Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,069 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Dodge Durango electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Nov 022010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 99,150 miles


The headlights, interior lights and windshield wipers will flicker on an off intermittently. This can occur many times in a row or not for days. It happens when it is rain, dry, warm or cold. I can find no common denominator to what causes the issue. A search on the internet finds many other incidents of this for the 2001 Dodge Durango.

- Mcdonald, PA, USA

problem #39

Jan 262011


  • 145,000 miles
2001 Dodge Durango R/T has melted wiring located at the front blower fan resistor connection. The melted wiring and connector were producing an extremely bad burning odor when the blower fan stopped working except on the high setting. The fan will not be used until repairs are made. Apparently this is a known issue because my local dealer sells a replacement pigtail which they say they replace to resolve the problem. This indeed a fire hazard and should be recalled as a manufacturer defect. My local dealer advised there is no recall at this time.

- Kings Mountain, NC, USA

problem #38

Oct 202010

Durango 8-cyl

  • 120,093 miles
While driving 2001 Dodge Durango will shut off if foot is token off the gas pedal. Will also shut off during turns in major traffic, causing an accident. Truck will also shut off within 5 min of idling. I have had the idle valve control replaced, fuel pump, battery, tps sensor, fuel cleaned etc. It doesn't throw any codes and mechanics don't know what the problem is. Please help! this is becoming dangerous, especially with small children in the vehicle.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #37

Jul 152010


  • 145,000 miles


I own a 2001 Dodge Durango. The horn has failed completely. The cruise control has failed completely. The airbag light remains illuminated on the dashboard (along with several other icons), and now I'm finding out that in the event of an accident, the driver's side air bag will also fail. I am told that this is due to a failed "clock spring" and it affects every control located within the steering wheel. This part is on nationwide backorder and I was told today that 1,400 are backordered. Several dealers have told me they have no idea of when (or actually if) this part will be coming in. I understand that Dodge dakotas were recalled for this very reason, however there was no recall on the Dodge Durango. I am now driving a car with no horn, no cruise control and no driver's side airbag.

- Phoenix, MD, USA

problem #36

Sep 032010


  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph the vehicle stalled; yet, it also made it difficult to slow down. The contact was able to avoid other vehicles on the highway and drive onto the side of the road to bring the vehicle to a complete stop. The contact looked underneath the hood and noticed that the computer was hot and displayed a warning indicator "no bus" which means that the computer was having a communications error. After the vehicle cooled down the vehicle restarted and the contact drove the vehicle home. The contact stated that the PCM also malfunctioned and caused the vehicle to shut off. The contact stated that the PCM failed previously. On two occasions the failure nearly caused a crash to occur. The contact viewed numerous complaints regarding the PCM and stated the manufacturer should be responsible for the repairs since this was a wide spread issue. The failure mileage was 137,000.

- Brunswick , OH, USA

problem #35

Mar 012010


  • 98,000 miles
Air bag light is always on and the horn does not work, cause a bad clock spring.

- Fremont, NC, USA

problem #34

Apr 092010


  • 141,500 miles


Lights flicker when driving, also loss of intermittent wiper, loss keyless entry, loss interior lights, loss of rear window wiper, loss power door locks. Car can not be driven during rain or at night. Disconnected battery to reset cmt and all worked fine until lights were turned on. Once again light will flickerand again loss the operation of intermittent wipers, interior dome lights, rear window wiper, power locks, keyless remote entry, and door locks. The first time this happened was on or about 4/09/10 then reset cmt (disconnected battery)on 4/22/10. Test drive resulted in problem returning on 4/22/10.

- Loveland, CO, USA

problem #33

Feb 032010


  • miles
I had a complaint for investigation on a Durango. The following is from the NHTSA notification of case change (all times are gmt-0500) project: NHTSA hotline center case: Comments from ODI web user case number: [xxx] date: 02/26/2010 time: 16:06:15 creation date: 02/22/2010 creation time: 14:19:39 description: Entered on 02/26/2010 at 16:06:15 est (gmt-0500) by B.kearse: Then.... notification of case escalation (all times are gmt-0500) project: NHTSA hotline center case: Comments from ODI web user case number: [xxx] escalation: None status: Closed date: 2010-02-26 time: 16:06:15 creation date: 2010-02-22 creation time: 14:19:39 description: Entered on 02/26/2010 at 16:06:15 est (gmt-0500) by B.kearse: The case went for further investigation and with the same time was closed. No one investigated this. No one cares. People are dying from the NHTSA's negligence. Everyone take note that the NHTSA has been informed of this potentially deadly defect!

- Mayfield, KY, USA

problem #32

Jan 162009


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the interior and exterior lights would suddenly flash on and off at times. The central timing module and the alarm would also shut off whenever she tried to open the door after locking it with the key. Most of the failures occurred whenever it rained which led her to believe that water was also entering into the vehicle and caused the failure. On February 5, 2010, while driving in the rain, the headlights began to flash and then they shut completely off. The headlights and windshield wipers were no longer functioning while she was driving at various speeds. She was able to drive onto the emergency lane and determine that various electrical components were non-functional. She called several dealerships and was led to believe that the failure was normal. She called the manufacturer and a representative told her that there were no recalls regarding the problem so they could not assist her. The vehicle had not been repaired to-date. The current mileage was approximately 164,204. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Mayfield, KY, USA

problem #31

Jan 142010


  • 86,000 miles
Multiple replacement needed of upper & lower ball joints, sway bar, currently experiencing front end bed spring noise - sounds like junk, told the front lower ball joint is lose again. Also the heating elements in the front driver's seat went out -cost to repair over 700.00! vehicle is a 2001 Dodge Durango 4 X 4. only 86,000 miles original owner. This vehicle meticulously maintained and serviced, but despite that constantly having front suspension repairs and brakes.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #30

Nov 022009


  • 160,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Durango. While driving the gear selector began slipping from 2-wheel drive to 4-wheel drive without intention. After parking she smelled a burning odor from the vehicle. Moments later she was informed by her neighbor that the front end of the vehicle was smoking. The fire department was called to extinguish the fire. She was advised that the fire was caused by an electrical failure. The current and failure mileages were 160000.

- Kinnelon, NJ, USA

problem #29

Jul 102009


  • 126,101 miles
2001 Durango 5.9 R/T, head lights, interior lights, doors locks intermittently worked and then failed. The solution was to replace the ignition switch and the central timer module ( body control module). The module was then reprogrammed. According to the mechanic this is a common problem and was the subject of a recalled in latter year models. This is extremely dangerous when driving a night and the head lights go out.

- Vernal, UT, USA

problem #28

Aug 152009


  • 107 miles
I was driving and all of sudden the horn started to blow, wipers and lights came on. I smelled a burn odor, radio stopped working. I have no headlights or interior lights. Took it to mechanic, the repair will require taking the dashboard out to get to a computer that may be burned out. Only a dealer can do the repair work which will cost over a thousand dollars in just labor cost. I understand from the mechanic that this may be a common problem in the Dodge Durango.

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #27

Jul 122009

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles
Whenever the contact drives the vehicle he noticed that the steering wheel clicks. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership, and the contact did not notice any differecnes beforehand. The current and failure mileage is 88000. Bml. Updated 10/06/09. The inermediate steeering shaft and tie rods were replaced. The brakes had to be replaced several times. The resistor inside the blower motor had to be replaced in order for the fan to defrost the windshield. Updated 10/08/09

- Somerset, PA, USA

problem #26

Aug 012009


  • 123,414 miles
Failure of the dash lighting, parking lights, interior lights and taillights.

- Corinth, TX, USA

problem #25

Jun 192009


  • 150,280 miles
I have a 2001 Durango that has key/ignition problems sometimes when I put the key in it will not turn the ignition. I thought maybe it was the key so I went to the dealer to order a new key. The service adviser told me that they had a lot of problems with that and to put the key in the ignition and pop it as hard as I could and the key would go in. That did work. But, is this causing any other problems?

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #24

Oct 042008


  • miles
I have a 2001 Dodge Durango with 103,000 miles and the transmission has been replaced 3 times. Again it's bad, the computer is bad again (replaced twice) and now the air bag light is flashing............ I ended up buying a cheap car to drive since I could not afford to fix this truck, not to mention 10 miles to gallon....... this truck is a complete piece of ?!@#$% and I would not recommend anyone buy a Dodge, they should go out of business selling the cars they do...

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #23

Mar 092009


  • 169,000 miles
Electrical**** check engine light came on codes stated that O2 sensors needed to be replaced.. I replaced them about 2 weeks later check engine light came back on. After another diagnostic test states that O2 sensor needs to be replaced. Driving in rush hour traffic it stalled. Made it to dealership states that the P/S switch leaked into the wiring harness and shorted out 02 sensors and possibly other sensors. And if not wiring harness is not replaced it could spark fire cost of repair 3K.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #22

Feb 112009


  • 17,000 miles
The blower resistor motor has failed multiple times on this vehicle. Dealerships have told us it is a design flaw and should be recalled. Causes the air conditioner/heater to only work on high or not at all. Costly repairs for consumers, many consumers have this issue with the 2001 Dodge Durango. Could be a safety issue as the defrost does not work when this issue occurs; especially bad during a snow storm.

- Greenfield, IN, USA

problem #21

Feb 052008


  • 134,000 miles
I was driving at night and all of a sudden my headlights and interior lights started blinking off and on. It became more and more frequent and other drivers were annoyed as it looked like I was flashing them. Eventually I had to shut my lights off, at night! the central timing module failed and caused this. It has happened to hundreds of other Durango drivers and is a known issue. Why hasn't a recall been introduced on something that is potentially fatal?

- Tucker, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?