Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,625 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Apr 072010

Durango 6-cyl

  • miles


This problem started when the vehicle was about 3 1/2 years old. It did not do this from the beginning of ownership. When fueling the car, if you attempt to fill it up completely, there is always a back splash of fuel splashing out of the fuel tank and onto the car, pavement and of course, the person filling up the car. I am never able to completely fill up the car because of this. Also, when this happens, there is a chance of a fire occurring. Not safe at all. My research found that 2005 Dodge Durangos were recalled for this same problem (campaign id number 05V034000), yet nothing has ever been done to fix the same issue with 2006 models. Please do something about this problem!

- Boerne, TX, USA

problem #22

Feb 082012


  • miles
While fueling the car at the gas station I keep continuing to have back-flow of gas when filling up. It is happening every-time and I think this is not a safe thing to have gas coming flying back out and getting over the ground. This is a real safety hazard. I have found there is a lot of issues with the 2005 models and now the 2006's are having the same problem. The inquiry is RQ08005 and the recall is 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline storage tank assembly filler pipe and cap). We need to pressure them to fix this issue for all the Durango's.

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #21

Dec 142011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel would spill out from the filler neck whenever the vehicle was refueled to capacity. The failure had not been diagnosed or repaired. The dealer was made aware of the constant failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 93,000. Updated 03/05/12 the consumer stated a recall was issued for the 2005 models, but did not issue a recall for the 2006-2008 models which have the same problem. Updated 03/07/12

- Washington, IL, USA

problem #20

Jul 012009

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while refueling the vehicle, fuel spilled to the ground abnormally. The dealer was contacted and advised the contact that the vehicle was not under recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 47,000 and the current mileage was 62,000. Updated 01/24/12

- New Leipzig, ND, USA

problem #19

Dec 312010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Dear NHTSA, your website lists some 300 or more complaints regarding this vehicle and problem described below. Please move to force a solution from Chrysler before tragedy strikes! 2005 Durangos have been recalled for this exact same problem and it obviously continued in the 2006 models. Thanks. My 2006 Dodge Durango limited began having issues with the fuel tank over a year ago. Every time I fill up the tank, after the nozzle automatically shuts off, gas spews back out of the car onto me and the exterior of the vehicle. And the serb. I called Chrysler about the issue but they (Chrysler) said they were choosing not to assist in replacing the fuel tank, and at this time has not recalled for this safety issue.

- Delaware, OH, USA

problem #18

Jul 012011

Durango 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Durango that has a safety issue. When I fill up, the gas pressure builds up in the tank and spurts out all over. I can actually hear it start gurgling in the tank. I have been covered with gasoline on a several occasions. The first few times, I thought maybe it was something I had done, or the gas pump where I was filling. But I recently went on 2 trips from fl to NY and back and it happened almost every fill up on both trips within a month, as well as fill ups in between and as I stated, some prior to. This created several hazardous situations. Gasoline on my person and clothing, inhalation of the fumes causing illness, gasoline on my vehicle, gasoline on the pavement at the gas pumps. I have seen several posts online about my exact problem since it happened. One person is personally documenting cases. He has over 120 + cases he is aware of, not including mine, this year alone. This is the first step I have taken at this point, as I feel this should be a recall issue if it is happening with such frequency. These are the documented cases just through one person online, which leads me to believe that there are many other cases not documented. Not to mention people who don't fill their tanks all the way who may have the issue and do not even know it. Does somebody have to be burned or otherwise injured, overcome by the fumes first" how many instances must occur before it becomes a true safety concern? does my child need to fill the tank and maybe swallow the gasoline that spurts out" please let me know if anything is in the works. The one individual says he was initially looking at a $350 repair bill that was then lowered to $100 and then offered free due to his complaints. I agree with him, it looks like they want to pay him off to shut him up. Meanwhile they make money off what is obviously a manufacturer's defect. I have never seen this problem before and I have had many vehicles with many problems. This one is unique and is a safety issue.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #17

Jun 202011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 30,000 miles


2006 Dodge Durango spews fuel when trying to fill up tank. Have checked online and this is a big problem. The Durango was recalled in 2005 for this same issue.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #16

Feb 142010

Durango 8-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that whenever he fueled the vehicle, fuel would pour back out. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the check valve needed to be replaced. The contact called the manufacturer who advised him to take the vehicle to the dealer. The failure mileage was 82,000. Updated 03/08/11 updated 03/23/11 updated 1/4/11

- Bedford, IN, USA

problem #15

Feb 082011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Gas spills from vehicle when we stop refilling the vehicle. It surges from the tank due to a defective check valve. Gas spills on the vehicle and ground, creating an extreme safety hazard. There is a recall (NHTSA campaign id number: 05V034000) for this problem, but Chrysler has excluded our vehicle from the recall even though we are having the exact same problem. There are hundreds of examples of other people having the same problem, but Chrysler refuses to fix any but the few vehicles included in the recall. Chrysler just advised us to get the problem fixed on our own, send them the bill, and they will consider repaying us. This is not right. Chrysler knows they have this problem, but are evidently doing everything they can to not fix our vehicle, along with thousands of other similarly affected vehicles. The NHTSA should widen the recall, as this is a serious defect that could cause serious fire and environmental damage.

- Eureka Springs, AR, USA

problem #14

Jan 072011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
At the end of refueling the vehicle will have a burst of gasoline that sprays out of the fuel neck and soaks the side of the vehicle as well as the ground and the person refueling if they are standing next to the vehicle. Same as recall campaign for the year prior (05V034000).

- Gresham, OR, USA

problem #13

Mar 102010


  • 56,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated when refueling the vehicle, the gasoline would spew back out from the fuel tank filler tube. The contact stated the filler tube inlet valve was defective and was able to locate an unknown recall pertaining to the failure. The dealer advised the contacts vehicle was not included in the recall. He did not contact the manufacturer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure and current mileages were 56,000.

- Tavares, FL, USA

problem #12

May 132010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 27,225 miles
I purchased a 2006 Dodge Durango 4X4 limited with a 5.7L V8 on 13 May 2010. On three separate occasions from 13-26 may, the valve assembly failed to close on the gas tank filler pipe while refueling resulting in fuel overflow and spillage. This is the same problem that has been identified in the 2005 model year for Durangos in NHTSA campaign id number: 05V034000. After checking this website and Dodge's, no recalls for this defect exist for my VIN.

- Triangle, VA, USA

problem #11

Apr 262010


  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. When the contact filled the fuel tank, he noticed fuel would suddenly shoot from the filler neck. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 34,000. The current mileage was approximately 44,000

- Lenexa, KS, USA

problem #10

Oct 152006


  • 150 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated when filling the fuel tank with gasoline, approximately half a quart of fuel would spew back out of the vehicle filler tube. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where he was advised repairs to the vehicle would be at his own expense. The manufacturer was previously notified of the failure but would not offer any assistance. The approximate failure mileage was 150. The approximate current mileage was 7,000.

- College Point, NY, USA

problem #9

Mar 052010


  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact noticed that every time he filled the fuel tank, the fuel would shoot back out the tank when it was full. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where the contact was informed that the fuel tank needed to be replaced. He called the manufacturer and filed a complaint but did not receive any additional assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired and the VIN was unavailable when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was approximately 32,000. The current mileage was approximately 33,000.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #8

Dec 152009


  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. Upon filling the fuel tank with gasoline, the gasoline would often spew back out of the filler neck. The vehicle failure was not diagnosed by a dealer nor was the manufacturer contacted. The contact stated that he had experienced the failure since the vehicle was purchased. The current and failure mileages were 41,000.

- Worthington, OH, USA

problem #7

Feb 012010


  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated while filling the vehicle with fuel, gas spit out of the tank splashing on the gas on the contact. The contact noticed a recall regarding the fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap for the 2005 model Durango but not for the 2006 model. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the issue with the fuel system and the manufacturer informed the contact that there was no recall for the 2006 model, and he would be responsible for the repairs. The contact stated this is a safety issue that could result in a fire. The failure mileage was 62,000.

- Brentwood, NY, USA

problem #6

Feb 112007


  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. While dispensing fuel into the fuel tank to its capacity, the fuel began to spray out continuously. The driver stated that the fuel spilled onto his shirt sleeve. There was no personal injury. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The technician was unable to locate the problem which there was no resolutions. The vehicle has not been repaired for the malfunction. The contact had concern of the potential safety hazard. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- New Bern , NC, USA

problem #5

Feb 262010

(reported on)


  • miles
2006 Dodge Durango has a fuel issue the consumer stated after filling the gas tank, gas would shoot out of the filler tube. The consumer stated the 2005 models were recalled, but not the 2006 even though it has the same problem. Updated 03/04/10.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #4

Feb 212010


  • 75,000 miles
Gasoline spits out of fuel filler neck on 2006 Dodge hemi Durango whenever the tank is filled. Vehicle purchased new in June 2006. Fuel spillage issue began in approximately June 2009 at about 75,000 miles. I have cleaned all of the vents and filler tubes to no avail. Problem continues. Identical to failures recalled by campaigns 05V034000 and 09V003000 which claimed the problem had been resolved by a manufacturing change to the fuel inlet check valve.

- Slaughter, LA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?