Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,424 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments

problem #13

Feb 272015

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 80,455 miles


Hi, I could not access the odometer fraud section so here is my question. How is it that the dept of motor vehicle in tallahassee that issues title do not do anything about odometer rollback, I thought that was illegal. I purchased an SUV and much later I discovered there is a discrepancy in the odometer from carfax history. Doesn't this issue show up when the dmv is doing a title for a new owner when they enter the VIN and mileage from the bill of sale" why is this illegality allowed to happen, do they just issue a title for a stolen vehicle"

- Wellington , FL, USA

problem #12

Feb 012015


  • 130,200 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while driving at 55 mph, the instrument panel lights failed and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 130,200.

- Memphis, MS, USA

problem #11

Nov 012010


  • 55,000 miles
First, the cruise control stopped working. Then, the speedometer and odometer quit working when the ABS, parking brake, check engine, and traction control lights all came on. Took it to the dealer to repair the instrument cluster recall, and was told that it needs a new ABS control module and wiring harness. The wiring harness is completely melted, probably because of a short in the control module - at least that's what I was told at the dealership. The wiring harness is on a national backorder until late September, so I am without ABS brakes, traction control, and a speedometer/odometer until then.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #10

Nov 272007


  • 36,000 miles


After getting my recall done reference # GO7 instrument cluster. I began having problems with my windshield wiper, it would not turn on II turn to your website and found NHTSA campaign id number: 06V067000. It seems this was the problem I am having! I call Chrysler and they told me that there is no such thing of this recall. I told them my problem but to no avail. They can't help me. They told me I should contact the dealership and get a diagnostic. But the dealership wants to charge me $65 per hour for diagnostics. I don't want to pay for something that there is a potential recall on it.

- Ashland, PA, USA

problem #9

Feb 262008

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I was contacted by daimler Chrysler, stating my 2005 Dodge Durango was the subject of a recall, and to schedule an appointment with our dealer. I scheduled the appoint for the recall and for additional maintenance. I investigated the recalls, and found 2: a potential instrument panel failure, and a problem with fuel spilling out of the inlet during refueling. I scheduled the appointment, and off the Durango on 2-26-08. The next day, mike (from our dealer) called and said that the recall had already been performed. He stated that daimler Chrysler sometimes made mistakes like this with recalls. He also said that the only recall the Durango was eligible for was for the issue with the instrument panel, and the the recall for the issue with the inlet valve did not apply to vehicles made after 10-12-2004 - ours was made 10-15-05. I explained to mike that the Durango had the identical problem that was the subject of the recall. Just a few weeks ago, my wife was doused with gas as she filled the Durango - gas escapes frequently when filling up. Mike said that there was nothing he could do, except perform the repair - the exact same thing the recall was for, but at my expense, and that I should contact daimler chyrysler to see if they would do anything for me. I contacted DaimlerChrysler twice after I found documentation on the NHTSA website, from DaimlerChrysler to NHTSA, stating that all Durangos from VIN 5F500001 to 5F535219 would be recalled. The VIN on my Durango is 5F529730 - well within the recall range. The letter I found on NHTSA's website (dated 3-18-2005) from stephan J speth (director, vehicle compliance) to Ms. Kathleen C. demeter (acting associate administrator, safety assurance) at NHTSA, indicating a "date range" for affected vehicles. Daimler chrylser assigned a reference number (17265274), but stated there was nothing they would do to correct the problem. I believe they have a responsibility to perform the recall. NHTSA campaign number: 05V-034.

- Whiteland, IN, USA

problem #8

Oct 232007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that she did not receive a recall notice regarding the electrical system: Instrument panel. After 40 minutes of exiting her vehicle, it caught fire. The fire originated from the instrumental panel. The police and fire departments arrived at the scene and a police report was filed. The recall number was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 52,000.

- Yazoo City, MS, USA

problem #7

Aug 032007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle began to smoke and overheat without warning. The dealer was notified and stated that the cylinder was not getting any compression and caused the engine to fail. Recall number 07V092000 (electrical system: Instrument panel) was found. The current and failure mileages were 47,000.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #6

Jun 102007

Durango 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
I purchased a 2005 Dodge Durango brand new, and since I had this vehicle it has been given me problems. There were recalls on this vehicle. The vehicle idled very hard, and it shut off when it idled hard, while sitting at a traffic light or when turning to go around a ramp. When shutting off the wheel locked, and I could not control the car. Recently, the care shut off on the New Jersey turnpike and a tractor trailer truck was behind me. Luckily, I was in the outer lane and managed to steer the car to the shoulder before the truck could hit me and my family. This was very dangerous. Last incident happened on une 10, 2007. Every time I took the car to the dealer they determined there was no problem.

- Irvington, NJ, USA

problem #5

Feb 012007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. On February 1, 2007, the contact's vehicle had been parked for two hours in his garage when his house began filling up with smoke. He went to his garage and found both his vehicle and garage in flames. The garage burned down and the vehicle was destroyed. The contact has pictures and can get a fire report. The manufacturer sent an investigator to take pictures. Afterwards, they informed the contact that they were not responsible because a defect was not the cause of the fire. On May 14, 2007, the contact received safety recall notice # 07V092000 (electrical system: Instrument panel). The purchase date and engine size were unavailable. The current and failure mileages were 26,000. Updated 07/06/07.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #4

Mar 062006

Durango 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The vehicle caught on fire while parked in the driveway. The vehicle was destroyed. The fire department extinguished the fire. There were no injuries. The failure and current mileage was 30,000. The garage sustained smoke damage. The contact has pictures and a fire report. The contact recently received recall #07V092000 for the electrical system: Instrument panel.

- Springlake, MI, USA

problem #3

Mar 232007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles


- the contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact noticed the overhead lights illuminated upon entering the vehicle. While driving 10 mph three lights illuminated on the instrument panel, and then noticed smoke coming from behind the steering wheel. Also, the contact noticed fire coming from underneath the instrument panel. The fire destroyed the vehicle. The insurance investigator informed the contact that the fire started in the instrument panel. There was recall 07V092000 regarding the instrument panel. The current and failure mileage were 60, 000.

- Union, OH, USA

problem #2

Feb 102007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,500 miles
We purchased a used 2005 Dodge Durango in January of this year. We were driving one day a few weeks after we purchased it and noticed that the interior lights did not go out after the doors were closed. I think there is a type of "switch" which shuts off the electrical systems in the vehicle after (I believe) 15 minutes, so each time we shut off the vehicle the lights stayed on a few minutes. After about 4 days of this, I started the vehicle up one day and it did not start. We had the vehicle towed and were told the instrument cluster had to be replaced. It took a few days to have the work done since the service center said they do not typically keep the parts in stock for a 2005 since it is not a problem generally seen on a newer vehicle. What I have read online with the recent recall was "the company said if drivers notice problems with the interior lights, they should take their vehicles to a dealer for inspection. In some cases, the interior lights will not properly dim after the doors are closed." Well, that is exactly the problem we have, but our vehicle is not part of the recall.

- Casper, WY, USA

problem #1

Feb 222007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,357 miles
While driving my 2005 Dodge Durango, the radio shuts off, the RPM's go to zero (as if the vehicle has lost all power and shutting off), and all of the gauges on the instrument cluster go crazy. Prior to this happening the vehicle was in the shop because of the ABS & brake light kept coming on, and a constant dinging noise (like the sound when a car door is left open with the key in the ignition) we were told there was nothing wrong and that our key chain was to heavy.

- West Chester, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?