Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,917 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Oct 202011

Durango 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Anytime we fill the Durango and gas comes back out when the nozzle is removed. There is so much gas that comes out that we have to clean it up from the ground and it has caused bubbles in the paint which have resulted in surface rust. Dealer that we purchased from checked the vehicle and told us there was a clogged filter. We got the filters replaced and when my husband filled it up today 6/26/2012 he said at least 1/2 gallon of gas came back out of the car. This is a dangerous issue because it is leaving gas all on the ground. The only way we can keep the gas from coming out is to remove the nozzle after every single gallon. The fuel sensor inside the car will even register full at 16 gallons of gas when the tank is 26 gallons. We are wasting all kinds of money from the gas coming up, cost of repairing the paint and removing rust and the money we spent on replacing filters that have made this issue worse. This is a serious problem that needs to be fixed. It was fixed in 2005 vehicles but nothing for 2006 and higher even though the problem has not been fixed. Some Dodge dealerships are even calling owners liars saying they have never heard of any issue like this or any recalls ever for this type of issue. Someone needs to make Dodge responsible for fixing this issue. The gas that spills is going to end up causing a fire and killing people one of these days.

- Maxwell, NE, USA

problem #22

Nov 012011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Gasoline spits back from the gas tank every time that the vehicle is filled up. The check value is defective and could easily start a fire during the fill-up because it does not properly shut off. I can not completely fill up my gas tank without the danger of spraying gasoline everywhere at the gas station. A tsb was issued, but it does not cover my VIN.

- Eagle Mountain, UT, USA

problem #21

Dec 122011

Durango

  • 61,000 miles
When the gas tank reaches full or nearly full the fuel "burps" out spilling a significant amount of fuel to the side of the vehicle and on the ground. This is nearly 100% of the time. This may be caused by the fuel tank inlet check valve not closing properly this creates a risk of fire and is likely the same issue as the 2005 Durango that has a recall for this reason.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #20

Dec 142011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel would spill out from the filler neck whenever the vehicle was refueled to capacity. The failure had not been diagnosed or repaired. The dealer was made aware of the constant failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 93,000. Updated 03/05/12 the consumer stated a recall was issued for the 2005 models, but did not issue a recall for the 2006-2008 models which have the same problem. Updated 03/07/12

- Washington, IL, USA

problem #19

Oct 192011

Durango 8-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that during refueling, fuel would leak from the tank abnormally. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the vehicle but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 51,000 and the current mileage was 59,125. Updated 11/16/11 updated 11/18/11

- Gary, TX, USA

problem #18

Feb 142010

Durango 8-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that whenever he fueled the vehicle, fuel would pour back out. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the check valve needed to be replaced. The contact called the manufacturer who advised him to take the vehicle to the dealer. The failure mileage was 82,000. Updated 03/08/11 updated 03/23/11 updated 1/4/11

- Bedford, IN, USA

problem #17

Dec 312010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2006 Dodge Durango with approximately 51,000 miles. When I fill the fuel tank, gasoline gushes out of the fuel opening within a second or two after the pump shuts off. This happens every time I refuel starting a few months ago. It is the same thing that the 2005 Durangos were recalled for. It is a very dangerous situation for which Dodge should be help accountable. The 2005 recall NHTSA campaign number: 09V003000 and 09V003000 is the exact same issue that Dodge and NHTSA is obviously aware of. My research shows that hundreds of complaints have been made about this issue. Please take the necessary action for a recall.

- Delaware, OH, USA

problem #16

Jan 012011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Durango and when you fill the fuel tank, fuel gushes out of the pipe when the pump shuts off. This happens every time. It is the same thing that the 2005 Durangos were recalled for. I'd like mine recalled. 2005 recall NHTSA campaign number: 09V003000 and 09V003000. The fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve may not fully close at the end of refueling. This could allow some fuel to escape from the vehicle through the filler neck at the end of refueling.

- Columbia, PA, USA

problem #15

Jul 052010

Durango

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. While adding fuel it began to spill out of the fuel tank. The failure recurred whenever he added fuel to the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where he was informed that they needed to replace the fuel tank. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure continued to occur. The failure mileage was 47,000 and the current mileage was 52,000.

- Glen Rock, PA, USA

problem #14

Jul 172009

Durango

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that anytime fuel was added to the vehicle, it shoots back out from the gas tank. The vehicle had not been inspected at the time of the complaint, but the contact feels this was very similar to recall campaign number 09V003000, which deals with the fuel system tank filler tube inlet check valve not fully closing on the 2005 model. The VIN was not available at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 30000 and the current mileage was 55000.

- Jamestown, NY, USA

problem #13

Jan 012010

Durango

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated when refueling the vehicle, fuel would spew back out from the filler neck. The contact was able to locate a recall in relation to the failure (NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000: Fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly) yet when contacting the manufacturer, he was informed that his VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for repairs or diagnostic testing. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 55,000.

- Columbus , IN, USA

problem #12

Mar 032010

Durango

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated when fueling the vehicle, the filler tube inlet valve would not close fully. The dealer advised replacing the fuel tank assembly at the owners expense. The manufacturer advised they would offer the contact $100 toward repairs and if refused, they would not authorize the dealer to replace the fuel tank. The VIN was unknown and the failure mileage was 55,000.

- Temple , TX, USA

problem #11

Apr 162010

Durango

  • 54,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the fuel would overflow from the fuel tank before the pump shut off whenever he filled the vehicle. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was approximately 56,000. The failure mileage was approximately 54,500.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #10

Feb 282010

Durango

  • 46,800 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Durango and when you fill the fuel tank, fuel gushes out of the pipe when the pump shuts off. This happens every time. It is the same thing that the 2005 Durangos were recalled for. I'd like mine recalled. 2005 recall NHTSA campaign number: 09V003000 and09V003000. The fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve may not fully close at the end of refueling. This could allow some fuel to escape from the vehicle through the filler neck at the end of refueling.

- Morton, IL, USA

problem #9

Feb 262010

(reported on)

Durango

  • miles
2006 Dodge Durango has a fuel issue the consumer stated after filling the gas tank, gas would shoot out of the filler tube. The consumer stated the 2005 models were recalled, but not the 2006 even though it has the same problem. Updated 03/04/10.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #8

Feb 142010

Durango

  • 46,600 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Durango and when you fill the fuel tank, fuel gushes out of the pipe when the pump shuts off. This happens every time. It is the same thing that the 2005 Durangos were recalled for. 2005 recall NHTSA campaign number: 09V003000 and 09V003000. The fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve may not fully close at the end of refueling. This could allow some fuel to escape from the vehicle through the filler neck at the end of refueling.

- Morton, IL, USA

problem #7

Feb 112010

Durango

  • 43,000 miles
Make: Dodge model: Durango year: 2006 complaint number: 10308443 summary: I have a 2006 Dodge Durango and when you fill the fuel tank, fuel gushes out of the pipe when the pump shuts off. This happens every time. It is the same thing that the 2005 Durangos were recalled for. I'd like mine recalled. 2005 recall NHTSA campaign number: 09V003000 and 09V003000. The fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve may not fully close at the end of refueling. This could allow some fuel to escape from the vehicle through the filler neck at the end of refueling.

- North East, MD, USA

problem #6

Feb 072010

Durango

  • 46,200 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Durango and when you fill the fuel tank, fuel gushes out of the pipe when the pump shuts off. This happens every time. It is the same thing that the 2005 Durangos were recalled for. I'd like mine recalled. 2005 recall NHTSA campaign number: 09V003000 and09V003000. The fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve may not fully close at the end of refueling. This could allow some fuel to escape from the vehicle through the filler neck at the end of refueling.

- Morton, IL, USA

problem #5

Oct 012009

Durango

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. The contact observed an excessive amount of fuel spillage from the fuel tank. The failure occurred whenever fuel was dispensed into the fuel tank, followed by fuel spraying out of the tank. The fuel nozzle stopped when the tank was full with fuel continuously spraying out of the tank. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician recommended the fuel tank be replaced. The vehicle has not been repaired for the malfunction. There was concern of the potential safety hazard. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #4

Jan 012010

Durango 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Durango. Whenever fuel was added to the vehicle it flowed out of the vehicle. The gasoline fill sensor failed to shut off. There were no related recalls. No repairs were made to the vehicle to date. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 56,000. Updated 03/01/10 the consumer referenced recall # 09V003000. Updated 06/28/10

- Statsburg, PA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?