Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have caught on fire.

Have we mentioned all the reports of complete engine failure due to oil sludge?

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,419 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Durango engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

Dec 302010

Durango

  • 98,265 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Thursday December 30, 2010 I went to start my vehicle and there was a ticking noise coming from the engine. Got it to my mechanics and as we were putting it on the lift there was a big bang and then the ticking became more of a hammering noise. We removed the motor on Thursday January 6, 2011 to find that the #7 cylinder connecting rod had broke and gone through the side of the engine block. Through some user forums on the internet I found that there have been multiple instances of this happening usually between 90 - 100,000 miles. My vehicle had approximately 98,000 miles on it. Ordered a new motor on Friday January 7,2011. I am just glad that this did not happen while I was driving down the interstate at 65 mph during my normal daily routine.

- Delavan, WI, USA

problem #55

Dec 222010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 71,828 miles
I have a 2004 Dodge Durango slt hemi (5.7 V8) with 71,000 miles. No events leading to failure as vehicle was regularly maintained and no warning via sounds/feel/or lights of any kind. The connecting rod broke thru the bottom of the engine block causing 2 substantial cracks and leakage of oil. Only option for repair is a new engine.

- Glendora, CA, USA

problem #54

Dec 132010

Durango

  • 105,000 miles
Driving on highway at 55mph. Loud bag then rapping sound. Pulled to side of road with engine still running, shut off, determine large puddle of oil under passenger side of car. Towed to garage. Oil leaked through cracked block due to broken connecting rod. All maintenance done per manufactures specs. Replacing engine.

- Oxford, PA, USA

problem #53

Nov 252009

Durango

  • 117,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle upon exiting interstate blew the engine. Steering and braking functions were disabled. 4,000lb SUV remained uncontrollable until it careened into an embankment. Someone has to do something. There are countless people with this same issue of engine failure with the same engine. Is there nothing that can be done? we paid large amounts of money to support Chrysler and their is no positive return for the buyer. Please see link townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.F1dd4B2.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #52

Oct 222010

Durango

  • 96,000 miles
I have a 2004 Dodge Durango with a blown engine. My 5.7 hemi has approximately 96,000 miles on it. My vehicle's engine has been properly maintained for the four years I've owned it. I've kept the oil changed every 3,000 miles, have run only high octane fuel in it, and put less than 10,000 miles a year on it. My 17 year old daughter was allowed to drive it to her dental appointment which is thirty miles from our hometown. However, she was not able to get out of the driveway. She called and told me the engine was "banging, " and I don't mean slang for awesome. So, she took her old maxima with over 200,000 miles to her dental appointment, and when I got home, I found out what she was talking about. The engine has thrown a rod. I called Chrysler to ask if there is a recall on the vehicle since I researched my problem on the internet and found that my engine failure is not an isolated incident. I understand completely that I have no warranty on the vehicle, but at such a low amount of miles, I assumed that Dodge had realized that they have an obvious mechanical or engineering defect that needs to be corrected. Unfortunately, Chrysler does not agree. After talking to several agents at Chrysler, I was assigned a case manager who had come to the conclusion that I was on my own, but they wanted to offer me four complimentary oil changes! I did not make that up. Four oil changes for my blown engine. I've babied this vehicle; most of the miles on my Durango have been highway miles. I've only hauled a trailer a handful of times. This vehicle should not be worn out. I still have two years to pay on it. As a poor school teacher who relied on this vehicle for transporting his family safely, I am severely disappointed with Chrysler's choice to ignore so many people who have experienced this very same problem of counting on Chrysler to protect our families with a reliable vehicle built to safely carry our families in traffic and through all types of weather.

- Clarksville, AR, USA

problem #51

Sep 042010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
I purchased the vehicle on 8/27/2010. On 9/4/2010 while driving on the highway at 70mph, the car made a jerking movement then stalled. I looked out of the rearview mirror, and there was smoke coming from the exhaust. I was unable to stop due to the power brakes going out and rolled into a ditch. I immediately called the car dealership. The car dealership told me to have it towed there and they would diagnose the problem. Two weeks later the dealership stated that the engine was overheated and stalled. There was no indication while driving the car after one week of purchase that the engine was overheated. The car dealership refused to pay for any repairs stating that it was due to my neglect. The car dealership repaired the engine through their own mechanics and I was forced to pay $4200 for a used engine. I explained to the dealership, while doing some research that this is a common problem with the Dodge 5.7: hemi engine and that many formal complaints were made. Although the car was under a 30 day warranty, the dealership would not pay for the cost of the repairs.

- Garfield Heights, OH, USA

problem #50

Aug 012010

Durango

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. The contact was driving 65 mph when the oil warning light illuminated and there was an unusual ticking coming from the vehicle. The vehicle then stalled and the contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to her residence where it was examined by an independent mechanic. The mechanic advised that there was a thick layer of burned oil sludge on the engine valve covers. The manufacturer advised the contact to take the vehicle to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 100,000.

- Fredonia, KS, USA

problem #49

Jun 222010

Durango

  • 90,500 miles
Engine failure at 70 mph - no warning, no prior engine problems. Rod goes through side of block. 5.7 hemi.

- Coffeyville, KS, USA

problem #48

May 072010

Durango

  • 147,000 miles
2004 Dodge Durango 5.7 L hemi purchased in 03/05 w/34 miles on odometer. Problem started with all dash lights illuminating and RPM/speed indicators briefly redlining; power loss followed by temp inability to start. Last incident towed to mechanic who said engine had seized & that Dodge has a problem w/this type of engine. Engine completely locked & needs to be replaced. All recommended maintenance performed prior to failure incl'G oil changes every 3K miles. Checked edmunds.com blogs & numerous complaints of exact same problem plus over 500 complaints to ODI. Out of warranty so Chrysler refuses to acknowledge a problem. Previous occurrence on highway at speeds >65 mph which caused loss of power steering but was able to navigate to roadside without incident.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #47

Oct 152009

Durango

  • 63,000 miles
2004 Dodge Durango 5.7 hemi dies when coming to a stop or in reverse happening several times a day for past eight months. Dealer did a reflash but it did not fix it.

- House Springs, MO, USA

problem #46

Apr 162009

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle suddenly shut off without warning. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the engine was replaced. A year after the failure occurred, the contact was driving 50 mph when the vehicle suddenly shut off without warning. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was approximately 61,000. The current mileage was approximately 73,000. Updated 06/29/10 the consumer stated the second engine failed at 73,000 miles. The #1 cylinder was found in the oil pan in pieces. The dealer stated a foreign object may have been in the cylinder head, but could not find positive proof. Updated 07/16/10.

- Franklinville, NJ, USA

problem #45

Apr 122010

Durango

  • 86,000 miles
SUV would stall while driving then start back up. Heard a ticking noise when turned key over, then heard a loud noise and louder ticking then engine gave out. Looked under SUV and there was oil and pieces of the metal on the ground. Towed it to a shop and was told engine failed due to internal engine failure most likely due to piston. Mechanic showed me a hole in the engine block. 2004 Dodge Durango with apprx. 86,000 miles. Also told that whatever happened with the engine destroyed the starter as well. Replaced both the engine and the starter.

- Hebron, KY, USA

problem #44

Apr 092010

Durango

  • 49,700 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. While traveling at speeds of 35 mph, the vehicle would stall without warning. The dealer advised the cam and crank sensors would need to be replaced. There were no repairs made to the vehicle. The current mileage was 49,800 and the failure mileage was 49700. Updated 05/18/2010.

- Oakland Park, FL, USA

problem #43

Mar 032010

Durango

  • 99,600 miles
My 2004 Dodge Durango (5.7 L) shut off while my husband was driving it. We were making a left hand turn into a parking lot and the truck shut off. He barely missed hitting another car because the steering and the brakes went out. It took 4 tries to get the truck started back up. This has happened to me 2 others times when I was sitting at a red light, thankfully I was not driving. The truck also stalls out everytime there is a heavy rain. The check engine light has not come on so every dealership I've spoken to says that there is nothing that can be done about it, but they are aware there is a problem. I use this truck to drive my children everywhere and I do not understand how this problem has not been addressed.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #42

Nov 202009

Durango

  • 114,000 miles
2004 Dodge Durango slt with 5.7L hemi engine. Engine only has 114,000 miles and has been meticulously maintained. Upon starting the car on 11/20/2009 the engine suddenly without any prior warning broke a rod and punched two holes in my oil pan. After researching this on the internet and contacting Dodge this is a common problem with the 2004 model that was fixed on the 2005 model. Chrysler refuses to repair any defective engines that are out of warranty even thought they admit to the engine having a problem.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #41

Oct 212009

Durango

  • 74,000 miles
I have a 2004 Dodge Durango 5.7L V8 with 74,000 miles on it. Every couple of weeks the engine stalls without any prior warning. The vehicle just shuts off and I can't use the brakes to stop or anything. I've taken it to the dealership on multiple occasions but they keep telling me they can't find anything wrong. I've read several other complaints from owners of this vehicle experiencing the same problem. I don't feel safe driving the vehicle. Luckily, I haven't been in an accident yet, but I'm fearful that it's only a matter of time before I am in an accident due to the engine stalling.

- Montgomery Village, MD, USA

problem #40

Oct 092009

Durango 8-cyl

  • 82,100 miles
2004 Dodge Durango, equipped with 5.7L V8 hemi, stalls sporadically with no advanced warning. The engine can generally be restarted immediately with little or no modification to the vehicle's configuration. When the engine stalls occur, all power steering and braking functions are rendered inoperative. Stalling events appear to be unrelated to weather conditions, or usage of automobile functions (I.e. air conditioning, radio, etc.). most instances occur during low speed maneuvers, to include parking lot and driveway operations, and pulling away from stop signs or traffic lights. However, on several occasions, stalling has occurred during straight-forward driving, with little or no maneuvering on freeway or city streets.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #39

Mar 172009

Durango

  • 54,800 miles
The vehicle stalls without warning in different driving conditions. It has happened multiple times and it seems to be getting worse. In two cases, accidents were close to occurring if it were not for the other vehicle's ability to stop or swerve around. The power steering in the vehicle stops, which is the first indication that the vehicle has stalled. There is no power and the vehicle shuts off. The vehicle turns on again with no problems and we are able to proceed without problems until it happens again. It usually doesn't happen within the same trip, at least it hasn't happened yet.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #38

Dec 202008

Durango

  • 69,000 miles
Intermittent engine stalling while driving.

- Bothell, WA, USA

problem #37

Jul 272008

Durango

  • 71,000 miles
I have had numerous engine stalling/loss of steering problems with my vehicle once the mileage exceeded 70,000 miles. It has stalled while stopping at a stop sign, upon accelerating into a turn, and many others. After diagnostic testing, we replaced 2 O2 sensors and the stalling still occurs. After a second diagnostic testing, we replaced all the spark plugs and ignition coils and the stalling still occurs. After a third diagnostic testing, we replaced the fuel pump and the stalling still occurs. Now the diagnostic testing indicated we need to replace the egr flow sensor. I currently have 74,836 miles. I have spent approx $1000 in parts alone to repair these items and the problem is still not fixed.

- Fort Mohave, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?