If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

4.5

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,467 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Dakota transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Dakota:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Dakota Owner Comments

problem #10

May 262009

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Dakota. The contact stated that there were rattling noises coming from the front end of the vehicle while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the rack and pinion failed. The contact was also informed that the sway bar links were loose. The vehicle was repaired. The failure had since recurred every few months. The vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer where various front suspension components were replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 02/15/12 the rack and pinion, sway bar links, lower ball joints, upper control arm ball joint and shocks were all bad. Also, the shifter was coming out of park and the tie rods were worn. Updated 05/02/12

- Onekama, MI, USA

problem #9

Sep 102010

Dakota 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
2006 Dakota automatic transmission shifts in to od at 40 mph and below, which causes vehicle to vibrate loudly and suddenly slow down. When ignored, the engine sounds like it will stall. I've taken this truck to local Dodge dealer (brigham - gill) in natick, MA for diagnosis and I was told this is "normal".

- Natick, MA, USA

problem #8

Jan 262009

Dakota

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Dakota quadcab slt. The contact stated that the information system built into the overhead console would display improper miles to gallon readings and the electrical compass would also indicate incorrect directional readings. The front passenger side window would not function intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where it was repaired. The failure continued. The contact also noticed that there was water leaking into the rear tail lights, causing the lights to burn out. The vehicle was repaired by the dealer. On another occasion, the vehicle was parked when the horn began to sound. The contact had to turn the headlight switch off to stop the horn. The dealer could not diagnose the failure. The failure continued. The contact also stated that the vehicle jerked when he shifted gears. The transfer case was replaced at the local dealer. Upon receiving the vehicle from the dealer, the vehicle vibrated and intermittently hesitated when gears were shifted. The failure mileage was approximately 21,000 and the current mileage was approximately 55,000.

- Capac, MI, USA

problem #7

May 062009

Dakota

  • 72,570 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

5/06/09, I went to a Dodge dealership because "check engine" light kept coming on & off. This was an ongoing incident that took place on other occasions throughout my ownership of vehicle, but whenever taken to original dealership, the light was no longer on, & the dealership would state they could not find anything & suggested I bring the vehicle back whenever it came back on. On this latest incident, light remained on & dealership stated that they would "need to remove transmission and break down to find internal failure or replace transmission." The codes that showed up were "P1775, solenoid switch valve latched in ttc position" and "P0218, trans-high temp activated." They were siding on replacing transmission stating that I had 72,570 miles on vehicle. I inquired if under warranty, & they stated that I had exceeded the mileage & my vehicle had just passed the 3 year mark the day prior. I then filed a claim w/Dodge headquarters on 5/7/2009 to inquire about any recalls or assistance w/a new transmission. I had inquired about recalls because I have always kept up w/my routine maintenance, the vehicle was bought new & had just made 3 years & the miles were mostly highway miles. After several followup calls on 5/8/2009, 5/14/2009 & 5/19/2009, Dodge corporate office informed me that they spoke to the dealership, & though rebuilding or replacing the transmission was ideal, they would not assist me w/doing such because my warranty had expired. Additionally, original dealership I had purchased my vehicle from had went out of business, & Dodge customer service stated they could not find any record of me bringing vehicle in for same problem. The only thing they offered was reimbursing the $213.98 I paid to have the truck diagnosed, but after submitting my receipt to them. Dealership could not reverse the transaction to reimburse. Since then, I've had other places look at vehicle who tell me they've seen similar problems w/other Dodge trans of that year. Trans now slipping.

- Newtonville, NJ, USA

problem #6

Jun 062009

Dakota

  • 6,334 miles
Vehicle vibrates severely when od (lock-up) comes in at 40 mph, if brakes are applied after this the vehicle shakes and jumps all aver the road. 4 tires replaced twice, front rotors replaced, rear drums turned, drive shaft balanced, all with no results, problem still exists.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #5

Apr 062007

Dakota

  • 600 miles
2006 Dodge Dakota quad cab. Loud clunk or bang from rear end of vehicle while in reverse. It happened twice in the first 3 weeks of owning the truck. Took it in, was told nothing wrong. It has not recurred.

- Victoria, MN, USA

problem #4

Jul 162008

Dakota

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Regards to a 2006 Dodge Dakota clubcab pickup truck. Loud bang from rear end of truck @ a stop @ a toll booth on mass pike I-90 in westboro, MA. Towed to nearby westboro Dodge dealer. Rear end from the drive shaft down failed. Could have cause injury or death. Still @ dealership. Truck is out of warranty by 3000 miles. Been in touch with Chrysler dealer, they are calling it a defect but want me to pay first $500. This is a very serious defect that the dot should be aware of. If I was traveling and not stopped the drive shaft could have fell completely out and caused a crash or even worse. My truck is still not repaired. This happened on July 16 2008. I'm a single mom and took very good care of the truck. It was serviced ever 3,000 miles oil, fluids ect. I'm waiting now on faxes from westboro Dodge in westboro MA. To see all of the defects involved. Please contact me thank you!

- Tyngsboro, MA, USA

problem #3

Jan 212007

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65 miles
When traveling on the highway/expressway the automatic transmission does not seem to shift to the next gear. The vehicle begins to shake and vibrate very roughly and will not accelerate to the desired speed.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #2

Jan 152007

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,500 miles
Engine was replaced prior to purchase truck was sold as new engine replacement was not disclosed, continuing transmission problems, replaced transmission at 8800 miles, vehicle shut off while in motion on freeway, multiple exhaust leaks, hub fan replaced. When a problem repeats itself the dealership claims it to be "normal". dealer principle unwilling to address issues. I continue to hear noises and have transmission issues. Dealership will not do any work on the vehicle unless I go when its convient for the "technician" to duplicate the issue. Dealership lied about engine being recalled as an explanation for the replacement of the engine when in fact there were no recalls relating to the engine. Dealership claims all repairs are normal when in the manuel it only states maintenance is required at high mileage not replacement before 10K.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #1

Dec 132006

Dakota 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,600 miles
- the contact said that he was driving about 45 mph when he noticed smoke coming from his truck. Then contact pulled over at which time he noticed that transmission fluid was leaking which created the smoke. The contact called the fire department they found a small fire under the car. The contact said that he will retain a copy of the report once it is received. The contact called the manufacturer but know one has helped him. The dealer (auto West Dodge) at roseville ca, told him the they can not repair the car until the manufacturer tells them.

- Sacraminto, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?