Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: When the 3rd-generation Durango was introduced in 2011 owners almost immediately started having a wide range of issues -- from water pump failure to stalling engines. Turns out the TIPM is to blame and those problems carried into the 2012 model year.

TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Modules) is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when the TIPM starts acting up, so do all sorts of problems in the vehicle.

The problems have been so bad -- and replacement parts became so hard to find -- that a class-action lawsuit was filed against Chrysler focusing on the 2011-2012 Durango. The lawsuit accuses the automaker of ignorning the problem until it spiraled out of control.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,517 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Sep 142016


  • 93,000 miles


Engine stalled and car shut off. Once from a stop while trying to accelerate and another time while trying to stop. In both instances an accident was nearly avoided. My wife on 9/13 was turning across traffic and the car died and she was almost T-boned. On 9/14 I almost rear ended a car as I was slowing to a stop and lost all power. Wipers will come on randomly on dry, sunny days (while parked or in motion). Car jerks forward intermittently when starting (using remote start or while in the car). Occasionally the car continues to turn over but never actually starts. I have taken this to the dealer 7-8 times and they've never heard of these problems. No error codes recorded. Never able to be reproduced when at the dealer. Contacted another Dodge dealer and they have never heard of these issues either. Took to an independent mechanic and he immediately recognized this as a potential tipm issue. The fuel relay recall was implemented in summer of 2015 which was supposed to resolve these issue. However, all of these problems continue to intermittently occur - with the stalling (and near accidents) just occurring for the first time this past week. Spoke with Dodge yesterday explaining the situation and both dealers didn't want to sell me a new tipm because they weren't sure it would fix the problem and reiterated that the fuel relay recall would fix these issues. When I stated that I am still having the issues they didn't have an answer but were willing to take my car in on trade. We currently have 93000 miles but this started shortly after we purchased the Durango; with well under 40000 miles. We were still under warranty when this started but no fault was ever found when at the dealer.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #38

May 142014


  • 35,260 miles
Car sometimes will not start, or starts and quickly shuts off (sometimes in drive or reverse). If you push start button it tries to "turn over" revving but never starting. Has done intermittently but gotten really bad in May 2016 from every other day to sometimes several times a day. Dealer "can't find" problem. Date below first date dealer actually wrote down problem. Have all service forms and documents. Believe it is the tipm module. Car alarm has gone off with door lock problems after starter issue as well. Dealer again "can't duplicate problem" and has denied knowing about ongoing lawsuit about this problem and has actually lied to us about warranty information numerous times. Also have video of problem on cell phone. Vehicle has been in park and in drive/reverse as we were just starting to drive/back up when it quit running. It goes "dead" without a sound but all lights are on, vehicle states it is running but you cannot move wheel. You have to put back in park, hit start button again to shut off in order to attempt to fix problem. Sometimes takes several attempts to get it started.

- Stow, MA, USA

problem #37

Sep 112013


  • 40,000 miles
My Durango has had many problems when trying to start it since I initially purchased the vehicle. I have taken it into the dealership about 7 times trying to figure out why it won't start on many occasions. I will also start and then shut down immediately. It is no longer under warranty and even after getting the R09 fuel pump relay fix I still have the exact same problem. After doing countless hours of research it appears it is the actual tipm that has gone bad and will cost me around 1500$ it is a disgrace that Dodge will not just recall the bad tipm. There are thousands of people online with the exact same problem as me and I would really appreciate it if you all will look into this more considering how dangerous it is especially if driving on a highway and your vehicle just shuts down for no apparent reason which is one of the symptoms of this bad tipm. Thank you

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #36

Dec 032015


  • 28,000 miles


Check engine light on. Test ran. Detector-evaporative system issue. Detector valve faulty. Leak coming from gas cap and esim correction. Replaced esim seal and gas cap. There was a recall for similar issue. Another recall warranted?

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #35

Jun 082015


  • 35,000 miles
The local Dodge dealership plaza Dodge inverness Florida has not been able to repair my vehicle. Recalled for a fuel pump relay switch which could malfunction causing my vehicle to "stall while driving and cause a crash without warning". they tell me it could "easily be 6 months before they get the parts". this is unacceptable, this is a danger to my family and all the other vehicles on the road! recall was received in June 2015. That is too long for this to wait.

- Inverness, FL, USA

problem #34

Oct 012015


  • miles
The fuel pump is not working it is not getting gas unable to turn on car. The car was stationary.

- Sylmar, CA, USA

problem #33

Aug 182015


  • 44,000 miles


While driving on the highway the car's engine shut down. I placed the car in neutral and restarted the engine with no difficulty. Days later the car was parked and would not start. The engine turned normally but it seems like the fuel is not reaching the engine. It almost seems like a flooded engine. I researched it online and it seems to be an known issue with this car. The tipm (totally intergrated power module) seems to be the issue.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #32

Aug 102015


  • 30,556 miles
08-10-15 I called the dealership where I bought my vehicle, cowboy Chrysler 409-385-3796 about the notice I received about two safety recalls R09 fuel pump relay and P36 sun visor wiring. I was told the dealership had gotten in 15 of the parts and used all 15 to repair vehicles. I was told I would be put on a list and called when more parts came in to the dealership. 08-21-15 I called the dealership again and was told they had gotten in 18 of the parts and I am third on the list to be called when more parts come in. Can you help me get the necessary repair parts delivered to this dealership?

- Vidor, TX, USA

problem #31

Mar 112015


  • miles
I received recall notice R09 originally in mid March 2015. I called Michigan city Chrysler Dodge Jeep 219-872-8600 700 E. us 20, Michigan city, in 46360 to schedule the repair. They notified me that the parts were not available and put me on a "paper" call list. Today August 13, 2015 I received my second recall notice on R09. I called Michigan city Chrysler Dodge Jeep 219-872-8600 700 E. us 20, Michigan city, in 46360 again to schedule the repair and received the same answer as in March. It has been 5 months now from the original notice and it is clear this dealership has no intention of making the recall repairs within a reasonable time.

- La Porte, IN, USA

problem #30

Feb 202013


  • 28,000 miles
The vehicle first had problems with the transmission and the dealer would not fix it because the check engine light was not on and Chrysler wouldn't authorize. The vehicle would jump in reverse or roll and not go in gear. Later check engine light came on and it was repaired. Then the vehicle began having difficulty starting. The motor just continues trying to turn over. You have to turn the key off and try to start a couple of more times and then it will run. The vehicle will stall when you step on the gas. I started it after putting gas in at a gas station and stepped on the gas and it died. I started it and started out of my driveway and it died and continued rolling. It also died when my wife was pulling away from my sons school. Chrysler has a recall on the vehicle, however I have been trying for almost a year to get it repaired. I first reported the incidents in 2014 to both Chrysler and a Dodge dealership. The Dodge dealership says they cant get the parts from Chrysler....updated 09-29-15

- Alvin, TX, USA

problem #29

Aug 032015


  • 30,000 miles


There has been numerous safety recalls on this year vehicle. We have taken it to our dealership numerous times only to be brushed off by saying the recall parts are not available yet. However while driving the car with all kids inside, the vehicle completely shuts off while traveling at approx. 35-45 miles per hour. Now this is a safety concern and the vehicle will not start.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #28

Jan 162015


  • 56,438 miles
Our Dodge Durango 2012 was purchased in January 2015 from rick keefer Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram in yulee, Florida. Two weeks later the engine light lights up and the engine is sputtering. Returned the car to dealer whom repaired vehicle and said it was the oxygen sensor and replaced. Again the engine light came on and the engine ran rough. Returned the car to dealer whom repaired and said they replaced the converter. Soon again the engine light came on. Found fuel cap 'popped off' a few times, engine light goes out then on again. Returned to dealer whom replaced fuel cap. There was also an oil leak fixed. Again the engine light came on and off and the engine would run rough. Smoke would pour out the tailpipe, engine sputtering, drove back from mountains. Returned car to dealer. They replaced powertrain control module and oxygen sensor (again). And again, late June 2015, engine light comes on and engine sputtering. Dealer takes car. Dealer tells us they are going to 'go through it' and drive vehicle entire time. We receive rental car. Dealer calls after week and said vehicle is ready for pickup but they are awaiting a converter and are going to replace oxygen sensor also. Vehicle mileage logged; vehicle was never 'driven'. rental car time was used up. Returned car to dealer when part was in. Dealer replaced converter but not O2 sensor?? they said it didn't need it. Drove car about 10 miles and got out. A very strong smell of burning plastic is coming from car. Dealer not returning call. Will be returning to dealer Monday july20, 2015. Still driving with strong plastic burn smell. Lifted hood. Wiring harness above heater line and converter(manifold) is burning. Entire right side of engine is unbearable hot. Silver metal box in front of fuse panel is so hot it burns to the touch. Car reads normal temps" most problems on blog occur in hot summer months. Coincidence"

- Yulee, FL, USA

problem #27

Apr 262015


  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that it took several attempts to start the vehicle. The vehicle would not start until after the fuel pump relay fuse was disconnected and reconnected. The failure recurred on several occasions. While driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Schertz, TX, USA

problem #26

Aug 122014


  • 32,000 miles
I have had many instances when the vehicle would not start. It cranks over fine but will not fire. I have to shut the ignition off, and then it starts fine when I retry it. I received a recall notice ( R09 / NHTSA 14V-115 ) but the dealer tells me that the repair parts are not yet available. I am worried that I may experience a problem while I am on the highway.

- Lacrosse, WI, USA

problem #25

Jun 222015


  • 62,000 miles
The fuel relay was recalled on my car (NHTSA # 15V-115); I was trying to drive and the car would not function. I took it to a Dodge mechanic who stated that the problem was the internal fuel relay pump that failed. This is part of the tipm. The part that failed was part of the recall. Prestige Dodge stated that they would not fix the part, as the specific recalled part (part of the tipm) failed but there is no replacement. I called Dodge customer care (case number 27223921) and was informed that I could either pay for full repair (as they would not cover the tipm replacement) or "drive with a faulty part"--those last were the Dodge rep "katelyn's" exact words. I would not need the new tipm unless the fuel pump (which was recalled) failed--I was willing to take only the internal fuel pump, but Dodge refuses to provide this part. At this point, Dodge and prestige Dodge is requesting that I pay out of pocket for a part failure caused, and acknowledged, but Dodge. I am requesting assistance to make Dodge uphold their part of the NHTSA recall and fix my car. There is a fix (replace the tipm), but they feel they shouldn't pay for it. The part has already failed, and they need to resolve the issue.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #24

Mar 042015


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start because it was not receiving fuel from the relay. The vehicle was taken to a Dodge dealer where it was confirmed that the VIN was included in a recall; however, the part was unavailable. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #23

Jul 082014


  • 52,000 miles
Several times while driving, the electronic throttle light comes on along with the check engine light and immediately begins to jerk while on the freeway/surface streets. It nearly caused an accident once due to the drastic reduction in power and speed. Service people found nothing wrong and were no help. It has repeated this several times with my kids in the car. When it first happened, we were on a road trip 2200 miles away from options. Each time we had to stop and rest by turning off engine, waiting/or restarting in neutral. Truly a danger/safety issue and major inconvenience.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #22

Dec 052014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V635000 (engine and engine cooling, fuel system, diesel) and 14V115000 (equipment, tires); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Monaca, PA, USA

problem #21

May 122015


  • 38,000 miles
For the past week our vehicle has been having trouble turning on some times the engine is going but the vehicle is not on. Today my husband was driving down the freeway going 65-70 mph when the engine turned completely off with no warning he was on the fast lane so he had to safely go to the right lane to a safe place before the vehicle lost anymore speed and cause an major accident. He tried turning it on and did with trouble and was able to move it out of the freeway. I called the dealership and they are stating it will take 1- 12 months to get the part for the recall for a permanent fix or we would have to pay for a temp. Fix. What can we do?

- Fresno , CA, USA

problem #20

Apr 272015

Durango 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
R09/NHTSA 14V-115 parts not available until Sept - notice states that fuel pump could fail and car will stall. I drive kids around all day and do not need the added stress of wondering if my car is going to fail in the middle of traffic. Its ridiculous to expect people to wait 6 months to get a vehicle fixed. This is the third recall on the vehicle for parts failing - in my opinion that speaks volumes toward the quality of vehicle Dodge provides, not to mention the poor service of not getting the right parts out to fix a potentially dangerous problem. Seriously....why send out notices if there are no plans to fix an issue for 6 months. I'll never buy another Dodge, this is my first and last - I've owned Chevrolet all my life and never had this many problems.

- Bristol, TN, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?