Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,514 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 10 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #264

May 282011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Dodge Durango VIN [xxx] expels a large quantity of fuel when refueling the vehicle. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Holly Springs, NC, USA

problem #263

Jan 232011

Durango

  • 75,000 miles
Gas over flow from 2005 Dodge Durango.

- Oshkosh, WI, USA

problem #262

Apr 102011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Everytime I fill up gasoline and after the automatic shutoff in the handle stops the pump, a large amount of gasoline is sprayed onto myself and the vehicle. This is not only a potential fire hazard but a severe environmental issue.

- Maryland, MD, USA

problem #261

Jan 132010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When filling up car with gas, after the pump shuts off, gas pours out of the tank.

- Oshkosh, WI, USA

problem #260

May 242008

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that after refueling the fuel tank to full capacity, the fuel would spill back out. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer and they advised him that they would make adjustments to the fuel tank. The vehicle was repaired but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was contacted and they advised him to take the vehicle to a second dealer. The failure mileage was approximately 45,000. Updated 12/16/11 updated 12/23/11

- Columbia`, MD, USA

problem #259

Feb 222011

Durango 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when he added gasoline to the fuel tank, the automatic shutoff valve did not function and the fuel spilled out of the filler neck. The failure occurred every time the tank was full. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the vehicle was not included in recalls 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage tank assembly:filler pipe and cap) and 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The vehicle was not repaired. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The current mileage was approximately 43,200. The failure mileage was approximately 42,000. Updated 07/08/11 updated 11/23/11

- Colonial Heights, VA, USA

problem #258

Jan 102011

Durango 6-cyl

  • 123,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2005 Dodge Durango St started spewing fuel out the filler neck when I'm filling the tank. It usually occurs when the tank reaches about half full. I contacted Chrysler and they told me my car isn't covered under any campaigns and I should take it to a local dealer to have repaired at my own expense. This condition is a serious safety condition every time I try to fill the fuel tank. I know there have been two related recalls of similar faults, but I don't think it's fair that Chrysler won't stand behind this safety issue. I'm now always concerned for my safety when I have to fill my gas tank.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #257

Dec 082010

Durango

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when refueling the vehicle, fuel would leak back out of the fuel tank. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly) but the vehicle was not included in the recall. The contact stated the fuel spitting out of the vehicle can cause a fire. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 77,000. Updated 05/26/2011

- Warrenton, VA, USA

problem #256

Apr 202011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
When filling fuel tank, after automatic shutoff by pump the fuel tank spews fuel out. This is, apparently, a fairly common problem with Dodge Durangos.

- Nv, NV, USA

problem #255

May 092011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
My 2005 Dodge Durango splashes gas out of the tank when refueling. It has been diagnosed by the dealership and the gas tank needs to be replaced. This is an $1111 repair on an issue addressed in a limited recall. Why is my vehicle not part of this recall when it is having the recall problem? this is a major safety issue, gas splashing out of the tank, onto the truck, the ground and myself.

- Newberg, OR, USA

problem #254

Mar 012011

Durango

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When fueling, as the truck reaches a full tank it will spew gas after the pump has shut off. My vehicle was initially included in the first recall, and my replaced tank worked well for a few years. A few months ago the problem recurred and has continued at each fill. For me it's not an issue because I know how much I can put in before hitting full. But my wife and I just switched vehicles and it is a real concern for her.

- Walkersville, MD, USA

problem #253

Oct 012010

Durango

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact noticed that the bottom of her gasoline tank was covered with rust. The dealer advised the contact to have it repainted and offered no further assistance since there were no related recalls. The manufacturer did not offer any assistance either. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was approximately 71,000 and the failure mileages was approximately 65,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Freeburg, IL, USA

problem #252

May 012011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
2005 Dodge Durango. When filling at the gas pump, fuel splashes out all over the ground and me when it shuts off. This has been happening since 10K miles, I just put up with it. I found there was a recall, and I want this fixed. Not sure why I did not receive a notice.

- Rittman, OH, USA

problem #251

Jan 242011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
My 2005 Dodge Durango sprays gas out of the gas tank everytime I fill up my car. Despite that fact that there is a open recall on the fuel tank filter for the 2005 Dodge Durango, Chrysler/Dodge said that my SUV does not qualify for the recall since it has a different part number. Therefore, even though my car exhibits the exact same issue as the outstanding recall and also presents a significant safety issue Chrysler/Dodge is unwilling to include my SUV and countless others in the recall and instead is saying that I need to fix the safety issue and the charge is $1665.

- Palos Verdes, CA, USA

problem #250

Jun 012009

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Summary: Fuel escapes from vehicle at the end of refueling. Consequence: Fuel leakage in the presence of an ignition source can result in a fire. Remedy requested: Have dealer replace the fuel tank assembly free of charge, as in the recall of the same description for other 2005 Dodge Durangos - NHTSA campaign id #09V003000, Chrysler recall #H45. Previously made a few attempts to get Chrysler dealer in burlington, NJ to effect repair, but customer service manager [xxx]claimed he couldn't duplicate problem. I was not with the vehicle when he allegedly attempted to duplicate problem. [xxx] was untruthful when I confronted him last year about Chrysler corporate knowing of the problem and that it should be repaired at no charge to customer. No that I've found the NHTSA website info and the H45 recall info, I made another attempt: I contacted Chrysler. Case manager "[xxx]assigned me case #[xxx] on April 25, 2011, but told me on April 28, 2011 that I would have to pay a copay for the repair. I objected to a copay, and told him that I would be contacting NHTSA. This complaint is that contact. Can you assist me? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bellmawr, NJ, USA

problem #249

Apr 202011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I own a 2005 Dodge Durango which has had a fuel issue from the day we got it. Almost every time we fill the tank, gasoline continues to spill out of the nozzle. This is especially noticeable when we fill up with the older style pumps that do not have the plastic sleeves on them. My investigation revealed a recall for the inlet valve but Chrysler/Dodge says my VIN series is not covered. This issue obviously encompasses more vehicles than the recall indicates. Chrysler stated they would look into the matter but I would have to pay a 95 dollar diagnostic and if it was the fuel inlet valve.. it would require "customer participation" to fix. They are willing to assist but tell me I will be responsible for between 100 and 500 dollars of the repair costs plus the 95 dollar diagnostic fee. I wish to add my complaint to the list of individuals who have already complained about this very concern. Dodge needs to be held accountable for all of the vehicles experiencing this issue. It makes little sense that some 2005 Durango's are recalled but my particular one is not when the issue is the same. Please help.

- Manchester, MO, USA

problem #248

Mar 012008

Durango

  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel began to leak from the vehicle through the fuel filler neck while the contact was refueling the vehicle. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was refueled to capacity. The manufacturer was notified and the contact was told that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 24,000 and the current mileage was 35,000.

- Stoneham, MA, USA

problem #247

Nov 122009

Durango

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when refueling the vehicle, gasoline would spew back from the filler neck and the fuel pump would not shut off when the fuel tank was full. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage tank assembly but was advised by the manufacturer that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 105,000.

- Naparville, IL, USA

problem #246

Jan 012011

Durango

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when attempting to refuel the vehicle, gasoline would spew back out. The failure was similar to that which was described in NHTSA campaign id number: 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap). The dealer was notified and the contact was awaiting a response. The contact did not inform the manufacturer nor was the vehicle repaired. The current mileage was 66,000 and the failure mileage was 64,000.

- Newport Richie, FL, USA

problem #245

Dec 012009

Durango

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact noticed that when attempting to add fuel to the vehicle, gasoline would spill back out onto the ground similar to NHTSA campaign id number: 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap). The dealer advised the contact to bring the vehicle in for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer informed the contact that there were no open recalls for his vehicle. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The current mileage was unknown and the failure mileage was 60,000.

- Blackwood, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?