Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,451 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 10 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #194

Jan 302011

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I fill up the gas tank gas will spew out of the filler tube right as the fuel shuts off. This happens more in warmer weather but can happen any time. Will do it most times unless shutting the fuel pump off before the tank is fuel. The gas will shot out, possible up to 1/8 of a gallon.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #193

Feb 162009

Durango

  • 34,000 miles
On February 16, 2009 I was filling the fuel tank on my 2006 Dodge Durango. I had the dispenser handle depressed, by hand, to fill the tank; the fuel nozzle did not have a catch to keep the handle depressed. The automatic fuel cutoff on the dispenser functioned and stopped the flow of fuel once the tank was full. Within a second or two fuel came gushing out of the tank, spilling onto the side of the vehicle and onto the ground. Luckily I was standing off to the side and not directly in front of the fuel tank filler neck, otherwise I would have been soaked in gasoline. I would estimate 1/4 to 1/2 of a gallon of gas came out of the fuel tank. I thought it might have been the dispenser, but this has happened numerous times at many different gas stations since. In an effort to prevent this, I slow down the rate of fuel flow to where barely any fuel is being dispensed, when I believe the tank is near full. Sometimes I am able to stop the flow in time and there is no spillage. Other times the fuel gushes out of the tank spilling onto the side of the vehicle and onto the ground as it has done before. After researching on the internet I see there are many other instances of this occurring for 2006 Dodge Durango's and other year models of the Durango. I found a recall for a limited number of 2005 Dodge Durango's for the same problem I have, but there has not been a recall of the 2006 Durango to date. There are many other reported incidents of this occurring: While this has not cause a fire or serious damage to date, had there been a spark or static electricity at the time this occurred, this would have certainly endangered not only myself, but my family and every one else at the filling station.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #192

Nov 202009

Durango

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated during refueling, the automatic fuel nozzle shuts off, and the fuel would spray out of the fuel tank filler neck onto his clothing and ground. The spillage consisted of approximately one gallon of fuel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they informed that the fuel tank assembly would need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact stated that there was a recall on the 2005 model related to the similar defect under NHTSA campaign id numbers 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly: Filler pipe and cap); and 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly). The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Green, OH, USA

problem #191

Dec 152008

Durango

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drive to any gas station, with gas gauge on anywhere from empty to a quarter full. Insert gas pump nozzle into vehicle with normal care. Start to pump gas. Activate the "no hands" lever. When the tank is full, the pump automatically stops. A few seconds later, a significant amount of gas burps back out of the vehicle. Enough fuel is spilled to wash all down the side of the vehicle and splash onto the operator. An ignition source would cause quite a fire. This spill has happened regularly for a few years and the only way to prevent it is to intentionally stop the pump before the tank is full. This is not an operator issue - it happens to whomever pumps the gas, at any gas station. It has happened for a few years. As I searched the internet for the repair, I see a large number of identical complaints, and even videos with the exact issue. So I finally decided to add my voice to the mix.

- Zeeland, MI, USA

problem #190

Jan 022010

Durango

  • 75,000 miles
Fuel over-spills when filling tank.

- Woodland, CA, USA

problem #189

Jul 012010

Durango

  • 60,000 miles
I own a 2006 Dodge Durango that I purchased new. After reaching 60,000 miles, the fuel system began overfilling and spilling out on the ground. At first it was only occasionally but now it does it every time I refuel. When the pump shuts off, a strong burst of gasoline sprays out of the tank. I have read online that many other people have this same problem. There should be a recall on this defective fuel system.

- Paragould, AR, USA

problem #188

Nov 012010

Durango

  • 5,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. While the contact was adding gasoline to the vehicle it began to spill out of the fuel tank. The failure recurred whenever the full tank was full. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and an authorized dealer who stated that he needed to replace the fuel tank. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 51,000 and the current mileage was 56,600. Updated 03/10/11 updated 12/14/11

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #187

Nov 102010

Durango

  • 68,000 miles
My 2006 Durango has 70,000 miles on it. In the past few weeks, my wife reported to me on three occasions that when she fills up the gas tank, the gas comes spewing out all over the ground, car, gas pump and anything else within a few feet of the nozzle. I witnessed it for myself yesterday. Unbelievably dangerous! I've done some research and found out that the 2005 model of the same vehicle has had a recall for this same issue. I found many people describing the same problem on 2006 Durangos. This safety issue needs to be addressed immediately before someone gets hurt (or worse). Why hasn't the NHTSA done anything about this? I've heard estimates of $600-$900 for me to pay for the repair. Dodge should pay for this wide-spread safety issue.

- Muncie, IN, USA

problem #186

Dec 262010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Durango limited which upon filling with gasoline will overflow instead of cutting off when full. The fuel will shoot out of the opening on the vehicle causing a potential fire hazard. This has been happening now for awhile.

- Fargo, ND, USA

problem #185

Sep 092010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
On four separate occasions, I filled my gas tank and gas came shooting out of the tank once the shutoff valve clicked off. It sprayed all over my clothes, down the side of the car and onto the concrete. At first I thought it was a faulty gas pump, but it happened at four different gas stations. I learned later that I would have to replace the fuel assembly at my own cost. I know I don't feel safe filling up my gas tank knowing I might get covered with gas and possibly be near an ignition source.

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #184

Jan 072011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At the end of refueling the vehicle will have a burst of gasoline that sprays out of the fuel neck and soaks the side of the vehicle as well as the ground and the person refueling if they are standing next to the vehicle. Same as recall campaign for the year prior (05V034000).

- Gresham, OR, USA

problem #183

Nov 022010

Durango

  • 56,000 miles
Filling the gas tank results in fuel being blown back out of the fill.

- Syosset, NY, USA

problem #182

Jan 062011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Fuel sprayed out of the filler tube after filling the tank to full and nozzle clicked off. This has happened on multiple occasions. I no longer fill up all the way to prevent any more overflows and potential fires. Problem is same as 2005 recall but dealer will not repair without a recall for 2006 Durango.

- Janesville, WI, USA

problem #181

Dec 312010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Durango with approximately 51,000 miles. When I fill the fuel tank, gasoline gushes out of the fuel opening within a second or two after the pump shuts off. This happens every time I refuel starting a few months ago. It is the same thing that the 2005 Durangos were recalled for. It is a very dangerous situation for which Dodge should be help accountable. The 2005 recall NHTSA campaign number: 09V003000 and 09V003000 is the exact same issue that Dodge and NHTSA is obviously aware of. My research shows that hundreds of complaints have been made about this issue. Please take the necessary action for a recall.

- Delaware, OH, USA

problem #180

Oct 152010

Durango

  • 42,000 miles
The fuel tank inlet check valve has stuck in the open position. This results in a safety hazard whereby upon filling the gas tank, gas sprays back out of the filler tube on to the person filling the gas. If this occurs in the presence of an ignition source, a significant fire/explosion could occur. The same issue resulted in a recall on 2005 Dodge Durango vehicles (NHTSA campaign no. 09V-003 (H45). In reference to the recall and associated documents, Chrysler's recall for the fuel tank issue was estimated by Chrysler to impact less than 20% of vehicles included in the recall, but in reality, in excess of 50% of vehicles inspected required repair (per the 9/30/10 Chrysler recall quarterly report). Please review the following clip as this appears to be an issue with the model year 2007 as well. (www.youtube.com/watch?V=fs5U63cn-II)

- Lancaster, NY, USA

problem #179

Nov 032010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Fuel sprayed out of the filler tube after filling the tank to full and nozzle clicked off. This has happened on several occasions. I no longer fill up all the way to prevent any more overflows and potential fires. Problem is same as 2005 recall but dealer will not repair without a recall for 2006 Durango.

- Huntingdon Valley, PA, USA

problem #178

Jun 302010

Durango

  • 61,000 miles
References recall NHTSA campaign number 09V003000 for 2005 Dodge Durango fuel system. My 2006 Dodge Durango has the same defect as listed in the 2005 recall. A local Dodge dealer has inspected and confirmed the defected fuel system gasoline and storage tank assembly in my Durango. Dodge will not cover the total cost of this safety repair since there is not a recall on the 2006 and Dodge told me to file a complaint with the NHTSA. I am urging the NHTSA to re-elevate the 300+ complaints and extend the recall to the 2006 Durango and others. My 2006 Durango fuel system defect began in June 2010 with the most recent hazardous incident occurring in December 2010. The shut off seems to have declined to the point that the gas now sprays out of the tank. This is a very serious and dangerous safety matter. I became covered in gasoline as the gas sprayed like a hose out onto my coat and hair. My hair later touched my eye and my eye was stinging from where the gas must have touched my contact lens. My daughter was with me at the time and we both had to smell the potent fumes from the gas on my clothes. I had to throw my fleece coat in the trash. I am fortunate I did not come in contact with a spark or it would have caught my clothes on fire. The potential hazard of cold weather and static electricity is a reality with gasoline. I am alarmed that Dodge would not submit a recall on the affected vehicles after 2005. This is a safety matter that Dodge needs to address. I cannot fill my Durango gas tank to the full mark without the eruption of gas coming from the tank. It started out as a spillage but now it spills and sprays out. Other owners should be warned so that a fire, serious injury or death does not occur.

- Tiverton, RI, USA

problem #177

Jan 032011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
There is a problem with the fuel filling in 2006 Dodge Durango's. when filling, fuel backwashes out of the fuel opening after the pump stops fueling. This overspill occurs every time, and also times when I try to stop fueling before the tank is full. It is dangerous, and needs to be addressed. It started a few months ago. I don't fill the Durango very often (I don't drive it much), but started to occur last year.

- Broomfield, CO, USA

problem #176

Jan 012011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Durango and when you fill the fuel tank, fuel gushes out of the pipe when the pump shuts off. This happens every time. It is the same thing that the 2005 Durangos were recalled for. I'd like mine recalled. 2005 recall NHTSA campaign number: 09V003000 and 09V003000. The fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve may not fully close at the end of refueling. This could allow some fuel to escape from the vehicle through the filler neck at the end of refueling.

- Columbia, PA, USA

problem #175

Dec 092010

Durango

  • 55,000 miles
2006 Dodge Durango overflows fuel when filling to full status. I currently stop filling vehicle to avoid the spill of fuel and not getting all over my clothing. This happens on every occurrence when filling vehicle.

- Forest, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?