Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: When the 3rd-generation Durango was introduced in 2011 owners almost immediately started having a wide range of issues -- from water pump failure to stalling engines. Turns out the TIPM is to blame and those problems carried into the 2012 model year.

TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Modules) is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when the TIPM starts acting up, so do all sorts of problems in the vehicle.

The problems have been so bad -- and replacement parts became so hard to find -- that a class-action lawsuit was filed against Chrysler focusing on the 2011-2012 Durango. The lawsuit accuses the automaker of ignorning the problem until it spiraled out of control.

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,704 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Apr 272015

Durango 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

R09/NHTSA 14V-115 parts not available until Sept - notice states that fuel pump could fail and car will stall. I drive kids around all day and do not need the added stress of wondering if my car is going to fail in the middle of traffic. Its ridiculous to expect people to wait 6 months to get a vehicle fixed. This is the third recall on the vehicle for parts failing - in my opinion that speaks volumes toward the quality of vehicle Dodge provides, not to mention the poor service of not getting the right parts out to fix a potentially dangerous problem. Seriously....why send out notices if there are no plans to fix an issue for 6 months. I'll never buy another Dodge, this is my first and last - I've owned Chevrolet all my life and never had this many problems.

- Bristol, TN, USA

problem #19

Mar 152015

Durango 8-cyl

  • 49,958 miles
Driving normally for about an hour. Made 10 minute stop. Came out and car would not fire. Cranked for 20 seconds twice and nothing. Waited 5 minutes and it started. Went to pull out into traffic and it stalled. Cranked again, nothing. Then started. It happened again 2 days later. Took to dealer and they said it was a faulty tipm and not covered by warranty.

- Mechanicville, NY, USA

problem #18

Dec 052014

Durango

  • 31,500 miles
When try to start car. The starter hung up and wouldn't start. Starter kept turning over but would not start. Like vehicle was not getting any fuel to engine. Has done this 7 times since Dec 2014.

- Chickamauga, GA, USA

problem #17

Dec 152014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle fails to start properly. Upon starting, vehicle gets stuck in turnover mode. Vehicle starts and shuts off within seconds. Vehicle is difficult to start. Vehicle is not included in recent recall of fuel pump relay.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #16

Nov 042014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
I initially brought my vehicle to be serviced on 11/4/14 for failure to start & stalling while in park or reverse. I talked with an attendant who said they had no idea what the problem was & it would be $300+ to investigate, I opted for a lower cost option, a replacement start button ($20). I suspect now, since they were busy & I was inquiring about other recall fixes (cost to them) this was a way to get me out of the shop quickly. Skip forward a few weeks, the problem persisted. From 12/2/14-1/9/14, I left multiple messages for service to schedule an appt. My messages were never returned. The problem got progressively worse, & by christmas the car failed to start all together. To continue with our family plans for vacation, we had to rent a car ($480); there were also a few days just after the new year where a rental was required so we could function ($280). I finally resorted to simply having the car towed ($100) to the dealership for repairs on 1/10/14 in hopes I could finally get a return call. It still took 2 more days (1/12/15) before someone responded. This time, I was quoted a price of only $114 to determine the problem. I spoke to the service lead on 1/14/15 who gave a diagnosis of tipm and starter replacement, plus 3 hrs labor cost (approx $1550). I mentioned the recall on the tipm, but was informed that my vehicle produced in Nov 2011 fell just outside the Jul 2011 window. I pointed out it was clearly the same issue, but was advised my best route was to deal with corporate. I contacted the corporate office on 1/15/15 with no success at getting Chrysler to do the right thing for their longtime, repeat customer (this is my 5th and last Chrysler). After 2+ grueling mths & nearly $2500 later, I finally have a car that starts on the first attempt...hopefully (no guarantees, right). I have yet to hear back from a supervisor at corporate.

- Lithia, FL, USA

problem #15

Jan 032015

Durango 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
Most times when I go to start the truck it will not start. If it does start it dies immediately. When I try to start it again, the starter seems to get stuck, so I turn the key off and have to try it again. Eventually it will start and run normal. Just this morning, I went to move the vehicle, and it had no power. Once I hooked up the jumper cables I could hear a humming noise, which I assume would be the fuel pump, as I have read many complaints online about it not turning off due to the tipm. After I started it and let it run for a while I shut it off and could still here the fuel pump. I should not have to pull the fuse so that my battery will not die due to a defective part. I just got this truck a little over 2 months ago and have had the starting problem since I've got it. Now I got this fuel pump issue. I should not have to pay for something that Chrysler is aware of and, at this point, has chose not to do anything about.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #14

Sep 172014

Durango

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At about 54K/56K miles the airbag and check engine light began to go on and off. When I got it checked they did not report anything outside of air is system but that was covered in the diagnostic. Then the car would make sudden jumps for no reason, airbag and engine and brakelights repeadedly came on and off. While attending my nephew funeral I got it checked since I would be on the road for no less than 4 hrs. I later found out there was a break recall once I got that fixed (16 Dec) the dash was flashing everything airbags, brakes, engine. Once I parked the car the nest day it would not come on. A jump did not work. Had it towed and told it was the fuel pump system for a car just a little over two years old and that Chrysler was only paying for 2011 Durangos for this issue. So I am paying in less than a week over $800 for an item clearly thats an issue and was told I should have gotten an extended warranty to avoid not paying factory defected equipment. Dissappointed as I always buy american but chyrsler just lost a customer and gained negative advertisement.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #13

Dec 292014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 47,500 miles
Drove the vehicle into the dealer for an oil change and was told the external fuel pump relay harness needed to be replaced. When asked what would happen if it wasn't replaced they told me the car would not start. I find this very odd that I was able to drive the vehicle in. Then doing an investigation found that this same module was a recalled item in the 2011 version of my vehicle. Would like to find out if this recall needs to be expanded to include the 2012 year model Durango.

- Elizabeth, CO, USA

problem #12

Nov 202014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Dodge has issued a recall on the tipm system for the 2011 Dodge Durango's. although I am having the same issues they are stating that my car is not under the recall as it is only for 2011 Durango's. my SUV is having the same exact problem but Dodge is refusing to fix it and will not provide any assistance.

- Orange Park , FL, USA

problem #11

Nov 102014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 50,200 miles
The car hesitates to turn on and the battery has been changed, the fuel pump remains running when the car is turned off.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #10

Oct 302014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In my 2012 Dodge Durango it was determined that there is a problem with the total integrated power module which is affecting the way the engine starts and gets fuel to the fuel pump. The repair cost is $1213.71. It is my understanding that there are hundreds of documented cases regarding this issue in the Chrysler line and nothing has been done to correct the problem. It is unfortunate that Chrysler is awaiting a tragedy to take place before they do what is right for the customer and fix the problem that has been reported. I understand that a class-action lawsuit has been filed to address this issue. I just want to go on record in the event that something detrimental happens to me or my family because of this recognized and publicly documented part failure.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #9

Oct 032014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 49,500 miles
On Oct 3, 2014, this issue first occurred with my Dodge Durango. It took several attempts of the vehicle "turning over" for it to actually start. Then on Oct 10, my vehicle spontaneously stopped in traffic. Then it took several attempts to get it restarted. I had my codes and battery tested, no issues were detected. This problem starting the vehicle has been going on several times a day since Oct 3. attempts to contact Chrysler have been a dead end. I feel like I've been getting the runaround. A recall should have been issued long before now as I have seen several other Dodge Durango owners who have or are currently having these issues.

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #8

Jul 012014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
Initially in early July, 2014 my 2012 Dodge Durango developed a computer failure causing the battery to eventually drain, loss of engine power and ability to maintain or accelerate. Repair was made after the vehicle was towed to the local Dodge dealer, manfredi Dodge, staten island N.Y, and subsequently the battery repaired and the computer replaced. Shortly after the repair was completed the passenger airbag failure light would intermittently illuminate and the vehicle occasionally would not start. Another trip to the dealer and the passenger seat airbag sensor was reported faulty and the vehicle tipm sensor needed replacement or repair. Conferral with the dealer suggested that the tipm sensor be replaced rather than repaired to assure longevity of the repair and overall satisfaction. Vehicle is a lemon!

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #7

Sep 302014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 46,261 miles
My 2012 Dodge Durango would not start, the engine would turn over but not start. After 5 attempts it started and I drove it to the dealership and after test I was told that the tipm had an open circuit.

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #6

Aug 142014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 49,829 miles
Vehicle starts then stalls out, or just cranks and cranks, and won't start. Happened a few times at stop lights after short drive. Was able to finally get started to drive to dealer, was told I could either replace the tipm for over $1000, or do a fuel relay bypass to the existing tipm for a little over $550. Same exact problem all the recalled Durango/Grand Cherokee have, yet the 2012's haven't been recalled" why" vehicle left us stranded multiple times in fl heat with infant in car.

- Groveland, FL, USA

problem #5

Jul 232014

Durango

  • 52,000 miles
The issue began as I took my truck in for a recall on the brake system. I informed that I was having issues with the cruise control system not functioning. Since then the cruise control issue had a diagnostic that darcars is informing there is not issue but no replacement or suggestions have been presented. I began having problems with the push start around 8/1. when trying to start the truck it will not turn over and eventually will stall out completely. So I attempted to remote start which worked for a couple of days. Soon it began to cause the same problem. Since then I have been starting the car with the key. Until 9/22, on that morning my son stated he heard a hissing sound from the rear driver tire. I also heard this sound at approximately 2:15 pm. Which prompted me to call darcars service center because a vanity light recall was just mailed to us. So I tried to schedule an appointment. Before I left work at 5:30 I attempted to unlock the door and could not without the key being inserted to the door. The car would not crank. I started realizing I was having the same nightmare as others tipm. The car is now being worked on but they are calling the issue everything but what it is so that I purchase a full pump relay, throttle box, and battery. Costing me 1400 plus 140 for another diagnostic please attach to P54 recall multiple stalls and non functioning vehicle.

- Glenarden, MD, USA

problem #4

Sep 242014

Durango

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Durango. While turning the ignition key to start the vehicle, the contact heard a clicking noise and the engine would not start. The contact was able to start the engine after several attempts. In addition, while stopped at a red light, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnosed that the wiring for the fuel pump relay inside the totally integrated power module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 38,000.

- Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #3

Sep 012014

Durango

  • 46,000 miles
Durango cranks and doesn't turn over or starts and then stalls after short distance. Local dealer has repaired fuel pump. Recall presently only includes 2011's and should be extended to all effected years.

- Claremont, CA, USA

problem #2

Sep 062014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 64,638 miles
Was driving down the road on the way to the garage as the vehicle had been having difficulty starting on 4 or 5 occasions over the previous days. As I was driving down the road the vehicle shut off, no gas nothing. I was able to coast the vehicle to a safe place and eventually it started back up again. Took the vehicle the dealership on 9-8-2014 and was advised that it was the relay from the tipm to the fuel pump. I have since learned that there was a recall on 2011 models for this same thing; but my SUV is a 2012 model. I wanted to file the complaint as this is a dangerous situation and clearly it is happening in models other than the 2011. The repairs were almost $300 for a problem that it seems like other models are having just as the 2011 Durangos.

- Statesville, NC, USA

problem #1

Jun 152012

Durango 8-cyl

  • 504 miles
Sitting idle on a driveway vehicle began to smoke and smell. Punched gas three times and each time huge white blue cloud of smoke pushed out. Smell of burning metal came with cloud of smoke. Took to dealership where they at first could not recreate the problem. After placing the vehicle on an incline and starting it up they too got the smoke, and not just from mine but from another on the lot. They tell me that it is the oil pan design is faulty and that my vehicle will smoke when on an incline, driveway, hill, stuck in traffic at a slope. The emissions are horrendous and I am shocked that a 57 hemi engine would do this. Shocked more that Chrysler knows of the problem and has not yet fixed it.

- Sherwood Park, MT, USA

Not what you are looking for?