Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have caught on fire.

Have we mentioned all the reports of complete engine failure due to oil sludge?

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,419 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Durango engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Aug 012004

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Dodge Durango stalling while driving at highway speeds. The consumer stated the stalling occurred on 3 separate occasions. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #15

Mar 092005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Since purchasing Dodge Durango 2004 hemi 5.7 in februrary 2004 an engine stalled 3 times without any reason. All times it happened after a complete stop at stop light or in a parking lot. The only way to restart an engine was to turn off a key, wait a little bit and start an engine once again. Dealer (westgate Dodge in raleigh, nc) made an investigation and didn't find anything wrong. The only thing what he did was to flash PCM, which leads to reducing an engine power and decreasing a fuel economy. I don't feel safe because this may happen somewhere in a middle of a road, which may lead to an incident and/or crash.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #14

Jun 092004

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
Instant stalling, whether turning or going straight. Warm or cold doesn't matter. Dealer has no clue.

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #13

Jul 012005

Durango 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,575 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Events leading up to engine stall while driving. Every gauge on dash broad will light up and then the engine will stall while driving. Everything then goes dead. This is the forth time this has happened. Everytime we bring it into a Dodge service depart. They tell us that they can't find anything wrong and send us back on the road. Was even told that the owner of the dealership drove it and it didn't stall so nothing wrong with it. It has been happening every two to three months. Most recently July 1, 2005. This time it does have a co-Pilot attached, but was told by dealership, that it probably won't find anything. The dealership has records of the exact dates. It has happened four times in a ten month periiod. I have had the car the whole time; brand new off the lot. My complaint is that all the dealership is doing is putting on the computer and sending us back on the road with an unsafe and dangerous vehicle.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #12

Jun 302005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,550 miles
My previous ODI is 10126311 this vehicle was picked up in clovis, nm this morning. Bender Dodge had just replaced my short block due to a snapped number 7 rod between the piston and crank journal. The trip was over 250 mile for us and about 10 miles before we reached belen, nm my check engine light came on. The idle was high and the rpms were jumping up and down. I called Chrysler roadside assist and they could not advise me if I should call a tow truck or drive it. I hung up my cell phone and called bender Dodge and spoke to eric in their service department. He thought it sounded like a intake air line and told me it would be fine to continue driving to auge's Dodge in belen. Auge's had the vehicle for a couple of hours and seemed to think it was just a censor, they reset it and waited for the vehicle to cool off and sent us on our way. On the way home the check engine light never came on but the car is now idling very high and when you let off the gas the whole vehicle jerks. Daimler/Chrysler is not easy to deal with and have been very unhelpful to us. I see a long road with a vehicle that won't get us down it. I have a vehicle that is not going to be reliable and want a replacement vehicle so I can get to work and back each day and enjoy trips with my family.

- Los Lunas, NM, USA

problem #11

Jun 062005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,169 miles
On June 5, 2005 we towed our boat to conchas lake for vacation. The next afternoon the motor began to knock after launching our boat. On the morning of June 7, 2005 I called roadside assistance and they towed my car 118 miles to clovis nm. My car needed a new motor. Bender Dodge has had the vehicle since June 7, 2005, today is June 23, 2005 and it is still not ready. I recieved a rental car for 5 days because of my extended warranty, kept it for 7 days and had to pay for the other 2 days. My boat is in storage in conchas, 188 miles from home. My 2004 Dodge Durango is in clovis, 244 miles from home. This vehicle was purchased new and needed a new motor after 17,169 miles.

- Los Lunas, NM, USA

problem #10

May 262005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Durango 2004 5.7 hemi 4X4 slt. Three times in two months, I have been driven at low speed either in a car park or making a turn from a stop and the engine stalls. I then put it in park or neutral and then it starts fine and I'm able to drive it. This is highly dangerous and was lucky I could pull over and restart it. Dodge needs to look into this before someone dies.

- Puyallup, WA, USA

problem #9

May 122005

Durango 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,500 miles
I bought a 2004 Dodge Durango in September of 2004. I have since driven the vehicle 35500 miles with no problems until now. The vehicle stalls prior to stopping. A vehicle was turning left in front of me and I slowed to prepare to stop. The vehicle turned left before I reached them and my vehicle stalled. The vehicles behind me were not expecting me to stop and almost rearended me. This happened 4 times. It also stalled at the top of exit 87 off I-40 near jackson. I restarted the vehicle. Upon attempting to turn left, the vehicle stalled again, this time with oncoming traffic in both directions. I was nearly hit by one of the oncoming vehicles. This is very dangerous! I also should add that I had left the dealership who "fixed" the problem 6 hours prior to these occurences. It happened once the day before and I took it to service immediately the morning in question.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #8

Aug 072004

Durango

  • miles
2004 Dodge Durango experiencing alot of mechanical problems making the vehicle inoperative on numerous occasions. The vehicle's engine blew two months after the vehicle was purchased. The engine was replaced under warranty. The vehicle started idling rough but the dealer could find anything wrong. One month after the engine was replaced it blew again.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #7

Apr 062005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
While driving at low speeds engine failed. As a result, the steering and brakes become inoperable. This failure occurred three times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but they have been unable to find the cause of the problem. The vehicle has been at the dealer since Feb 24,2005. Dealer service manager said there was a software fix but admitted there has never been a problem with hemi engines.

- Estacada, OR, USA

problem #6

Dec 132004

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving down a hill the vehicle accelerated up causing the rpms to go up to 3500. The consumer had to ride the brakes continuously. The dealer stated that this was a characteristic of the Dodge. On terrain where one would like to go slow down slope, one could idle down to 2 mph but if one touch the gas to increase, it would go to 1500 RPM and if one does not hit the brake, it would slow down continuously increasing to 3500 RPM without touching the gas more.

- Crescent, OR, USA

problem #5

Feb 022005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,438 miles
Our Durango had experienced numerous problems, since we purchased it new in 5/04. The engine surged, it stalled, and it felt like the brakes did not grab in the rear. It also racked up more miles on the odometer, than it actually drove. On 12/16/04 we brought it in to the dealership for a recalled battery cable. The next day the engine caught on fire while driving. It was towed to the dealership, the transmission was replaced, and we picked it back up 12-28-04. On 1-16-05 we had a second fire in the engine while driving. This time it was in the shop until 2-1-05. The dealership overhauled the transmission, but did not replace it. On 2-2-05 again while driving, our Durango's engine caught on fire, this time the fire was so big, and so fast my husband barley had time to get our kid out before it exploded, and burned to the ground. It took the fire department over an hour to get the fire out. I had sent a certified letter to daimler Chrysler, asking them to buy the Durango back under the lemon law on 1-20-05. To this day there has been no response to that letter. My husband and children were almost killed!

- Dixon, CA, USA

problem #4

Jan 292004

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 2,692 miles
3X now my 2004 Dodge Durango slt (hemi) stalls coming to a stop. 1st time took it to the dealer for a ECU reflash. Didn't fix the problem. I hear others are having this problem. It is actually quite dangerous. Vehicle has 2700 miles on it and is 2 months old.

- Estacada, OR, USA

problem #3

Dec 032004

Durango

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
While driving at any speed vehicle stalled.

- Christiansted, VI, USA

problem #2

Oct 072004

Durango

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,400 miles
While driving the vehicle on several occasions the vehicle turned off while making a turn. The consumer stated that the dealer has been unable to diagnose the problem. The dealers were unable to duplicate the problem. The engine light had never come on when it stalled.

- Jonestown, PA, USA

problem #1

Sep 162004

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
I was getting on the freeway and accelerated to get on the freeway, car in front of me slowed to exit the freeway so I had to lift my foot of of the gas - RPMS dropped, oil pressure light came on and the car stalled in the right lane of the freeway - luckily I was able to pull over to the offramp. Restarted the car with no problem. I have taken the car to the dealer several times for this problem but they say they cannot fix it because they cannot duplicate the problem.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

Not what you are looking for?