Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,652 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #122

Aug 212015

Durango

  • 147,793 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the vehicle stalled as several warning lights illuminated. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 147,793.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #121

Apr 102014

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 131,000 miles
I have replaced the cylinder switch on my truck which cost me $465 to get a new 1 in order to crank my truck aaa repaired this for me in 2014, I've also had a leak sealed up in the coolant area all my freon was leaking out now the windows on the truck will not go down the only thing that opens is the sunroof.I had the truck put on a machine at a shop here they said it was the canbus system under the hood that is inside the computer that is causing this but my truck also has a recall on it as well, I have a white 2005 Dodge Durango hemi 7.5L truck VIN number [xxx] yet to hear anything on the recall 07/25/2015. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #120

Jul 202015

Durango

  • 139,000 miles
My Durango has started to engage into 4 wheel drive on its own. It does this when parked and when driving. It now is stuck in four wheel drive and cannot drive on the pavement. This seems to me to be a serious problem and should be recalled by Dodge.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #119

Jul 062015

Durango

  • 151,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While driving at 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that various warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 151,000. The VIN was not available.

- Wauzeka, WI, USA

problem #118

Aug 162005

Durango

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While driving at 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and the steering wheel seized. The failure recurred twice per week. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Baltomore , MD, USA

problem #117

May 292015

Durango

  • miles
Ac/heater blower resistor and harness burn out leaving the vehicle with no heater or cool air. I have had to have this now replaced once by the dealership, once by my brother who is a mechanic that teachers at unoh in Ohio, and the last couple of time by my husband and myself. The part is not real costley but the labor is for a dealership to fix it. Dodge/Fiat need to find a solution.

- Middle Point , OH, USA

problem #116

Apr 112014

Durango

  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ac/heater blower harness and resistor burning out, leaving me without heat defrost or air conditioner. This model of Durango can not be driven down the road with all the windows down for cool air in the summer. You get such a deafing thump noise.

- Middle Point, OH, USA

problem #115

Jul 222011

Durango

  • 80,000 miles
Ac/heater harness and resistor constantly burning out. Then you have not heater, defrost or air conditioner and you can not run down the road in this model with the windows down.

- Middle Point, OH, USA

problem #114

Jun 112013

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
The vehicles dash board lights will all light up, at one point I would have the gas floored and it would feel like I'm towing a house it started getting worse to the point the car would stall while driving so I would put it in neutral and it would start back up when the lights aren't on it runs fine but once the light come on the dash board it acts up and all the lights come on temperature, check engine, air bag, 4X4, oil light, battery light, etc Dodge flashed my computer it worked for a week and then started again I have had many mechanics look at it along with Dodge and no one can figure out the problem, recently starting 5/27/15 the problems have proceeded to get extremely dangerous now once all the lights light up it stalls and may not restart several times I've been stuck on the highway waiting an hour or two to restart it and now it only gets me a few feet then stalls plus its now doing it with no lights on the dash, rpms, mph etc, and when it drives sometimes there is nothing on dash but when I hit brakes all the gauges will shoot up temperature and fuel even if its not a full rank it will say it then when I step on gas the dash board goes out, I have contacted corporate Dodge to resolve this issue telling them I've seen several numerous complaints the same as mine but yet no recall so they now want me once again to take it to Dodge, June 9th 2015, but today June 3rd 2015, I stalled in the street on rt 9 and it would not start at all to the point I had to call a tow truck then once the tow truck dropped it at my house it started but all the lights were lit up on dash, if I was able to post pictures and videos on here I would because I video the dash every time it does it and I plan to show Dodge the videos on the 9th, Dodge needs to resolve this issue.

- Howell, NJ, USA

problem #113

May 222015

Durango

  • miles
I have not had a accident thank god. I brought my 2005 Dodge Durango february2, 2015. Make a long story short with in the past 2 month I have had to have my tank dropped 3 times now I have to have it dropped again so this will be the forth time &my truck wil not start &the pump is not coming on. I got a letter about the airbags recalls, my question is have it ever been a recall on the computer or the electrical system for this SUV? I think my whole fuel system is messed up cause when I go to fill it up gas come shotting back out the tank at me & I see it was a recall on that & I have not recieved my letter to go have it checked out. Please please please help

- Green Cove Springs, FL, USA

problem #112

Dec 172014

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 180,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle would high idle then when put in gear it would not take gas and would continue to run even after putting it in park and turning the key off and taking it out. This is a very serious problem I would like an investigation to see if anyone else has had this same problem. I would like a response please this scares me alot.

- Prestonsburg, KY, USA

problem #111

Feb 202014

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
When you go to put gas in it the gas wont shut off and I have an inside light that says gas cap even though we have replaced the gas cap and I have rust where the gas has run down the car. Im also having trouble with my gauges in the vehicle and it takes spells that it doesn't want to take gas.

- Prestonsburg, KY, USA

problem #110

Sep 172014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Was driving and all of a sudden I smelt something burning in the dash board and all instrument lights started to get dim and dimmer and then I notice smoke coming from the dashboard and all most immediately the door locks and windows stop working, the car would lock itself and the windows stop working at all and at this point the rear door do not open at all. I ask the dealer at the lot that I bought it from at the time of purchase if the vehicle had been in a accident or was there any recalls on this vehicle and he said no and that I bought the van as is and to this day I cant get this dealer to see that this car is unsafe to operate and that I am not going to risk mine nor my kids life to drive it and he will not even trade me out of this car for something better. The other day I was fueling the van and all of a sudden gasoline shot back out the tank and spilled gas all over me, scared the hell out of me. Not only that, I was driving down the interstate in my state and out of no where my seat on its own terms began to move forward all the way to the steering wheeling pressing me to the wheel and I am 6ft 3in tall and weigh 230lbs I again call the dealership to complain and got the same story that I agreed to purchase the vehicle as is, I agreed that I did but I told him that I do not think that he told me everything that I needed to know about possible safety issues. And again I have four children age 6 months to four years old whom I love very dearly.

- Marianna, FL, USA

problem #109

Jun 212014

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The car locks it's wheels and doesn't run. When coming to a stop light the brakes do not respond and it jerks trying to stop and accelerate at the same time. The ignition switch also catches and does not start. I've taken the Durango to the dealership and I'm always told that nothing is wrong with it.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #108

Feb 182015

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 256,098 miles
Driving on I-43 to work, the 4 wheel lo light flashed and went out. A few minutes later it flashed again, except this time it locked in 4 wheel lo at 70 mph during morning rush hour traffic. This caused the vehicle to rapidly slow down from 70 mph to 25 mph. I had check the vehicle codes with no errors. On the way home, I had to stop several times to cycle the transfer case, in order to disengage the 4 wheel lo. Reading many blogs on the internet, this seems to be an issue with 2004 through 2007 Dodge 4 wheel drive vehicles. Mechanic states that without a code, they will just start replacing parts until the correct one is found. This could take $2000 to $3000.

- Darien, WI, USA

problem #107

May 202005

Durango

  • 20,000 miles
I bought my 05 Durango back in may of 05 and I've had to deal with all three of the major complaints, the fuel spewing out, the stalling, and the 4X4 activating! the fuel thing I always noticed but always thought it was something that just happened. The 4X4 engaging happened when it still had the power train warranty so I took it to the dealer to get it repaired. The good thing is that they fixed it, the bad thing is that it wasn't covered under the warranty! they told me that they replaced the 4X4 control module and I haven't had a problem since then! I'm not positive if that's the name of the module. This was back in 2008 and I haven't had that problem since then. Hopefully that helps some that are dealing with that same issue! the stalling happens here and there, not too often and usually when I'm at a stop sign. I love my Durango, just hate the way Dodge is just leaving all its customers on their own when there should be recalls for all these issues!! acting like they've never heard of those problems when every owner has the same issues! ill never buy Dodge again! and it sucks because im looking into buying a new car, and I like the new Durango. But there's no way I'll buy Dodge, or Chrysler for that matter!

- Livingston, CA, USA

problem #106

Feb 172015

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
This has happened on multiple occasions!!!!! it happens at any speed, the truck will lose all power and shut off without warning. I can't steer or do anything but put the truck in park and restart the truck. I have taken it in the be looked at and nothing can be figured out as it does it randomly. I have four children and this last time we were turning and the truck just shut off while another vehicle was coming down the street. I have researched this and sees others are having the same issue. I have had some of the suggestions done such as replacing the egr valve and flushing the system. I need an answer as I do not feel safe!!!!!!!!!!

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #105

Jan 052015

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
Transfer case motor engages while driving going from AWD to four wheel lo. This can potentially cause a very bad accident. 4wlo light flickers and transfer case motor engages even with vehicle shut off.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #104

Dec 242014

Durango

  • 108,000 miles
Was driving on the freeway. The service 4WD light started flashing, and the transmission shifted into 4lo by itself. All efforts to shift back out of 4lo failed. Had the vehicle towed. Service shop diagnosed transfer case as the problem, and replaced it. The problem persists. Vehicle continues to shift into 4lo by itself which impacts the ability to turn the vehicle.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #103

Sep 012014

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
While driving on the freeway, I noticed that my 4 lo warning light was flashing on my instrument panel. Once I came to a safe stop, I could hear what sounded like my 4 wheel drive actively trying to engage itself by making a clanking noise. Several days later, it did the same thing, only this time, it succeeded in shifting itself into 4 wheel drive but only for a brief period. Now it does this on a daily basis and will even do this in my garage with the keys out of the ignition. It will also do this when I use the key fob to unlock my doors. Please look into this as there are several other Durango owners who are experiencing the same issue. My worry is that it will find a way to shift itself into 4 lo while either my wife or myself are driving down the freeway. If that happens, it could be catastrophic. This is something that Dodge needs to recall to prevent any injuries or deaths. People have attempted to replace the transfer case, replace wiring, and several other fix attempts but to no avail. As a 16-year career firefighter, I am pleading with you to look into this.

- Moxee, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?