Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,099 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Apr 082010

(reported on)

Durango 8-cyl

  • miles


Letter forwarded for possible follow up regarding consumer case against Chrysler motors. Two recalls were issued and the consumers vehicle was not included in either. The consumers vehicle was built in July 2005, well after the problem was corrected in production. Recall numbers 09V003000 and 05V034000. The consumer contacted Dodge, but was told his vehicle identification number fell out of defect range.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #35

Mar 292010


  • 95,000 miles
My 2005 Dodge Durango has a problem where about 3-6 cups of fuel comes spewing from the filler hole when the fuel tank is filled. This "spewing" occurs just after the fuel nozzle "clicks" off signifying that the tank is full. The fuel spills all over the ground and surrounding people. It happens every time I refill the truck. I found on the NHTSA website that other Durango's are being recalled for this problem under NHTSA recall 09V003000 and 05V034000. I called Chrysler and they told me my particular vehicle was not recalled and therefore I was responsible for the repair. My dealer, orange park Dodge, diagnosed the problem as the filler tube inlet check valve which is the same part recalled on other 2005 Dodge Durangos. I am currently waiting for the part to come in before it can be replaced. Since Chrysler is changing the part for free on recalled vehicles, but my 2005 Durango with the same problem is my responsibility. This is a safety hazard. I was also informed by the dealer that the tank would leak out in a roll over accident since the check valve is not closing as designed.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #34

Sep 012009


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. He stated that when filling the vehicle with gasoline, the gasoline would spew back out of the filler neck. He was able to locate a recall campaign for his year, make and model describing the same failure he was experiencing (NHTSA campaign id 09V003000: Fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly) and contacted his dealer. The dealer advised him that his VIN was not listed under the recall campaign and that repairs would be at the owners expense. The dealer stated that the entire fuel tank needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current was 71,300.

- Lynd, MN, USA

problem #33

Apr 012009


  • 57,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While adding fuel to the gas tank he noticed that the gas would spill back out. He thought he was adding more fuel to the vehicle than it needed. Six months later, he noticed that the failure occurred more frequently. He took the vehicle to the dealer for routine maintenance and they stated that the gas tank neck could be defective. He notified the manufacturer and they advised him that his VIN was not included in recall 09V003000 fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly. The manufacturer also stated that he could take the vehicle to the dealer to be diagnosed and they would pay for the repair, as long as he paid the deductible. The vehicle will be repaired by the dealer. The failure mileage was 57,000 and the current mileage was 69,000.

- Longwood, FL, USA

problem #32

Jan 012010


  • 46,000 miles
When fueling my 2005 Dodge Durango just after fueling is complete and pump shuts off, fuel sprays back through filler neck. There is a current recall that is to repair this exact problem on other 2005 Dodge Durango, however, the dealer says my VIN is not included in this recall. After researching on the internet I found that several people are having this issue. There is even a case number listed on your site. RQ08005. I have contacted both the dealer and Chrysler and they have offered to do nothing more than charge me to repair my vehicle.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #31

Feb 022010


  • 30,000 miles
My 2005 Dodge Durango has the defective fuel tank filler inlet check valve described in NHTSA campaign id 09V003000. This was confirmed by performance Dodge the Dodge dealer in Lincoln, Nebraska. Chrysler claims my VIN is not part of this recall, however the needed replacement part is on nationwide back order due to this recall. I have confirmed my vehicle has the defective part and Chrysler should replace it at no charge. I have noticed spillage while refueling for several years but did not realize it was due to a defective part.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #30

Dec 182009

Durango 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. When the contact added fuel in the tank the gasoline came back out of the vehicle. The dealer stated that the entire gas tank needed to be replaced. NHTSA recall numbers 05V034000 and 09V003000 are directly related to the failure; however, the VIN was not included. The dealer also stated that the parts are on back order and they do not know when they will be available. The manufacturer stated that there were no recalls related for her VIN. The failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 2/22/10 the consumer also stated the vehicle surged forward. Updated 07/06/10.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #29

Dec 162009

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when she was refueling the vehicle, the check valve did not close and the gasoline overflowed. The dealer and the manufacturer were called and stated that the vehicle is not on the recall list. The contact filed a claim with the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 88,000. Updated 02/02/10. Updated 02/05/10. Updated 03/26/10. Upated 05/12/10.8jb

- Dover, NH, USA

problem #28

Nov 012009

Durango 8-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango which was purchased in 2008. While adding fuel to the vehicle, the filler tank would not shut off and caused gasoline to spew out of the vehicle. The failure has occurred numerous times. The manufacturer was contacted and there were no open related recalls. The manufacturer stated that they would assist with any liabilities for the failure. No repairs had been made. The failure mileage was 59,000. Updated 01/14/10

- Loveland, CO, USA

problem #27

Dec 122009


  • 60,000 miles
Anytime I fuel, my J2005 Durango spits a lot gasoline out of the filler neck. It does not matter how fast I fuel or whether or not I top off the tank. I called Dodge and was told that Chrysler/Dodge will not include my 2005 Durango vehicle in the fuel tank recall as noted in your campaign number 09V003000 or 05V3400, even though I had the same issue the recalls were to fix. I was told my mileage was to high to be included in a recall. The first incident was in Feb of 09 & now it is every time I fuel.

- Athens, TX, USA

problem #26

Jan 012008


  • 49,000 miles


There was no incident that led to this happening. It seemed to begin for no reason. Whenever I fill my gas tank, if I do not stop the pump before the tank is full, it overflows. This happens any time I fill the tank full. A significant amount of gasoline spills when this happens. Dodge issued a recall for this exact problem on 26,000 other 2005 Dodge Durangos, but refuses to include my vehicle in this recall #05V-034. I have no repaired the problem.

- Oak Park, IL, USA

problem #25

Nov 012009


  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve does not fully close at the end of refueling. This allows fuel to escape from the vehicle through the filler neck at the end of refueling. He called the manufacturer in reference to recall # 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). He was advised that since his vehicle identification number was excluded from the recall they were not obligated to assume responsibility for failures. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Lancxa, VA, USA

problem #24

Oct 012009


  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. Fuel escapes from the vehicle through the filler neck at the end of refueling. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and was she was advised that the fuel tank inlet check valve was previously repaired according to recall number 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The manufacturer was notified, and she was waiting for them to decide if she will receive a free remedy. The failure mileage was 82,000.

- Gainesville, GA, USA

problem #23

Jan 062009


  • 57,000 miles
2005 Dodge Durango: When fueling the vehicle to full the vehicle spits gas back at you and this isn't a small amount either. This occurs mostly when fueling the vehicle to full. This has happened since we purchased the vehicle in December 2008. There is a recall number: 09V003000 and 05V034000; Chrysler claims my vehicle had the recalled performed, but I think they never fixed the problem.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #22

Oct 162009


  • 98,417 miles
I have a 2005 Dodge Durango slt I had 3 separate incidents, at 3 different gas stations in which I would go to fill the tank and gas continues to overflow. I checked for recalls regarding this and found that Chrysler has one for this, which is H45 or 09V003000. I notified Chrysler at the number given (ref #18975878) and was advised that eventhough my vehicle was not in the recall campaign, I could go to a certified dealer and pay the diagnostic fee and if they found that I had the defect described, they would cover the repair. I went to holden Dodge in dover, de and they found the vehicle to have the exact problem described in the recall where my inlet check valve sticks open. When they contacted Chrysler, holden Dodge was advised that my vehicle was out of warranty and I was the 3rd owner and they would not honor the repair. It should not matter if I was the 50th owner, it is their defect!! I was advised that this recall was for vehicles manufactured in October 2004 and my vehicle was manufactured in January 2005. It is hard to believe that they corrected this malfunction in 3 months since I am experiencing this defect. I want Chrysler to honor the tank replacement under warranty since a certified dealer has confirmed that this was my problem. I oaid the $80 diagnostic fee as advised and Chrysler did not hold to their promise when I originally called. Was given a quote of $669 to replace he tank, which I cannot afford. So right now, I do not fill the tank with gas. Please help me to get this issue resolved and have Chrysler honor their defect!!!!

- Camden-Wyoming, DE, USA

problem #21

Jun 232009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. He received recall campaign notice number 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for repair. However, the recall remedy was not performed due to the unavailability of the part required for the repair. The authorized dealer was notified on two separate occasions regarding the part being on back order. No repairs have been made. The current mileage was 60,000.

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #20

May 012009


  • 135,000 miles
Related to NHTSA recall campaign 09V003000, NHTSA RQ08005... my Dodge Durango - exactly same problem as described yet apparently not included in the recall. Internet search leads me to believe that several hundreds of other Durango owners have the same complaint. This has been an on-going problem over the last several months.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #19

Jul 012007


  • 24,000 miles
Chrysler has recalled 2005 Durango's made during a certain time for fuel component failures. (recall id # 09V003000) even though I did not receive a recall notice my vehicle is experiencing the same problem and was diagnosed with the same problem. However, Chrysler states that my problem is a result of component failure and they will not assist in any way in correcting the problem. The dealer will not assist me except to offer me a 20% discount on parts and labor. My son-in-law's 2005 Dodge truck also has the same problem as well as a 2007 Chrysler aspen purchased by a friend of mine. I believe this problem is way more wide spread than Chrysler is willing to admit. The problem is that when I auto fill my gas tank, when the auto shut off kicks in, gas gushes out of the tank, runs down the car and puddles on the ground. I have taken a video of this and will be posting it to youtube. If you would like a copy of the video, please contact me. This problem started roughly 2 years after I purchased the vehicle.

- Hazelwood, MO, USA

problem #18

May 202009


  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. When the contact attempted to add fuel to the fuel tank, he noticed that the fuel began flowing out of the gas tank onto the side of the vehicle. The dealer informed the contact that the fuel tank needed to be replaced along with the inlet check valve. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 52,000.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #17

Aug 082009


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. When the contact started the engine, she smelled gasoline. She then noticed that all the fuel had leaked out of her vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they stated that it was previously repaired according to a recall for the fuel tank; however, the failure has recurred. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?