Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The first year of the new Dodge Dart had a rough start, with owners reporting a disproportionate number of engine and transmission problems.

For transmission, the main complaints are transmission failure & rough shifting. So far, average mileage for transmission failure is 25,000 miles. Not good.

For engine problems, it usually starts with the engine light coming on for any number of reasons: bad sensors, ignition coil replacement, bad wiring, faulty gas cap ... dealers are replacing various components with varying degrees of success, or telling owners they can't duplicate the issue.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,110 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Dodge Dart electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Dodge Dart:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Dodge Dart Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Jan 282015


  • 18,195 miles


This is the second complaint I have filed on this problem. The first time I took it to dealer they said it was fixed and that obviously was not the case. Went to start my car and it would not start or turn over. After several attempts it started but the cel was illuminated and the lights on the gear shift were red. Just as last time the dealer had no answers for me. I started doing my on research and blogging and spoke to more than two other people who has same issue. They both advised it was the tcm. I called and told my service advisor and he told me that was not correct. I then provided him with an invoice number and dealership name where one of the people told me their car was fixed. When I called back later the advisor told me I was correct and they would be replacing the tcm.

- El Dorado, KS, USA

problem #30

Nov 022013


  • 16,808 miles
I stopped and turned vehicle off. It would not start or even turn over. Tried with remote and key both. Eventually started but cel was illuminated. The lights on the gearshift were also illuminated red. Took the dealer and they could not replicate problem. When I picked it up they drove it onto shop floor and turned it off. It would not start again. They said there was a loss of communication with tcm. Advised they did proxy alignment (aligned all modules inline with each other). I knew this was not going to work and had more issues with vehicle not starting.

- El Dorado, KS, USA

problem #29

Dec 162014


  • 45,758 miles
On 12/16/2014 the vehicle flashed a "service transmission" indicator upon turning the car off the car would not start and the gear indicators all turned red showing no available gears. After a short time with the vehicle off the vehicle started again but the "check engine" light was on. It was taken to a local service center where they stated that it needed some reprogramming. On 01/22/2015 the same issue occurred and the vehicle was taken back in for service. Upon looking at the car I was informed no indicators were showing and their were no diagnostic codes (somehow the car mysteriously lost them). 01/25/2015 the issue occurred again and is presently awaiting service.

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #28

Jan 132015

Dart 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles


2013 Dodge Dart equipped with a 1.4-liter engine and dual-clutch transmission had 3 incidents on 2 different days - safety hazard! faulty mechanics! 1/13 - vehicle stalled when turning right onto on-ramp at interstate going 35mph, took several tries to get vehicle restarted 1/14 - vehicle stalled when turning right onto outer road going 45mph, almost got rear-ended! 1/14 - vehicle stalled after turning right from on-ramp at interstate going 70mph, almost got hit! we researched issues and found there is a recall for this exact problem, but I wasn't notified as my VIN wasn't on the recall list. What"! I encountered two close calls and when calling Chrysler was told there was nothing they could do if my VIN was not on the recall list. I don' get it, I thought the manufacturer or NHTSA could put a VIN on the recall list. What do I have to do to get my vehicle on this list? do I need a lawyer to do this" please advise as to what my next steps are to get my VIN on the recall list. Seriously dissatisfied

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #27

Oct 142014


  • 32,000 miles
I have been having the same issue and a burning smell happening. In October the dealer replaced the tcm at 33,000 miles and stated I was lucky to be under warranty since it would cost $600+ out of pocket. Now on christmas morning I had the check engine light, service transmission message, and autostick not available message display. I was able to limp home to have R, N, D show gear not available. After waiting I turned the car on and the messages cleared. Then 2 days later I was an hour late to work since the messages and shifting problem occurred on the highway. During traffic stoppages I could not get up to speed fast enough and almost caused an accident. The message and issue cleared again when I left work and I drove home but now it shifts at 5,000+ RPM when accelerating after a stop sign. Burning smell is back and car is sluggish. Seems like Chrysler is waiting for enough people to die before addressing the issue. Currently have 39,000 miles on car. Before the issue in October there was also a "software update" for this after I had it about a week with 500-600 miles around mid August 2013. I purchased this car new to have reliable transportation for work. Now it seems I have an unreliable car with loan payments and dealer service costs since Chrysler doesn't cover transmission problems with the power train warranty apparently.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #26

Nov 272014


  • 59,980 miles
To add to a long list of issues with this vehicle we now have a very serious one that Chrysler does not cover in the powertrain warranty. On thanksgiving when getting ready to leave a store my wife put the vehicle into what she thought was 1st only to begin going into reverse. Thankfully there was nothing behind at the time. We discovered that you can put the vehicle into reverse at any speed or anytime without the use of the shift release. Upon taking the vehicle to the dealer they stated that the shifter needs replaced as the cable broke free. They also discover that the reverse shift sensor had gone bad as well which may have been causing the traction control light to come on and the cruise control to stop working. This is but another issue that there where no warning lights, bells or whistles yet everything is ok because the computer says it is. This vehicle is a death trap, they will not fix even though it is a known issue since 2012 when they first release the vehicle. Apparently someone needs to die for it to be a serious enough issue.. Chrysler needs to be made to step up and take responsibility for their shoddy products. Our heater core is leaking, turbo intermittent, engine surges (RPM's) etc.

- Oak Harbor, OH, USA

problem #25

Sep 172014


  • 16,500 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. While driving approximately 20 mph, the engine rpms decreased and the vehicle started to jerk violently. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred whenever any electrical component was activated. Also, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently and the engine overheated while the vehicle was parked. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 16,500.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #24

Oct 202014


  • 23,000 miles
Turned on car in the morning, noticed the back lighting on the instrument panel was really dim, I checked the dimming switch to see if I moved it by unknowingly. I tried adjusting the switches but nothing worked. I turned off the car and restarted it and no change they were still very dim. I went ahead and drove to my destination. On the trip there the lights for the instrument cluster/panel as well as the back lighting for my 8.4" screen and A/C and radio lights turned off for about 10 seconds, and then everything turned back on, but still very dim. I got to my destination turned off car, got out and left the car for about 20 minutes, came back and started it and everything was normal. Since then, it has happened everyday this week so far. I plan on contacting Dodge/Chrysler to see if they can assist before I go to the dealer.

- Manor, TX, USA

problem #23

Oct 162014


  • 17,200 miles
Vehicle was driven then when coming to an intersection the vehicle downshifted hard. Upon going through the intersection the vehicle stalled and then became inoperable. Vehicle would not start or even crank. Vehicle has been in the dealer for many electrical and transmission issues and we got really lucky there was no accident in the intersection.

- Castroville, CA, USA

problem #22

Feb 182014


  • 34,221 miles
The issue I am continuing to have is during acceleration, usually onto the interstate, I will lose about 2/3 of my engine power during acceleration. If the cruise control is on, not activated, it will turn itself off and not turn back on. The power loss is significant. The only option to avoid an accident, or making other drivers angry because I have suddenly slowed on an on ramp, is to pull to the shoulder and turn off the vehicle. This is the only way to reset this issue. It has happened 6 times since the first occurrence in February. After the 5th time the engine light stayed on and I took it to the dealer. To my understanding they just reset the light. It has happened again once since. I am also now dealing with turbo surging during acceleration and over revving at stop lights and while shifting. The RPM's are not dropping as I shift until I let out the clutch. I have had the vehicle to the dealer 3 times, twice over night. They cannot duplicate the problem and have sent me on my way. I called Dodge and they opened a case Oct 10, again cannot duplicate, case closed. I am concerned that this issue will cause me to be rear ended either on the entrance ramp or on the shoulder while turning my car off and back on. Symptoms are also similar to another complaint NHTSA id 10616062.

- Hershey, NE, USA

problem #21

Aug 202014


  • 25,000 miles


On 4 separate occasions, the automatic transmission has disengaged accompanied by check engine light and warnings on instrument panel (service transmission, blind spot indicator disabled, and automatic high beams off). On all occasions, the car was undrivable (as if in neutral) until the engine was turned off and restarted. At that point, the shift points were completely off and vehicle would often nearly stall out. On 2 occasions, the car would not start after multiple attempts, but would inexplicably start later and drive acceptably for a short period of time. Dealer has performed flash updates and examined all connections. Other reports on Dodge Dart forum explain multiple similar issues and various unsuccessful dealer attempts to identify and fix the problem.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #20

Jun 092014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
I was coming off the highway and was on the brake slowing my 2013 Dodge Dart from 65 to 40 then to 20 to take a sharp right turn, in the turn the string went dead and for a brief second was unable to turn almost causing an accident with another car and that was the second time that has happen the first was with my whole family, I was driving around in a parking lot. Also this car has an airbag light on for the passenger seat, the car over heats and the backup cam no longer works the battery is now dead and were unable to drive, were out of warranty by a little over 500 miles and the dealership will not fix the issue unless I pay more money to fix this paper weight. I can drive it after getting a jump but the electrical system fail to work the speedometer fades in and out and the gauge drops to 0mph. My car was sold to me after replacing a power control module and has been replaced a second time. This car is not worth the $21000 spent and I should be given back half of my money. My car still overheats after many dealership visits over just that very problem and every time I pick it up it seem like something new I was wrong (( !! I bought this car to travel back and forth monthly from san antonio to ft. Hood for my military obligations im a pissed a veteran who wants my car to work like it was advertised! because that is what I paid for!! ))

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #19

Sep 062014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
I'm back after submitting ODI number 10619184. This time the car stalled while approaching a turn. Luckily we were again going slow and was able to complete the turn. The car started right back up and we were able to take off again. The dealer found absolutely nothing wrong with the vehicle. Unfortunately this isn't the only concern I have about this vehicle. Since I've owned the car the engine never did sound quite right while driving. The engine seems to "tumble" or make a sound as if it wanted to stall but never has. Since the dealer found no codes (or dtc's) and they couldn't reproduce the problem they sent me home with the vehicle. My concern here is that this vehicle is experiencing multiple, major safety issues and sadly Dodge, Chrysler, or Fiat will not stand behind their vehicle. I decided to voice my opinion with the use of car magnet, decals without using names or locations and the dealer decided they would not like my business any longer. So much for free speech.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #18

Sep 062014


  • 170,800 miles
My 2013 Dodge Dart (limited, 1.4L turbo, ddct automatic transmission) suffered from a tipm (totally integrated power module) failure causing the following problems: - randomly unable to shift out of park - audo system failure - handsfree system failure - odometer blinking (as opposed to a check engine light blinking - digital readout odo) I was informed there is a petition to investigate tipm failures in Chrysler vehicles and wanted to make my incident aware. I also work with a [xxx], who also had his 2013 Dodge Dart replaced (collateral swap) due to the same component failing just last week. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #17

Jun 012013


  • 1,500 miles
Radio blacks out. Sidewall bulges on two of the kumho tires. Rough start in winter. Fade spots on interior seats.

- Oregon, OH, USA

problem #16

Sep 112012


  • 50 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. The contact stated that the instrument panel lights would operate intermittently. The contact mentioned that eventually the instrument panel failed to illuminate at all. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 50.

- Buna, TX, USA

problem #15

Jul 252014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 6,500 miles
When we went to open the trunk on our Dodge Dart rallye (2013), the trunk would not open. Just a little before that it was working just fine with no problems. We have tried to reset the vehicle but that does not work, neither does checking fuses. We bought the car with around 6000 miles on it (warranty still under affect) but now after we bought it the warranty is gone. We would like to hear something about this asap.

- Mountain Grove, MO, USA

problem #14

Dec 162013

Dart 4-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
I took the car in to the dealer to check for sluggish acceleration. It seems the turbo isn't working and I have to down-shift several times to get up a hill I travel every day. They said it just needed a computer update. Nothing changed after their "update". car backfires every morning it's cold outside and does not have any power until the engine warms up considerably. Car still backfires even during the summer months. Cruise turns off by itself and won't come back on unless I stop the car, turn it off, then restart it. All of these issues have been going on since before December. It is now July 2014 and a certified mechanic has checked out my engine--my turbo is trashed and there is oil in it!! there is a rod that opens the vacuum/air that is stuck. If this is something that was under a recall, I was never notified about it. The dealer I bought it from should have made the recalls known before I purchased it in May 2013. Or they should have at least checked for recalls and had them fixed before selling it. I purchased it used with 4000 miles on it; now I know why the previous owner wanted to buy another car!

- Cumberland City, TN, USA

problem #13

Feb 032014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
The electrical system cuts out several times when driving. At night it is bad because all the inside light go out and you can tell your speed or anything until it turns back on. The engine and fuel are one issue; after starting it the exhaust has a bad odor and stays during the entire travel until it is turned off. The engine also hesitates after coming to a complete stop.

- Georgetown, DE, USA

problem #12

Mar 032014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 12,380 miles
Electrical system inside car shuts off and turns back on repeatedly, even if I am only going 2 miles down the road. The fuel and engine tie together as one; immediately after starting the vehicle the exhaust lets out a very strong odor that continue's for the entire duration of any trip. Then when accelerating using automatic drive or even the dry clutch the exhaust makes a loud rattling noise as it switches from gear to gear. Also, during driving the engine or transmission feels like it is slipping and has hesitation when you accelerate after stopping completely.

- Georgetown, DE, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?