Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The third generation Durango is plagued by a defective TIPM, particularily in the 2011 and 2012 model years.

TIPM, which stands for Totally Integrated Power Modules, is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when your TIPM goes haywire, bad things start happening. Things like your water pump can stop working, your engine can stall out and your airbags can randomly deploy.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 19
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,354 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Durango electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 14 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Nov 272013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles


Vehicle having issues cranking, takes awhile to get it started, stalls out while driving.

- Alachua, FL, USA

problem #44

Oct 042013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
About 2 months ago (at around 50000 miles), I started experiencing problems with starting the vehicle. If I used the push button, it would just keep trying to turn over but wouldn't start. I removed the button, thinking that may have something to do with it but it didn't help the problem has continued to get worse, and today, it took approximately 20 tries turning the key to finally get it to start. For a few days I was able to start it by remotely starting it, but now that doesn't work either. About two weeks ago, I did take it to the Dodge/Chrysler/Jeep dealer where it was purchased and who has performed all maintenance on the car since its purchase. They could not get it to "act up" but guessed that it is the tipm and quoted me $1,067 to repair/replace. I was told the part itself was $800. I was also told that Chrysler was working on some sort of by-pass that should be available in March 2014, and will be much cheaper. Based on the fact that every day starting gets more problematic, there is no way I can wait until March to repair the vehicle. Every day I wonder if this is the day it won't start at all. On the other hand, from what I'm reading online, it appears I probably can't get the part anyway, because there are apparently so many orders for this part, that it is on back order and people are waiting months to get the part. I live rurally and have to have a reliable vehicle. I had a 2000 Durango that never had any problems like this and was the main reason I bought this one. "bought" - meaning I still have over 3 years of payments left, and am facing major repair bills as well, which I can't afford. Disappointed is a very polite word for how I'm feeling right now. The consumer referenced recall # 14V530000. She is seeking reimbursement for the replacement of the tipm. Updated 02/04/15

- Ocklawaha, FL, USA

problem #43

Dec 022013


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the instrument panel lights intermittently failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the total integrated power module had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #42

Sep 302013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


The past 2 months, my vehicle has been given me problems starting engine- I turn key to start and it just cranks! in October, I brought to Dodge dealership and they told me it needed a "software update"- that didn't do anything. It randomly starts when it wants! then the past week it got really bad- not starting at all! black Friday left to shop early in morning- wouldn't start, so took husband's truck- got back at noon- tried again car started- so me and my little girl went into town- stop at traffic red light- then light turned green- pressed gas to go and nothing happened!!!! my car randomly just turned off at light! as cars honked for me to go I hurried and put car in park and prayed for it to crank- it did- and drove straight to dealership- again they said it was an software update! well its Sunday and my vehicle is at my mom's because it won't start at all! I'm reading a lot of complaints of ticm- that is backordered- I will call dealer tomorrow - I really love my Durango and hope it can be fixed.

- New Iberia, LA, USA

problem #41

Oct 012013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 59,600 miles
The 2011 Durango wont start. A bad totally integrated power module. Over 800 on back ordered. Seems to be a serious problem and should be recalled and replaced by Chrysler.

- Poynette, WI, USA

problem #40

Oct 242013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 89,273 miles
My vehicle (2011 Dodge Durango) started to not turn over when going to start. It almost felt like there was no gas getting to through. It eventually started after 3 tries. The next morning it was worse and took 5 tries for it to eventually start. After taking it to a Dodge dealership the told me it was the fuel pump and I would need two new pumps. I decided to take the vehicle to my local mechanic. He informed me it was actually the totally integrated power module (tipm). When I went back to the dealership to inform them they misdiagnosed the problem and it was the tipm, they informed me that there was a 700+ waiting list to get this unit, would cost $1200 and it would likely take 2-3 months to get it. No help was extended in the form of a loaner car or helping pay for a rental. When this happened I actually had a 2014 Durango in the process of being built but they still did not offer any help. I told my local mechanic about the back order on then tipm. He then took the tipm out and sent to his component guy. He ordered some parts and soldered them on the existing tipm. This took a week to finish and is working without problem for a cost of $400. Why Dodge chooses not have somebody repair the actual tipm leads me to believe its not an honest dealing.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #39

Nov 112013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles


Vehicle would hesitate to start, after several tries it would start. On 11/11/13 when the cruise control was set it accelerated by itself. I was trying to start it on 11/12/13 and 11/13/13, when it finally started it accelerated to 4 1/2 RPM, so drove it to the dealership and I was told it was the tipm, which isnt available, but there are parts to correct the problem. One part would be available in 4 business days and the wiring part won't be available until 12/24/2013 estimated. This id such an inconvenience!

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #38

May 252013


  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact also stated that the wipers erroneously activated, and the climate controls and dashboard lights failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the alternator and battery needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failures recurred. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #37

Nov 022013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
Incident date start: 11/02/2013. The vehicle would not start. The engine would turn over but there was either no fuel or ignition spark. Continued to try to start the vehicle but refused to start. After about 6 to 8 minutes of trying it started. The vehicle started every time after that but the next morning it refused to start. Again after 6 to 8 minutes of trying, it started and started each time for the rest of the day. This repeated itself each day. The dealer diagnosed it as the "totally integrated control module" failed.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #36

Nov 112013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 18,900 miles
Having problems with push start button and remote start with times car cranks but it doesn't turn on. Have to try many times before it turns on.

- New Milford, NJ, USA

problem #35

Nov 052013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 36,842 miles


The vehicle failed to start. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle sporadically stalls without warning. SUV was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the totally integrated power module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle is at dealership without an eta on repair. Part is on back order. Vehicle has 36800 miles.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #34

Oct 012013


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The contact also stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would sporadically stall without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the totally integrated power module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 55,000.

- Redington, FL, USA

problem #33

Oct 072013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The vehicle will not start sometimes. Took vehicle in to dealership, and it did not act the way it did on me. So they updated the software, the very next day the vehicle would not start regularly. It would make a noise like it was not getting enough gas to the stater. Took vehicle the dealership, then was told it was the tipm (totally integrated power module). This item is not covered under warranty. This is currently our only mode of transportation. It is the family vehicle, used also for work. The dealership told us that it would cost at least $1,000 to have it fixed. However, I purchased this vehicle least year in October, this should not be happening on vehicle owned less then a year. Now the part for the vehicle is not available and I have a useless vehicle sitting in my driveway and can't drive or move it. This should be on recall!!!!!! and consumers should be reimbursed for their suffering from Chrysler. I think that it is time that the media beware of the raw deal consumers are getting from Chrysler. When my fiance drove it to work it stalled on her, completely shut down. She could have been seriously injured!!!! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Natchez, MS, USA

problem #32

Oct 242013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
On 10/24/2013 I started the car with the key fob by the time I reached the vehicle it was off this had happened before when I had less than 1/4 of gas so I thought nothing of it. Drove to work the morning of the 25th just fine got ready to go to lunch and the post office used the key fob to remote start by the time I got to the car it was off when I attempted to start it would not start continued to make a sound as if it was still trying to start. I filled the tank mind you on my way to work so I knew it wasn't the lack of gas at this point. I had to have it towed during my lunch break to the dealer who called a few hours later to inform me it was the tipm (totally integrated power module) which would cost $1,230 not including labor. Oh the catch is the part is on back order and he will not know when it will get here until he places the order. I questioned the fact that this was a rare part and if any recalls had been issued as my warranty just ran just reached 41K warranty expired at 35K. He said not just with Durango's but also with other Dodge models said he wouldn't know when part would arrive until he placed the order. Well I can see now I need to expect the worst. This should be a nationwide recall.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #31

Oct 222013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
The vehicle just died while driving in a parking lot loss of power to everything including steering and brakes. It was restarted and driven to where we were staying. The next morning it would not start after many attempts. We had it towed to the nearest Dodge dealer where we eventually learned it was the tipm module. We also learned that this problem could be a dangerous one. We were also informed that this part is on eternal back order leaving us stranded 12 hours from home with a car full of kids. Dodge needs to make this right!!! I am not sure I will feel safe driving this vehicle now that I know this is a real common problem!

- Ooltewah, TN, USA

problem #30

Aug 152013


  • 33,000 miles
It began when the car would crank and not start several times before actually starting. I took it in (figuring at some point it would just not start at all and leave me stranded) and they said they couldn't duplicate it and sent me home. It started doing it again, so I took it back in and they reflashed something or other and sent me on my way. The reflash did not fix the problem, but I did not take it back in, figuring I would leave with the same result. Finally, the car died on me while I was driving it, with my small children in the car. No power brakes, no power steering. I was able to pull over to the side of the road safely. Thankfully I was not going terribly fast and there were no other cars around. I took it back in again, and they told me it needed a new tpim. After speaking with Dodge, this is apparently a common problem in the '11 Durangos. The new tpim was installed, however, for some reason, activating the right turn signal now flashes the fog lights. According to the service department, this is due to a second faulty tpim.

- Sumter, SC, USA

problem #29

Feb 082013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 41,765 miles
Vehicle stalled while turning off 4-lane and traffic began to come which had to stop until vehicle started again. Wipers, lights, and radio clock not functioning correctly, basically all electrical has not functioned correctly at one time or another. Vehicle will not start, also continuously cranks for10 seconds an shuts down, has also started an immediately died. Fan sound running under back seat, thought was possible tire going flat. Automatic start will not work at times. Going 55mph on highway and engine died. Very very dangerous vehicle to drive!!!!! part is supposed to be tipm total integrated power module, and be here in 2-3 days.

- Beckley, WV, USA

problem #28

Sep 282013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
I took my vehicle to the Dodge dealer and was told that my car could not crank because of a bad tipm module. Well that was a month ago, as I was told the part was on back order and would be here October 20th. Well that date came and passed and now I am told the part will not be available until November 19th. As I am a customer who is supported Dodge I am beginning to have second thoughts and will keep this in mind when I purchase another vehicle. I cannot believe that there is not a national recall because of the numerous customers that are awaiting this particular part. We need help from someone as my car will sit for at least 2 months.

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #27

Oct 012013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 59,600 miles
On September 29th the vehicle had trouble starting and would die when you put it in drive. My wife was out of town and the vehicle died while going through in intersection. She was able to get to her parents and after doing some research on line I found the vehicle had the same symptoms as many others with a faulty tipm (totally integrated power module). Dodge confirmed it was a bad tipm and the part was replaced by Dodge though not covered by warranty it took two weeks for the part to arrive and the total cost for repairs was almost $1200.

- Midlothian, TX, USA

problem #26

Sep 182013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 49,300 miles
The vehicle will not start, it cranks for a long time, then needs to be restarted 5 times plus before it starts, occasionally stalling out, before finally starting. This has been going on since 9/18/13. At times it leaves something running in the back of the vehicle by the fuel pump, even when the vehicle is turned off. Brought to the dealer on 9/23/13 and they found the problem to be the tipm (totally integrated power module), which is on a restricted backorder with no eta. We were told to pick up the vehicle and bring it back when the part comes in. My wife is 9 months pregnant and this is our family vehicle, which is unreliable. To make it worse the vehicle stalled going through an intersection the other day, when I was driving with my 1 year old in the backseat, and we were almost hit, luckily there was an angel looking over us, and the other vehicle stopped just in time. I have tried to reach out to Dodge customer service about this, and they are not willing to pay for a loaner/rental and they can give no eta on the part, as there is a couple thousand on backorder. My family and Dodge got lucky in this situation, but something needs to be done before this occurs again to someone else, and someone is injured or killed.

- Glendale , AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?