Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,344 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Dodge Durango electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Apr 292015

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 14V391000 (electrical system), and 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Minot Air Force Base , ND, USA

problem #29

Apr 272015

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V115000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Green Bay , WI, USA

problem #28

Oct 202014

Durango 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 14V391000 (electrical system), and 14V115000 (equipment and tires) and stated that the parts needed were not available within a reasonable time frame. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/1/15

- Prescott Valley, AZ, USA

problem #27

Dec 192014

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Deweyville, TX, USA

problem #26

Jun 052014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 14V391000 (electrical system), 14V115000, and 14V115000 (equipment, tires).the contact stated that the parts were not available for the recall repairs. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rock Springs, WY, USA

problem #25

Mar 242015

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V391000 (electrical system) and 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- North Freedom, WI, USA

problem #24

Mar 132015

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #23

Jun 182014

Durango

  • 9,900 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. While driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle completely shut off and the windows failed to roll up or down. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 9,900.

- Sanjacinto, CA, USA

problem #22

Feb 172015

Durango 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
The vehicle would not start. I am now concerned that the vehicle electrical system is going to fail in route. If this happens then there is going to be an accident as the brake system and power steering will fail causing the vehicle to crash. Are they waiting for that to happen before they spend the money to fix it" my family's lives are at stake here as well as anyone we pass on the road. It says in the recall notice that they are concerned with our safety but I beg to differ. I received this recall notice about 3 months ago with no follow up at this time! when I called Chrysler about the fix they said that the parts were not available unless the vehicle had actually stopped working and had to be towed to their facility. Really"

- Chandler, TX, USA

problem #21

Jan 152014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #20

Feb 022015

Durango 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2013 Dodge Durango safety recall notice 14V-154 and 14V-391. The consumer was informed the parts were not available. Even though she was assured they would be ordered and would be available at the time of her appointment.

- Moses Lake, WA, USA

problem #19

Aug 202014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact received two notifications of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #18

Jan 272015

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system). However, the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #17

Jan 252015

Durango 6-cyl

  • miles
Another recall notice sent by Dodge which causes a safety risk to those in the car and a remedy is still not available. We contacted the dealer and they told us the part is not available and to wait for a second notice. We have not received any calls or follow up notices with regards to this recall notice 14V-634 which came out on Dec 1, 2014. As of today the issue has not yet been corrected by the dealer. We do not feel safe driving our Dodge Durango with a safety risk that could cause vehicle shutdown while driving and/or underhood electrical fire.

- Land O Lakes, FL, USA

problem #16

Jan 092015

Durango

  • 25,000 miles
Vehicle won't start, tow truck driver gets it started after I tried for an hour. Larson Dodge said everything was fine, one week later it's doing the same thing. Acts like its on, won't turn off, but engine won't start, lights, dash, everything on, won't turn off, but won't start. Same problem as many I've read about online tonight, tipm. From the reviews, it's a month behind on back order. Great...

- Auburn, WA, USA

problem #15

Jan 152015

Durango 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform the contact of when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 2/24/15 updated 03/02/15

- Washington , NC, USA

problem #14

Dec 042014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I received a safety recall (P60) from Chrysler on December 4, 2014. It states that this issue may result in a vehicle shutdown while driving and/or an underhood electrical fire. As of this writing (1-7-15) I have heard nothing further on this issue and no one can offer an eta for the parts. We are in the dead of winter with wind chills in the -20 to -30 degrees F. I don't care to have the car shutdown during this time, let alone a fire. The recall states, "we're sorry for any inconvenience, but we are sincerely concerned about your safety." Dodge/Chrysler sure isn't showing their concern. Please get involved so we can get this safety problem taken care of.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #13

Dec 302014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system) however, the parts for the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the dealer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Montrose, CO, USA

problem #12

Dec 262014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
Purchased vehicle in Nov 2013. Received recall for brake booster in May 2014 (P14/NHTSA 14V-154). Called and scheduled an appointment. Dealership said that they would call when the part was received. No call to date. Received second recall notice via mail on 12/26/14. Called dealership and they stated that the parts were not coming in very quickly. Recommended I file this complaint with the NHTSA. Also stated that they were doing the second recall for sun visor wiring, received in Aug 2014, in conjunction with the brake booster, when/if the parts arrive. (P36/NHTSA 14V-391). This report is filed to comply with the directions of the recall that state "if your dealer fails or is unable to remedy the defect without charge and within a reasonable time, you may submit a written complaint to the administrator".

- Missoula, MT, USA

problem #11

Dec 092014

Durango

  • miles
Safety recall P60/NHTSA 14V-634 states driver will have limited or no detection of the alternator failing, which can result in vehicle shutdown while driving and/or an underhood electrical fire. Received notice in mail November 2014. Still do not have parts to fix. I am driving an unsafe car everyday and paying for it and nobody can do anything about it until I experience a crash. I can get a ticket for not wearing a seat belt and talking on a cell phone, but a safety recall on a car I am driving everyday, which effects me, my passengers and all cars on the road does not seem to matter to Chrysler.

- Tenafly, NJ, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?