Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The third generation Durango is plagued by a defective TIPM, particularily in the 2011 and 2012 model years.

TIPM, which stands for Totally Integrated Power Modules, is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when your TIPM goes haywire, bad things start happening. Things like your water pump can stop working, your engine can stall out and your airbags can randomly deploy.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,170 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Durango engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Sep 152014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles


This is the known issue with tipm failure, the car just stalled and lost all power and would not start back up. The engine would turn just fine when starting but would not start. Had it towed to my regular mechanic and he let me know today that it is the tipm which is currently unavailable with long wait times.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #31

Sep 132014

Durango 6-cyl

  • miles
Vehicle was having trouble starting every once and a while. The engine would turn over and over but would not start. Applying the brakes and pushing the start button would stop the motor from turning over. Occasionally the engine would start after multiple tries. However, it now does not start at all.

- Menlo Park, CA, USA

problem #30

Jul 152014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
The problem first manifested itself in an occasional difficulty starting the vehicle, typically after it sat overnight. Upon pressing the start button the starter would engage but the engine would not start. Pressing the start button again to stop the cranking and then re-pressing the button would get the engine to start. Weeks would sometimes go by without the problem recurring. Around the middle of July 2014 the problem started to get much worse, the car sometimes not starting multiple times during the day even after short stops. Around the end of July my wife had the problem happen to her, got the vehicle started, but as she backed out of a parking spot the vehicle stalled in the traffic lane. After that incident I took the vehicle to a Dodge dealership where they "cleared several fault codes" and sent me on my way. Three days later the vehicle once again wouldn't start, but the "reset and repress" tactic would work and the vehicle would run. Around August 7 2014 the problem got much worse. The vehicle took multiple attempts and 1-2 minutes to get running on several mornings, now though the vehicle would stall once started and before moving. Once running, in gear, and moving the car would run fine. Car failed to start then each morning Aug 15-17, taking 1-2 minutes each morning and multiple stalls. On afternoon of August 17, 5 minutes after making a dealer apt for next morning, I was driving at about 10 miles per hour and the engine died completely, power steering and brakes went out as well. Only after 3 minutes did finally using the remote start function on the key fob get the vehicle to start and run, this on a very busy roadway blocking a lane of traffic. Next day vehicle would not start at the dealer either, they diagnosed a bad tipm module and offered me a new module for $1200 or a "relay kit" for $587. New module cured problem for now.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #29

Aug 202014


  • 59,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start during the daytime or when the vehicle was hot. The problem has occurred numerous of times. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified about the failure. The approximate failure was 59,000.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #28

Jun 042014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I have a 2011 Dodge durange that has a failing tipm (totally integrated power module) and Dodge is aware of this problem however, will continue to sell the cars without fixing so we get so spend over $1,000 to fix it!

- Lexington, TX, USA

problem #27

Aug 112014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 38,500 miles
We attempted to start our vehicle, but the engine would not start. After several minutes vehicle started but stuttered, as if their was no fuel going to the engine. There had been no engine or service lights at the time. I researched the issue online and found that many Durango and Cherokee owners have experienced similar issues, and the cause was the tipm. I took my vehicle to the dealership and they tested it, and found it was a problem with the tipm, which was failing to engage the fuel pump. Luckily our car was parked at the time the problem started. My wife generally drives this vehicle with my two small children. Our warranty ended at 36000 miles, so it was not covered. My options were to replace the tipm for 1200 dollars, or pay 428 dollars to have an external relay installed to bypass the faulty tipm (Chrysler star case #[xxx]). we chose to have the bypass installed. Vehicle is running fine at this point, but we are worried other issues (air bags deployed etc) will be a future problem. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #26

Jul 152014


  • 28,100 miles


When the key is put inside the ignition, it takes a couple of tries for the engine to start (if at all) after failing multiple times. After it starts, sometimes the engine shuts down completely when I am driving at 30+mph and when I hit a stop sign/red light! this is very dangerous and needs to be fixed!

- Milpitas, CA, USA

problem #25

Jul 112014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 45,926 miles
When attempting to use the push button ignition to start the vehicle, the vehicle crank over to start and then stutter out or crank to start and get stuck cranking until operator shut it down- sometimes would not shut down immediately but keep stuttering for a short period of time. Upon bringing to dealership, the mechanic identified issues w/ lariant #5 stating need to be replaced with the new style lariant #6. dealership informed me- not covered under any type of warranty. Why not" what is wrong with lariant #5 that needed to be upgraded to a new version" after researching online, multiple owners of the 2011 Durango have reported issues of this same part. An investigation needs to be performed on this faulty part from the factory. Dodge is aware of this safety issue and has done nothing to resolve and no recall has been issued. This has resulted in heavy consumer out of pocket costs for a newer vehicle.

- Methuen, MA, USA

problem #24

Jul 032014


  • 71,200 miles
Woke up the day before the fourth of July and got myself and the kids ready to travel out of town. Loaded everyone in the car and the truck wouldn't start. I pushed the button and it acted like it would start but it would never turn over. I tried for twenty minutes and could not get it started. I had to get it towed to the dealership. They first said it was a wiring and it would be couple of days. But then they called back today and said it is the tipm and they are not sure how long it will be because they have to order the part and it will take "awhile" to get it in. This is my only vehicle to get me to work and three kids to all the places they have to be. This is going to be a headache and the price went from 200 dollars to over 1,000 dollars. I could take that and use it on a downpayment for something else. Chrysler is way out of line allowing consumers to deal with a problem that they created.

- Hattiesburg, MS, USA

problem #23

Jun 202014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
On June 20, 2014, my Dodge Durango citadel stalled in traffic at 50 mph, almost causing a horrible accident. This was the 2nd time it had occurred. I coasted the vehicle to a side street.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #22

Apr 232014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 26,000 miles


While driving 65 mph on a highway, my Durango citadel stalled in traffic, almost creating a horrible accident.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #21

Jun 072014


  • 47,500 miles
My 2011 Dodge Durango cranks but wont turn over after several tries it would start and after a few days it just wouldn't turn on at I had to call a tow truck to tow it in to dealership.still had extended warranty on my Durango so I took it back to dealership and they informed me they would have to replace my tipm and all I had to pay was my I picked it up when they fixed it. Drove it home and put about 30 miles on it and my engine light came back on so I called and they had me take it back the next morning now they said it was an ignition coil and expected me to pay my deductible again. After some discussion they waved to fee.and I received my car back after another day in a half. I drove it home and as I got there we noticed the right front turn signal didn't work instead my fog lights would blink so I called dealership and they said they needed some codes to reprogram the turn signal. I had only put about 15 miles on it since I picked it up and my engine light is back on again. So here I go 4th day back to dealership and its so frustrating that no one cares after so many complaints on this part (tipm).I guess they are waiting till someone gets hurt or dies. Like the case with GM and there faulty ignition switch. I was lucky my Durango stopped working in my driveway and not on the road cause I have 3 small children and they are always with me.just pray to god that nothing happens to my children.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #20

May 142013


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated there were several attempts before the engine would start. The failure was a constant occurrence. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who stated that the totally integrated power module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #19

Feb 032014


  • 52,000 miles
Vehicle had problems starting earlier in the day. Aprox 3am neighbors knocked on our windows saying it was on fire. Fire dept put fire out which started in engine compartment. Total loss.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #18

Feb 022014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
Tipm failure. Vehicle will not start. Dodge refuses any assistance with repair of over $1200. Class action lawsuit by [xxx] has been started. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rockwall, TX, USA

problem #17

Sep 162013


  • 34,000 miles
Tried to start vehicle and it would not start and the smell of burn wiring this happen several times. I seen the check engine appear and disappear I thought maybe oxygen sensor, or loose wire. So during the holidays November the vehicle cease to start and the vehicle radio and air bag light continue to operate off and on. I contacted a dealer who stated that they would work on the vehicle after the holiday January 9 2014 but change it to the 21 of January so I contacted Chrysler Dodge Corp and they gave me a case number and I stated that others had the same problem and was there a recall. They sent me to the stealership to get it check out. They stated that it would take them a while to check it out one day and they said they fixed the problem (tip module) and that I should pay for it and if not they will charge me 45 dollars a day if I did not pick it up. I stated that I am waiting for the Dodge Corp to help with the bill. They then stated they are not going to help and if I don't pay they will enforce their extra monies for having it there. I thought they wanted customers not chase them away. Go Fiat.

- Hillside, NJ, USA

problem #16

Dec 112013


  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted and operated as designed. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not taken to dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 51,000.

- Lasalle, TX, USA

problem #15

Sep 302013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The past 2 months, my vehicle has been given me problems starting engine- I turn key to start and it just cranks! in October, I brought to Dodge dealership and they told me it needed a "software update"- that didn't do anything. It randomly starts when it wants! then the past week it got really bad- not starting at all! black Friday left to shop early in morning- wouldn't start, so took husband's truck- got back at noon- tried again car started- so me and my little girl went into town- stop at traffic red light- then light turned green- pressed gas to go and nothing happened!!!! my car randomly just turned off at light! as cars honked for me to go I hurried and put car in park and prayed for it to crank- it did- and drove straight to dealership- again they said it was an software update! well its Sunday and my vehicle is at my mom's because it won't start at all! I'm reading a lot of complaints of ticm- that is backordered- I will call dealer tomorrow - I really love my Durango and hope it can be fixed.

- New Iberia, LA, USA

problem #14

Nov 022013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
Incident date start: 11/02/2013. The vehicle would not start. The engine would turn over but there was either no fuel or ignition spark. Continued to try to start the vehicle but refused to start. After about 6 to 8 minutes of trying it started. The vehicle started every time after that but the next morning it refused to start. Again after 6 to 8 minutes of trying, it started and started each time for the rest of the day. This repeated itself each day. The dealer diagnosed it as the "totally integrated control module" failed.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #13

Sep 282013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
I took my vehicle to the Dodge dealer and was told that my car could not crank because of a bad tipm module. Well that was a month ago, as I was told the part was on back order and would be here October 20th. Well that date came and passed and now I am told the part will not be available until November 19th. As I am a customer who is supported Dodge I am beginning to have second thoughts and will keep this in mind when I purchase another vehicle. I cannot believe that there is not a national recall because of the numerous customers that are awaiting this particular part. We need help from someone as my car will sit for at least 2 months.

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?