Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,099 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Jul 232009


  • 30,000 miles


I have a 2005 Dodge Durango that was manufactured 03/2005. I have a fuel tank that is malfunctioning just like what was referenced in your case #: 09V003000. I have been in contact with the local dealership and the national Dodge website and they tell me that the recall does not effect my vehicle. However, the recall is for the exact same thing. They are wanting 400 to replace this tank. I feel that it is a huge hazard. Everytime I get gas it spits back at me and all over the ground some times a very large amount.

- Olney, IL, USA

problem #15

Dec 012008


  • 72,000 miles
My 2005 Dodge Durango has a problem described in the following recalls by the NHTSA: 05V034000 and 09V003000. I contacted the Dodge dealership where I bought my vehicle and they told me there was not a recall on my VIN, to contact Dodge corporation. Dodge corporation verified that my Durango was not part of the recall, yet it has the 'spit backż problem described in the recall.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #14

Jul 092009

Durango 8-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. Since January of 2009, gasoline has been spilling out of the filler tank tube. The contact called Chrysler in February and was informed that he would have to pay for the repair. The contact could not afford the repair and has been only partially filling up the tank to avoid spillage. NHTSA campaign id number 09V003000 was referenced. The failure mileage was 28,000. Updated 08/04/09 the consumer was informed the fuel tank filler tank inlet valve was not working properly. Updated 08/10/09.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #13

Jul 102009

Durango 8-cyl

  • 59,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for recall repairs. Prior to the repairs, the vehicle was performing normally. When she retrieved the vehicle from the dealer, the battery failed. The dealer recharged the battery, but the vehicle stalled while the contact was driving home. She attempted to re-charge the battery at a local service station, but was unsuccessful. The vehicle was towed back to the dealer and they stated that she needed to purchase a replacement battery. The contact was able to borrow a battery from the dealer. The current and failure mileages were less than 59,000. Updated 8/7/09 the vehicle was left at a local store and towed the next day. The consumer stated the vehicle was normal before she took it the dealership. Updated 08/11/09.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #12

Dec 012008


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. When the contact filled up the vehicle with fuel, gasoline would shoot out of the fuel tank. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The contact feels that this is a major safety issue because a fire could occur. The current mileage was 75,000 and failure mileage was 65,000.

- Spring , TX, USA

problem #11

May 162009


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly) and immediately called the dealer. A technician concluded that the fuel tank inlet check valve failed. When placing gasoline into the tank, fuel escapes from the vehicle through the filler neck at the end of refueling. As a consequence, fuel leakage in the presence of an ignition source could result in a fire. The failure still persists. The failure and current mileages were 60,000.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #10

May 032009

Durango 8-cyl

  • 91,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. As soon as the contact fills his tank with fuel, gasoline sprays back on him. The vehicle has not been taken to the dealer for a diagnosis. The contact researched the failure online. The failure mileage was 91,000.updated 06/09/09. Updated 06/09/09.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #9

Mar 012009

Durango 8-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. When the contact placed fuel into the vehicle, gasoline would spill back out. She took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that the fuel neck failed. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly). A report was filed with the manufacturer and they replaced the fuel tank for free; however, she had to pay a $100 dollar deductible. She feels that the manufacturer should also be responsible for the deductible. The current and failure mileages were 18,000. Updated 6/9/09 the dealer informed the consumer the fuel tank failed and they would absorb 75% of the cost. The fuel tank was replaced and the consumer paid a $100 deductible. Updated 06/10/09.

- Pahrump, NV, USA

problem #8

May 042009


  • 60,050 miles
NHTSA recall # 09V003000 / 2005 Dodge Durango / my Dodge Durango has exhibited the same problems as vehicles covered under recall # 05V-034. The problem is related to fuel spilling out of the filler neck after the pump has shut off. I discovered that Chrysler had expanded the recall to include additional vehicles built between 10/13 and 11/30/2004. The recall states that process modifications were implemented on 11/24/04 to address the spit back problem and they believe that the process changes would have been incorporated in all vehicles built at the assembly plant as of 11/30/04. I checked my VIN number and the date the vehicle was manufactured (01/05), upon discovering it did not include vehicles built after 11/04, I contacted a local dealer and explained the problem I was encountering. Contacted Chrysler directly, after explaining the issue with the first level representative I was transferred to the next level (ref # 18546515). After discussing the issue in depth she finally agreed to have my local dealer evaluate the problem and if it was determined to be an issue with the fuel tank/check valve that Chrysler would assist in paying for the repairs. She stated that if that was the issue the cost could be close to $1000 for the repair and I would be responsible for approximately $400. I insisted that if it was the same issue as covered in previous recalls that Chrysler should cover the total cost of the repair. The dealer's invoice clearly states the problem was found to be the fuel tank check valve was not closing back. The dealer also stated that the diagnosis and repairs were exactly the same as covered under the recalls. They replaced the fuel tank, check valve and O-ring. My portion of the repair was $326. I feel Chrysler should reimburse me for my out of pocket the repair.

- Richmond, KY, USA

problem #7

May 112009


  • 52,500 miles
Every time the fuel tank is filled on my 2005 Dodge Durango fuel sprays or flows from the fuel neck. This is a vehicle I just purchased used and has done it every time I have filled it. The vehicle has no evidence of ever being in a collision or having any damage to the undercarriage. Looking online I found a similar recall for the year and model but mine according to my local dealer is not included under the recall. NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000.

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #6

Jan 012009


  • 57,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While adding fuel to the vehicle, the gas tank began losing fuel. The failure occured numerous times while adding fuel to it's capacity. NHTSA campaign id #'s 09V003000 and 05V034000 are related to the failure; however, the VIN is not. The contact is aware of the safety risk during a fuel leak. The current mileage was 58,900 and failure mileage was 57,000.

- Streator, IL, USA

problem #5

Oct 122008

Durango 8-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that gasoline overflows from the tank when fueling the vehicle. The gas pump will click as if the vehicle is filled, but then gasoline will spill out. The contact scheduled an appointment with the dealer to determine the cause of the failure. The failure mileage was 58,000. 4/01/09 upadted 04/07/09.

- Shoreview, MN, USA

problem #4

Nov 192008

Durango 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when the fuel tank is full, a gush of gasoline spews from the vehicle. The dealer stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly), although the symptoms were identical. The vehicle has not been repaired. The contact would have to be responsible for the repair costs. The failure mileage was 42,000 and current mileage was 42,500. Updated 03/23/09. Updated 03/24/09.

- Derby, CT, USA

problem #3

Nov 272008

Durango 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Whenever I fill my vehicle with gasoline it sprays back out of the tank. This started to occur in November and happens every time I fill it. It was repaired at a Dodge dealer by replacing the gas tank. They said there was a recall back in 2005 for this and again in 2009 but was told my car was included. Updated 03/03/09.

- Darien, IL, USA

problem #2

Mar 032005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
Engine stalled about 5 different times while slowing down. She started vehicle and it died while she was sitting still. Dealer did not know what the cause of the problem was, and they didn't know if it will be covered by the warranty. Manufacturer has not been contacted yet. Update 11/15/ complained about vehicle stalling. Manufacturer's recall of fuel tank, and airbag light problem. In regard to stalling, the contact was told by the dealership that the stalling problem could not be repeated by service technicians and that no codes were available after computer diagnosis. Then, was told to start vehicle when it stalls the next time and have it towed directly to the dealership. In this way, they would be able to obtain the code for the problem. Also, they told the contact that the idle wasn't correct and they adjusted it appropriately. Concerning the fuel tank recall, after recall service was performed, the fuel tank was replaced. Finally the driver's side airbag light would come on and stay on during vehicle operation. The dealership investigated it and found a wire problem which they repaired.

- Valley City, OH, USA

problem #1

May 282005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30 miles
Ever since I purchased my 2005 Dodge Durango in may, 2005, I have been unable to completely fill the gas tank. While attempting to fill the tank, the gas gets backed up in the stem to the tank, and it shuts off the gas pump. This makes it virtually impossible to tell when the gas tank is truly full or if it is just backed up in the filler stem to the tank. I brought the vehicle in for service to the dealer where I purchased it, and was told there was an "E-vamp" leak in the tank. This was fixed and I was told the tank was also fixed and ready for normal filling. As soon as I left the dealer, I tried to fill the tank, but it was not fixed. I immediately informed the service person, who was still there. I again brought the vehicle in for service, and the fuel tank was replaced. (after bringing the service technician for a ride to the gas pump so he could see what the problem was.) the vehicle was given back to me with a new fuel tank, and the problem still exists.

- Fanwood, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?