Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,099 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

Jan 102009

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while refueling the vehicle, gasoline fuel would spew from the filler neck before the tank was able to be filled. The failure had been an ongoing recurrence for two years. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or mechanic for the failure. The local dealer was contacted and advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall relative to the failure under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000 and the current mileage was 73,200. Updated05/04/11 updated 11/18/11.

- Harrod, OH, USA

problem #55

Aug 012010

Durango 8-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that as he refueled the vehicle, gasoline began spewing back from the filler tube once the fuel tank was full. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the fuel valve was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted but did not offer any assistance stating that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 53,000. Updated 05/03/11 updated 7/08/11

- Nashville , TN, USA

problem #54

May 132010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I own a 2005 Dodge Durango VIN [xxx]. when refueling the vehicle, fuel over flows onto the vehicle and ground at the end of the fueling process every time you fill the tank. My research has shown there was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the VIN was not included in the recall and that I would need to bring the vehicle to an authorized service station and pay for the diagnostic charge without reimbursement. In addition, they would not guarantee to pay for the repair, only the possibility of helping with payment. Felt this was unsatisfactory due to Dodge already recalling some 2005 Dodge Durangos and the apparent continuation of this problem outside of the acceptable VIN number range. No further assistance was offered. The vehicle was not repaired. I am unable to fill the fuel tank with gasoline and could only refuel with small amounts of gasoline at a time. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #53

Nov 082010

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when refueling the vehicle, gasoline would spew back out from the filler neck. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who informed the contact that the recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly) did not include her vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted who confirmed that the vehicle was not included in the recall and provided no further assistance. The failure mileage was 104,000. Updated 5/24/11

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #52

Mar 032009

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when refueling the vehicle, gasoline would spew back out from the filler tube, similar to the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 07V426000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly). Both the dealer and manufacturer were contacted and advised that the contacts VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 67,000 and the failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 4/01/11 the consumer stated he is able to provide video footage of the fuel spilling out of the filler tube. It occurs on almost every time the consumer fills the vehicle. Each spill over flows approximately 1/2 gallon of fuel on the ground. Updated 07/29/11

- Waseca, MN, USA

problem #51

Jan 142011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
When filling up the gas tank, the fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve does not function properly. It does not close and gas always spills out. I am afraid that gas spills out while driving. At times, with the keys in the ignition, the car will turn off by itself if I am moving slowly. I bought this truck in 2006. The first year, I brought the car in for stalling on its own. The dealership told me that there was nothing that they could do and the car did not have a problem. I brought the truck in about three times for the same problem and every time, nothing was resolved. After that I did not have the money or the time to continue bringing the truck in for a problem that the dealership was saying they could not find. Over the years, I have just dealt with this truck stalling on its own. About 1 year ago, I noticed that the car started spilling out gas if it was filled up. I did not know there was a recall until I researched the problem online. I found that there was a recall. I contact Chrysler customer care, they looked up my VIN # and told me that they did not have any recalls listed on my particular truck. I explained to the representative that my car had a problem with the fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve and that gas spilled out. I told them that I was afraid that gas was spilling from the tank while I was driving. The representative told me that there was nothing that they could do and told me to take the truck to the dealership. I am afraid that if I take the truck to the dealership I will be responsible for all of the expensive charges to fix this problem. I do not have the money for this since I am paying $700 a month for a truck that should never have been financed at that amount in the first place and is not worth the amount still owed. The consumer stated she was involved in a head-on-collision on April 25, 2011 and the air bags did not deploy. Also, the rear wiper made a whistling noise. Updated 08/12/11

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #50

Jan 132011

Durango

  • 124,250 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated while adding fuel to the vehicle it began to spill out of the fuel tank. The contact called the manufacturer and was informed to take the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer performed a smoke test which confirmed that the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The VIN was a associated with NHTSA recall 09V003000, fuel system, gasoline, storage tank assembly but the recall repair was performed with the previous owner. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the manufacturer should responsible. The failure mileage was 124,250.

- Erie, KS, USA

problem #49

Jun 012008

Durango

  • 42,000 miles
I have a fuel spit back problem w/ my 2005 Dodge Durango that was manufactured 05/05. It appears to be the same issue that is listed as a recall on the same make and model year vehicle that was manufactured prior to mine. When filling the tank, gas will blow back out of the filler neck with substantial force. Gasoline is speed over the side of the vehicle and ground. The first time this happened I was covered in gasoline. I called Chrysler to ask about the issue after reading the recall for the earlier model year vehicles. The representative that I spoke to advised that it was very possible that my vehicle, being built late in the model year, may have had the faulty valve installed during assembly of the vehicle. However, it would not be covered under the recall. This concerns me because several other vehicles may have this problem and the owner's like myself, cannot afford to pay for it. I feel this matter needs to be looked into further for vehicles manufactured after the specified dates in 09V003000. Other than skin discomfort, I was not injured. This incident occurs every time the vehicle if filled!

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #48

Mar 012010

Durango

  • 48,000 miles
My vehicle started few months ago to squirt gas out of the tank once the pump clicked off at the gas station. I recently learned that there have been two recalls for this particular problem 05V34000 and 09V003000 for a 2005 Dodge Durango, which I own. I have contacted Dodge and they have told me that my vehicle is not one of the ones affected. I asked the person how I would get my vehicle under the recall he then told me to go get a diagnostics check and accused me of causing the problem by putting a marble in the gas tank. This is a problem with the vehicle design and a safety concern because I continue to dump gas onto the ground.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #47

Apr 112007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that after filling the fuel tank with the nozzle still inside, fuel would spill back out the tank. He noticed the failure every time he filled the vehicle with fuel. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired at the time of the complaint. The contact called the manufacturer who stated the vehicle was not included in recall 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly: Filler pipe and cap) or recall 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly). The current mileage is approximately 125,000. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000. Updated 11/05/10 updated 11/10/10

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #46

Aug 142008

Durango

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when refueling the vehicle, gasoline would spew back out from the filler tube. The fuel gauge would also display inaccurate fuel levels. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was informed that his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly) and any repairs would be at the contacts expense. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 101,000.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #45

Aug 172008

Durango

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when refueling the vehicle, gasoline would spew back out from the filler tube when the nozzle would shut off. The failure occurred sporadically and the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The dealer advised that the inlet check valve in the fuel assembly would need replacing. The contact located a recall for the failure under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly) but was advised by the dealer that his VIN was not included. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was awaiting a return call from the manufacturer. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000 and the current mileage was approximately 149,000.

- South Vienna, OH, USA

problem #44

Sep 152005

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated when refueling the vehicle, approximately one quarter of gasoline would leak to the ground. The contact was able to locate a recall for the failure (NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000- fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly) but was advised by the dealer that his VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated the failure had been present since purchase. The approximate failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 94,000.

- Dover, DE, USA

problem #43

Apr 152010

Durango

  • 72,615 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated while re-fueling the vehicle, gasoline began to spew from the filler tube, spilling onto the vehicle, ground and the contact. The contact was able to locate a recall for the failure (NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000- fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly) but was advised by the manufacturer that the contacts VIN was not included in the recall. In addition, the contact was advised to have the vehicle diagnosed by the dealer before a determination was made whether they would be willing to assist. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 72,615.

- Seal Beach, CA, USA

problem #42

Jun 012009

Durango

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango sle. The contact stated whenever she would refill the vehicle would gasoline; the fuel would spew back out from the filler valve. In addition, the vehicle would also exhibit an abnormal increase in engine rpms and would intermittently stall. The contact replaced the gas cap, battery, alternator, and the idle sensors but to no avail. The contact was able to locate NHTSA campaign id number: 09V00300 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly) but when contacting the manufacturer, she was told her VIN was not included in the recall. The manufacturer advised taking the vehicle to the dealer for diagnostic testing and stated they would assist with partial repair costs. The vehicle was not yet repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 90,233.

- Azle, TX, USA

problem #41

Oct 102009

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
When completed pumping gas into the vehicle and removing the gas pump nozzle, the gas comes shooting back out of the tank. SUV was taken back to place of purchase and a new gas tank was installed in approx. Beginning of October 2009.. the problem is now occurring again in June each time gas is pumped into the vehicle.. looked up online recalls on vehicle. There is a recall on vehicle for this year make and model for fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe: And cap.. when I called the dealer phone # I was told the recall was VIN # specific and my vehicle was not included in that recall.

- Westport, MA, USA

problem #40

Dec 152009

Durango

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the fuel spilled out whenever he attempted to fill the tank. He contacted the dealer and was informed that the vehicle was not included in recall 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly) and he would be responsible for repair costs. The contact stated that the fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve was inadequate. The failure and current mileages were approximately 98,000.

- Frostproof, FL, USA

problem #39

Mar 272010

Durango

  • 72,000 miles
Fuel spills out when filling fuel tank. Current recalls from Chrysler are Chrysler recall E01 and H45. NHTSA recall 09V003000. Vehicle has been inspected by local dealer, linder Dodge, new london ct. Fuel tank problem determined to be same as recall. As of 04/19/10, Chrysler wants me to pay $260 for replacement of fuel tank. 2005 Dodge Durango SUV. I know of someone else who has similar situation on an 2005 Durango, manufactured 12/04. My Durango was manufactured 03/05. The fuel spill problems has been occurring over past 5 months. Why should I have to pay for a Chrysler defect, when others don't have to pay? I have had fuel spill on me.had to stop what I was doing, go home, and change clothes, along with deal with deal with odor of fuel inside of vehicle. I understand my build date is out of recall date of manufacture, that I have hard copies for. But it seems the recall needs to be expanded, because the defect is occurring in a larger number of vehicles.

- Niantic, CT, USA

problem #38

Aug 012009

Durango

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that some gasoline leaked out of the vehicle immediately after fuel was added as mentioned in recall 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The vehicle had not been taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing; however, the contact called the dealer and was informed that his vehicle was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000. The current mileage was approximately 77,000.

- Vail, AZ, USA

problem #37

Nov 242009

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
1. the car requires gas. 2. when filling, gas shoots out of fill pipe when full. (1-2 cups) 3. problem same as described in action #RQ08005 and recall campaign# 09V00300 but my VIN not included in recall.

- Grand Rapids, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?