Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The third generation Durango is plagued by a defective TIPM, particularily in the 2011 and 2012 model years.

TIPM, which stands for Totally Integrated Power Modules, is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when your TIPM goes haywire, bad things start happening. Things like your water pump can stop working, your engine can stall out and your airbags can randomly deploy.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 23
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,051 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Durango electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 15 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

May 252013

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact also stated that the wipers erroneously activated, and the climate controls and dashboard lights failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the alternator and battery needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failures recurred. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #37

Nov 022013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
Incident date start: 11/02/2013. The vehicle would not start. The engine would turn over but there was either no fuel or ignition spark. Continued to try to start the vehicle but refused to start. After about 6 to 8 minutes of trying it started. The vehicle started every time after that but the next morning it refused to start. Again after 6 to 8 minutes of trying, it started and started each time for the rest of the day. This repeated itself each day. The dealer diagnosed it as the "totally integrated control module" failed.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #36

Nov 112013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 18,900 miles
Having problems with push start button and remote start with keyfob.....at times car cranks but it doesn't turn on. Have to try many times before it turns on.

- New Milford, NJ, USA

problem #35

Nov 052013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 36,842 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle failed to start. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle sporadically stalls without warning. SUV was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the totally integrated power module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle is at dealership without an eta on repair. Part is on back order. Vehicle has 36800 miles.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #34

Oct 012013

Durango

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The contact also stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would sporadically stall without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the totally integrated power module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 55,000.

- Redington, FL, USA

problem #33

Oct 072013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The vehicle will not start sometimes. Took vehicle in to dealership, and it did not act the way it did on me. So they updated the software, the very next day the vehicle would not start regularly. It would make a noise like it was not getting enough gas to the stater. Took vehicle the dealership, then was told it was the tipm (totally integrated power module). This item is not covered under warranty. This is currently our only mode of transportation. It is the family vehicle, used also for work. The dealership told us that it would cost at least $1,000 to have it fixed. However, I purchased this vehicle least year in October, this should not be happening on vehicle owned less then a year. Now the part for the vehicle is not available and I have a useless vehicle sitting in my driveway and can't drive or move it. This should be on recall!!!!!! and consumers should be reimbursed for their suffering from Chrysler. I think that it is time that the media beware of the raw deal consumers are getting from Chrysler. When my fiance drove it to work it stalled on her, completely shut down. She could have been seriously injured!!!! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Natchez, MS, USA

problem #32

Oct 242013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 10/24/2013 I started the car with the key fob by the time I reached the vehicle it was off this had happened before when I had less than 1/4 of gas so I thought nothing of it. Drove to work the morning of the 25th just fine got ready to go to lunch and the post office used the key fob to remote start by the time I got to the car it was off when I attempted to start it would not start continued to make a sound as if it was still trying to start. I filled the tank mind you on my way to work so I knew it wasn't the lack of gas at this point. I had to have it towed during my lunch break to the dealer who called a few hours later to inform me it was the tipm (totally integrated power module) which would cost $1,230 not including labor. Oh the catch is the part is on back order and he will not know when it will get here until he places the order. I questioned the fact that this was a rare part and if any recalls had been issued as my warranty just ran just reached 41K warranty expired at 35K. He said not just with Durango's but also with other Dodge models said he wouldn't know when part would arrive until he placed the order. Well I can see now I need to expect the worst. This should be a nationwide recall.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #31

Oct 222013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
The vehicle just died while driving in a parking lot loss of power to everything including steering and brakes. It was restarted and driven to where we were staying. The next morning it would not start after many attempts. We had it towed to the nearest Dodge dealer where we eventually learned it was the tipm module. We also learned that this problem could be a dangerous one. We were also informed that this part is on eternal back order leaving us stranded 12 hours from home with a car full of kids. Dodge needs to make this right!!! I am not sure I will feel safe driving this vehicle now that I know this is a real common problem!

- Ooltewah, TN, USA

problem #30

Aug 152013

Durango

  • 33,000 miles
It began when the car would crank and not start several times before actually starting. I took it in (figuring at some point it would just not start at all and leave me stranded) and they said they couldn't duplicate it and sent me home. It started doing it again, so I took it back in and they reflashed something or other and sent me on my way. The reflash did not fix the problem, but I did not take it back in, figuring I would leave with the same result. Finally, the car died on me while I was driving it, with my small children in the car. No power brakes, no power steering. I was able to pull over to the side of the road safely. Thankfully I was not going terribly fast and there were no other cars around. I took it back in again, and they told me it needed a new tpim. After speaking with Dodge, this is apparently a common problem in the '11 Durangos. The new tpim was installed, however, for some reason, activating the right turn signal now flashes the fog lights. According to the service department, this is due to a second faulty tpim.

- Sumter, SC, USA

problem #29

Feb 082013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 41,765 miles
Vehicle stalled while turning off 4-lane and traffic began to come which had to stop until vehicle started again. Wipers, lights, and radio clock not functioning correctly, basically all electrical has not functioned correctly at one time or another. Vehicle will not start, also continuously cranks for10 seconds an shuts down, has also started an immediately died. Fan sound running under back seat, thought was possible tire going flat. Automatic start will not work at times. Going 55mph on highway and engine died. Very very dangerous vehicle to drive!!!!! part is supposed to be tipm total integrated power module, and be here in 2-3 days.

- Beckley, WV, USA

problem #28

Sep 282013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my vehicle to the Dodge dealer and was told that my car could not crank because of a bad tipm module. Well that was a month ago, as I was told the part was on back order and would be here October 20th. Well that date came and passed and now I am told the part will not be available until November 19th. As I am a customer who is supported Dodge I am beginning to have second thoughts and will keep this in mind when I purchase another vehicle. I cannot believe that there is not a national recall because of the numerous customers that are awaiting this particular part. We need help from someone as my car will sit for at least 2 months.

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #27

Oct 012013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 59,600 miles
On September 29th the vehicle had trouble starting and would die when you put it in drive. My wife was out of town and the vehicle died while going through in intersection. She was able to get to her parents and after doing some research on line I found the vehicle had the same symptoms as many others with a faulty tipm (totally integrated power module). Dodge confirmed it was a bad tipm and the part was replaced by Dodge though not covered by warranty it took two weeks for the part to arrive and the total cost for repairs was almost $1200.

- Midlothian, TX, USA

problem #26

Sep 182013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 49,300 miles
The vehicle will not start, it cranks for a long time, then needs to be restarted 5 times plus before it starts, occasionally stalling out, before finally starting. This has been going on since 9/18/13. At times it leaves something running in the back of the vehicle by the fuel pump, even when the vehicle is turned off. Brought to the dealer on 9/23/13 and they found the problem to be the tipm (totally integrated power module), which is on a restricted backorder with no eta. We were told to pick up the vehicle and bring it back when the part comes in. My wife is 9 months pregnant and this is our family vehicle, which is unreliable. To make it worse the vehicle stalled going through an intersection the other day, when I was driving with my 1 year old in the backseat, and we were almost hit, luckily there was an angel looking over us, and the other vehicle stopped just in time. I have tried to reach out to Dodge customer service about this, and they are not willing to pay for a loaner/rental and they can give no eta on the part, as there is a couple thousand on backorder. My family and Dodge got lucky in this situation, but something needs to be done before this occurs again to someone else, and someone is injured or killed.

- Glendale , AZ, USA

problem #25

Sep 012013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Battery light came on. Made an appointment for service. Never made appointment date. A/C went out, airbag light came on, radio stopped, lights flashed, windshield wipers started. Car stalled out while driving 30 mph, lost power steering. No crash, rolled to a safe stopping area. Car was towed to dealer. Dealer said the car needed new battery. New battery was installed but check battery light was still on. After more testing, dealer said alternator needed to be replaced. New alternator was installed, but battery light was still on. Dealer put calls to Chrysler. Chrysler said possible bad new alternator replace with another new alternator suggested. New alternator replaced but same thing still happened, check battery light still on. After more calls to Chrysler, new PCM ( powertrain control module) suggested to be installed. PCM was replaced as warranty part, no check battery light. Total cost of about $1,000 for out of warranty parts. With in a week car was not starting, would crank but engine would not start or it would start and then stall out, car would finally start after 20 mins. Of trying to start car. This happened several times. Took car back to dealer. Software update was done. Still had starting issues, and running issues. After more calls to Chrysler they now believe the issue is a tipm (totally integrated power module). Tipm is on a national back order with no known release/ expected availability date. Chrysler will warranty the tipm part. Car now sits at the dealer for almost 30 days and no one has any estimate as to a fix date. Now waiting on a case manager to contact about this issue and possible rental car and refund for replaced parts. Sending off paper work for lemon law. Chrysler should issue recall but obviously will not due to lack of inventory in tipm parts.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #24

Sep 122013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
I am just now being told it is the tipm. Apparently that can affect so many things like about a couple of months after I bought my car in November 2012 I would be driving down the road & it would tell me key not detected. I would have to stop & turn my car off then restart. At that time my car was still under warranty now I'm wishing I would have gotten it checked out then. For the last couple of months I've been having problems starting my car. Then today I had my key fob in my car & it just locked on it's own.

- Shreveport , LA, USA

problem #23

Sep 152012

Durango 6-cyl

  • 49,996 miles
I attempted to start my vehicle and it would not start if I stepped on the gas very hard and several time it would then start. I was then sitting at a red light and the car stalled in the middle of an intersection. I made an appointment with a local Dodge dealership at motorwold. My appointment wasn't for several days and I continued to have problems starting my vehicle in which I would attempt to start the ignition and it wouldn't turn on and I would have to step on the gas very hard until it started. I then had my appointment with the Dodge dealer at motorworld. I was told 2 days later that my vehicle had been diagnosed with a total tipm(total integrated power module) failure and that my car was unsafe to drive. I would told that the tipm was on an intergalactic back order and that there were no parts in usa and that over 1000 people throughout the us were awaiting this part. I was told that motorwold would not be able to get the tipm until approximately some time in November 2013. I was told that my warranty company fidelity whom I had an extended warranty through would only cover 1 day of rental. I was told that I needed to contact Chrysler regarding a rental vehicle. I spend hours calling and on hold with Chrysler with phone calls. I also have lodged a complaint with the department of consumer protection. At this time I am paying for vehicle that I can not drive. I am currently in a rental vehicle and it is unknown when my vehicle will be fixed. I fear that the tipm will be replaced with another faulty part. I fear someone will be seriously injured or killed due to this faulty vehicle. I am currently paying for a care that I can not drive bc it is unsafe. Dodge/Chrysler needs to do something for their customers who were sold a faulty unsafe vehicle.

- Wilkes Barre, PA, USA

problem #22

Sep 162013

Durango

  • 47,623 miles
Tipm=totally intergrated power module. This stops the vehicle from cranking properly. It keeps turning and turning after trying to use the push to start, it will crank, rev up and turn right back off if you use the key to start it, and it has already been flashed which did not fix the issue. I have learned from two dealerships that there is over 14,000 on backorder. They do not have a eta and they are trying to get consumers to pay for the vehicles if they do not have the basic warranty. I even purchased a extended warranty at the point of purchase and they stated that it is not covered. The cost for the part and repair they are trying to charge me is $1100. The dealership I went to advised me to contact Dodge at 1-800-423-6343 and I spoke with someone whom stated it was covered, it is noted in my file 3 times by 3 different people that it is covered and then I called the dealership to see if they knew when they would get some to get me on a list and they said it is not covered, had to start all over again with speaking with Dodge at the 1800 number and going back and forth. I have only had my vehicle for 10 months and of course it was more than 20,000 which makes me livid that I would even have car trouble this early in the loan. I am not going to stop until it is fixed properly and people should not be responsible for this it should be on recall.

- Altamonte Springs , FL, USA

problem #21

Sep 182013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
I was having troubles with the auto start. Read about a service bulletin (number: 08-024-11 rev. A) that fixes the issue with a flash reprogram however the dealership and Chrysler said that my VIN number were not affected by the issue. Then five days ago there was a fan type noise from the rear bottom of the vehicle. The fan noise stayed on all night and drained my battery. I jump started the car and it held a charge and ran fine but the fan noise never stopped. I'm being told that the fan noise is the ABS staying on because the tipm is bad. I'm sure that parts of the car staying on by themselves especially those related to the ABS module must be of some safety concern. The car not starting could be due to the fuel pump not being started by the tipm this also is concerning. The part is on a 800+ back order. So this is affecting over 800 customers. I've met one person here in my city who says he is having the same issues with the car not starting and 9 other people at his dealership are waiting on this part. Multiple posters are stating that they've been waiting over a month for a part and Chrysler is not taking responsibility. Faulty computers that keep certain components on and others off is very scary and the fact that they have 800+ back order is concerning. Not to mention that a lot of the owners are being told to drive their cars in this condition while they wait for the replacement parts. "just keep trying to start it manually until it starts". please look into this issue and make Chrysler take responsibility for this faulty product.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #20

Aug 282013

Durango

  • 72,500 miles
My 2011 Durango does not start. It presents similar to how a car would in the past when the fuel pump would fail. The dealer did a "diagnostic" and initially said it was ok and it started right away. First stop on the way home at the store, it wouldn't start again. When we did get it started, it has now been sitting in our drive for a month waiting for a part the dealer identified as the tipm, total integrated power module. They said it was 1100 parts backordered, and gave a story about how the part is specific for the vehicle and how the part production were affected by the recession etc. The vehicle is almost done with it's third year production, moving to 4th year now, and they claim they have no part. We have now been told October 22 they may have the part, after being told it would be "no later that 9/23/13". the dealership (and another local one) have been looking for resolution, and despite having a case manager at Dodge, still getting run around. We have heard this is fairly common for this to occur between 35000 and 75000 miles on this vehicle, and it manifest as various electronic issues from starting, to various signal and wiper malfunctions etc, anything electrical.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #19

Sep 202013

Durango

  • 62,000 miles
The total integrated power module (tipm) on my 2011 Dodge Durango citadel has also gone out as other have posted. I took my car to the dealership for an oil change and explained to them that the last 2 days I have had problems starting the vehicle. After 65 minutes they said they had to reprogram the computer and my vehicle was good to go. The next morning the vehicle had no power at all. The battery was good but no electrical items worked. I called the dealership which towed the vehicle in after 8 hours they claimed it was now the total intergrated power module that went out. They said the cost for the part and labor will be about $1,185. But the part is back-ordered. They claim there are currently 2085 vehicles waiting for this part and that it could be 1-5 months to get the part.

- Southaven, MS, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?