Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,238 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Mar 152006

Durango

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,540 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought the 2005 Dodge Durango in June 2005. It worked great until about October when it began to stall out. This would usually happen right after starting the car. The other day I was driving down the road with my three children, all under five, going about 40 mph when everything in the car shut off. My steering wheel locked, I had no brakes, no electrical, nothing. The entire car shut off. I had no control of anything. I went into oncoming traffic lanes. Luckily there was no one in those lanes. I managed to get the car to stop after pulling into a parking lot. After a few minutes the car started again. I was only a few blocks from home so I tried to drive back home. Car stalled again a few minutes later. I parked it. It went to the dealership and they replaced the ignition and flashed the computer. The day they gave it back to me it happened again. Right away it went back to the dealership. They have had it ever since. It's been seven days and not even a phone call. I am hesitant to take this car back or be putting my children in it again. Something needs to be done about this. I was lucky this time and do not plan to try my luck again. People could die from this serious problem. Apparently I am not the only one.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #21

Mar 132006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
2005 Dodge Durango 4.7L. Vehicle stalled while in traffic. Everything completely dead. No power at all. Vehicle restarted after a few minutes. Vehicle died again while making a low speed right hand turn in traffic. Restarted again. Dealership states nothing wrong. Even though vehicle continually stumbles at idle but does not produce any failure codes. This is extremely dangerous to be happening in traffic.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #20

Jan 032006

Durango

  • miles
2005 Dodge Durango stopped working while driving. ** answer required*** the vehicle was taken to the dealer and hooked up to a diagnostic machine. The technician was unable to diagnose or pinpoint the problem. Almost a month alter the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the replaced the main computer. Even after that part was replaced the vehicle continued to stall, have difficulty starting, rough idle and was slow at take off.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #19

Jan 262006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has stalled thre times. Once while on a curve, another while backing out of the driveway and the other time while stopping at a light. Took to dealer, and was told there was an issue that Chrysler is trying to correct. Told that vehicle has updated software and nothing was done to try and correct the problem.

- Springfield, OR, USA

problem #18

Mar 152005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving, the vehicle stalls intermittently. The engine looses power or hesitate. The dealership has been alerted and the manufacturer has not been contacted. Updated 04/06/06.

- New Castle, IN, USA

problem #17

Jan 132005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles
2005 Dodge Durango limited (5.7 hemi). While driving SUV it just turns off. Problem has happened 6 times now and has been to the dealership at least 3 times where they say their is no problem.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #16

Jan 202006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the engine intermittently stalls while idling in stop and go traffic without prior warning. Although the vehicle was seen by a dealer, the dealer was unable to determine the problem.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #15

Dec 012005

Durango

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles
: the consumer stated the vehicle stalls intermittently. This occurs while driving, stopping or pulling up to a stop light without warning. The stalling occurs at various speeds. The dealership was unable to read the information from the computer in the vehicle. A co-Pilot was placed in the vehicle and the dealer still could not retrieve the information.

- Tipp City, OH, USA

problem #14

Dec 122005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,647 miles
Vehicle stalls and a complete loss of power for no reason. The consumer stated Chrysler installed a co-Pilot in the vehicle and the stalling was captured. Updated

- Pleasant Hill, CA, USA

problem #13

Nov 222005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,200 miles
2005 Dodge Durango with 5.7 hemi stalled at low speed on 5 separate occasions so far (6000K miles). Took vehicle to dealer along with documentation from NHTSA website about this problem. Dealer did not know about the problem and was unable to replicate problem nor find any fault codes for the failure. They did reset all adaptive memory and modules and reported the idle is at a higher setting than before. Will wait and see if this truly fixes the problem.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #12

Aug 012005

Durango 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact stated the brakes failed and the vehicle stalled. When she put the vehicle into reverse it revved, but did not go anywhere. The vehicle then stalled with no warning lights. This happened eight to nine times. The brakes have failed three times, almost rear ending a truck. The brakes will not respond when pressed. She has to take foot and slam it to the floor for the vehicle to stop. The vehicle has been to the dealership for both problems multiple times, but they could not duplicate either problem. They thought it may be a computer glitch. These problems happened separately. Updated 1/4/2006 -

- North Liberty, IN, USA

problem #11

Aug 262005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,655 miles
The consumer stated that the 2005 Dodge Durango stalled. This was the second time that the truck stalled. The consumer said that the engine was just shutting off. The speed that the consumer was driving was around 15-25 mph. The truck has been the repair shop, and the dealership did not know what was wrong with the truck as of now. The dealer changed and updated the software. The consumer did not think that the software made a difference in the performance of the truck. Damiler/Chrysler was called, and they suggested that the consumer contact their dealer. This failure seemed to be intermittent. There has been diagnostic testing on the vehicle, and have not been able to trace down the problem. The dealer replaced the maf sensor.

- Keno, OR, USA

problem #10

Sep 092005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,240 miles
While sitting at a red light on 9/9/05 my 2005 Dodge Durango with 5.7 hemi engine shut itself down. After getting it started again the check engine light remained on. Took to the dealer who did not write on the service order that the car stalled as I told them. Dealer found no problem, and gave me a sheet stating that computers sometimes have hickups. While at the dealer, I met others with same problem on the 5.7 hemi engines. This motor apparently has a defect.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #9

Jul 172005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,700 miles
While driving in stop-and-go traffic on Sunday July 17, 2005, my 2005 Dodge Durango (~1700 miles) engine shut off. I placed the car in neutral (I was still rolling) and was able to stop the vehiucle and restart the engine. I took the car into a 5-star dealership (where it was purchased from) and they kept the vehicle for 2 days. The service department conclusion was that they could find no trouble. I have seen similar failures with this vehicle on the NHTSA website, so I feel confident that this is not an isolated case.

- Fanwood, NJ, USA

problem #8

Jul 132005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,513 miles
Had driven 05 Durango about 5 miles. When braking to enter the driveway at home, vehicle engine shut off. No power at all. Vehicle has 4513 miles with a 5.7L hemi.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #7

Jul 092005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
Four times between the months of February and July 2005 my vehicle has stalled while driving at slow speeds. Also, the vehicle would not start daily each morning for a period of two weeks. The vehicle would be jump started and run correctly during the day, however, when left overnight, the battery would be dead. The dealer could not provide an answer for the stalling. Regarding the electrical, they tested the draw and held the vehicle for two weeks. After several days, they indicated that it was an electrical device behind the dash board. The electrical problem has been fixed, however, the stalling continues.

- Oak Park, MI, USA

problem #6

Jun 272005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,800 miles
On 4 seperate occasions vehicle engine has stalled for no apparent reason. Most recent event occured on toll bridge nearly causing accident/loss of control of vehicle.

- Smithtown, NY, USA

problem #5

Jun 192005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,100 miles
The vehicle has been in for service several times for stalling problems, recently brought in again on 06-20-05 for stalling, vehicle is hard to start then will stall after starting, also still stalls out in turns at various speeds, manufacturer still won't recognize the problem as a serious safety hazard

- Coral Springs , FL, USA

problem #4

May 212005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,300 miles
On 5/21/05 my 2005 Durango with 5.7L engine stalled while making a right turn into a parking lot. Lack of power steering made driving difficult. I restarted the car, turned into a parking spot and the engine quit once again.

- Brewster, NY, USA

problem #3

Apr 202005

Durango

  • miles
Stalling with 2005 Dodge Durango limited with hemi. Car is 3 weeks old and has stalled twice thus far.

- Great Falls , VA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?