticed that my brand new brake pads are actually cracked now because of a combination of the calipers and the hubs going bad: Fourth issue is that the transmission causes the engine to over "rev" in the highway passing gear especially with the over drive and cruise control on. When you're driving down the highway and you give it a little more gas to get around somebody, the engine RPM's shouldn't go up to sometimes around 7000, that in turn could cause premature engine or transmission failure. I have been in contact with daimler-Chrysler about these concerns but they just keep giving me the run around and not answering my questions. I still have the old parts also.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #48

Dec 012006

Dakota 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,398 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Popping noise in front end entering driveway or over speed bumps had dealer inspect and perform tsb. On upper ball joints per letter from Chrysler Corp. They did repair and told me the hub bearings were also bad not covered, $552 I replaced them myself I can't find a problem the hubs. The noise is still there !

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #47

Sep 132006

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300,000 miles
Ball joint failure on Dodge Dakota 4X4. Recall on other vins not mine. Failure at 30000 miles. The dealer said 1200 dollars and they would put on the new modified ones. Why am I paying for a Dodge defect.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #46

Mar 072006

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
Experienced clunking noise in front suspension. Ball joint subsequently failed causing front wheel to separate from the vehicle while operating.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #45

Dec 202005

Dakota 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The consumer stated while driving there was noise coming from the suspension when going over bumps. The problem occurred at low speeds. The dealership determined the bushings and the upper ball joints were worn. There is a recall with the NHTSA # 04V596000. The consumer experienced the same problem as indicated in the recall; however, the vehicle identification number was not included.

- Tujunga, CA, USA

problem #44

Nov 292005

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact states there I NHTSA recall campaign id 04V596000 concerning the upper ball joint. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall, but it is not included in the recall due to VIN. The vehicle is currently being repaired at the contact's expense.

- Berkley , MI, USA

problem #43

May 062005

(reported on)

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Dodge Dakota experiencing problems with the ball joints as well as the welds of the truck bed at the upper part near the rear window. A recall was issued for the upper ball joints (04V596000) but the dealer wanted the consumer to pay to diagnose the problem. There are plastic rivets on both side panels that attach to the rear panel truck bed. The rear panel truck bed is so weak that about five pounds of pressure bent the panel. The consumer believes the plastic bed liner is stronger than the rear truck bed panel

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #42

Sep 072005

Dakota

  • miles
My husband took his 2003 Dodge Dakota to a Dodge dealership for recall work to be done. A front ball joint had to be replaced (to keep the front end of the truck from falling apart while driving and killing everyone.) when he took it in it drove fine. After the work was done, it pulls to the right. I called another Dodge service department to ask them about procedure, they said that an alignment is standard procedure when completing that type of work, but that the car owner is screwed when it comes to recall work. I then called the manufacturer who told me basically the same thing. That's not right!! I should not have to fork over money to have fixed what they screwed up! please fix this.

- Angier, NC, USA

problem #41

Aug 152004

Dakota 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
2003 Dodge Dakota. The consumer received manufacturer's 35190558 concerning upper ball joints failure. Consumer called the dealer, and the dealer urged the consumer to call the manufacturer. The consumer called the manufacturer, and they said to call the dealer back. The consumer complained, was getting the run around from both places. The dealership said there must be a certified mechanic to have the repairs done. The only certified mechanic was in anchorage, Alaska. There were no roads to the village where consumer lived, could only get there by airplane.

- Unalakleet, AK, USA

problem #40

Dec 012004

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact states there is a recall on 2003 Dodge Dakota concerning the upper ball joint. The contact feels the problem is going to continue because water runs down between where the door opens leading to the front suspension. The consumer has contacted two service dealers. The consumer has not contacted the manufacturer.

- Cream Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #39

Jun 202005

(reported on)

Dakota

  • miles
2003 Dodge Dakota upper left ball joint had to be replaced. The consumer requested that the dealer also replace the upper right ball joint but they refused stating that the manufacturer wouldn't cover the replacement until it failed.

- Fairdale, KY, USA

problem #38

May 022005

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
With regards to the recal # 04V596000 on the 4X4 Dodge Dakota truck. I am having the same noises and problems on the 2X4 truck will this recall be exspended to 2X4?

- Valencia, CA, USA

problem #37

Mar 282005

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Rear brakes howl in reverse. Dealer stated needs break in. At 41.000 miles, still howls. Recall on upper ball joints received in February. As of 03-29-05, dealer states there is a 2 month backorder on parts for repair.

- Quakertown, PA, USA

problem #36

Dec 222004

Dakota

  • miles
The vehicle failed a required state inspection because the vehicle's upper ball joints were unsafe. The consumer has since learned that there was a safety recall and warranty extension on the upper ball joints. He feels he should be reimbursed for the upper ball joint repair.

- Mineral, VA, USA

problem #35

Jan 032005

Dakota 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
NHTSA recall campaign 04V596000; daimler Chrysler issued a front upper ball joint recall. This vehicle was not included in the recall, but the left front ball joint fell off.

- Flushing, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?