Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,813 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Dodge Durango suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #47

Apr 212010

Durango 8-cyl

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Noise in wheel bearings: Had to replace both front wheel hubs due to bad bearings. Was worried about safety and wheel locking up. Finally got replaced at ~89000 but started ~82000 miles as worried about safety and them locking up/falling off. Then was informed by the dealer that the upper and lower joints need replacing. Poor quality for american products as vehicle has only been on the road and in the South with good weather.

- Cameron, NC, USA

problem #46

Jan 092012

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 88,500 miles
I have notice a clunking sound in the front right of my Durango for some approximately six months. I recently brought it to my mechanic who stated it would need to have the upper right ball joint replace. It was brought to my attention that this issue was recalled on other 2003 Durango, however, my VIN number was not included in the campaign (04V596000). This issue appears to go beyond the cut off for the recall since review of the complaints indicates numerous other similar issues.

- Eliot, ME, USA

problem #45

May 092009

Durango

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Durango. While driving approximately 55 mph he struck a pothole. Shortly afterwards he heard a peculiar noise coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The technician stated that the front upper ball joints failed. The four tires were replaced on the vehicle. His vehicle identification number was excluded from recall campaign id number 04596000 (suspension:front:control arm:upper ball joint). The failure mileage was 69,000. The current mileage was 74,000.

- Buffalo, MN, USA

problem #44

Nov 192008

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Durango. While driving approximately 55 mph on normal road conditions, the front driver's side tire blew out without warning. The contact immediately pulled over to the side of the road and replaced the tire. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection and they stated that the front upper ball joint failed. The vehicle has not been repaired. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 04V596000 (suspension, front, control arm, upper ball joint), although the failures were identical. He was concerned of the safety risk involved. The failure and current mileages were 70,000. Updated 12/15/08. Updated 12/15/08.

- North Branch, MN, USA

problem #43

Jun 172008

Durango 8-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Durango. A local auto body shop mechanic stated that her upper ball joints had 0.10 movement and advised her that they should be replaced. She notified an authorized dealer in reference to recall# 04V596000 for the suspension. A technician stated that her VIN was excluded from the recall; therefore, she would liable for the repair. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 81,000 and the current mileage was 82,000. Updated 09/17/08. Updated 09/24/08.

- Pasedena, MD, USA

problem #42

Jan 282008

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,725 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Durango. While attempting to make a right turn at 30 mph, the vehicle veered to the right. The contact experienced difficulty controlling the vehicle, but was able to drive to his residence. He took the vehicle to a repair shop the following day and they repaired the vehicle at the cost of $357.64. The failure mileage was 41,725. Updated 5/20/08 updated 05/20/08

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #41

Apr 172008

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Durango. When the contact took her vehicle to her local mechanic for an alignment, the mechanic discovered that the upper ball joints on the passenger side caused the failure. The contact was also informed of a possible recall on her year, make, and model vehicle. The dealer stated that her vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 04V596000 (suspension:front:control arm:upper ball joint). The failure and current mileages were 83,000. Updated 05/08/08. Updated 05/09/08

- Vinton, VA, USA

problem #40

Dec 012005

Durango

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Durango. The contact noticed that her tires were wearing unevenly. She took the vehicle to a mechanic and was informed that the upper control arms and ball joints needed to be replaced. She had them replaced. Two years after the replacement, the contact felt the vehicle pulling to one side. She took the vehicle back to the mechanic and was informed that the upper control arms and ball joints needed to be replaced again. She has not gotten them replaced and believes there to be a manufacturer defect because ball joints last 100,000 miles or more. The VIN, engine size, and number of cylinders were unknown. The current mileage was 110,000 and failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 4/2/08 updated 04/02/08

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #39

Aug 012006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I hear a popping/grinding noise in the front end of my 2003 Dodge Durango. I have taken it to the shop under warranty 3 times. Twice they have replaced parts but it has not fixed the problem. The tires are wearing out on the outside of the tire. The ball joints appear to be going bad.

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #38

Jun 262007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I am currently experiencing a thumping or throttle on the vehicle when I step on the brakes. It occurs in the front of the vehicle on driver's side. I have had the brakes replaced, but this noise still occurs. I have been advised by R&S strauss mechanic that it appeared to be the ball joint/arm. He has encountered many Durangos experiencing this problem and advised to seek dealer for repairs since he wa S aware of the accidents that have occurred. Wanted to notify your office and other drivers if experiencing similar problems. It appeared that this defect needed to be recalled.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #37

Aug 112006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upper ball joints needed to be replacied every six months!!!!!

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #36

Feb 272007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,132 miles
- the contact owns a 2003 Dodge Durango with an odometer reading of 58132 miles. The contact stated that the upper and lower ball joints had been replaced twice. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer, and they told the contact that this vehicle was not covered by recall 04V596000. The contact stated that the vehicle should be included under the recall because it was having the same failure. The consumer stated the cv joint failed again. Updated 03/30/07.

- Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #35

Jan 142007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,600 miles
- the contact owns a 2003 Dodge Durango with an odometer reading of 14600 miles. The contact stated that while driving under dry conditions at 35 mph the steering locked. The contact's vehicle crashed into another vehicle and contact sustained injuries. The contact called the manufacturer, but they have not responded. The contact had received recall (04V596000 for the upper ball joint, and when he took the vehicle to the dealer for the repair S, they only lubricated the ball joint, but did not replaced it. The contact stated that an upper ball joint failure was the cause for the crash.

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #34

Jun 102006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
Component: Suspension: Front: Control arm: Upper ball joint defect summary: On my 2003 Dodge Durango sport utility their is a loud clunking noise in the front suspension. I call DaimlerChrysler motors company llc to ask if their was a recall on my SUV. They said no, but my upper ball joint is defective.

- Bremen, GA, USA

problem #33

Mar 232006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
Clunking noise in front suspension. Tires wearing unevenly. Inspection by mechanic by finds worn upper ball joints on my 2003 Dodge Durango. Joints have no lubrication and have corrosion because of this. I fear the excessive wear in the upper ball joint might cause it to separate which would result in the loss of control over my vehicle. Dodge already has a recall on this defect but my Durango was not included. All Durangos with this problem should be included. It's a safety thing!!!

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #32

Dec 022005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Recently took my Dodge Durango 2003 2wd to a mechanic who says I need an new front ball joints and control arm.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #31

Oct 212005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2003 Dodge Durango, with 62,501 miles on it. I recently failed state inspection due to bad ball joints. If Chrysler knows they have prematurely failing ball joints they should issue a recall. Now I will have to try and cover a $800 bill myself.

- Ellwood City, PA, USA

problem #30

Aug 042003

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
I purchased a 2003 Dodge Durango. Within 20 minutes of completion my 1st tire blew out. The dealer (clear lake Dodge, houston, Texas) replaced the tire free of charge. At approximately 12K on a trip to new orleans my right front tire blew out and I almost lost control of vehicle. My youngest son suffers from asthma and had an asthma attack on I-10 to new orleans. I calmed him down with no medication (nebulizer requires electricity). When I returned to houston, I contacted discount tire which warranties Goodyear tires and was informed that I had jumped a curb causing damage to my tires. I purchased my 3rd tire along with road hazard because all representatives blamed my driving habits on me, even though I have never experienced these problems before. My vehicle now has over 50K miles and all of my tires are wearing. The belt is showing on all 4 tires. I am seeking arbitration.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #29

Mar 312005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Recall campaign 04V596000 concerning ball joint wear. Consumer stated that dealer charged her for the upper ball joint parts.

- Glen Ellyn, IL, USA

problem #28

Mar 162005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Independent mechanic noticed that the upper front ball joint in my 2003 Dodge Durango needed to be replaced due to circumstances surrounding the recall for this problem. Both Dodge and the local dealership refuse to correct problem stating that my vehicle was not part of the recall.

- Spencer, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?