Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The third generation Durango is plagued by a defective TIPM, particularily in the 2011 and 2012 model years.

TIPM, which stands for Totally Integrated Power Modules, is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when your TIPM goes haywire, bad things start happening. Things like your water pump can stop working, your engine can stall out and your airbags can randomly deploy.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,158 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Durango brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

May 012014

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Saint Martinville, LA, USA

problem #15

Jun 052014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Djr

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #14

May 212014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 ( service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic ) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to service the vehicle under the recall. The dealer was uncertain when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #13

May 202014

Durango 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number 14V15400 (service brakes, hydraulic) and stated that the part needed was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. There were no failures at this time. Updated 08/27/14 updated 09/18/2014

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #12

Jul 182014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to service the vehicle under the recall. The dealer was uncertain of when the part was to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact did not experience failure.

- Gaylordsville, CT, USA

problem #11

May 222014

Durango 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Djr updated 8/27/14 updated 8/29/2014

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #10

Feb 052014

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that over the winter her service brakes were depressing to the floor and failing to properly engage intermittently. The contact took her vehicle to the dealership for diagnostic testing; however, the dealer could not duplicate the failure. Several months later, the contact received NHTSA recall campaign notice 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The dealer stated the parts were not available for repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Colombia , SC, USA

problem #9

Jun 022014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received NHTSA recall number 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The dealer informed the contact that parts were unavailable. There were no failures.

- Fort Lewis , WA, USA

problem #8

Jun 042014

Durango

  • miles
I received a safety recall notice P14 / NHTSA 14V-154 related to the brake booster on my car. I called the local dealer (tate Chrysler Dodge in glen burnie, md) to schedule a repair and was told due to parts limitations (they were only able to order 1 part every 7 days) that it would be approximately 1 year before the repair can be made because I was around number 60 on the list. This means I will have to drive the vehicle throughout the winter, which is when the part failure is most likely to occur.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #7

May 312014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Chrysler issued a safety recall for the brake booster on my vehicle and said the dealership would install a protective brake booster shield to prevent water ingestion and premature corrosion. In the letter, mailed by Chrysler, I was instructed to "contact my dealer right away to schedule a service appointment" and that the dealer would inspect my vehicle, and then either install the shield or replace the brake booster if required, free of charge. Upon receiving the letter, I contacted the service department at ziegler Chrysler Dodge Jeep at 208 w golf rd schaumburg, il 60195 (847) 882-8400. I was informed that they do not have any parts in stock and they told me the safety issue is not a problem until below freezing weather, and "that he didn't expect any below freezing weather for a while". and then he complained because every call he is getting today is about this recall. They claim to be a 5-star service dealer. Shouldn't the recall process be more coordinated with dealerships" why don't they have the shields as indicated in the recall letter" the service adviser implied that I can wait until winter before finding out if there is a problem. That doesn't seem safe.

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #6

May 192014

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the driver attempted to engage the brake pedal and the brake pedal sank to the floor at which time the vehicle failed to stop. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 42,900. Updated 10/02/14 updated 3/9/15

- Highland, MI, USA

problem #5

Apr 242014

Durango

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to respond to deceleration attempts. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The failure mileage was 38,000. Updated 06/10/14

- Streetsboro, OH, USA

problem #4

Jan 112014

Durango

  • 37,000 miles
I was the extremely proud owner of a 2011 Dodge Durango. By far the best vehicle I have ever owned. On January 11, 2014 while on our way home with our (2) children, we were heading down a mountain coming into a turn. It was foggy that night and unsure if there was ice on the road I was driving a maximum speed of 20 miles an hour. I drive this road every day, as I have for the past 25 years. When I started to apply my brakes, they locked up/grabbed at which point we started to gain speed and went directly into a guard rail ultimately totaling my vehicle. I thank all that is good in this world that no one was seriously injured, but extremely terrified and thankful that we were not going any faster. This was the worst night of my life as we stood in the middle of the night a long the road waiting for help. The psp did not show up for about 2 hours and once the tow truck got there we had to wait even longer. I have to ask myself if knowing about the possibility of brake corrosion may have prevented this accident. I know vehicles are replaceable, but as I said this was the best vehicle that I have ever had and I miss it to this day.

- Landisburg, PA, USA

problem #3

Mar 032014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Weather conditions were snowy and icy during my daily commute. While in route to my place of work I was driving down a mild incline toward a stop light which had just turned red. I was traveling at a lower speed (30 to 35 mph) due to driving conditions. Due to those icy conditions my ABS immediately kicked in as I approached the stop light. For a matter of seconds I had the brake pedal firmly depressed continuously all the way to the stop light and I could hear the typical ABS noise until my vehicle stopped. Once traffic resumed I could feel a difference in the pressure needed to apply and activate the brakes. As I continued driving the pressure I needed to apply for braking increased dramatically but with less and less response from the brakes. After only 1 additional trip I realized the need for service work and scheduled service. On my second trip after the initial incident braking became extremely difficult and the dashboard brake warning lamp came on. My third trip was to service which was scheduled and the brake booster was found to be the issue. Initially the supplying Dodge dealer had told the repair facility which diagnosed the issue that the part was unavailable but orders were being shipped soon to fill back orders. This suggested that the brake booster may be prone to some type of failure. Online research and chat indicated this to be a commonly addressed issue. I pursued this concern with Dodge customer service as a safety complaint with 2 different messages. The Dodge customer assistance center did not acknowledge this as a recognized safety issue but only as a "out-of-warranty consideration. Since ABS components are designed specifically for these types of driving conditions, safety concerns still remain regarding further ABS component failure under normal operation. I have retained the defective part.

- Howard City, MI, USA

problem #2

Oct 012013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Occasionally when braking, particularly at speeds below 35 mph, the brake pedal stiffens up and the car continues to travel despite depressing the brake pedal as hard as possible. This is a repeating problem. My concern is that eventually this could lead to a crash. I notice this problem has been reported and by others and recalls have been issued on 2012 through 2013, but my vehicle is not included because it is a 2011. This is a safety hazard and should be addressed by Chrysler immediately.

- Stow, OH, USA

problem #1

Sep 182013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
I was having troubles with the auto start. Read about a service bulletin (number: 08-024-11 rev. A) that fixes the issue with a flash reprogram however the dealership and Chrysler said that my VIN number were not affected by the issue. Then five days ago there was a fan type noise from the rear bottom of the vehicle. The fan noise stayed on all night and drained my battery. I jump started the car and it held a charge and ran fine but the fan noise never stopped. I'm being told that the fan noise is the ABS staying on because the tipm is bad. I'm sure that parts of the car staying on by themselves especially those related to the ABS module must be of some safety concern. The car not starting could be due to the fuel pump not being started by the tipm this also is concerning. The part is on a 800+ back order. So this is affecting over 800 customers. I've met one person here in my city who says he is having the same issues with the car not starting and 9 other people at his dealership are waiting on this part. Multiple posters are stating that they've been waiting over a month for a part and Chrysler is not taking responsibility. Faulty computers that keep certain components on and others off is very scary and the fact that they have 800+ back order is concerning. Not to mention that a lot of the owners are being told to drive their cars in this condition while they wait for the replacement parts. "just keep trying to start it manually until it starts". please look into this issue and make Chrysler take responsibility for this faulty product.

- Austin, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?