Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The first year of the new Dodge Dart had a rough start, with owners reporting a disproportionate number of engine and transmission problems.

For transmission, the main complaints are transmission failure & rough shifting. So far, average mileage for transmission failure is 25,000 miles. Not good.

For engine problems, it usually starts with the engine light coming on for any number of reasons: bad sensors, ignition coil replacement, bad wiring, faulty gas cap ... dealers are replacing various components with varying degrees of success, or telling owners they can't duplicate the issue.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,812 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Dodge Dart brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Dodge Dart:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Dodge Dart Owner Comments (Page 1 of 11)

problem #201

Nov 012016

Dart

  • 3,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this car used from a Kia dealer. I haven't even had it one month yet. While driving one day backing out of a parking space my brakes would not stop. I went to push down on them and it felt like I was trying to push down a brick. It wouldn't budge. You could hear air as you hit the brake but nothing else. A brake light popped up on the screen followed by a car with a swirly line behind it. I almost backed into someone and almost wrecked my car. Thank god my kids weren't with me and no one was hurt.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #200

Nov 022016

Dart

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V800000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. When the contact arrived at the dealer for the recall repair, he was informed that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- North Scituate, RI, USA

problem #199

Oct 202016

Dart

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. When the vehicle was started and the brake pedal was depressed, there was an upward force from the brake pedal. The contact also stated that the brake warning indicator illuminated and flashed several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the power brake booster failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V800000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000...updated 11/17/16

- Milton, FL, USA

problem #198

Jun 182016

Dart

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V800000 (service brakes, hydraulic) and scheduled an appointment however, the repair was unable to be performed due to a technician and parts being unavailable. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Marysville, OH, USA

problem #197

Sep 232016

Dart

  • 56,600 miles
The parking brake in the caliper failed to release with the disengagement of the parking brake on the driver's side rear brake. The result was that the rotor was super heated and after just 5 minutes, was glowing red. This started parked in my driveway, through my town to work. All in town on city streets. The car is currently at the dealership, calipers are back ordered.

- Jackson, MN, USA

problem #196

Sep 292016

Dart

  • 33,500 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. While the vehicle was being operated, a clicking noise was heard under the vehicle before the braking system suddenly failed. The contact had to use the emergency brakes to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 33,500.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #195

Sep 222016

Dart

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. When the brake pedal was depressed at 70 mph, it traveled to the floor and failed to stop the vehicle. The brake warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the brake booster needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V800000 (service brakes, hydraulic); however, the technician stated that the brake booster was not covered under the recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #194

Jan 052016

Dart

  • miles
At present, nothing has happened. Anxiety is growing though that something ill-fated might. A recall was issued January '16. To date, September '16, no fix, solution, or remedy has been found or offered by either Chrysler or the dealership where the car is routinely serviced.

- Knightdale, NC, USA

problem #193

Jul 022016

Dart

  • 90,000 miles
Parking brake has been inoperable in lieu of galvanic corrosion on the rear brake caliper. The steel spring located at the rear brake calipers which regulates the operation of the emergency brake or parking brake has seized with its rotating armature. This started happening over a year ago and as of two months ago has completely seized. I first changed the rear brake rotors and pads in hopes that would fix the problem however, it only caused the rear emergency brake caliper to not release while driving. I had to pull over to the side of the road and completely release all of the parking brake tension through the handle adjustment bolt. Then I had physically push and pull the vehicle back and forth at which point the rear brake pads slowly released. I could not get the brakes to re-engage after, and have since discovered the spring assembly is seized on the rear calipers for the parking brake.

- Watertown, NY, USA

problem #192

Aug 092016

Dart

  • miles
Takata recall - on 8/9/2016 I purchased this vehicle from a used car dealership. The gear shift/clutch skips, sticks, and jumps, whenever I move it from park to reverse or drive. This happens consistently. Also, the car was sold to me with a dry cable brake wire, which caused the vehicle to make a very loud noise. I reported these issues to the dealer that I purchased this vehicle from, they lubricated the brake cable wire, however, they said that this is normal for dual clutches to do this - skip, jump, and stick. Also, the vehicle hesitates to accelerate, and the dealer that I purchased the vehicle come said this is normal. This car had low mileage on it at the time of purchase (38,013), I have filed a claim against Dodge, because I think this is a major safety issue. Also, I discovered that the previous owner of this vehicle had experienced numerous problems since the time that he purchased this vehicle, which the vehicle had 0 miles on it at that time, and even he filed a claim against Dodge for the very same problems, plus for other component failures since the day that he purchased it.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #191

Aug 232016

Dart

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V800000 (service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Musquite, TX, USA

problem #190

Aug 082016

Dart

  • 98,509 miles
The contact owned a 2013 Dodge Dart. While the brake pedal was depressed, the vehicle proceeded through an intersection due to brake failure. As a result, a vehicle crashed into the driver side of the contact's vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the brake failure was not due to NHTSA campaign number: 15V800000 (service brakes, hydraulic). There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was 98,509.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #189

Jun 202016

Dart

  • 2,600 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. While depressing the brake pedal at various speeds, the vehicle failed to stop. Another motorist helped to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V800000 (service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 2,600.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #188

Jan 012016

Dart

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V800000 (service brakes, hydraulic); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Monee, IL, USA

problem #187

Jun 202016

Dart

  • 2,600 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. While driving at a low speed, the brake pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to stop. The contact was able to get assistance from another person to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V800000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 2,600. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 09/30/16

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #186

Aug 032016

Dart

  • 47,000 miles
My 2013 1.4L turbo Dart was in service within the last 2 weeks. Was informed that my slave cylinder, master cylinder and brake booster needed to be replaced and was under recall. Ended up in an accident on the freeway because my ABS failed and my car slid. I was informed that it does have to do with the brake booster. Was told by Dodge parts were on order, I call and they have no record and that there are no recalls for my vehicle. When it was inspected was informed the three above parts needed to be replaced and they said it was all recall parts. Of course no forms or documentation was given at the appointment.

- Riverdale, UT, USA

problem #185

May 012016

Dart

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. When operating the vehicle and depressing the brake pedal, the braking distance increased due to a malfunction in the braking system. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on several occasions where it was diagnosed that the brake booster was faulty. The brake booster was replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000. Updated 09/28/16

- Cannon, KY, USA

problem #184

Aug 012016

Dart

  • 33,000 miles
The airbag light comes on anytime the outdoor temperature is above around 85 degrees. The Dodge dealership says nothing is wrong, but the light still comes on. My car was in the shop multiple times for issues with the electrical system. The battery has been replaced 2-3 times since 2013. Interior lights sometimes flicker. The navigation system resets itself randomly and now it can't "find" the maps. They are just gone somehow. The sd card slot works sometimes and not others, same with the backup camera. Dodge has been completely unable to fix these.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #183

Jul 192016

Dart

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V800000 (service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #182

Jul 142016

Dart

  • 2,600 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V800000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Also, while driving approximately 7 mph and approaching a rail road track, the brakes failed without warning. The vehicle was driven home and stayed parked. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 2,600. Updated 09/20/16

- Detroit, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?