Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,504 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Durango accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Durango Owner Comments

problem #13

Feb 022012


  • miles


The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the dealer indicated that the instrument cluster was replaced twice before the contact owned the vehicle. The contact stated that the internal lighting remained illuminated and the doors locked with no warning. The failures occurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they replaced the instrument cluster six times. A mechanic at the dealer stated that there was an internal electrical failure that kept recurring. The manufacturer was notified of the failed component and provided no remedy. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 09/01/15

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #12

May 152013


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the lights in the instrument panel and the radio failed to operate sporadically. The contact stated that once the failure occured, the seat belt warning light illuminated and did not shut off until the vehicle was turned off. The failure recurred on various occasions. The contact mentioned that the instrument cluster was previously repaired in 2007. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician verified that the instrument cluster was faulty. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #11

Apr 152008

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Purchased 2006 Dodge Durango June, 2007 August, 2007-vehicle started violently jerking -engine light came on-was told it was the cam sensor. Instrument cluster also defective and replaced. Electrical problem, causing door locks to malfunction replaced. December 6, 2007, car jerking again-engine light came on - drove it to the dealership - was told it was the transmission- front pump and torque converter replaced. December 18, 2007 mileage not reading accurately-told that the instrument cluster that was installed in August was "faulty?. replaced again. January 2, 2008, vehicle violently jerking again- dying in the road, if over 40mph. Engine light on-dealer replaced the cam sensor. -very hesitant that my car was become a threat. February 22, 2008, vehicle jerking, then died on the road at 45mph -able to start it, drove to the dealer-was told it was the PCM. PCM replaced -cam sensor also. Complained to Chrysler, trying to get answers for this ?lemon?. was told this time that they were 100% they fixed the problem. Dealer gave me written ?good will? extended warranty on my vehicle for 5,000 extra miles. April 15, 2008. Traveling 45mph- car started violently jerking again and died in the middle of the highway. Power steering gone- struggled to veer of and slow down, losing control. This time, a bus was behind me and swerved, laid on the horn and avoided hitting me. Was able to make it to the shoulder of the road-called the dealership. Towed my car. Have had enough of this vehicle -will not put my family in danger one more time!!!!. need to be free and clear of all financial responsibility of this car. Dealer now tells me that they are ?hard-wiring? the PCM directly to the cam sensor. They told me that there is a ?glitch" within the wiring that they will simply bypass by putting in a direct connection, thus manipulating original wiring codes.. I will not put myself and 3 children in this situation again, and refuse to pick up my vehicle!

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #10

Mar 072007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles


The contact leases a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V092000 (electrical system: Instrument panel). The dealer performed the recall repair; however, all of the instrument panel warning lights illuminated one week later. After the failure, the vehicle would accelerate or decelerate automatically and the ignition switch would not engage. One on occasion, the engine continued to run when the key was removed from the ignition. The dealer could not duplicate the failures. The contact filed a formal complaint with the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 15,000 and current mileage was 25,000. Updated 01-14-08. The consumer stated that the vehicle starts on occasion and after started will not go into gear. Updated 01/14/08

- Florence, AL, USA

problem #9

Mar 282007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact leases a 2006 Dodge Durango. The vehicle has been to the dealer several times for NHTSA campaign id number 07V092000 (electrical system: Instrument panel); however, the failure has not been corrected. The vehicle constantly fails to start, accelerates on its own, and the cruise control does not work. The dealer continues to state that there are no failures. The manufacturer agreed with the dealer and would not provide any assistance. The current mileage was 28,000 and failure mileage was 15,000. Updated 01/17/08 the vehicle repeatedly does not start and sometimes when the vehicle does start it does not go into gear and once the key is removed from the ignition the vehicle still continues to run. Updated 01/11/08

- Florence, AL, USA

problem #8

Feb 172007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
There are several recalls on 2006 Dodge Durango but my VIN # does not show up for any recalls. But I am having the recall problems that are listed below * recall id# 07V092000 - electrical system: Instrument panel *recall id# 06V039000 - visibility:windshield wiper/washer:switch/wiring *recall id# 06V067000 - visibility:windshield wiper/washer:motor recall id# 06V044000 - air bags recall id# 06V240000 - suspension:rear recall id# 05V554000 - service brakes, hydraulic:antilock:control unit/module the ones with the * are the major problems that I am having, I drive me truck every night to work and am afraid I will have an accident. I would also like for the other recalls to be checked as well. I have taken truck back to dealer two times and have gotten no results, but I'm still having encountering the problems. On 12/3/07 I called 1-800 # and was told they would get back to me. Haven't heard from them.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #7

Sep 192007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,649 miles


Just left my home not driving more than 30 mph when the engine light came on and I lost complete power. Was towed to the dealer where I purchased it and they did a "PCM reflash with an instrument panel software update" they also replaced the cluster. Now 2 and half months later, I haved moved out of state and once again just leaving my house not going above 30 mph and the same thing happens again. Engine light comes on and I lose power, I was barely able to turn the wheel enough to get the vehicle on the side of the road. I was able to start the car again within a couple minutes and safely return home (it was dark), however the engine light was still on and it felt as though it would loose power again, like I was driving with the parking brake on. Also on my drive here from California (to Indiana) I lost my cruise control. This second incident happend tonight and will have to be towed to Dodge dealer tomorrow.

- Jeffersonville, IN, USA

problem #6

Jun 212007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact took her vehicle to be repaired under recall # 9378792861. After the repair was performed, the contact stated that the vehicle began to stall. The dealer has had the vehicle since June 21, 2007 and has been unable to determine the cause of failure. The dealer performed a diagnostic, which caused them to place 50 miles per day on the vehicle in an attempt to locate the cause of failure. The dealer even asked if one of the technicians could take the vehicle home. The recall number that was provided could not be located. The current and failure mileages were 7,000.

- Fairbourne, OH, USA

problem #5

Jul 022006

Durango 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact awoke to the smell of smoke, looked out her window, and noticed her entire garage in flames. The fire spread throughout the entire three story home and killed the family cat. Three vehicles were also destroyed: A 2006 Durango, 1996 Grand Am, and a 2001 Ford Taurus. She spoke with Dodge to find out if the fire was caused by the Durango, but Dodge ruled out that possibility. This was an issue raised by investigators. The contact later saw on the news that there was a recall for the Durango. On May 30, 2007, she received recall notice # 07V092000 (electrical system: Instrument panel). The # of cylinders was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 6,000. Updated 7/9/15 updated 9/18/15

- Hastings, MI, USA

problem #4

Jul 072006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,340 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. Since the vehicle was purchased, it has stalled a dozen times. The vehicle has stalled while traveling 40 mph on a major highway as well as local streets. The contact stated that the vehicle is now in the shop. The dealer has replaced the part several times, but the failure persists. The contact is referring to nhsta recall # 07V092000 (electrical system: Instrument panel). The current mileage is 7,100 and failure mileage was 1,340.

- Auburn, WA, USA

problem #3

May 182007

Durango 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles


2006 Dodge Durango, 6,000 miles on vehicle. Vehicle has had rust covering the power steering pump for about 4 months. Dealer (mcbrayer Chrysler, aberdeen N.C.) notified of problem at 3,000 miles. Service manager made a note of problem and stated that he would change pump but he didn"T have part in stock. Contacted same dealer at 6,000 miles for recall on electrical and inquired about also changing power steering pump when doing recall repair. Dealer stated that the rusted power steering pump would not be covered by warranty.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #2

Mar 012007


  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that a recall was available for the vehicle, but was unable to get it repaired. The current and failure mileage were 19,000.

- Zachary, LA, USA

problem #1

Oct 202006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,068 miles
: the contact stated while driving 20 mph, upon turning either direction, the steering wheel locked and the engine stalled. Additionally, the engine and air bag lights illuminated. The vehicle was restarted immediately. This occurred intermittently. The vehicle was driven to the dealer who could not diagnose the problem. Updated 12/01/06.

- Bronx, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?