Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The third generation Durango is plagued by a defective TIPM, particularily in the 2011 and 2012 model years.

TIPM, which stands for Totally Integrated Power Modules, is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when your TIPM goes haywire, bad things start happening. Things like your water pump can stop working, your engine can stall out and your airbags can randomly deploy.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 19
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,354 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Durango electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 15 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Sep 012013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles


Battery light came on. Made an appointment for service. Never made appointment date. A/C went out, airbag light came on, radio stopped, lights flashed, windshield wipers started. Car stalled out while driving 30 mph, lost power steering. No crash, rolled to a safe stopping area. Car was towed to dealer. Dealer said the car needed new battery. New battery was installed but check battery light was still on. After more testing, dealer said alternator needed to be replaced. New alternator was installed, but battery light was still on. Dealer put calls to Chrysler. Chrysler said possible bad new alternator replace with another new alternator suggested. New alternator replaced but same thing still happened, check battery light still on. After more calls to Chrysler, new PCM ( powertrain control module) suggested to be installed. PCM was replaced as warranty part, no check battery light. Total cost of about $1,000 for out of warranty parts. With in a week car was not starting, would crank but engine would not start or it would start and then stall out, car would finally start after 20 mins. Of trying to start car. This happened several times. Took car back to dealer. Software update was done. Still had starting issues, and running issues. After more calls to Chrysler they now believe the issue is a tipm (totally integrated power module). Tipm is on a national back order with no known release/ expected availability date. Chrysler will warranty the tipm part. Car now sits at the dealer for almost 30 days and no one has any estimate as to a fix date. Now waiting on a case manager to contact about this issue and possible rental car and refund for replaced parts. Sending off paper work for lemon law. Chrysler should issue recall but obviously will not due to lack of inventory in tipm parts.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #24

Sep 122013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
I am just now being told it is the tipm. Apparently that can affect so many things like about a couple of months after I bought my car in November 2012 I would be driving down the road & it would tell me key not detected. I would have to stop & turn my car off then restart. At that time my car was still under warranty now I'm wishing I would have gotten it checked out then. For the last couple of months I've been having problems starting my car. Then today I had my key fob in my car & it just locked on it's own.

- Shreveport , LA, USA

problem #23

Sep 152012

Durango 6-cyl

  • 49,996 miles
I attempted to start my vehicle and it would not start if I stepped on the gas very hard and several time it would then start. I was then sitting at a red light and the car stalled in the middle of an intersection. I made an appointment with a local Dodge dealership at motorwold. My appointment wasn't for several days and I continued to have problems starting my vehicle in which I would attempt to start the ignition and it wouldn't turn on and I would have to step on the gas very hard until it started. I then had my appointment with the Dodge dealer at motorworld. I was told 2 days later that my vehicle had been diagnosed with a total tipm(total integrated power module) failure and that my car was unsafe to drive. I would told that the tipm was on an intergalactic back order and that there were no parts in usa and that over 1000 people throughout the us were awaiting this part. I was told that motorwold would not be able to get the tipm until approximately some time in November 2013. I was told that my warranty company fidelity whom I had an extended warranty through would only cover 1 day of rental. I was told that I needed to contact Chrysler regarding a rental vehicle. I spend hours calling and on hold with Chrysler with phone calls. I also have lodged a complaint with the department of consumer protection. At this time I am paying for vehicle that I can not drive. I am currently in a rental vehicle and it is unknown when my vehicle will be fixed. I fear that the tipm will be replaced with another faulty part. I fear someone will be seriously injured or killed due to this faulty vehicle. I am currently paying for a care that I can not drive bc it is unsafe. Dodge/Chrysler needs to do something for their customers who were sold a faulty unsafe vehicle.

- Wilkes Barre, PA, USA

problem #22

Sep 162013


  • 47,623 miles


Tipm=totally intergrated power module. This stops the vehicle from cranking properly. It keeps turning and turning after trying to use the push to start, it will crank, rev up and turn right back off if you use the key to start it, and it has already been flashed which did not fix the issue. I have learned from two dealerships that there is over 14,000 on backorder. They do not have a eta and they are trying to get consumers to pay for the vehicles if they do not have the basic warranty. I even purchased a extended warranty at the point of purchase and they stated that it is not covered. The cost for the part and repair they are trying to charge me is $1100. The dealership I went to advised me to contact Dodge at 1-800-423-6343 and I spoke with someone whom stated it was covered, it is noted in my file 3 times by 3 different people that it is covered and then I called the dealership to see if they knew when they would get some to get me on a list and they said it is not covered, had to start all over again with speaking with Dodge at the 1800 number and going back and forth. I have only had my vehicle for 10 months and of course it was more than 20,000 which makes me livid that I would even have car trouble this early in the loan. I am not going to stop until it is fixed properly and people should not be responsible for this it should be on recall.

- Altamonte Springs , FL, USA

problem #21

Sep 182013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
I was having troubles with the auto start. Read about a service bulletin (number: 08-024-11 rev. A) that fixes the issue with a flash reprogram however the dealership and Chrysler said that my VIN number were not affected by the issue. Then five days ago there was a fan type noise from the rear bottom of the vehicle. The fan noise stayed on all night and drained my battery. I jump started the car and it held a charge and ran fine but the fan noise never stopped. I'm being told that the fan noise is the ABS staying on because the tipm is bad. I'm sure that parts of the car staying on by themselves especially those related to the ABS module must be of some safety concern. The car not starting could be due to the fuel pump not being started by the tipm this also is concerning. The part is on a 800+ back order. So this is affecting over 800 customers. I've met one person here in my city who says he is having the same issues with the car not starting and 9 other people at his dealership are waiting on this part. Multiple posters are stating that they've been waiting over a month for a part and Chrysler is not taking responsibility. Faulty computers that keep certain components on and others off is very scary and the fact that they have 800+ back order is concerning. Not to mention that a lot of the owners are being told to drive their cars in this condition while they wait for the replacement parts. "just keep trying to start it manually until it starts". please look into this issue and make Chrysler take responsibility for this faulty product.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #20

Aug 282013


  • 72,500 miles
My 2011 Durango does not start. It presents similar to how a car would in the past when the fuel pump would fail. The dealer did a "diagnostic" and initially said it was ok and it started right away. First stop on the way home at the store, it wouldn't start again. When we did get it started, it has now been sitting in our drive for a month waiting for a part the dealer identified as the tipm, total integrated power module. They said it was 1100 parts backordered, and gave a story about how the part is specific for the vehicle and how the part production were affected by the recession etc. The vehicle is almost done with it's third year production, moving to 4th year now, and they claim they have no part. We have now been told October 22 they may have the part, after being told it would be "no later that 9/23/13". the dealership (and another local one) have been looking for resolution, and despite having a case manager at Dodge, still getting run around. We have heard this is fairly common for this to occur between 35000 and 75000 miles on this vehicle, and it manifest as various electronic issues from starting, to various signal and wiper malfunctions etc, anything electrical.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #19

Sep 202013


  • 62,000 miles


The total integrated power module (tipm) on my 2011 Dodge Durango citadel has also gone out as other have posted. I took my car to the dealership for an oil change and explained to them that the last 2 days I have had problems starting the vehicle. After 65 minutes they said they had to reprogram the computer and my vehicle was good to go. The next morning the vehicle had no power at all. The battery was good but no electrical items worked. I called the dealership which towed the vehicle in after 8 hours they claimed it was now the total intergrated power module that went out. They said the cost for the part and labor will be about $1,185. But the part is back-ordered. They claim there are currently 2085 vehicles waiting for this part and that it could be 1-5 months to get the part.

- Southaven, MS, USA

problem #18

Sep 152013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 85,251 miles
Vehicle difficult to start up and will shut off at any time while driving...luckily I coasted to side of road without losing control.

- Clinton, NC, USA

problem #17

Sep 062013


  • 37,800 miles
The tipm (total integrated power module) on my 2011 Dodge Durango has gone out. My car has been sitting at a dealership for over 2 weeks because this part is on national backorder. The dealership has no idea when they can get one (they said it could be weeks). When I dropped my Durango off, there were 3 other vehicles there with the same problem as mine. As of yesterday, I am 2nd in line for the part at the dealership, but who knows what "number" I am nationally!! from what I'm reading, Chrysler has a major nationwide issue with this part, but they are not willing to do a recall. I spoke with the dealership that has my car about getting a loaner, but they instructed me to call customer care at Chrysler Corp. I have been trying to talk to a case manager for a week now. I have called everyday, and every time they tell me that they will have someone call me within the day. I called this morning, and was told that my case was assigned a case number just today (after a whole week), and that he would call me in a day or 2. I asked to speak to a supervisor, and was told that there wasn't one available. I have spent over $300 dollars on a rent car, and it looks like I'll be spending much more. I just want them to take responsibility for their problem and reimburse me/pay for next week's rental (and beyond that). It seems that Chrysler is not concerned at all, and continue to dismiss my concerns. It's very frustrating that I'm having this kind of problem with a vehicle that only has a 37,800 miles on it and is only two years old. My husband and I have always owned Chrysler products, but this will definitely be the last. We are planning on going to the dealership this weekend, and trading it in "as is" for something on their preowned lot...something that is not Chrysler!! (Chrysler did agree to pay for the part, so the dealership will not be out any money if we trade it in.)

- Flint, TX, USA

problem #16

Sep 112013


  • 24,500 miles
My problems started only a few weeks after purchasing the vehicle. I would be inside the car, but the car would say key not found. After moving around in the car a bit, finally, it would find the key and start. Also, I can only be 10 to 15 feet away from the car to arm it. Any further, and I can't arm, disarm or remote start the car. Doesn't make sense to have a remote start option on the remote but have it only work from 10 to 15 feet away. Transmission issues have also occurred with the vehicle. Sometimes, 1st gear will go all the way to 6000 RPM's before going into 2nd gear. Also while driving, the gears will surge/skip and then I'll hear a large knocking noise before it kicks into gear. More recently, the car just wont start. I've been told that it is the tipm and the part is on back order. Very upset. Expensive car, only 2 years old, and having all these problems. It is not right, and Chrysler should recall these vehicles. I'm in a rental now, but I want my car back, fixed completely. Too much to ask?? I don't think so. Corporations taking advantage. Absolutely. Hope everything works out for me and everyone else.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #15

May 212013


  • 23,000 miles


I have a 2011 Dodge Durango only had it for two years bought it brand new. Started having trouble with it not starting. I would push the button and some times it would start then it would die, so I took it to Chrysler told them what it was doing, so they checked it out the first time saying that the software needs to be updated, so updated and said it was fixed took it home and in a couple of days it started doing the same thing again took it back, said that they had to too put new heads on it. So they kept it for a month called and kept telling me deferent stories that they put stuff on it and still not working, then going on three months saying they were waiting on a part called tipm and it is back ordered. And that it would be October 2013 before they get mad told them to put me in another vehicle went up there. All the sudden said are car was fixed. Brought it home and the next day it died on the railroad track and gas pouring out of it. One spark we would had burned up and get hit by the train. As I speak they still have are car telling us that the mechanic didn't tighten up the screws. This is crazy and something needs to be done.don't see how they got the part so quick after telling me that it wouldn't be there until October 2013. And they have are car going on three months why do they still have it, if the part was put on and fixed.

- Moore, OK, USA

problem #14

May 112013


  • 18,000 miles
Purchased brand new. First incident in may we used the key fob to start the vehicle and the vehicle ran for 5 minutes then shut down. The engine completely shut down and we were not able to start the vehicle using the manual key or key fob-vehicle having it towed. Unknown cause! in June, the vehicle was started with the key fob and placed my twin 3 yr olds in the car. The key fob was placed on the passenger seat in the vehicle. All doors were shut when I was walked to the passenger side when suddenly the doors locked and the vehicle shut off after 10 minutes, 122 degrees outside. There was no reason for the doors to all lock. Massive malfunction. I had to call the 911 and have the fire department rescue my children out of the vehicle! incident unknown next, for the last 2 months we are having issues getting the car to start with the push button, key fob and manual start. We replaced the battery. No fix. Dealership determine there is not a fix as of this point and handed us the keys and told us we would have to wait until there is a fix. They stated they will call when they determined why so many vehicles have this same issue. Electrical problem? after, still problems for 2M the push start and key fob start has gotten worse. It takes 8-15 tries to get the vehicle started! problem unresolved! next this past week having same starting issues, the cars has a "fan sound" after the vehicle is turned off. It runs down the battery and battery dies every day. Now, its back into the dealership again! the car does not start for them to [xxx] look at it! end result! they think its an electrical issue, they think they might be able to fix the starting issue after the "part" comes in and could take months, knowing 1500 plus other vehicles need this same "part" they now, offered us a rental car that doesn't fit our family of 5! problem will never be resolved!

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #13

Aug 312013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
On 08/31/2013 I was leaving the grocery store and my car which has push button start kept trying to start but wouldn't catch. I turned the car off and sat a few min then was able to get the vehicle started I stopped at walgreens and the vehicle did the same thing but this time I had to pull the push start button off to get it to stop trying to start itself and manually shut it off. After about 30 min of sitting with my groceries and my daughter in my hot car on my birthday of all days I was able to get it started moving and it died in the middle of traffic leaving the parking lot. I was panicking can you imagine if I was on a highway"?" I was eventually able to get assistance to get into a parking space and out of the traffic area. I had a tow truck tow my vehicle to the dealership since when we could get it to start it would start and die immediately. I purchased the extended warranty thankfully since I just bought the vehicle used from the dealership in December of 2012 it has been only 8 months and I have had several problems. I was given a courtesy car however when I got a call the following week concerning my vehicle they said it was the ( totally integrated power module ) this is covered under my warranty if I pay the deductible and that right now I would be lucky to see my vehicle in a month since there are more than 1840 on back order!!!!! I immediately said then this should be a recall this is a very dangerous part since your vehicle can die even in motion. I came upon this website and now I know im not alone and this should be recalled.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #12

Jul 212013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 50,145 miles
We started having issues with the car wanting to start or start for a few seconds and slowly die until we hear a knocking sound. After quite a few attempts the car would finally start. 2011 Dodge Durango, was then taken to the dealership where it was identified as a faulty tipm (totally integrated power module) that was not sending signal correctly to fuel pump. Dealership made us pay $900 plus for the part and let us drive it off the lot. Issue still occurred for a little over a week before the vehicle completely shut off while going 60 mph down the road. Luckily we were able to get the vehicle to the shoulder before being in an accident. The vehicle started back up and continued to behave the same until one day the vehicle would not start any more at all. Now what happen was the tipm was causing the fuel pump to stay on all the time and thus drained the battery, and now the vehicle will not start at all. The vehicle is just over two years old. Today we contacted the corporate office and were told, they were not even suppose to let us drive the vehicle off the lot with the tipm being bad. We have waited over 10 weeks for a replacement part after they have already taken the money and were told today by corporate that over +1000 of the tipms are on back order with no expected date of delivery. This is absolutely ridiculous that a part like this would go out on a two year old vehicle. This definitely needs to be made a mandatory recall and reimbursement by the Chrysler corporation.

- Meridianville, AL, USA

problem #11

Aug 282013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 40,154 miles
Engine would not start with multiple ignition attempts. Engine would sporadically start and begin to idle, within seconds idle RPM would progressively decrease inciting knocking noises and severe shaking, ultimately causing engine to shutoff. Called local dealership to discuss problem with service department which instructed the removal of the push/start button from the instrument panel and to utilize the key fob for ignition; citing possible push/start button malfunction. This ignition method resolved problem for initial incident. The next day, same engine ignition malfunction manifest. After multiple ignition attempts vehicle started and was taken to dealership for computer diagnostics. Service technician reported tipm malfunction with fuel pump or fuel pump relay. Service technician also stated the tipm was on international backorder with no known availability date. Service technician also stated the dealership had already conducted 9 tipm replacements and had 4 vehicles on the lot currently awaiting replacement parts. Due to lack of replacement tipm, vehicle is still presenting ignition malfunction and is highly unreliable in its current state.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #10

Jul 232013

Durango 6-cyl

  • miles
My 2011 Dodge Durango stalled one day at work when I tried to crank it. It took 3 times to start the engine and finally it cranked. Later that week while driving I notice the airbag warning light came on and then went off multiple times; it continuously did that until one day it stayed on and never went off. I took it to get it check and no codes showed. They stated nothing was wrong with it. So I kept driving until I noticed a humming noise coming from underneath the rear of the vehicle and it continuously stalled or didn't crank and that's when I had to have my husband jump it off. This continued for a couple of weeks. I took it to the dealership in which the told me the PCM module was bad but when they tried to program it, it showed that the battery was bad so I purchased a new battery. Once they completed it they stated that they started the Durango and it started without any issue but when my husband and I went to pick it up, it stalled again and it took about 10 minutes to get it started. I drove it for a few days until one day I went to the store and when I came out of the store it would not start at all so I had to get it towed to the dealership, it sat there for about a week until they finally diagnosed it as having a bad tipm module (totally integrated power module).the service rep at the dealership stated that the tipm module is on backorder (1352 ahead of me to be exact). There are lots of reports on the internet about Chrysler vehicles having a bad tipm. I think there should be a recall on it. I presented my concerns to Chrysler\Dodge about this and the only thing I got was an apology. Please, please investigate. Dodge is using a bad product and don't want to own up to it and the customers are the ones that have to pay for it.

- Moundville, AL, USA

problem #9

Jul 222013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The tipm in our vehicle has went bad. This part is on backorder and no one at Dodge can tell us when it will be available. I have called Dodge's customer care line but no one will call me back. We have been without our SUV for almost six weeks. This should be a nationwide recall. The people at tomball Dodge have been very helpful, but can't do anything until they receive the part. I've looked online and this seems like a lot of people are having the same problem. There are five other Dodge and Jeep at this dealer alone that are waiting on the part.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #8

Jul 092013


  • 38,130 miles
At first for weeks vehicle would not turn over to start and when it finally did start it would shut off. In a few instances the vehicle stopped on me while at a stop light. Brought to dealership almost daily for the next three weeks, thought it was an issue with the remote. Replaced the remote and did a flash update and still had same issue. Vehicle finally stopped starting altogether and dealership was able to diagnose the failure of the tipm( totally integrated power module?). tipm, in my case has been on backorder for three weeks, I'm paying for a non functional vehicle that is just sitting at the dealership, my extended warranty's 6 day coverage for rental vehicle has been exceeded, and the manufacturer is not willing to provide any assistance in the form of a rental vehicle. I've talked to Dodge corporate after further research that indicated that there were lots of people waiting for the same part. They stated that the part is expected to be available in two more months!!! I asked them at what point does this become a recall issue and why is Dodge not not willing to help their customers that are out of a vehicle because of an issue that they are aware of and have no solution for. I have had my vehicle for only 9 months and it is just out of manufacturers warranty at a little over 38,000 miles. I am truly not a complaining person, I just want a resolution so that someone else does not go through the same issues that I and many others have. I just want my vehicle repaired and it just seems like this sort of thing should not happen to consumers.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #7

Jul 292013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 50,131 miles
I own a 2011 Dodge Durango. I attempted to start the vehicle but it would not power on. The vechicle was broght to the dealer which said the issue was with the wins module and it had to be reprogrammed, after that did not solve the issue and the wins module was repalced. That still did not solve the issue so the vehicle was diagnosed as having an issue with the totally integrated power module (tipm). The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and is fully aware of the issue with this part. The part was ordered, and was back ordered and due on 8/27, now I am being told that the part will not arrive until 9/15. My car has been at the dealer for a month already. Chrysler customer care is a voice but offers little or no help towards resolution. The part is obviously problematic and they can't keep them in stock. Can't blame the dealer when the chysler supply chain is so poorly managed. Luckly for me I bought an extended warranty.

- Getzville, NY, USA

problem #6

Jul 242012

Durango 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
Vehicle would not start. Vehicle has been at the local Chrysler/Dodge dealership since July 24, waiting for the "redesigned module". dealership advises we are on a waiting listing with 400 other owners. Part was supposed to be ready to ship by 8/20. Now, I have been notified that this date has been revised to September.

- Amsterdam, NY, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?