Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The third generation Durango is plagued by a defective TIPM, particularily in the 2011 and 2012 model years.

TIPM, which stands for Totally Integrated Power Modules, is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when your TIPM goes haywire, bad things start happening. Things like your water pump can stop working, your engine can stall out and your airbags can randomly deploy.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 23
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,051 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Durango electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 6 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #218

Apr 062015

Durango

  • 7,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the electrical system went hay wire, A/C turned off, wipers turned on, lights flickered on and off, and the vehicle died. There was also a smell of something burning from under the hood. I replaced the battery with a new one, vehicle turned on for a while but later died again, seems there is a problem with the alternator, it's not charging.

- Brownsville, TX, USA

problem #217

Mar 292015

Durango 6-cyl

  • 64,500 miles
There was an electrical fire inside the cabin of the vehicle from within the headliner, directly above the drivers head, while the vehicle was in motion. The driver was forced to pull off to the side of the road as the cabin filled with smoke due to vision and respiratory distress. There was also additional damage to the exterior of the vehicle on the roof, as the fire burned long and hot enough to cause an unknown amount of structural and cosmetic damage to the roof. The fire department was also called to the scene during the incident to insure the fire was completely extinguished. We initially had our vehicle at a local Dodge dealership on 02/23/15 to have multiple manufacturer recalls repaired. One of which was due to a potential fire hazard from the vanity/sun visor wiring in the headliner (Chrysler recall P36). That recall work was completed, but we began to experience electrical issues with equipment that obtained power and ground (same electrical circuit and fuse) from this same circuit. Interior lights would flash and dim, and then ultimately ceased to function, then our steering wheel mounted controls stopped functioning entirely. We returned the vehicle to the dealership on 3/23/15 after talking with the dealership that previous week. They explained that a "pinched wire" from within the headliner had caused an issue in the circuit. However, they insisted that this pinched wire did not cause the steering wheel controls to stop functioning (which made the steering wheel control module inoperable due to electrical short), even though they shared the same wiring. We were able to retrieve our vehicle after additional repairs were completed on 3/27/15. The car was driven one time on 3/28/15, and then on 3/29/15 the fire started from within the cabin.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #216

Apr 152014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 31,500 miles
2011 Dodge Durango w/5.7 liter engine stalled as I was turning onto the freeway on ramp. Pulled over and started right back up. Thought it was a fluke or I hit something. Stalling occurred again several times while slowing down and making turns. Happen once while my wife and daughter were going to store. She will not drive the car anymore. Went in for repairs several times with no real conclusion or repair being done. Finally went in after one of the stalls and by then the recall was coming out and the tipm and some wiring was replaced. Thought it was repaired when over the weekend it happened again as I was slowing for a stop sign with my wife & granddaughter in the car, then to me again 2 days later. We happen to live in a rural area so there is not a lot of traffic, thankfully. It is in dealership now (second week) and they are saying it needs new sparkplugs (which it does) but there is no way a engine should stall due to old sparkplugs. It's a disaster waiting to happen to anyone driving one of these. Everything up till this tune-up has been covered under warranty. It has stalled a total of around 8 times and all while slowing down and has been in dealership on and off for about a month total.

- Ludington, MI, USA

problem #215

Mar 262015

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V391000, 14V154000, and 14V530000 (service brakes, hydraulic, electrical system); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #214

Mar 102015

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 14V391000 (electrical system), and 14V530000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #213

Mar 052014

Durango

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated while driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restated after numerous attempts. The failure recurred six times. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system) however, after the remedy was performed the failure persisted. The dealer was unable to repair the vehicle for the most recent failure because there were no warning indicators illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Forks, WA, USA

problem #212

Dec 052013

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic), 14V391000 (electrical system), and 14V530000 (electrical system). The dealer was unable to determine when the part would become available to schedule the recall repair. The manufacturer was also contacted and was unable to provide a reasonable timeframe for the part to become available for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Florence, MT, USA

problem #211

Oct 092014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V530000 (electrical system) and 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Goshen, IN, USA

problem #210

Mar 032015

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V634000 (electrical system), 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V530000 ( electrical system) however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Largo, FL, USA

problem #209

Oct 052013

Durango 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id numbers: 14V634000 (electrical system), 14V530000 (electrical system), 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and stated that the dealer was unable to determine when the parts would become available to schedule the recall repairs. The contact waited for longer than a year and the dealer did confirm if the contact was on a waiting list. The manufacturer was contacted and was unable to provide a reasonable timeframe to repair the vehicle. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Updated 4/6/15 the consumer stated the dealer was able to do one of the recalls, but did not say which one. Updae

- Hamel, IL, USA

problem #208

Mar 012015

Durango 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I've had my Durango back to the dealer several times for the stalling issue. They allege that all repairs were completed in late November. I then went out of town on business for two months. I came back in late January, and the vehicle continued to stall on me while driving. They said the warranty work was done on the fuel pump relay in November. When I took it back in February, they replaced the computer and the keys because they said that the vehicle was shutting down because the computer didn't recognize that the key was in the vehicle and it shut down to prevent the vehicle from being stolen. On February 26th, it stalled while driving again. I left a voice mail for the dealership with no return phone call. On March 1st, the vehicle stalled while driving again. The vehicle is now back in the dealership.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #207

Mar 022015

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #206

Feb 252015

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Catawissa, PA, USA

problem #205

Feb 132015

Durango

  • 66,190 miles
My wife was driving along with my 3 kids. Car burst into fire within seconds.right side just inside the fender.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #204

Jan 232015

Durango 8-cyl

  • 60,500 miles
While driving at 70mph on a flat road (81 South in Virginia) in the rain, the instrument cluster and gps went dead. The dials all went down to zero, the computer read-out in the center cluster went black, and the gps went black. At the same time, the vehicle lost power (and speed) but did not stall. After only a few seconds the dials started working again, the computer read-out in the center cluster came back on, and the gps turned back on. Also, the power came back and I regained my speed. The power outage cleared my trip odometer readings and cleared to zero and my gps saved settings, such as home and address book, were cleared. I did not apply the brakes and there was no crash. There have been sporadic losses of power since and my instrument dials flicker, however they have not gone out totally like they did January 23rd. Days before the incident, I had taken my vehicle to a local Dodge dealership for recall work on the fuel pump.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #203

Dec 252014

Durango

  • 51,000 miles
I have received 3 recalls notifications and only one its taken care off iaw dealer - ferman Dodge in SR54, tampa fl. I received a P60, P45 and P50 or P54 don't have the recall doc with me. The dealer is stalling on getting the parts according to them. But, I bet its a paying customer that comes with same problem and the parts I bet it will appear very quick. On 12.25.2014, I was going at 45 mph and suddenly and the speed slowed down and had to pull to the side, turn off the car and start it again, a verify scary moment with family in the car. Its been now 2 months since I mentioned to them the car is suffering of long cranks. Have to play with ignition to get it to start. The car only have 51+K miles and should not have this happen. Need to get this issue resolved or I will keep pushing to the top to get my car fixed.

- Tampa , FL, USA

problem #202

Sep 152014

Durango

  • 38,000 miles
I initially bought the 2011 Dodge Durango from gillman Nissan of rosenberg tx. Three months after buying it all of the electrical on the vehicle went haywire while driving on the interstate and stalled out. My husband looked at it and had it towed to gillman Nissan where they determined it was a powertrain issue where it was sent to Dodge. After it was sent to Dodge they stated that it wasn't a warranty issue and forced my husband to pay the towing and an additional fee of $100 to look at it. Later they stated they could diagnose it until they put an alternator in it for $1200, my husband being a mechanic put a alternator in it and they refused to diagnose it nor fix it without paying more. My husband filed complaints with Chrysler customer care where they did nothing and keep stating they set up appointments that we didn't show up on even though that wasn't the case, no appointments were ever made. Now a month later my car started acting crazy again, my husband looked at it and diagnosed it as the tipm but when I called Dodge they stated that there's a recall on the tipm but they don't have them in stock and it will be months before they ever get them. I am needing help here with they're default defect vehicles they're selling.

- Rosenberg, TX, USA

problem #201

Jan 042015

Durango 6-cyl

  • 50,403 miles
Driving through town, every warning light came on and wipers starting going uncontrollably. RPM starting diving to 0 and then back up to appropriate RPM for speed. Other dials and nav/media screen also starting flashing. Tones and lights kept flashing on and off and I immediately proceeded the few miles down the street to drop it off at the Dodge dealership. Vehicle was up to date on all service and recalls, except the fuel pump recall which we were told we were in line for based on parts and capacity issues. I spent $1300 to replace the tipm to fix 37 out of the 38 codes, and then another $1300 for a new headlight power module (for the last code) which shorted out and, per the mechanic, shorted out the original tipm (since they are in series with no protection between). The tipm houses all of these power modules internally, so one bad short on a subcomponent can ruin your entire tipm. The recall on the fuel pump power module adds an external component for this subsystem to protect it from these tipm failures, but does not address the major tipm safety issue! from researching other owners' experiences I was lucky the entire vehicle didn't shut down on me while driving. This is a major safety issue! I can't believe that I had to pay for these costly repairs, and all this does is replace these flawed components with the same flawed components again. I have to get rid of this car and soak up a huge financial loss to do so because this car is a ticking time bomb and I can't allow my family to ride around in it safely.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #200

Dec 312014

Durango

  • miles
TL-the contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Djr updated 03/17/15

- Dorado, PR, USA

problem #199

Jan 052015

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Middletown, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?