Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The third generation Durango is plagued by a defective TIPM, particularily in the 2011 and 2012 model years.

TIPM, which stands for Totally Integrated Power Modules, is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when your TIPM goes haywire, bad things start happening. Things like your water pump can stop working, your engine can stall out and your airbags can randomly deploy.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 24
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,187 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Durango electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 6 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #227

Feb 282015

Durango

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). While driving approximately 40 mph and attempting to accelerate, the accelerator pedal failed to respond without warning. When the contact pulled over and powered the vehicle off and back on, the accelerator pedal began to respond normally. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000.

- South San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #226

Jun 112015

Durango

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, all the electrical function of the vehicle failed. The vehicle came to a completed stop and failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, where it was diagnosed that the alternator failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 63,000.

- Parey, OH, USA

problem #225

Jun 072015

Durango

  • 64,001 miles
We where traveling on interstate from our girls softball game when we started smelling burning wires then gauges started acting funny and it just shut off almost lost steering and braking, I got it to the side of the road but with 3 ft still in the interstate, we pulled girls out and put them on A20ft bank that was behind a guardrail, while I looked to see the problem, I'm a shade tree mechanic so I started looking and see smoke coming from alternator, it was as hot a the exhaust, we had a friend tow it to the house, I call dealer they said their was a recall for the same thing that mine did but it was for the 160 amp alternator and I had the 180 amp, this is very dangerous and needs to be investigated to make sure all model that are affected are covered, I have replaced the alternator myself but if there is something else cause this it needs to be recalled and fixed, before a crash or possible a fire!

- Bristol, VA, USA

problem #224

Apr 162015

Durango

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. While driving approximately 30 mph, the battery warning light illuminated, the vehicle lost power, and the alternator burned. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing and the alternator, PCM module, and wire harness were replaced. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000.

- Royal Oak , MI, USA

problem #223

May 182015

Durango

  • 72,682 miles
My 2011 Dodge Durango crew says key no detected when I attempt to start the vehicle. I thought it was the battery in the key fob because the vehicle stated low key battery and took the fob to battery's plus. They tested the key fob and stated the battery was fine and didn't need to be replaced. Also the drivers side head and brake lights go out.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #222

Dec 172013

Durango 8-cyl

  • miles
2011 Dodge Durango. Consumer writes in regards to the totally integrated power module( tipm) recall notice. Consumer has previous complaint with different vehicle listed in artemis. The consumer paid for the repair on 12/17/13

- Accokeek, MD, USA

problem #221

Apr 162015

Durango 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I filed a complaint a week ago under NHTSA id number 10706397. My car is at the Dodge dealership for a week now waiting on an alternator. The alternator arrived today and was bad out of the box. The alternator was locked up. I was told it would now be at least 2 more days before it is repaired. It seems to me like there are alot of problems with the 180V alternators like there were with the 160V.

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #220

Apr 172015

Durango 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
While driving on a major road the car started giving me seat belt light alarm, wipers going on and off, rear parking system warning coming on and then the car just shut off while driving down the road. We were stranded in the middle of a four lane street which was very unsafe. I had to have the car towed to the dealer and was notified that the alternator and battery would need to be replaced. After doing some research I found out that there has been a recall for the same year Durango as mine but is not covered because the recall was for 160 amp alternator and mine is 180 amp.

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #219

Apr 072015

Durango

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the battery warning light illuminated and smoke was emitting from under the hood of the vehicle. After shutting the vehicle off, it failed to restart. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the alternator needed to be replaced. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Alvin , TX, USA

problem #218

Apr 062015

Durango

  • 7,200 miles
While driving the electrical system went hay wire, A/C turned off, wipers turned on, lights flickered on and off, and the vehicle died. There was also a smell of something burning from under the hood. I replaced the battery with a new one, vehicle turned on for a while but later died again, seems there is a problem with the alternator, it's not charging.

- Brownsville, TX, USA

problem #217

Mar 292015

Durango 6-cyl

  • 64,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There was an electrical fire inside the cabin of the vehicle from within the headliner, directly above the drivers head, while the vehicle was in motion. The driver was forced to pull off to the side of the road as the cabin filled with smoke due to vision and respiratory distress. There was also additional damage to the exterior of the vehicle on the roof, as the fire burned long and hot enough to cause an unknown amount of structural and cosmetic damage to the roof. The fire department was also called to the scene during the incident to insure the fire was completely extinguished. We initially had our vehicle at a local Dodge dealership on 02/23/15 to have multiple manufacturer recalls repaired. One of which was due to a potential fire hazard from the vanity/sun visor wiring in the headliner (Chrysler recall P36). That recall work was completed, but we began to experience electrical issues with equipment that obtained power and ground (same electrical circuit and fuse) from this same circuit. Interior lights would flash and dim, and then ultimately ceased to function, then our steering wheel mounted controls stopped functioning entirely. We returned the vehicle to the dealership on 3/23/15 after talking with the dealership that previous week. They explained that a "pinched wire" from within the headliner had caused an issue in the circuit. However, they insisted that this pinched wire did not cause the steering wheel controls to stop functioning (which made the steering wheel control module inoperable due to electrical short), even though they shared the same wiring. We were able to retrieve our vehicle after additional repairs were completed on 3/27/15. The car was driven one time on 3/28/15, and then on 3/29/15 the fire started from within the cabin.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #216

Apr 152014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 31,500 miles
2011 Dodge Durango w/5.7 liter engine stalled as I was turning onto the freeway on ramp. Pulled over and started right back up. Thought it was a fluke or I hit something. Stalling occurred again several times while slowing down and making turns. Happen once while my wife and daughter were going to store. She will not drive the car anymore. Went in for repairs several times with no real conclusion or repair being done. Finally went in after one of the stalls and by then the recall was coming out and the tipm and some wiring was replaced. Thought it was repaired when over the weekend it happened again as I was slowing for a stop sign with my wife & granddaughter in the car, then to me again 2 days later. We happen to live in a rural area so there is not a lot of traffic, thankfully. It is in dealership now (second week) and they are saying it needs new sparkplugs (which it does) but there is no way a engine should stall due to old sparkplugs. It's a disaster waiting to happen to anyone driving one of these. Everything up till this tune-up has been covered under warranty. It has stalled a total of around 8 times and all while slowing down and has been in dealership on and off for about a month total.

- Ludington, MI, USA

problem #215

Mar 262015

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V391000, 14V154000, and 14V530000 (service brakes, hydraulic, electrical system); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #214

Mar 102015

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 14V391000 (electrical system), and 14V530000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #213

Mar 052014

Durango

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated while driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restated after numerous attempts. The failure recurred six times. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system) however, after the remedy was performed the failure persisted. The dealer was unable to repair the vehicle for the most recent failure because there were no warning indicators illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Forks, WA, USA

problem #212

Dec 052013

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic), 14V391000 (electrical system), and 14V530000 (electrical system). The dealer was unable to determine when the part would become available to schedule the recall repair. The manufacturer was also contacted and was unable to provide a reasonable timeframe for the part to become available for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Florence, MT, USA

problem #211

Oct 092014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V530000 (electrical system) and 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Goshen, IN, USA

problem #210

Mar 032015

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V634000 (electrical system), 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V530000 ( electrical system) however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Largo, FL, USA

problem #209

Oct 052013

Durango 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id numbers: 14V634000 (electrical system), 14V530000 (electrical system), 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and stated that the dealer was unable to determine when the parts would become available to schedule the recall repairs. The contact waited for longer than a year and the dealer did confirm if the contact was on a waiting list. The manufacturer was contacted and was unable to provide a reasonable timeframe to repair the vehicle. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Updated 4/6/15 the consumer stated the dealer was able to do one of the recalls, but did not say which one. Updae

- Hamel, IL, USA

problem #208

Mar 012015

Durango 8-cyl

  • miles
I've had my Durango back to the dealer several times for the stalling issue. They allege that all repairs were completed in late November. I then went out of town on business for two months. I came back in late January, and the vehicle continued to stall on me while driving. They said the warranty work was done on the fuel pump relay in November. When I took it back in February, they replaced the computer and the keys because they said that the vehicle was shutting down because the computer didn't recognize that the key was in the vehicle and it shut down to prevent the vehicle from being stolen. On February 26th, it stalled while driving again. I left a voice mail for the dealership with no return phone call. On March 1st, the vehicle stalled while driving again. The vehicle is now back in the dealership.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?