Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,514 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 2 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #424

Sep 202013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Whenever I fill up my gas tank gas pours out. I try to listen real close so it doesn't happen and then sometimes even as I am taking the pump out a bunch of gas will come back out of it. This has been going on for a very long time. I even had a gas attendant try to tell me I would have to pay for the clean up. I seen were there was a recall on this and I called the manufacturer and they told me my vehicle was not part of the recall. Evidently there are other 05 Dodge Durangos having the same problem.

- Summersville, WV, USA

problem #423

Aug 032012

Durango 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
When filling the tank with gasoline, the pump handle will shut down but gas spews from the filler opening on the vehicle. There is an existing recall for this problem issued in 2009; however, my particular VIN is not covered under that recall even though I am having the exact same problem. Perhaps a fire causing injuries is necessary to have this problem covered by Chrysler.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #422

Apr 152013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 104,800 miles
Every time I fill up the vehicle with fuel it sprays gasoline out all over the side of the vehicle as well as whoever is fueling it. Several like model Durangos from this year and close to the same year have had recalls to fix this issue. Im not at all sure why my VIN does not qualify for the recall but it needs to because the problem is obvious and was definitely a manufacturer error. Please consider this request and take care of the issue.

- Lamar, MO, USA

problem #421

Jul 022013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 184,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The first time it happened, the transfer case went into neutral, on it's own, while driving on a divided highway, with no shoulder. It kind of created a traffic jam. Long story short. A friend towed me home. I reset the transfer case per the instruction manual, and it went back into gear. Still do not know why it went into neutral in the first place. Now, when you open the doors, the transfer case motor operates like crazy, for up to 30 seconds, and some times longer. I got on line and have found out that is a problem experienced by many Durango AWD owners. I bought it used and the previous owners claimed that it never did it before. Also, when filling the tank up, the filler neck will "purge" fuel out onto the ground and your feet. This is listed as a dealer recall, and mine was looks to have been done, but the problem is still there.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #420

Oct 102012

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that after refueling, the instrument panel erroneously displayed that the fuel tank was full.the vehicle was towed to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the fuel pump module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline). The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred on three occasions. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000 and the current mileage was 202,000.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #419

Mar 062011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 94,212 miles
Upon filling up at the gas station, when the pump shut off, there was an overflow from the gas tank. About the same time, I had to replace the tires and was told the car needed to have the ball joints replaced and there was a recall out for the job. However, I was told my VIN number did not qualify. Updated 05/08/14

- Auburn, ME, USA

problem #418

May 082013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 126,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were filling the fuel tank at a gas station, after the tank was filled it sprayed fuel on my wife. I have investigated this issue online and found this recall. I will also contact Dodge, but I also have read a few instances where they are resistant to this safety issue so I decided to also report it here.

- Howard City, MI, USA

problem #417

Mar 142012

Durango 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while refueling, gasoline spewed from the filler neck without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was advised to the contact that the fuel tank would possibly need to be replaced but a diagnosis was required. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline) in 2005. The vehicle was not repaired for the recent failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 99,000....updated 04/25/13 the consumer stated dealer advised the manufacturer that the vehivcle had two leaks that were causing the failure. The dealer claimed the second leak was unrelated to the first leak. The consumer has a video clip of the failure. Updated 05/17/2013

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #416

Jan 052011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the fuel system failed. The contact stated that he was refueling when the fuel pump shut off and gasoline began to overflow out of the vehicle. The contact stated that the failure recurred several times after. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 3/14/13 updated 03/21/13

- Fleetwood , PA, USA

problem #415

Aug 272012

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
When I fill my gas tank to full or close to full, the gas leaks or sprays back around the fuel door.

- Richmond, IN, USA

problem #414

May 062010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel spilled out from the filler neck while refueling. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnosis. The dealer stated that they needed to replace the fuel tank inlet check valve. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system). The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 100,000...updated 09/04/12 updated 09/11/12

- Lapeer , MI, USA

problem #413

Mar 022010

Durango 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
When filling the car with gas, the fuel does not shut off... spilling fuel all over the ground and down the side of the car.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #412

Nov 142011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
When filling vehicle, at full shutoff, fuel blows back out the filler tube.

- Delta, OH, USA

problem #411

Dec 102011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
Fuel spitting out of tank on fill up.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #410

Mar 152012

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
My 2005 Dodge Durango has a serious malfunction which causes excessive gasoline to spew from the vehicle during filling. This occurs at every fill up of the vehicle and is very difficult to prevent, even once I became aware of the issue. The gasoline exist the vehicle with considerable force the amount can vary but is typically equivalent to ~20 fl oz. Not only is this a obvious fire/explosion risk, but is also a hazardous chemical risk as the gasoline often makes contact with clothes and skin during refueling. I notified Dodge of this issue was given a case # however was notified that Dodge does not consider this an issue and will not fix the issue unless it is a recall. There is a very well documented evidence from the internet to support that this is not an isolated issue and that many other Durango owners are having the same issue. www.youtube.com/watch"V=kbwgvmyy3vm www.youtube.com/watch"V=fs5U63cn-II www.autoobserver.com/2011/02/Chrysler-fuel-spit-back-complaints-rise.html dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen-Durango/190747-gas-fill-overflow-on-my-06-Durango.html ireport.cnn.com/docs/doc-570725 please act on this widespread issue before someone is seriously injured or poisoned.

- Mulliken, MI, USA

problem #409

Jan 152012

Durango

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While fueling, the contact noticed fuel spill back out of the vehicle from the filler neck. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnostic test. There were two recalls under NHTSA campaign id numbers 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap) and 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly), that may be related to the failure. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not included in either recall. The VIN was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Lemon Grove, CA, USA

problem #408

Feb 012012

Durango

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while refueling, fuel spilled out from the filler neck. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the VIN was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap). The dealer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 72,000.

- Circle Pines, MN, USA

problem #407

Apr 032012

Durango

  • 110,000 miles
I bought a used 2005 Dodge Durango limited on 4/3/2012. After the purchase I went to the gas station to fill it up. Gas spilled out of the tank when I attempted to fill the tank. Since then, this has happened two more times. I contacted Chrysler and filed a complaint because this is a serious safety issue. I was told there was a recall on the gas tank filler tubes on some Durangos, but that the recall was not for 2005 models. This is a fearful situation as I bought this vehicle to Transport my grandchildren.

- Roanoke Rapids, NC, USA

problem #406

Apr 162012

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
I just purchased this vehicle used from a certified Chrysler dealership. Before finalizing purchase, the dealership filled the gas tank for us. The sales manager noted that he needed to clean up the side of the vehicle--that the gas pump had overflowed. 2 days later when I went to fill up the tank, I had the same issue--the gas tank overflowed. I have looked this issue up online and it seems there was a recall for only a select set of VIN numbers. According to Chrysler, my vehicle was not a part of the recall. Clearly, my vehicle should have been included. It appears the fix to this issue is to replace the gas tank. Also, it is now clear to me that the 2 small rust bubbles near the gas tank are being caused by gas overflowing every time somebody fills up the vehicle. This is a safety issue and should be fixed by the Chrysler corporation.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #405

Aug 282009

Durango

  • miles
When my Durango is filled with gas it will not automatically shut off the gas pump but instead gas comes spitting out the fuel opening. This occurs every time that I fill my vehicle up. I do not fill it up anymore because I don't want gas all over my clothes, shoes or down the side of my vehicle and not to mention the puddle of gas that accumulates on the ground. I notified my local Dodge dealer as well as daimler-Chrysler but was told by both that my Durango was not in the recall notice even though it was doing the same thing as what was described in the recall. They advised me that my fuel problem was probably something else all together without even checking it out. I am on a limited budget due to unemployment and I cant afford to have the fuel tank replaced. I don't feel like I should have to replace any part on the fuel system because I truly believe that my inlet valve is faulty due to manufacturers error. In reading over the recalls it states that the problem was fixed and no other vehicles were involved but Dodge doesn't even want to consider that maybe there was a problem with all of the 2005 inlet valves. I just want to feel safe again in my vehicle and not afraid to stop and get gas.

- Tupelo, MS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?